20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Is it the end for partition units?, Anyone heard more?

Aldo-Kirosu
post Aug 12 2023, 09:54 AM

662 posts

If an unit caught by authority, tenants (partitioned) chased by authority, they can get any compensation?
TSCavatzu
post Aug 12 2023, 09:59 AM

2,834 posts

Are the co-living companies actively dismantling the partitions?

Otherwise some very bored and spiteful Karen can just browse through all their ads and just report 1 by 1.
icemanfx
post Aug 12 2023, 10:05 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Aug 11 2023, 11:29 PM)
Dude you repeat the same sentence everywhere u go. Yes I geddit. They are talking about the rental floor price for students/fresh grad workers.
Currently supply>demand, most landlords will drop price to be tenanted. Rental yield from partitioned units will likely much lower than expected and unworthy to consider.
SUSNajibaik
post Aug 12 2023, 11:58 AM

1,481 posts

actually it has never been allowed from the beginning, 10years back also not allowed as doesn't fit bomba requirement.

I have seen bomba spot check unit and ask owner to remove. So be it this statement issue by DBKL now, long long time ago already not allowed, just that no ppl enforce.

The only logical reason bomba come your house and spot check is actually you kena report by other ppl

now with this statement come out, sure got many jealous owner will report to management and if management actually ignore them, those too free owner might report to authority
gks
post Aug 12 2023, 01:33 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(Jimmy2022 @ Aug 12 2023, 07:36 AM)
I thought there is only one reason that really needs to be considered: fire safety hazard, not the rental.
Yup. Law, regulations and safety issue. Only owners and tenants with self interest keep twisting facts for their self interest.

We yet to go to insurance protection and coverage....imagine if the building is on fire and insurer dismiss the claim as some units are illegally partitioned... Imagine how owners will react.
p4n6
post Aug 12 2023, 05:00 PM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(gks @ Aug 12 2023, 01:33 PM)
Yup. Law, regulations and safety issue. Only owners and tenants with self interest keep twisting facts for their self interest.

We yet to go to insurance protection and coverage....imagine if the building is on fire and insurer dismiss the claim as some units are illegally partitioned... Imagine how owners will react.
I think the condo management will be blamed for allowing that …
TSCavatzu
post Aug 12 2023, 07:28 PM

2,834 posts

This is what happens when all the co-living businesses just focus on the yield of renting out your living room and ignore all the risks and downsides.

I feel a tinge of pity for those who paid good money to erect the partitions and now have to pay to take them down. Really negative profit.
ManutdGiggs
post Aug 12 2023, 08:01 PM

13,761 posts

Most gurus onli hav 1 way tix for investors.

HOLAND

They onli wanna build their bank acc not ur portfolio
painkillerz
post Aug 12 2023, 08:17 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Aug 12 2023, 07:28 PM)
This is what happens when all the co-living businesses just focus on the yield of renting out your living room and ignore all the risks and downsides.

I feel a tinge of pity for those who paid good money to erect the partitions and now have to pay to take them down. Really negative profit.
They take the risk to exploit grey area now they have to pay the price, it's a fair game. There is no free lunch.
gks
post Aug 12 2023, 10:03 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(painkillerz @ Aug 12 2023, 08:17 PM)
They take the risk to exploit grey area now they have to pay the price, it's a fair game. There is no free lunch.
Again this is not grey area. This is a crystal clear local regulations.

This regulation already there since donkey years ago.They chose to ignore it with knowledge enforcement is weak and nobody will make a fuss out of it.

Now they claim they are victim and doing a noble service to provide affordable housing? Come on...can do better than this.....
tongyk
post Aug 13 2023, 02:56 AM

KamKam
883 posts

After all the huluhala, business as usual. places are full of partitioned. Too late to stop, seriously.
Inc. 100
post Aug 13 2023, 05:26 AM

72 posts

The amount of responses from this thread points to...
IronManz
post Aug 13 2023, 06:09 AM

2,135 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Aug 10 2023, 03:17 PM)
Berjaya already managed to get approval to build a low(ish) cost 900sqft, 5 bed 4 bath property
That's the way to go. Don't add partitions yourself. Buy properties that have optimal rooms, ask them to give hackable walls. You may reduce the number of rooms if you like but many rooms is the default from developer
IronManz
post Aug 13 2023, 06:16 AM

2,135 posts

QUOTE(mouthpoop @ Aug 12 2023, 01:11 AM)
This is a quite straightforward issue if you are a person that's not blinded by greed.
have you seen the videos/pictures of those partitioned rooms? I am an investor myself and I will not subjugate another human to such an inhuman living condition just so that I can make profit out of it.

Just my humble opinion.
I agree with you, it's not how humans should be made to live, tenants treated like rental farm
Fazab
post Aug 13 2023, 07:53 AM

519 posts

Actually partitioned rooms fulfil a much sought after niche.
That why they are hot in the rental market now.

For those who
cannot afford proper room in condo >rm700
dun want old, dirty room in low/mid apartmt rm400-600
a rm500 partitioned room is the only choice.

A 900 sqft condo properly partitioned can make 5 rooms > 100sqft each, with windows and shared living n kitchen space.
Working single pipl only need come back and sleep.

No i dun own condo unit for rental.
My son planning to work in kl next year, so we went looking for rooms.
I have seen the rooms myself, not judging by forum talk only.
IAmYourFather
post Aug 13 2023, 01:09 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(Fazab @ Aug 13 2023, 07:53 AM)
Actually partitioned rooms fulfil a much sought after niche.
That why they are hot in the rental market now.

For those who
cannot afford proper room in condo >rm700
dun want old, dirty room in low/mid apartmt rm400-600
a rm500 partitioned room is the only choice.

A 900 sqft condo properly partitioned can make 5 rooms > 100sqft each, with windows and shared living n  kitchen space.
Working single pipl only need come back and sleep.

No i dun own condo unit for rental.
My son planning to work in kl next year, so we went looking for rooms.
I have seen the rooms myself, not judging by forum talk only.
I have stayed in a room partitioned unit when I just started working in kl, in setapak area. Actually the unit was not too bad, there are still plenty of space outside and still have a pretty big kitchen 10 ft long. My room was pretty big too, prob around 150 sqft. Meanwhile my friend that stayed in cheras at another condo, it was so terrible that there wasn't even a kitchen for them nor dinning table outside. I think at the end of day depends on how humane the owner is
gks
post Aug 13 2023, 03:01 PM

3,835 posts

https://www.facebook.com/story.php?story_fb...mibextid=Nif5oz

Please tell me how room rate will go up without house partitioned?

The extra income from the partitioned room goes to pocket of operators and greedy owners with blatant ignorance and total lack of respect to local regulations.

TheFokerMist
post Aug 13 2023, 03:11 PM

23 posts

I stayed in a partitioned balcony room in Setapak as well. The room size was comfortable, and it had good ventilation. Importantly, the rent was affordable and it's close to the city center.

Btw my contract with the owner still has 2+ years left. In this case, should I start looking for an alternative or wait until the contract ends first?
TSCavatzu
post Aug 13 2023, 04:08 PM

2,834 posts

The current densities of high rise are already pushing the density limits of what a commercial property can do. Compared to residential titles, the service apartments are like double the density. Then you add all these nonsense partitions and rooms which has been pointed out repeatedly as a fire and overcrowding hazard. When something goes wrong, the blame bucket will be passed around. Better they do something now and an official statement means that building insurers can decline a claim if anything happens which is enough of an incentive to get management to take it seriously.

These are the repercussions of those few “investors” who have tunnel vision.
hcstwb
post Aug 13 2023, 06:50 PM

298 posts

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid...mibextid=Nif5oz

20 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:11 AM