20 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Is it the end for partition units?, Anyone heard more?

southadam
post Aug 11 2023, 03:44 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 10 2023, 03:08 PM)
This will raise many problems esp in low cost housing where 1 family can have like 8 to 10 people cramming in a 650 sq ft apartment due to poverty
I guess since it's low cost housing, mostly nobody bother to complain.
Like others said, authority only acts when someone complains. Its near to impossible to enforce on all properties.
southadam
post Aug 11 2023, 04:04 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(Fazab @ Aug 11 2023, 12:29 AM)
Both are legal

Scenario 1 is bomba concern. If partition does not obstruct escape path in the case of a fire, no issue.
But dun quote me. Ask bomba, I think2 only.

Scenario 2 is my scenario - 900 ft apartment, me n wifey in masterbedroom, two sons share room 1, two dotters share room 2.
If illegal I sleep on staircase. M40 not much choice.
The overcrowding clause is based on cubic feet, not sqft.
350 cubic feet per person per room.
Says a typical room with 800-1000 cubic ft, it should fit 2 pax max.
I think quite reasonable.
painkillerz
post Aug 11 2023, 04:40 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Aug 11 2023, 01:22 PM)
Expecting room rental rate to increase after this.
RM1000 at M Vertica as per discuss here:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=107738411

The market will find way to adjust itself. Not necessarily rental price hike. We may see more hostel concept building development to fill up the price gap which some developers has already started experimenting.
ykj
post Aug 11 2023, 04:45 PM

Life-long learning
837 posts

From flipping properties to increasing partitions to rent out, all these contribute to property inflation. Must be stopped
jojolicia
post Aug 11 2023, 05:35 PM

1,923 posts

Good move, high time to weep out wannabes.

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 11 2023, 06:37 PM
TSCavatzu
post Aug 11 2023, 05:50 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(hcstwb @ Aug 11 2023, 11:04 AM)
Don't spin my point, I was talking about partition not necessarily means crowded. You still can have serial killer live under same roof with you regardless you have partition or not.

But that doesn't matter for KL condo now, the letter clearly mentioned no partition, instead of overcrowding.
It is exactly against fire regulations. And god knows what dodgy wiring work is done to add another fan or aircon point. I called it out a few years ago and common sense has caught up.

People are predicting price hikes which I don’t think will happen. It just shifts the affordability point to older/ less cantik units. Lest we forget, the expectation has shifted to having a fully furnished designer quality unit just to get a subpar rent which is nowhere near mortgage. A proper housing market in a developed country that is not as f****d as here can rent out vacant and cover mortgage completely.
icemanfx
post Aug 11 2023, 06:04 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Aug 11 2023, 05:50 PM)
People are predicting price hikes which I don’t think will happen. It just shifts the affordability point to older/ less cantik units. Lest we forget, the expectation has shifted to having a fully furnished designer quality unit just to get a subpar rent which is nowhere near mortgage. A proper housing market in a developed country that is not as f****d as here can rent out vacant and cover mortgage completely.
Those qualified for bank loan would buy rather than rent.

Until poorperly overhang is reduced substantially, price will remain suppressed.

Co-living, partitions , etc are poorperly trap by guru.

icemanfx
post Aug 11 2023, 06:08 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Aug 10 2023, 02:24 PM)
i heard previously a few cases they won using this reason, not sure how true is it... especially the 'you shall not be name' gang...
Those in construction business know what bomba wants, owners have to yield else penalty is almost a certainty.

ManutdGiggs
post Aug 11 2023, 06:59 PM

13,761 posts

Bulu alwiz smlj oso ok wan ma

In social media can kpkb say tis say tat blame tis blame tat

Biasalah skim cepat telur+gula+santan semua maciam telur separuh masak 🤣🤣🤣
Aldo-Kirosu
post Aug 11 2023, 07:13 PM

662 posts

Under this notis, is it +1 room allowed to partitioned as a extra room usage? Example 2+1 room. And the + 1 room is study room (a space with 3 wall cover, only 1 face open face to living area)
Chanzeryl
post Aug 11 2023, 08:30 PM

646 posts

No wonder so many new condos now don't have balcony blush.gif
TSCavatzu
post Aug 11 2023, 11:26 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ Aug 11 2023, 07:13 PM)
Under this notis, is it +1 room allowed to partitioned as a extra room usage? Example 2+1 room. And the + 1 room is study room (a space with 3 wall cover, only 1 face open face to living area)
If we go by Western standards for what is a bedroom then it must always usually have a window for ventilation and a minimum 70 sqft in size. Your +1 can be used however you like but I’d like to see stricter definitions in marketing and advertising brochures.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 11 2023, 11:29 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Aug 11 2023, 06:04 PM)
Those qualified for bank loan would buy rather than rent.

Until poorperly overhang is reduced substantially, price will remain suppressed.

Co-living, partitions , etc are poorperly trap by guru.
Dude you repeat the same sentence everywhere u go. Yes I geddit. They are talking about the rental floor price for students/fresh grad workers.
e-lite
post Aug 11 2023, 11:44 PM

692 posts

se7en

can tag faizul ridzuan and far capital and wetopia here ah?

no defamation so far cool2.gif

PeterChua3387 P
post Aug 12 2023, 12:53 AM

Probation

My personal view on this is that:

Most investor/ property owners will benefit from this. Some small portion of them where they bought investment unit based on calculation of partition room rental yield might/might not affected.

For example like Quinn, PV9, those near University area condo and condo very near to prime public transport station and retail. These are heavy partition area.
Owners might try to increase rent per room, market can absorb or not we dont know yet, it depends on spending power of tenants (aka young fresh graduate and students).
Foreign student and rich FAMA student in Sunway Uni area might able to pay the higher rent easily. Setapak student and most fresh graduate might not able.
In the end, it is either owner need to be (negative cashflow/small positive cashflow) or some tenant moving slightly away further from this expensive rent and take more time to travel.

Those moving away tenant incl those live in partition will create a small increase in demand which will benefit unit rental and room rental as well.
Imagine a condo where almost all unit doing partition and still close to 100 percent occupancy rate. These people either need to move out or pay higher rent to fight non-partition room.
Or a middle room will then need to fit at least 2 ppl, so that higher rent burden can be shared. If not couple or friends, you might stay with strangers.

However the effect will be very different in each location.
At area where occupancy rate is already low like condo near taman suntex down to mrt kajang , naturally owners wont do partition . The room rental rate might then become healthy.
At Bangsar south / Mont Kiara area where almost no room partition due to rental yield already super good might not be affected at all.
At University area and limited condo supply area near prime LRT/MRT station, rent might increase. However owners yield might be slightly negative affected, tenant either need pay higher price or less quality life where you might need to share your room space with others.

Me as a tenant myself, unless I got no choice. I would never want to stay in a living hall partition room. I think most dont want too. But if the price is affordable (some may argue it is still expensive) and it is very convenient for me to live (to work, to buy grocery/eat, near to station). I no need a car then. Owning and maintain a car is definitely more expensive than the partition room rental. This is why ppl still willing to stay in partition room at prime location. There is a demand, there is a supply.

Conclusion, car sales gonna be better because people need to travel further. More jam maybe. TOD projects is not unlimited supply. Tenant might need to pay higher price in very prime location. High density condo near good LRT/MRT gonna do well. Property overhang will definitely reduced.

Good news is that, Malaysia is not Singapore. Rules might not be follow. Even if it inforced seriously, this process will take some time.

Cheers
mouthpoop
post Aug 12 2023, 01:11 AM

114 posts

This is a quite straightforward issue if you are a person that's not blinded by greed.
have you seen the videos/pictures of those partitioned rooms? I am an investor myself and I will not subjugate another human to such an inhuman living condition just so that I can make profit out of it.

Just my humble opinion.

This post has been edited by mouthpoop: Aug 12 2023, 01:12 AM
PeterChua3387 P
post Aug 12 2023, 01:37 AM

Probation

If I am single I will stay. There is a different between good and bad quality partition. I have seen people partition living room using book shelf in 2016, yet there is a tenant. Crazy and unhealthy. Now the condo no more unit do partition, because old building and less renowned retail nearby. Supply and demand is the force behind.

As fresh graduat if I earn only 2500, 2200 nett and have to buy a car. I got nothing left every month.
800 (car installment, fuel, toll, parking), 600 for food, 750 for room rental.
Sure a lot of fresh graduate will fight to stay near TOD because can save money.
Unless you live on credit card.

It got nothing to do with greed. If nobody do partition, sure TOD occupancy rate damn high, high demand push high price if supply didnt keep up.

I got no partition unit and didnt plan to do also. Market may able to balance out or may not.

Anyway, it is just an assumption, time will tell.
Jimmy2022
post Aug 12 2023, 07:36 AM

169 posts

I thought there is only one reason that really needs to be considered: fire safety hazard, not the rental.
cannible
post Aug 12 2023, 07:37 AM

489 posts

QUOTE(painkillerz @ Aug 11 2023, 12:47 PM)
I believe the partition as safety concern is about the fire escape time and the flammable material of the partition.
If using gypsum board, they are non combustible unless use sandwich board which is very expensive and not in this weather...
SUSNihonmaru
post Aug 12 2023, 08:45 AM

206 posts

We are lucky not to have a fiery fire hazard like happened in China last year.

Once kena baru rasa

20 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:58 PM