4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Is it the end for partition units?, Anyone heard more?

TSCavatzu
post Aug 9 2023, 11:38 PM, updated 2y ago

2,834 posts

Noticed a comment on iherng’s most recent video “Is there future for Malaysian real estate?” which is interesting but once again very one sided in what he supports.

But in the comments, a user shared that DBKL was going around spot checking units for partitions. So is this now an illegal thing? In this country, the laws only come up once they’ve decided that something is wrong/contrary to their interests.

TSCavatzu
post Aug 9 2023, 11:55 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Aug 9 2023, 11:42 PM)
A matter of time.
Well a matter of time is when? Considering the sheer amount of people who spent like 50k on partitioning renovations in the last 2 years. So more Lelong?

I called this out a while ago but didn’t expect it to be resolved so soon.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Aug 9 2023, 11:56 PM
TSCavatzu
post Aug 10 2023, 06:28 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Alvin1233 @ Aug 10 2023, 12:42 AM)
Those ppl knew that its illegal rite? But still insist to do it. That's the risk they have to take it tho. If the raiding news is true, then only thing they can do is to embrace it...
Well this “strategy” was normalised by gurus who touted it as being the solution to make your “investment” profitable. There’s YouTube videos out there showing how many rooms you can squeeze out of your unit.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 10 2023, 07:58 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(rumahwip @ Aug 10 2023, 07:40 AM)
any laws saying partition is illegal? cant find it
There is the “overcrowding” law quoted above. If your neighbours don’t like what you are doing and mengadu then be prepared to face the consequences. Probably more an issue in the mid range units where there’s quite a lot of own stay so know your market.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Aug 10 2023, 08:01 AM
TSCavatzu
post Aug 10 2023, 09:55 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Aug 10 2023, 09:38 AM)
alot of bumi interest in this issue too thanks to 'you shall not be name' guru... need to see how the government manage to handle this carefully... lol... but i think enforcement will on a complaint basis, operators who go on and add more than 1 partition room in a condo unit will most probably higher risk of getting complaint...
Hai for people who are more concerned about the hereafter, they sure are capitalistic. Be nice to your Karen’s, I know for one if I see it I will make noise unless I’m suitably buttered up with bottles of wine.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 10 2023, 03:12 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 10 2023, 03:08 PM)
This will raise many problems esp in low cost housing where 1 family can have like 8 to 10 people cramming in a 650 sq ft apartment due to poverty
I empathise with those ppl and hope they are not wrongly targeted. The problem is the popular co-living packagers who think they can do whatever they want without accountability.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 11 2023, 09:11 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(hcstwb @ Aug 11 2023, 06:37 AM)
6 ppl in 1000 sqft is illegal? Doesn't sound right. I gave the scenario to highlight that not necessary unit with partition are more crowded than without partition. As seem alot of readers here hates partition so much and I wonder what is the reason. Just sharing the thought. I went my niece rented room at Nadayu near Sunway University. Almost all unit are partitioned, and I felt it is quite well partitioned, does not feel crowded at all.

Compare to 20 yrs back, when my sister was studying in TAR college Setapak, she stayed in a double storey house that are partitioned into 10 rooms.... now that was super scary.

So I guess we can't just hate all room renting today, as long as it is not against the law or bomba regulation.
How would said sister feel now if she bought an 800k apartment with her husband and young child in KV to live next door to 6 Middle Eastern uni students. You see the knife cuts both ways and the tune will change quickly when it’s your life that is impacted

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Aug 11 2023, 09:12 AM
TSCavatzu
post Aug 11 2023, 05:50 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(hcstwb @ Aug 11 2023, 11:04 AM)
Don't spin my point, I was talking about partition not necessarily means crowded. You still can have serial killer live under same roof with you regardless you have partition or not.

But that doesn't matter for KL condo now, the letter clearly mentioned no partition, instead of overcrowding.
It is exactly against fire regulations. And god knows what dodgy wiring work is done to add another fan or aircon point. I called it out a few years ago and common sense has caught up.

People are predicting price hikes which I don’t think will happen. It just shifts the affordability point to older/ less cantik units. Lest we forget, the expectation has shifted to having a fully furnished designer quality unit just to get a subpar rent which is nowhere near mortgage. A proper housing market in a developed country that is not as f****d as here can rent out vacant and cover mortgage completely.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 11 2023, 11:26 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ Aug 11 2023, 07:13 PM)
Under this notis, is it +1 room allowed to partitioned as a extra room usage? Example 2+1 room. And the + 1 room is study room (a space with 3 wall cover, only 1 face open face to living area)
If we go by Western standards for what is a bedroom then it must always usually have a window for ventilation and a minimum 70 sqft in size. Your +1 can be used however you like but I’d like to see stricter definitions in marketing and advertising brochures.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 11 2023, 11:29 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Aug 11 2023, 06:04 PM)
Those qualified for bank loan would buy rather than rent.

Until poorperly overhang is reduced substantially, price will remain suppressed.

Co-living, partitions , etc are poorperly trap by guru.
Dude you repeat the same sentence everywhere u go. Yes I geddit. They are talking about the rental floor price for students/fresh grad workers.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 12 2023, 09:59 AM

2,834 posts

Are the co-living companies actively dismantling the partitions?

Otherwise some very bored and spiteful Karen can just browse through all their ads and just report 1 by 1.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 12 2023, 07:28 PM

2,834 posts

This is what happens when all the co-living businesses just focus on the yield of renting out your living room and ignore all the risks and downsides.

I feel a tinge of pity for those who paid good money to erect the partitions and now have to pay to take them down. Really negative profit.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 13 2023, 04:08 PM

2,834 posts

The current densities of high rise are already pushing the density limits of what a commercial property can do. Compared to residential titles, the service apartments are like double the density. Then you add all these nonsense partitions and rooms which has been pointed out repeatedly as a fire and overcrowding hazard. When something goes wrong, the blame bucket will be passed around. Better they do something now and an official statement means that building insurers can decline a claim if anything happens which is enough of an incentive to get management to take it seriously.

These are the repercussions of those few “investors” who have tunnel vision.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 14 2023, 07:59 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(painkillerz @ Aug 13 2023, 10:27 PM)
Bold move from the landlord, not afraid the tenant report about the partition unit?
I think the point in as the partition is being removed then she is being offered a regular room at a higher price.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 15 2023, 08:56 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(Kopi5263 @ Aug 15 2023, 08:47 AM)
Hacking wall also consider alteration to ori structure plan. So it is ban as well?
Where there were explicit hackable walls put in by developers then it isn’t as most likely it means you’re expanding a room rather than partitioning it. For anything else, it could be structural or having live wiring inside and you need to apply to management board with architect drawings. No point la unless you got some super prize of a unit. Don’t think this exists in Malaysia.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 15 2023, 07:49 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Aug 15 2023, 04:40 PM)
Certain Msian developers do actually put in hackable walls for high rise (quite a number of Exsim projects for example) but IIRC such amendments still need approval for the change in layout with JMB/local council because not all walls can be hacked and sometimes not obvious.
From what I saw, the Nidoz building by Exsim had a lot of people combine 2 bedrooms into 1 as their new master - from 4 bedder to 3. The Quinn and many of Sunway’s new stuff has hackable walls. Usually it’s between bedrooms or to extend kitchen into yard.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 16 2023, 03:25 PM

2,834 posts

The co-living companies will still thrive as they provide a level of convenience for someone who needs a place asap. Room price going up 2-300 won’t break the bank la. Even then I doubt they can go up that much.

This is actually good news for overhang units in less convenient locations as the affordability dial is pushed back in their favour. Before, people don’t mind cramming as long as it was convenient. So now there’s more reason for tenants to consider the not so cantik/convenient units.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 16 2023, 05:03 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(1ullaby @ Aug 16 2023, 03:39 PM)
Yup. But laws like that that are are not due to public sentiments, dont last. It will get enforced lesser and lesser overtime.
Rmb restaurants smoking ban, rear seat belts rule, or closer to topic, pri1ma units not supposedly for rent. Well reality on ground is , you know i know la
Of course there’s always going to be people flouting the rules but the point of such a strong statement to denounce the act is that people will stop posting proudly on social media. Co-living companies and property gurus won’t advertise openly and of course JMB will have to respond if neighbours complain that this is going on.

The fact that they have to sneak around to do it is the point and they can’t do it openly. Quite sad we can’t self regulate and need harsh punishment to learn any sort of lesson. Sounds like we need a PAP or CCP to really get anyone to follow any sort of rules.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Aug 16 2023, 05:18 PM
TSCavatzu
post Aug 17 2023, 09:54 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Aug 16 2023, 09:09 PM)

The picture she linked is exactly why it’s all gone to hell. The only way to get what they want is that the developers build it outright like Berjaya with their 900 sqft 5 bed/4 bath. Taking matters into your own hands means that it’s too hard to regulate so might as well ban all. No sympathy Miss Chong, go fly kite.

There are plenty of options still. Tenants just have to be not lazy and find a group of like minded people to rent a place like what your elders had to do.
TSCavatzu
post Aug 17 2023, 10:05 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Aug 17 2023, 09:58 AM)
so if you need to rent a room to rent now, you will be the leader to lead and to group up the bunch of like minded to rent together?
This is what young adults have been doing all their life. Arguably it’s even easier nowadays with digital and social media. If someone was truly altruistic, they would build a platform to connect tenants. This is common in UK, US etc.

Wetopia etc have the capabilities to do so but don’t know how to monetise it beyond blocking off your living room and being the unit supplier. If you’re smart, you’d meld it with a Tinder component so u got all your “needs” taken care of. That enough of an idea for you? Prude stay sama prude, DTF stay with likeminded.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Aug 17 2023, 10:11 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0292sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:59 PM