Is it the end for partition units?, Anyone heard more?

SUSNajibaik
post Oct 17 2024, 11:52 AM

1,481 posts

the DB can't afford so many rooms open aircond as the unit was supposed to only have 2 airconds, 1 at bedroom and another at living

but turns into 4 rooms which has 4 airconds or maybe 5 if include common area

DB overload is just matter of time
Jigoku
post Oct 17 2024, 12:00 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(Najibaik @ Oct 17 2024, 11:52 AM)
the DB can't afford so many rooms open aircond as the unit was supposed to only have 2 airconds, 1 at bedroom and another at living

Like I have said

3B2R become 5B2R
4B2R become 6B2R

each with airconds+ceiling/wall fan and whatever else the tenant put extra charger etc.

This is why our government good at planning and coming out with laws etc but where are the execution, the enforcement.

Tbh I was naive to believe partition cases already solved.

jojolicia
post Oct 17 2024, 01:04 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Oct 17 2024, 11:14 AM)
Yes my friend you hit the jackpot, it's not just the room no window.

The Living room also no window, it's very how would I put it in words, no air flow and feel very warm when you come back from work.

I first time working in KL, had to rush find room so no choice now.

I sabar and hopefully once I get my foot down I can find a proper non partition unit.

And to those who keep saying partition unit is for the poor they can't afford and make it cheaper. It's doesn't make the room cheaper the same price only.

I want you to know, those people who died because of fire hazard due to partition even if it's not your partition unit those life are in your hands.

You kept quiet, you want your profit. All this money I wish you spend them wisely and we let the almighty judge each of us at the end of our life.

There are many ways to earn money and a living, partition unit is created by greed period. To squeeze all the working people.
Fully agree. Well said.

Sometimes I pity those landlord wannabes

That said for rooms partitioning, I blame all those 'guru' and gullible landlord wannabes (knee deep, bo pian). Perfect combo

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Oct 17 2024, 01:06 PM
PAChamp
post Oct 17 2024, 01:21 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Oct 17 2024, 01:04 PM)
Fully agree. Well said.

Sometimes I pity those landlord wannabes

That said for rooms partitioning, I blame all those 'guru' and gullible landlord wannabes (knee deep, bo pian). Perfect combo
I believe partitioning began in landed houses near universities. A terrace house had 4 rooms. after partition, goodness, i think downstairs also 4 rooms already and upstairs maybe 5 rooms. I visited a friend who stayed in a partitioned house in Bandar Utama. It was bad. I think simple partition to add 1 or 2 rooms is ok but nowadays the partition is to the max. And safety hazards all ignored. MBPJ/DBKL has by laws to restrict this but as you all said, enforcement lacking.

During my student days, partitioning was unheard of. We all shared rooms. 2 beds to a room, master bedroom maybe 3 to 4 people. It was safer back then.

Now even a studio unit gets partitioned. A standard 1000 sq ft apartment gets partitioned. Crazy times. There is a limit to how low property prices can go as Developers have costs which are increasing by the day. New property won't get cheaper but old ones might.
kk131
post Oct 17 2024, 01:40 PM

566 posts

Uniform building by-laws 1984 https://jkt.kpkt.gov.my/sites/default/files..._.5178_1984.pdf
November11
post Oct 17 2024, 01:41 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Oct 17 2024, 01:21 PM)
I believe partitioning began in landed houses near universities. A terrace house had 4 rooms. after partition, goodness, i think downstairs also 4 rooms already and upstairs maybe 5 rooms. I visited a friend who stayed in a partitioned house in Bandar Utama. It was bad. I think simple partition to add 1 or 2 rooms is ok but nowadays the partition is to the max. And safety hazards all ignored. MBPJ/DBKL has by laws to restrict this but as you all said, enforcement lacking.

During my student days, partitioning was unheard of. We all shared rooms. 2 beds to a room, master bedroom maybe 3 to 4 people. It was safer back then.

Now even a studio unit gets partitioned. A standard 1000 sq ft apartment gets partitioned. Crazy times. There is a limit to how low property prices can go as Developers have costs which are increasing by the day. New property won't get cheaper but old ones might.
During Uni time, 4X floor mattress in master room for 4 persons. 2X study table in master room and 2X study table in first floor living room. At that time where got Air-con la !!!!
tongyk
post Oct 17 2024, 07:02 PM

KamKam
883 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Oct 16 2024, 05:33 PM)
Ini bukan Singapore and I undersrand what you meant.

Just because it happen in Singapore doesn't mean it must happen in Malaysia, Do better and we are on the right path banning partition unit now is the execution.

1 year already since the ban and yet partition still exist.

Anyway I am just here to inform that it's 2024 it's still happening partition room.
you know why partition room is still exist today?

I can tell you the answer because of the demand is still there.

When a country is transforming to developed country, I think this issue is evitable.

Malaysia should learn from Hong Kong where's it just published yesterday about the policy of partition room/sub-let housing.

they have a complete policy and regulation of dealing for sub-let properties instead of just ban it.
ahkit123
post Oct 18 2024, 08:30 AM

2,551 posts

Need enforcement by JMB
ManutdGiggs
post Oct 18 2024, 08:43 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(ahkit123 @ Oct 18 2024, 08:30 AM)
Need enforcement by JMB
Most jmb conquered by the parties with vested interest.

MO can't execute athg if MC are siding the partition issues just to get extra kocek moolah.

Most of the time resident's or owner's complaints fall on deaf ears or not being entertained mainly bcos MC intentionally delay the process to look into tis issue.

Month after month vely soon AGM n there u go another grp of MC with similar intentions ll takeover ll the cycle continues.

Unless authority make it mandatory with heavy penalty onto any premise with illegal partition else u can continue to watch the wayang n the ular ll continue to earn the sinful moolah at the same time taking away innocent lives.

Wats new rite in malai it's same as politic I would say. Good promises good laws good speeches but lousy implementation lousy enforcement yet tokong corruption.

How many lives have been taken away and how many lives need to be taken away to have the authority wake up to do the job? I don't believe gov is short of manpower. Instead I believe those in power spending too much time n effort to plan for themselves not for the rakyats.

By the way there shouldn't be any bulu to begin with cos I personally think they r the ones conning too much giving too little n bribing too many.

This post has been edited by ManutdGiggs: Oct 18 2024, 08:44 AM
PAChamp
post Oct 18 2024, 01:42 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Oct 18 2024, 08:43 AM)
Most jmb conquered by the parties with vested interest.

MO can't execute athg if MC are siding the partition issues just to get extra kocek moolah.

Most of the time resident's or owner's complaints fall on deaf ears or not being entertained mainly bcos MC intentionally delay the process to look into tis issue.

Month after month vely soon AGM n there u go another grp of MC with similar intentions ll takeover ll the cycle continues.

Unless authority make it mandatory with heavy penalty onto any premise with illegal partition else u can continue to watch the wayang n the ular ll continue to earn the sinful moolah at the same time taking away innocent lives.

Wats new rite in malai it's same as politic I would say. Good promises good laws good speeches but lousy implementation lousy enforcement yet tokong corruption.

How many lives have been taken away and how many lives need to be taken away to have the authority wake up to do the job? I don't believe gov is short of manpower. Instead I believe those in power spending too much time n effort to plan for themselves not for the rakyats.

By the way there shouldn't be any bulu to begin with cos I personally think they r the ones conning too much giving too little n bribing too many.
In a way, you are right but it depends on the project you buy. If a project you buy has majority investors who play with partition, the JMB/MC will be controlled by them and the actual owner-occupier will suffer. But if a project you buy has majority owner-occupier, they will enforce the No partition/ No Air B&B homestay policy. This is a very important consideration when you invest or buy for own stay. My condo is majority owner occupier and there are not many tenants so this is not a big issue for us.
ManutdGiggs
post Oct 18 2024, 01:51 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Oct 18 2024, 01:42 PM)
In a way, you are right but it depends on the project you buy. If a project you buy has majority investors who play with partition, the JMB/MC will be controlled by them and the actual owner-occupier will suffer. But if a project you buy has majority owner-occupier, they will enforce the No partition/ No Air B&B homestay policy. This is a very important consideration when you invest or buy for own stay. My condo is majority owner occupier and there are not many tenants so this is not a big issue for us.
Precisely boss

I was replying according to the projects tat u see lotsa such partitioned units

Recently I think got 2 lengzai debate dunno wat township Vs wat township say ROI kinda thg. I would like to emphasis tat onli the real seasoned investors know their game. Bulu onli sell saliva. Risk is on owners not bulu. Moolah is pocketed so why bulu wanna bother? Selling followers a not so well project ll alwiz giv bulu the subsequent chansi to slaughter followers another round by offering them partition work la furnishing work la managing work la collection work la then recycling the works again n again la. It's non stop inviting negative k@rxa.

Wish followers gd luck.

This post has been edited by ManutdGiggs: Oct 18 2024, 04:11 PM
PAChamp
post Oct 18 2024, 02:28 PM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Oct 18 2024, 01:51 PM)
Precisely boss

I was replying according to the projects tat u see lotsa such partitioned units

Recently I think got 2 lengzai debate dunno wat township Vs wat township say ROI kinda thg. I would like to emphasis tat onli the real seasoned investors know their game. Bulu onli sell saliva. Risk is on owners but bulu. Moolah is pocketed so why bulu wanna bother? Selling followers a not so we'll project ll alwiz giv bulu the subsequent chansi to slaughter followers another round by offering them partition work la furnishing work la managing work la collection work la then recycling the works again n again la. It's non stop inviting negative k@rxa.

Wish followers gd luck.
You mean the "property wars" laugh.gif this project vs that project. Didn't bother to listen. Was it all just for investors' ears or do they cover for own stay buyers?
joshxviktor P
post Oct 18 2024, 02:44 PM

Probation
25 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Oct 18 2024, 01:42 PM)
I agreed with what you said. Almost all TOD projects will eventually turn to majority investor-occupiers. Sometimes I think Lowyat's posts also got some influential power to affect them to invest it sweat.gif
ManutdGiggs
post Oct 18 2024, 03:48 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Oct 18 2024, 02:28 PM)
You mean the "property wars"  laugh.gif this project vs that project. Didn't bother to listen. Was it all just for investors' ears or do they cover for own stay buyers?
For all u know gua oso not interested in their way creating myths to sinkalan followers.

Onli those who r in tat particular areas are the genuine masters.

I personally respect those really vested regardless they invested in THIS or THAT.

Onli naive followers ll fall for them.

This post has been edited by ManutdGiggs: Oct 18 2024, 03:52 PM
Jazted
post Oct 18 2024, 08:56 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(Najibaik @ Oct 17 2024, 11:52 AM)

"A tragic incident and fire occurred last Saturday at a condominium in Kota Damansara, where the owner (a greedy landlord) had converted a one-bedroom plus one-study room condominium into a four-bedroom unit. The victim died in the bathroom due to suffocation, while another couple was rescued from the scene.
The fire was caused by a short circuit, and the poor ventilation of the partitioned property worsened the situation, as the yard, living room + balcony had been turned into additional bedrooms.
PROPCAFE has always opposed this practice of partitioning units, and investors should think twice before continuing such modifications, as they could lead to serious incidents and potential legal complications. Also, WHOEVER advise or teach his or her students or friends to adopt these practices to maximize rental yields are being totally irresponsible. This form of partitioning, which adds more rooms, clearly violates building regulations and increases the risk of incidents like this. Please x 3!
*Note: we are unable to find a link to the English news article, so we only included the Sin Chew news link below for reference.*"

from PROPCAFE.NET

are you refereeing to this news? pity the girl tenant die...partition inside the room also blocked the air flow when fire occur.
SUSNajibaik
post Oct 19 2024, 10:18 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(Jazted @ Oct 18 2024, 08:56 PM)
"A tragic incident and fire occurred last Saturday at a condominium in Kota Damansara, where the owner (a greedy landlord) had converted a one-bedroom plus one-study room condominium into a four-bedroom unit. The victim died in the bathroom due to suffocation, while another couple was rescued from the scene.
The fire was caused by a short circuit, and the poor ventilation of the partitioned property worsened the situation, as the yard, living room +  balcony had been turned into additional bedrooms.
PROPCAFE has always opposed this practice of partitioning units, and investors should think twice before continuing such modifications, as they could lead to serious incidents and potential legal complications. Also, WHOEVER advise or teach his or her students or friends  to adopt these practices to maximize rental yields are being totally irresponsible. This form of partitioning, which adds more rooms, clearly violates building regulations and increases the risk of incidents like this. Please x 3!
*Note: we are unable to find a link to the English news article, so we only included the Sin Chew news link below for reference.*"
from PROPCAFE.NET

are you refereeing to this news? pity the girl tenant die...partition inside the room also blocked the air flow when fire occur.
that room got no window at all

not your usual partition at living room
TSCavatzu
post Oct 20 2024, 08:55 AM

2,834 posts

I don’t know how a yard can become a room. Unless it’s those older units with a big yard. Nowadays no yard even if you want one.

There’s so much shoddy electrical and plumbing work that has to happen to make a yard into a habitable room. Something bound to go wrong. If the MC don’t act on this then it’s on their heads.

This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Oct 20 2024, 08:56 AM

20 Pages « < 18 19 20Top

0.0199sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:40 PM