U Home 5G

koji188
post Mar 17 2024, 09:22 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Mar 17 2024, 08:37 AM)
Did you confirm that U home 5G can be used in mobile phones? It might be IMEI locked.

I can confirm that Umobile Postpaid and Prepaid lines can’t be used in some 5G routers cos they are IMEI locked.
svchia78
post Mar 17 2024, 09:31 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Mar 17 2024, 04:36 AM)
I've got a weird thing happening with my U Home 5G.

I use this sim card as a second sim on my S24 Ultra. I've used it ever since I got my phone which was last month. For the past 2 weeks, I've realised whenever it connects to 5G network I'll subsequently lose all mobile data. It won't even reconnect to 4G. This can only be rectified if I cycle airplane mode. After that same thing happens. As soon as I get a 5G signal, I lose all mobile data signal again.

Initially I thought this could be my phone problem as it was updated recently. But I've tried with another Umobile and YES sim card and there wasn't this problem at all. It held on to 5G for as long as I had the card in there.

I even went to the extent of getting the U Home 5G sim replaced. But the problem persisted. I even asked CS about it and they kept saying it's my phone problem. But I've tried other sims and this didn't happen to those cards.

Anyone has any clue what's going on/fixes?
Have another phone to try UH5G sim inside that phone instead?
koji188
post Mar 17 2024, 09:46 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ Mar 17 2024, 09:31 AM)
Have another phone to try UH5G sim inside that phone instead?
I tried on my old iPhone 11 but the phone doesn't have 5G. With 4G signal there's no issue at all. Only when it establishes on 5G that's when the problem comes. Now I need to disable 5G in order for me to use this sim card on my Samsung.

svchia78
post Mar 17 2024, 10:04 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Mar 17 2024, 09:46 AM)
I tried on my old iPhone 11 but the phone doesn't have 5G. With 4G signal there's no issue at all. Only when it establishes on 5G that's when the problem comes. Now I need to disable 5G in order for me to use this sim card on my Samsung.
OK, I just tested my UH5G sim in my S24U

1) as SIM 1 + another SIM

and

2) as SIM 2 + another SIM

5G worked fine in both scenarios. Tried watching a 2160p60 HDR youtube video for 1 whole minute.

So, really need to test your SIM on another 5G phone. If it still happens, may need some resetting at U mobile 's back end.
nikitaaa
post Mar 17 2024, 10:12 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(ledtechn @ Mar 16 2024, 01:43 PM)
Hi the router u get it on the spot during registration or they will sent it to your house?
I got it on the spot on the same day it was launched.. in 1utama..

It's sim lock.. and got band lock too(I saw the settings in developer mode but didn't tinker)

FusionXY
post Mar 17 2024, 12:22 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Mar 17 2024, 10:12 AM)
I got it on the spot on the same day it was launched.. in 1utama..

It's sim lock.. and got band lock too(I saw the settings in developer mode but didn't tinker)
How's was the router performance?
ZTE model? Can carry around out with bag and find places with socket?
I see the ZTE model looks slim type.
name
post Mar 17 2024, 01:04 PM

1,014 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Mar 16 2024, 10:01 AM)
This is no fiber, so torrents are not allowed. I read somewhere if you want to torrent u need to have VPN, i myself never tested it tho.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Torrent. Buy Seedbox only 10-20rm get at shopee.

Ngto
post Mar 17 2024, 01:28 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Mar 16 2024, 11:36 AM)
But to the point it's totally unusable for torrent?

If that's the case, its bad.
Sigh.. thanks anyway !!
From personal experience only. If I use YES in router, test with uTorrent in Android 7 Media player without VPN, healthy download, only around 20mbps . If use VPN , also about the same speed

But for practical purposes without VPN, I using different way of Torrenting YES.on the same Android Media player. Don't want to mention here. This method for the same torrent, I can get close to 100 mbps at it's peak. But fluctuate up and down, average out at 50-70 mbps.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Mar 17 2024, 01:53 PM
MR_alien
post Mar 18 2024, 11:33 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 17 2024, 12:22 PM)
How's was the router performance?
ZTE model? Can carry around out with bag and find places with socket?
I see the ZTE model looks slim type.
subscribed to Uhome 5G and unsub my unifi air yesterday
got the ZTE MC888S
the size is definitely travelable but it's not not 4G pocket wifi size lah
it's the size of a normal unifi fiber white BTU but vertical?

the signal of course isn't as strong as a phone with snapdragon chip on it
i can get full bar and speed on my phone with 778+ 5G while the ZTE MC888S i saw is 3 bars(this is behind a wall)

QUOTE(netken @ Mar 16 2024, 09:45 PM)
FAQ confirms it is telco locked
yes, it's telco locked
i can't change the DNS because i can't change the APN

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Mar 17 2024, 08:37 AM)
Did you confirm that U home 5G can be used in mobile phones? It might be IMEI locked.

I can confirm that Umobile Postpaid and Prepaid lines can’t be used in some 5G routers cos they are IMEI locked.
no it's not, u can unplug it from the router and use it on your phone
or just subscribe the sim only plan and use it on your phone full time

in fact, it's actually better to use it on your phone if your phone's processor is snapdragon
FusionXY
post Mar 18 2024, 11:36 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 18 2024, 11:33 AM)
subscribed to Uhome 5G and unsub my unifi air yesterday
got the ZTE MC888S
the size is definitely travelable but it's not not 4G pocket wifi size lah
it's the size of a normal unifi fiber white BTU but vertical?

the signal of course isn't as strong as a phone with snapdragon chip on it
i can get full bar and speed on my phone with 778+ 5G while the ZTE MC888S i saw is 3 bars(this is behind a wall)
yes, it's telco locked
i can't change the DNS because i can't change the APN
no it's not, u can unplug it from the router and use it on your phone
or just subscribe the sim only plan and use it on your phone full time

in fact, it's actually better to use it on your phone if your phone's processor is snapdragon
Oh, you staying in condo or landed?
Need to put near the Windows for maximum coverage?
How about the speed performance on 4K videos and downloading?

Wise phone speed test better?
As soon as I search 5G routers then tiktok show the viral portable modem thing cost RM699 rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Mar 18 2024, 11:38 AM
MR_alien
post Mar 18 2024, 11:46 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 18 2024, 11:36 AM)
Oh, you staying in condo or landed?
Need to put near the Windows for maximum coverage?
How about the speed performance on 4K videos and downloading?
condo type but lower floor
no need to put near window...behind a wall or 2 ...speed will definitely decrease but it's still faster than most speed....more than enough and usable
as always buy a sim to do extensive speed test before subscribing but the sim u bought from 7-11 cannot directly upgrade to uhome 5G(as told by the staff at the umobile shop), they'll give u a new simcard for it
they say only simcard that's previously under broadband can upgrade directly(not sure how true is that) since their online shop have the option to use existing numbers....or they send u a brand new sim with the same number but broadband? hmm.gif

speed really varies via traffic i guess
sometimes 200mbps no problem...sometime 40-100Mbps
i did a fast.com test at berjaya time square...400Mbps+
download wise...depends on opposite server...it can go as fast as the speed allows you

phone i'm using is motorola edge 30 and it can reach speed way faster than what the router can give me(because full bar instead of 3)

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Mar 18 2024, 11:49 AM
FusionXY
post Mar 18 2024, 11:59 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 18 2024, 11:46 AM)
condo type but lower floor
no need to put near window...behind a wall or 2 ...speed will definitely decrease but it's still faster than most speed....more than enough and usable
as always buy a sim to do extensive speed test before subscribing but the sim u bought from 7-11 cannot directly upgrade to uhome 5G(as told by the staff at the umobile shop), they'll give u a new simcard for it
they say only simcard that's previously under broadband can upgrade directly(not sure how true is that) since their online shop have the option to use existing numbers....or they send u a brand new sim with the same number but broadband? hmm.gif

speed really varies via traffic i guess
sometimes 200mbps no problem...sometime 40-100Mbps
i did a fast.com test at berjaya time square...400Mbps+
download wise...depends on opposite server...it can go as fast as the speed allows you

phone i'm using is motorola edge 30 and it can reach speed way faster than what the router can give me(because full bar instead of 3)
Alright, thanks for the feedback.
My phone 5G U Mobile average get 500Mbps mostly on 3rd Floor.
The online shop with router bundle is valid for existing user with U Mobile Line only.
As I tried mine cannot since my current phone number registered under father's name as last time our family sign up U28 plan back in 2017 when I am still underage, not above 18 years old yet. I email to U Mobile, they asked me to go to the center to verify with IC there.

I might go to the center with my father to change ownership to my name.
Hopefully they got service to do this as if my SIM card malfunction then my father has to be there again.

Maybe I should get the portable router for RM699 then use everywhere.
Cause always struggling at my campus since the Wi-Fi sucks.
I wanted to use my phone to share hotspot but 5G drain battery really really fast.
For me as long reach above 100Mbps good enough.

Heard other member said cannot torrent, you tried?
MR_alien
post Mar 18 2024, 12:05 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 18 2024, 11:59 AM)
Maybe I should get the portable router for RM699 then use everywhere.
Cause always struggling at my campus since the Wi-Fi sucks.
I wanted to use my phone to share hotspot but 5G drain battery really really fast.

i don't recall there are any RM699 5G router, or just get theirs and submit to the 24 months contract
if your phone is snapdragon chip and getting 500Mbps...your speed will be about same as mine on router

i gave up torrenting on malaysian for many years already...even when i'm on fiber because it simply doesn't work
and i expect same thing on telco as well
today, u don't even need to torrent when you can stream anything(unless u want 4k)

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Mar 18 2024, 12:06 PM
FusionXY
post Mar 18 2024, 12:23 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 18 2024, 12:05 PM)
i don't recall there are any RM699 5G router, or just get theirs and submit to the 24 months contract
if your phone is snapdragon chip and getting 500Mbps...your speed will be about same as mine on router

i gave up torrenting on malaysian for many years already...even when i'm on fiber because it simply doesn't work
and i expect same thing on telco as well
today, u don't even need to torrent when you can stream anything(unless u want 4k)
Actually 5G modem here.
I am using Xiaomi 12T with Mediatek processor.
For me maybe portable will do since need to use outside only.
BOTAK_WAI
post Mar 18 2024, 12:23 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,148 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 18 2024, 11:59 AM)

u can use ethernet tethering

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=107941279

MR_alien
post Mar 18 2024, 12:25 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 18 2024, 12:23 PM)
Actually 5G modem here.
better wait for review...for test speed and battery draining
if 5G can drain your phone...it can drain this as well
FusionXY
post Mar 18 2024, 12:33 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 18 2024, 12:23 PM)
Great suggestion bro.
Will try this.

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 18 2024, 12:25 PM)
better wait for review...for test speed and battery draining
if 5G can drain your phone...it can drain this as well
Ya, I notice I share hotspot + 5G connection drain a lot than usual on Wi-Fi Connection.
Need to charge at twice per day instead of one per day.
You can click his shop to see other 5G routers/modem that is also selling.
You can check tiktok channel here
Seen few times on other tiktokers about this router is portable and good.
johnlth93
post Mar 18 2024, 12:36 PM

Debian
1,200 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 17 2024, 01:28 PM)
From personal experience only. If I use YES in router, test with uTorrent in Android 7 Media player without VPN,  healthy download, only around 20mbps . If use VPN , also about the same speed

But for practical purposes without VPN, I using different way of Torrenting YES.on the same Android Media player. Don't want to mention here. This method for the same torrent, I can get close to 100 mbps at it's peak. But fluctuate up and down, average out at 50-70 mbps.
With VPN on Yes 5G I can get max speed like 500mbps on torrents
johnlth93
post Mar 18 2024, 12:41 PM

Debian
1,200 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 18 2024, 12:23 PM)
Actually 5G modem here.
I think Olax one should be not bad one
FusionXY
post Mar 18 2024, 12:44 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(johnlth93 @ Mar 18 2024, 12:41 PM)
I think Olax one should be not bad one
Yup. RM699 for this.
His Tiktok got other ones.
The Router to plug in also quite good.

120 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:29 PM