U Home 5G

svchia78
post Jul 17 2023, 10:34 AM

971 posts

How to ensure the 5G modem/ router are compatible with DNB's 5G - those that haven't *diakarkan*.

I already have Huawei B618 (4G only) and thinking of upgrading to a newer 5G modem/ router with this new U Home 5G plan.
svchia78
post Aug 10 2023, 03:20 PM

971 posts

Anyone already using the "officially"- U Mobile recognized ZTE CPEs MC8020 and MC801A?

If wanna spend on a 5G modem router, I'd rather go for these two models than those "EE", "3" etc. etc.

This post has been edited by svchia78: Aug 10 2023, 03:27 PM
svchia78
post Aug 22 2023, 05:24 PM

971 posts

Users of TP-L X50, how slow is your unit start-up from power on to actual internet connection (green/ light blue light)?

I tested mine 2 times and took about 2m 15s.....

Using Hotlink for set-up, if that matters. At home using UH5G.

This post has been edited by svchia78: Aug 22 2023, 05:27 PM
svchia78
post Aug 25 2023, 05:25 PM

971 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Aug 25 2023, 05:13 PM)
Looks like Yes launched their response to this plan
https://soyacincau.com/2023/08/25/yes-5g-pr...-speed-for-all/

[It's a sponsored post though]
Good... the competition is heating-up... Can't see YES's terms and conditions yet...
svchia78
post Feb 9 2024, 09:12 AM

971 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Feb 9 2024, 08:49 AM)
Want to ask, if I get the UmobileĀ  5g broadband sim (68/-) , can I put it in my Unifi Air 4g router for time being before deciding what 5g router to get. Will it work ?

If can, will I be able to get full 4g uncapped speed ?
If your Unifi Air 4g router is sim-locked, then will not work. Otherwise, will work and connected to 4G only.

What model is your Unifi Air modem?

I too used Huawei B618 (factory-unlocked) with umobile home 5G sim prior to getting 5G router modem. Speed was good above 100Mbps.

This post has been edited by svchia78: Feb 9 2024, 09:15 AM
svchia78
post Mar 6 2024, 10:28 AM

971 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 6 2024, 09:23 AM)
this plan i must use a router or can use phone like unifi air?
why many here insist must buy router
Tried using it with a smartphone as modem-router. It worked for me. But battery-zapping if on 5G. And HOT, too.

But the plan is tailored as a substitute/ alternative for those without/ "port-already-full" fibre coverage. So why not use a standalone modem/ router and share with everyone in the house?

This post has been edited by svchia78: Mar 6 2024, 10:29 AM
svchia78
post Mar 6 2024, 12:11 PM

971 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 6 2024, 10:52 AM)

why not use a standalone modem i think because of 2 reasons
1. i'm only alone
2. same as everybody else...5G modem is too expensive, i only have 4G modem on hand
Oh, ngamlah alone memang tak payah...

Then no need to be bothered with U Home 5G, might as well take Hotlink Prepaid + Sabah Pass special aje... use on your existing phone 5G phone - 1000GB and hotspot-able.
svchia78
post Mar 6 2024, 12:24 PM

971 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 6 2024, 12:21 PM)
these sabah passes for umobile and hotlink can only be used in sabah?
Hotlink says the 60GB 4G portion boleh seluruh Malaysia. The 5G portion is Sabah only.

Umobile says Borneo pass only in Sarawak+Sabah+Labuan. Any place outside these 3, only 10GB only.

svchia78
post Mar 6 2024, 10:22 PM

971 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Mar 6 2024, 09:32 PM)
The thing is some of the online sellers are registering your IC details in Sabah for the SIM they send to you for activation using their dealer system which doesn't require face recognition as additional step except your IC image.

Special offer will appear after a few days in your app after your IC has been registered.

Then when you purchase it, the quota will reflect 1TB/2TB for 5G.

If use in Malaysia, your 5G usage will still deduct directly from the 5G meter right?
There will always be abusers.

Hence telco H recently changed the usage policy for Sabah pass to only 4G outside Sabah (according to their FAQ). But RM18 (after rebate RM2) is still very good value for 60GB 4G - using this in office without 5G modem router.

The unlimited 5G will be in Sabah region only (according to their FAQ). Not sure if this is truly in force now.

Thought of terminating my U Home 5G to use the telco H Sabah pass' 5G - big savings of RM50/month leh. But expecting it will not last long, don't want to go through the hassle of re-registering for UH 5G again if the Sabah pass offer is withdrawn in very near future(?).

svchia78
post Mar 6 2024, 10:50 PM

971 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Mar 6 2024, 10:27 PM)
Also these plans meant for use in phones only are blocked when used with popular modems out there.

The IMEI ban on popular branded modems which cannot be modified has a blanket wide on all telcos because it's registered into DNB core equipments which serves the entire nation 5G needs.
U Mobile's Borneo plan is like that - stated clearly in their FAQs - only smartphone.

But a user of Telco H confirmed using the Sabah pass with TP-Link X50 5G. I am using this modem too, but haven't tried with telco H Sabah pass.

You can search the H East Malaysia Plan forum.

This post has been edited by svchia78: Mar 6 2024, 10:50 PM
svchia78
post Mar 15 2024, 02:04 PM

971 posts

If possible, don't sign-up for telco contracts. The telco market is very competitive and fluid. Don't tie yourself up with a 24-month contract.

This post has been edited by svchia78: Mar 15 2024, 02:05 PM
svchia78
post Mar 16 2024, 04:17 PM

971 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 16 2024, 01:26 PM)
Technically that is true but at rm68/month, what more do we want?
It's as cheap as it gets
I also plan to move my unifi air to u home 5G after extensive testing

The 4G and 4G+ is almost unusable...it won't even load anything but the key is to stay 5G all the time
Which is why I plan to subscribe the plan with router

U mobile coverage is a little better than unifi but it's only 4G but they guarantee the 4G speed
While u-mobile, u have to maintain 5G to get good speed
Sometimes also area-dependent.

Before I took the dive and bought a 5G TP-Link modem-router, I was using UH5G with only Huawei B618 4g-only modem-router, stock. Quite good the 4G speed and stable too.

But my area memang one kind - all over the place has fibre but my side of the road tiada when the nearest is just opposite the road laugh.gif So, everyone else is on fibre and I can rely on wireless.

So, have you checked if the bundled modem-router is locked?

This post has been edited by svchia78: Mar 16 2024, 04:18 PM
svchia78
post Mar 16 2024, 05:21 PM

971 posts

QUOTE(eauyong @ Mar 16 2024, 04:55 PM)
Thanks for info about the connection of 4G on B618 is stable. Please advise the speed of 4G experienced so far. Thanks.
Left B618 and using TP-Link X50 5G now... So couldn't comment. But whether 4G or 5G, it is really area-dependent. No complaint so far for me on UH5G.

But I still will not consider using U mobile on my daily driver phone even with the gooding U Borneo (phone) plans. Their coverage here in Sabah still so-so.
svchia78
post Mar 17 2024, 09:31 AM

971 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Mar 17 2024, 04:36 AM)
I've got a weird thing happening with my U Home 5G.

I use this sim card as a second sim on my S24 Ultra. I've used it ever since I got my phone which was last month. For the past 2 weeks, I've realised whenever it connects to 5G network I'll subsequently lose all mobile data. It won't even reconnect to 4G. This can only be rectified if I cycle airplane mode. After that same thing happens. As soon as I get a 5G signal, I lose all mobile data signal again.

Initially I thought this could be my phone problem as it was updated recently. But I've tried with another Umobile and YES sim card and there wasn't this problem at all. It held on to 5G for as long as I had the card in there.

I even went to the extent of getting the U Home 5G sim replaced. But the problem persisted. I even asked CS about it and they kept saying it's my phone problem. But I've tried other sims and this didn't happen to those cards.

Anyone has any clue what's going on/fixes?
Have another phone to try UH5G sim inside that phone instead?
svchia78
post Mar 17 2024, 10:04 AM

971 posts

QUOTE(koji188 @ Mar 17 2024, 09:46 AM)
I tried on my old iPhone 11 but the phone doesn't have 5G. With 4G signal there's no issue at all. Only when it establishes on 5G that's when the problem comes. Now I need to disable 5G in order for me to use this sim card on my Samsung.
OK, I just tested my UH5G sim in my S24U

1) as SIM 1 + another SIM

and

2) as SIM 2 + another SIM

5G worked fine in both scenarios. Tried watching a 2160p60 HDR youtube video for 1 whole minute.

So, really need to test your SIM on another 5G phone. If it still happens, may need some resetting at U mobile 's back end.
svchia78
post Mar 29 2024, 06:38 PM

971 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Mar 29 2024, 05:37 PM)
Received my umobile 5G home. Unboxed, insert SIM which comes together. Waited for few hours and Sim is yet to be activated from umobile sad.gif
Could this be the issue? If you purchased online:

svchia78
post Apr 24 2024, 10:02 AM

971 posts

The hassles that the bundled modem(s) caused to users....... just go for TPLink X50 5G aje lah... More expensive but encountered no issue so far.

svchia78
post May 13 2024, 09:15 AM

971 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ May 12 2024, 11:11 PM)
how do i register? do u buy the normal sim or uhome sim?
Previously UM had this easy port-in feature by buying a prepaid SIM at convenient stores and initiate port-in using UM app.

No longer available it seems.

But why the hassle of an extra step - can just sign-up for UH5G using the website and get it delivered?
svchia78
post Jun 5 2024, 10:29 AM

971 posts

QUOTE(xswatch @ Jun 5 2024, 07:39 AM)
my maxis fibre contract ending in a month time. after reading about so many issues with the free modem from umobile, I'm thinking on getting tplink x50 since latest update can lock band already & comes with 3yrs warranty.

however I'm thinking to get a55 as spare phone (current phone start having issues) with the postpaid 98 instead. just need to +30 from uhome rm68.

question: postpaid 98 comes with 1tb data & can use as hotspot all of the 1tb data. will the hotspot only function inside phone & mod router only? i mean, if I put inside stock non-mod router will it work? example tplink x50 or nokia fastmile. I mean I want to use the 1tb as hotspot purpose but using non-mod router. anyone use any postpaid from u mobile ever try this? thanks in advance smile.gif
Better not test your luck if you are going to sign a contract with postpaid 98 to get the A55 phone. You could be stuck with hotspotting through phone (and *ahem* modem) ONLY to use the bundled 1TB if your intention is to use Postpaid 98 as a replacement of your soon-to-be-ending fibre contract.

Check the TnCs here. - Clause 1(b).

This post has been edited by svchia78: Jun 5 2024, 10:35 AM

0.0275sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:45 AM