this plan i must use a router or can use phone like unifi air?
why many here insist must buy router
U Home 5G
U Home 5G
Mar 6 2024, 09:23 AM
3,581 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: everywhere in sabah |
this plan i must use a router or can use phone like unifi air?
why many here insist must buy router |
Mar 6 2024, 10:52 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(svchia78 @ Mar 6 2024, 10:28 AM) Tried using it with a smartphone as modem-router. It worked for me. But battery-zapping if on 5G. And HOT, too. i think battery zapping and hot is normal because i've used unifi 5G as my main line before(when they 1st launch their 5G packages)...before committing to unifi air 4GBut the plan is tailored as a substitute/ alternative for those without/ "port-already-full" fibre coverage. So why not use a standalone modem/ router and share with everyone in the house? it definitely can replace a fiber cable...that u can take anywhere why not use a standalone modem i think because of 2 reasons 1. i'm only alone 2. same as everybody else...5G modem is too expensive, i only have 4G modem on hand |
Mar 6 2024, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(svchia78 @ Mar 6 2024, 12:11 PM) Oh, ngamlah alone memang tak payah... these sabah passes for umobile and hotlink can only be used in sabah?Then no need to be bothered with U Home 5G, might as well take Hotlink Prepaid + Sabah Pass special aje... use on your existing phone 5G phone - 1000GB and hotspot-able. |
Mar 6 2024, 04:38 PM
QUOTE(svchia78 @ Mar 6 2024, 12:24 PM) Hotlink says the 60GB 4G portion boleh seluruh Malaysia. The 5G portion is Sabah only. seem like it's either unifi air or this U home 5G....might buy a simcard to test the speed 1stUmobile says Borneo pass only in Sarawak+Sabah+Labuan. Any place outside these 3, only 10GB only. |
Mar 7 2024, 08:45 AM
Mar 7 2024, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 7 2024, 06:43 PM) actually if u wanted to use my phone and allowed toi actually have another way of doing it, am currently using it now...like hotspot but not really hotspot |
Mar 8 2024, 08:19 AM
Mar 16 2024, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(svchia78 @ Mar 15 2024, 02:04 PM) If possible, don't sign-up for telco contracts. The telco market is very competitive and fluid. Don't tie yourself up with a 24-month contract. Technically that is true but at rm68/month, what more do we want?It's as cheap as it gets I also plan to move my unifi air to u home 5G after extensive testing The 4G and 4G+ is almost unusable...it won't even load anything but the key is to stay 5G all the time Which is why I plan to subscribe the plan with router U mobile coverage is a little better than unifi but it's only 4G but they guarantee the 4G speed While u-mobile, u have to maintain 5G to get good speed netken liked this post
Mar 16 2024, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(svchia78 @ Mar 16 2024, 04:17 PM) Sometimes also area-dependent. my place's umobile coverage....4G is not usable, only 5GBefore I took the dive and bought a 5G TP-Link modem-router, I was using UH5G with only Huawei B618 4g-only modem-router, stock. Quite good the 4G speed and stable too. But my area memang one kind - all over the place has fibre but my side of the road tiada when the nearest is just opposite the road So, have you checked if the bundled modem-router is locked? but places that i go, 4G and 5G is acceptable even i go inside SS2 to test, nothing will load under 4G |
Mar 18 2024, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 17 2024, 12:22 PM) How's was the router performance? subscribed to Uhome 5G and unsub my unifi air yesterdayZTE model? Can carry around out with bag and find places with socket? I see the ZTE model looks slim type. got the ZTE MC888S the size is definitely travelable but it's not not 4G pocket wifi size lah it's the size of a normal unifi fiber white BTU but vertical? the signal of course isn't as strong as a phone with snapdragon chip on it i can get full bar and speed on my phone with 778+ 5G while the ZTE MC888S i saw is 3 bars(this is behind a wall) QUOTE(netken @ Mar 16 2024, 09:45 PM) yes, it's telco lockedi can't change the DNS because i can't change the APN QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Mar 17 2024, 08:37 AM) Did you confirm that U home 5G can be used in mobile phones? It might be IMEI locked. no it's not, u can unplug it from the router and use it on your phoneI can confirm that Umobile Postpaid and Prepaid lines can’t be used in some 5G routers cos they are IMEI locked. or just subscribe the sim only plan and use it on your phone full time in fact, it's actually better to use it on your phone if your phone's processor is snapdragon |
Mar 18 2024, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 18 2024, 11:36 AM) Oh, you staying in condo or landed? condo type but lower floorNeed to put near the Windows for maximum coverage? How about the speed performance on 4K videos and downloading? no need to put near window...behind a wall or 2 ...speed will definitely decrease but it's still faster than most speed....more than enough and usable as always buy a sim to do extensive speed test before subscribing but the sim u bought from 7-11 cannot directly upgrade to uhome 5G(as told by the staff at the umobile shop), they'll give u a new simcard for it they say only simcard that's previously under broadband can upgrade directly(not sure how true is that) since their online shop have the option to use existing numbers....or they send u a brand new sim with the same number but broadband? speed really varies via traffic i guess sometimes 200mbps no problem...sometime 40-100Mbps i did a fast.com test at berjaya time square...400Mbps+ download wise...depends on opposite server...it can go as fast as the speed allows you ![]() phone i'm using is motorola edge 30 and it can reach speed way faster than what the router can give me(because full bar instead of 3) This post has been edited by MR_alien: Mar 18 2024, 11:49 AM |
Mar 18 2024, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 18 2024, 11:59 AM) Maybe I should get the portable router for RM699 then use everywhere. i don't recall there are any RM699 5G router, or just get theirs and submit to the 24 months contractCause always struggling at my campus since the Wi-Fi sucks. I wanted to use my phone to share hotspot but 5G drain battery really really fast. For me as long reach above 100Mbps good enough. Heard other member said cannot torrent, you tried? if your phone is snapdragon chip and getting 500Mbps...your speed will be about same as mine on router i gave up torrenting on malaysian for many years already...even when i'm on fiber because it simply doesn't work and i expect same thing on telco as well today, u don't even need to torrent when you can stream anything(unless u want 4k) This post has been edited by MR_alien: Mar 18 2024, 12:06 PM |
Mar 18 2024, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 18 2024, 12:23 PM) Actually 5G modem here. better wait for review...for test speed and battery drainingI am using Xiaomi 12T with Mediatek processor. For me maybe portable will do since need to use outside only. if 5G can drain your phone...it can drain this as well |
Mar 18 2024, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(FusionXY @ Mar 18 2024, 12:33 PM) Ya, I notice I share hotspot + 5G connection drain a lot than usual on Wi-Fi Connection. every video seem to only show how portable and the speed it can getNeed to charge at twice per day instead of one per day. You can click his shop to see other 5G routers/modem that is also selling. You can check tiktok channel here Seen few times on other tiktokers about this router is portable and good. nobody dare to show how long the battery can last even the ZTE umobile gave, it does get warm...so can't imagine the portable version and it's battery life |
Mar 19 2024, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(netken @ Mar 19 2024, 08:36 AM) got it yesterday from Berjaya Times Square - existing U5G Home subscribers just sign 2 years and take the ZTE Modem. Mine is in reversetrying now - what they say is true, this router kuat tarik signal, my office usually very low 5G 1/2 bar and switch to 4G. this ZTE modem can tarik 5G constant at 2/3 bar so far .... band can be locked - but SIM only for U Mobile. 2 years contract without any extra payment - so why not for me. My phone can do full bar while the router can only do 3 bars |
Mar 19 2024, 03:45 PM
Mar 19 2024, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Mar 19 2024, 06:20 PM) Aw cant change DNS? that kinda sucks u can't change the DNS because u can't change the APNI wonder if there is any hidden higher tier admin account not revealed to public yet, most ISPs love to have a higher tier account meant for technicians but that doesn't mean anything, just do the DNS at all your devices...it's the same just that it's extra work need to go device by device instead of setting once at router |
Mar 20 2024, 08:31 AM
Mar 22 2024, 08:04 AM
from U Home 5G, now they have U Biz 5G....which is exactly the same thing at the exact same price
i wonder what's the difference? |
Mar 22 2024, 06:31 PM
| Change to: | 0.0399sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:21 PM |