U Home 5G

FusionXY
post Mar 15 2024, 04:25 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 15 2024, 03:10 PM)
Like that YES 99/- with modem can close shop.

Umobile now same thing for only 68/-
But got 1000GB/month FUP. Unless not heavy downloads.
Wise still got choice to take.

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Mar 15 2024, 04:33 PM
FusionXY
post Mar 15 2024, 05:36 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Mar 15 2024, 04:42 PM)
Most people i guess 1TB FUP is more than enough i guess, monthly i only used at max around 400GB quota only..  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Ya. Gonna try this later at my sister's new house high floor.
FusionXY
post Mar 15 2024, 06:03 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 15 2024, 06:02 PM)
YES (no router) = 58/-
Umobile (with router) = 68/-
Should I get U Mobile with Router Plan? hmm.gif hmm.gif
Currently using U Mobile U38 Plan.
So far everywhere good with 5G in Penang.

Does living high floor will have better speeds?
Since my sister's house at higher floor.

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Mar 15 2024, 06:08 PM
FusionXY
post Mar 15 2024, 06:56 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Mar 15 2024, 06:51 PM)
depends on how high your floor is. Example, I stayed in an airbnb unit which is at level 58 (Lucentia Lalaport). Guess what, the 5G signal is not strong unless putting the router at balcony  rolleyes.gif
What about 45th Floor? Does the AIRBNB unit within the 5G Coverage aka the Orange Area?
If 5G don't have then auto switch to 4G?
FusionXY
post Mar 16 2024, 02:12 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Mar 16 2024, 12:56 AM)
Staying too high signal also no good, the direction of the 5G antenna may not towards to the sky and signal will be weak when staying at high level.
Gotta try with my U38 plan later and see 5G connection is stable or not.
Around June maybe test as key collection to new house later.
Then sign up with router + 24 months contract.
Even now I use on my house 3rd floor. In my room 5G connection quite good.

Tempting to get U Home 5G + Router bundle for RM68/month.
FusionXY
post Mar 16 2024, 02:17 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Mar 16 2024, 01:46 AM)
One of the U Home 5G users who got a ZTE router

Credit to: U Mobile FB Group
I think random given between two types of router.

ZTE router will be much better than the KAON.

ZTE (AX3000)
KAON (AX1500)

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Mar 16 2024, 02:24 AM
FusionXY
post Mar 16 2024, 04:37 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

Sad, excited to try U home 5G + Router but the customer validation disallowed me to proceed through.

If no contract SIM card without router can go through. sweat.gif

Some hidden TnC.

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Mar 16 2024, 05:21 AM
FusionXY
post Mar 16 2024, 10:22 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 16 2024, 06:29 AM)
These 5G routers can be very directional . I stay at the 6 floor of my apartment in KV.  I can get full signal, (probably some towers nearby), but my speed fluctuating throughout the day. Sometimes 300+Mbps one moment , then 30-50mbps the next. Tried out some old 4g antenna from my old modem router didn't do anything .

Finally I installed the Open signal app on my phone and followed the signal direction of my modem connection. I turned the modem back side (where the empty antenna ports are located)  towards the tower direction, now can constantly get stable signal 300-400 Mbps. Every once in a while early in the morning can get 500mbps.
Oh I see.
FusionXY
post Mar 16 2024, 02:08 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(ledtechn @ Mar 16 2024, 01:43 PM)
Hi the router u get it on the spot during registration or they will sent it to your house?
Go to Center depends on the stock availability.
If they got stock then get on the spot.
Else, apply online then wait for it to arrive to your house.

I just noticed that this router bundle is eligible to existing U mobile users only.
My IC is not registered under U mobile postpaid as my number now is under my father's IC. Then I tried mine said not eligible for standard package on the customer validation online. If without router plan can proceed.

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Mar 16 2024, 06:47 PM
FusionXY
post Mar 17 2024, 12:22 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(nikitaaa @ Mar 17 2024, 10:12 AM)
I got it on the spot on the same day it was launched.. in 1utama..

It's sim lock.. and got band lock too(I saw the settings in developer mode but didn't tinker)
How's was the router performance?
ZTE model? Can carry around out with bag and find places with socket?
I see the ZTE model looks slim type.
FusionXY
post Mar 18 2024, 11:36 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 18 2024, 11:33 AM)
subscribed to Uhome 5G and unsub my unifi air yesterday
got the ZTE MC888S
the size is definitely travelable but it's not not 4G pocket wifi size lah
it's the size of a normal unifi fiber white BTU but vertical?

the signal of course isn't as strong as a phone with snapdragon chip on it
i can get full bar and speed on my phone with 778+ 5G while the ZTE MC888S i saw is 3 bars(this is behind a wall)
yes, it's telco locked
i can't change the DNS because i can't change the APN
no it's not, u can unplug it from the router and use it on your phone
or just subscribe the sim only plan and use it on your phone full time

in fact, it's actually better to use it on your phone if your phone's processor is snapdragon
Oh, you staying in condo or landed?
Need to put near the Windows for maximum coverage?
How about the speed performance on 4K videos and downloading?

Wise phone speed test better?
As soon as I search 5G routers then tiktok show the viral portable modem thing cost RM699 rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Mar 18 2024, 11:38 AM
FusionXY
post Mar 18 2024, 11:59 AM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 18 2024, 11:46 AM)
condo type but lower floor
no need to put near window...behind a wall or 2 ...speed will definitely decrease but it's still faster than most speed....more than enough and usable
as always buy a sim to do extensive speed test before subscribing but the sim u bought from 7-11 cannot directly upgrade to uhome 5G(as told by the staff at the umobile shop), they'll give u a new simcard for it
they say only simcard that's previously under broadband can upgrade directly(not sure how true is that) since their online shop have the option to use existing numbers....or they send u a brand new sim with the same number but broadband? hmm.gif

speed really varies via traffic i guess
sometimes 200mbps no problem...sometime 40-100Mbps
i did a fast.com test at berjaya time square...400Mbps+
download wise...depends on opposite server...it can go as fast as the speed allows you

phone i'm using is motorola edge 30 and it can reach speed way faster than what the router can give me(because full bar instead of 3)
Alright, thanks for the feedback.
My phone 5G U Mobile average get 500Mbps mostly on 3rd Floor.
The online shop with router bundle is valid for existing user with U Mobile Line only.
As I tried mine cannot since my current phone number registered under father's name as last time our family sign up U28 plan back in 2017 when I am still underage, not above 18 years old yet. I email to U Mobile, they asked me to go to the center to verify with IC there.

I might go to the center with my father to change ownership to my name.
Hopefully they got service to do this as if my SIM card malfunction then my father has to be there again.

Maybe I should get the portable router for RM699 then use everywhere.
Cause always struggling at my campus since the Wi-Fi sucks.
I wanted to use my phone to share hotspot but 5G drain battery really really fast.
For me as long reach above 100Mbps good enough.

Heard other member said cannot torrent, you tried?
FusionXY
post Mar 18 2024, 12:23 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 18 2024, 12:05 PM)
i don't recall there are any RM699 5G router, or just get theirs and submit to the 24 months contract
if your phone is snapdragon chip and getting 500Mbps...your speed will be about same as mine on router

i gave up torrenting on malaysian for many years already...even when i'm on fiber because it simply doesn't work
and i expect same thing on telco as well
today, u don't even need to torrent when you can stream anything(unless u want 4k)
Actually 5G modem here.
I am using Xiaomi 12T with Mediatek processor.
For me maybe portable will do since need to use outside only.
FusionXY
post Mar 18 2024, 12:33 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 18 2024, 12:23 PM)
Great suggestion bro.
Will try this.

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 18 2024, 12:25 PM)
better wait for review...for test speed and battery draining
if 5G can drain your phone...it can drain this as well
Ya, I notice I share hotspot + 5G connection drain a lot than usual on Wi-Fi Connection.
Need to charge at twice per day instead of one per day.
You can click his shop to see other 5G routers/modem that is also selling.
You can check tiktok channel here
Seen few times on other tiktokers about this router is portable and good.
FusionXY
post Mar 18 2024, 12:44 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(johnlth93 @ Mar 18 2024, 12:41 PM)
I think Olax one should be not bad one
Yup. RM699 for this.
His Tiktok got other ones.
The Router to plug in also quite good.
FusionXY
post Mar 18 2024, 12:56 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 18 2024, 12:48 PM)
every video seem to only show how portable and the speed it can get
nobody dare to show how long the battery can last laugh.gif

even the ZTE umobile gave, it does get warm...so can't imagine the portable version and it's battery life
Put a fan below 😂
If using phone as tethering then will be hot as fire.
Battery life? If rarely go out no problem.
Unlike traveling highway more often.
Most 5G routers will get hot. I think la.
FusionXY
post Aug 28 2025, 09:11 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Aug 28 2025, 07:23 PM)
gten iq
qualqom x55 modem price around like that

supee playing with 15% voucher
seller price are the same
no 15% voucher no buy
That price actually not bad.
Too bad seller in Lazada platform no more.

Where do you get the 15% voucher?

This post has been edited by FusionXY: Aug 28 2025, 09:17 PM

0.0698sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:16 AM