xswatch
post Jul 21 2024, 06:57 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(syahpian @ Jul 20 2024, 08:01 PM)
qouta only 1TB, and addon quota so expensive  biggrin.gif

https://help.celcomdigi.com/support/solutio...gi-5g-home-wifi

lol. damn expensive. my average usage is around 3tb monthly (100gb daily). only sohai will subscribe to this package. haha

at least u home 5g u can purchase another 1tb at just rm30. win liao.

This post has been edited by xswatch: Jul 21 2024, 07:03 PM
willkso
post Jul 22 2024, 09:28 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(xswatch @ Jul 19 2024, 08:57 PM)
but need to subscribe to digi/celcom postpaid plan 60 or above to get the rm79 price. anyway anyone know what the router model they provide?
It's ZTE MC888D, customized with CelcomDigi logo.
cloudwan
post Jul 23 2024, 10:32 AM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jul 21 2024, 11:05 AM)
Well, depends.

If it switches often between 4G and 5G, then CelcomDigi would offer much better speed than UM.

Personally I would prefer to have CelcomDigi for their superior 4G network in case 5G goes down (sometimes it does goes down few times a day). However their price is really not attractive and no free router if you are not postpaid subscriber.
If its the Digi pre merger, i would say their 4G network is good, but nowadays their network is quite crappy at my place. My place it used to be celcom crappy and digi is good, now both is crappy ever since they consolidate their network tower.. doh.gif
loonsave
post Jul 23 2024, 01:08 PM

1,635 posts

I am planning to get the U Home 5g for my old man. Assuming approximate 20 hours fb live stream a day, 1000GB FUP enough for his usage?

Sometimes he just leave the fb live steam while sleeping. He treat it as radio.
lburner
post Jul 23 2024, 04:47 PM

Can someone give me their long-term review of their uhome 5G? would you be still using it instead of fiber internet? what about the speed? is it consistent during peak hours?
willkso
post Jul 23 2024, 07:01 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Jul 23 2024, 01:08 PM)
I am planning to get the U Home 5g for my old man. Assuming approximate 20 hours fb live stream a day, 1000GB FUP enough for his usage?

1000GB enough for my TV xxx streaming 24x7. Daily usage can be anything 20GB to 30GB. Not sure about fb live stream
budi1413
post Jul 23 2024, 07:51 PM

1,607 posts

QUOTE(lburner @ Jul 23 2024, 04:47 PM)
Can someone give me their long-term review of their uhome 5G? would you be still using it instead of fiber internet? what about the speed? is it consistent during peak hours?
should be enough. but if not enough only rm30 for extra tb. laugh.gif
xswatch
post Jul 23 2024, 09:44 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Jul 23 2024, 07:01 PM)
1000GB enough for my TV xxx streaming 24x7. Daily usage can be anything 20GB to 30GB. Not sure about fb live stream
does your TV stream in 4k? I only have 1 4k TV, streaming Netflix & prime video about 12 hours every day & my usage is about 90gb daily. rough calculation I will be using about 2.7tb of Internet monthly.

cloudwan
post Jul 24 2024, 01:00 PM

- Knob -
8,525 posts

It depends on the area ur living at, my place the lowest speed it goes so far during peak hours is around 150ish mbps.. Still gonna keep using it i think, if they can maintain the speed and connection quality.
With a usage of around 300gb data monthly for streaming 1080p and browsing and downloads, it fits my budget nicely for only RM68 a month. Where got fiber with that amount of monthly payment so far.
Only downside is that can't torrent anymore.. sweat.gif sweat.gif
lburner
post Jul 24 2024, 02:16 PM

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jul 24 2024, 01:00 PM)
It depends on the area ur living at, my place the lowest speed it goes so far during peak hours is around 150ish mbps.. Still gonna keep using it i think, if they can maintain the speed and connection quality.
With a usage of around 300gb data monthly for streaming 1080p and browsing and downloads, it fits my budget nicely for only RM68 a month. Where got fiber with that amount of monthly payment so far.
Only downside is that can't torrent anymore..  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Many thanks mate! Can I know what router you using?
I guess it is suitable for my new home with only 2 people using. I particularly like the portability and easy installation
willkso
post Jul 24 2024, 07:54 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(xswatch @ Jul 23 2024, 09:44 PM)
does your TV stream in 4k? I only have 1 4k TV, streaming Netflix & prime video about 12 hours every day & my usage is about 90gb daily. rough calculation I will be using about 2.7tb of Internet monthly.

The TV is 4K but streaming quality perhaps not even full HD biggrin.gif
MR_alien
post Jul 24 2024, 09:03 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

ultrageek
post Jul 25 2024, 08:19 AM

342 posts

I terminated my Fiber about 2 months ago and have been using this.

Here are my observations as I WFH for 4 days a week.
Along with my notebook, I have two other devices (IOT) connected during the day.
Most of my Teams calls happen in the afternoon, i.e. 3pm to 6pm and they are with staff overseas - and I have no issues with their video / audio. Neither they with me.
Of course, during THAT time, if you perform a speedtest, it will drop massively from my usual 400mbps to around 100...
And during that time, for fun, I had streamed Netflix or Disney+ via my mini PC connected to a TV without any issues along with my son doing his online homework.

So if you dare to take the plunge... note that unlike Fiber, which guarantees the bandwidth, 5G is a bit of a Russian Roulette...

Two caveats though:
The provided ZTE MC888s is ... mediocre at best. So, you might want to consider replacing it.
You may get disconnected from the 5G service, and so, a reboot of the modem is required. How frequent is dependent on your location and (i guess) luck.
My longest run on my NR5103EV2 without a reboot is 14 days.

Regards.
JLA
post Jul 25 2024, 08:34 AM

2,786 posts

QUOTE(xswatch @ Jul 21 2024, 06:57 PM)
lol. damn expensive. my average usage is around 3tb monthly (100gb daily). only sohai will subscribe to this package. haha

at least u home 5g u can purchase another 1tb at just rm30. win liao.
well
celcomdigi got cheaper 5G plan for prepaid

johnlth93
post Jul 25 2024, 09:27 AM

Debian
1,200 posts

QUOTE(syahpian @ Jul 20 2024, 08:01 PM)
qouta only 1TB, and addon quota so expensive  biggrin.gif

https://help.celcomdigi.com/support/solutio...gi-5g-home-wifi

U Mobile addon RM30 for extra 1TB

1000GB FUP but you can double it for only RM30
While the plan is advertised as an “unlimited” 5G broadband plan, the FAQ mentions that they may restrict your speeds if they detect abuse or unusually high usage above 1000GB. The T&C states clearly that there’s a Fair Usage Policy (FUP) limit of 1,000GB. Once the FUP limit is reached, the speed will be throttled to 512kbps.

If you need more than 1,000GB in a month, U Mobile is also offering a U Home 5G Add-on that provides an additional 1,000GB of high-speed quota that’s valid until the next billing cycle. According to U Mobile, this U Home 5G Add-on costs RM30 and this is incredibly good value for money for data-heavy users. With the current introductory promo (RM68/month), this means you can get a 5G wireless broadband plan with a whopping 2000GB of data for only RM98/month.

This calculates to just 5 sen per GB and what’s more impressive is there’s no speed cap. According to U Mobile, U Home 5G offers fibre-like speeds for your home with a minimum of 100Mbps. This is based on Digital Nasional Berhad’s guarantee of delivering a minimum of 100Mbps across its nationwide 5G network.

Malaysia’s 5G network is said to have over 62% population coverage and DNB is given a target to achieve 80% 5G population coverage by the end of this year. For more info, you can visit U Mobile’s U Home 5G page.

johnlth93
post Jul 25 2024, 09:27 AM

Debian
1,200 posts

QUOTE(loonsave @ Jul 23 2024, 01:08 PM)

More than enough
johnlth93
post Jul 25 2024, 09:29 AM

Debian
1,200 posts

Using for 1 month so far ok but ofcuz fiber would be more stable
5G varies on location and the hour of using it, peak hour would usually get slower
But so far never seen lower than 70/80mbps most of the times
Usually can get about 100-250mbps
johnlth93
post Jul 25 2024, 09:30 AM

Debian
1,200 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Jul 24 2024, 01:00 PM)
Only downside is that can't torrent anymore..  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
VPN or seedbox if keen to torrent but nowsday do ppl still torrent? Like what for?
yenchenje
post Jul 25 2024, 09:52 AM

932 posts

QUOTE(johnlth93 @ Jul 25 2024, 09:30 AM)
VPN or seedbox if keen to torrent but nowsday do ppl still torrent? Like what for?
Have you seen the enshittification of streaming services? Exactly
loonsave
post Jul 25 2024, 10:24 AM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(johnlth93 @ Jul 25 2024, 09:27 AM)
More than enough
Cool. Since I am getting SIM only. If the performance not great then can just cancel it.

120 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:54 AM