Singapore PR Application on May 2023, Already 12 months
malz89
May 18 2024, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 18 2024, 06:35 PM) That one is EP right? I think S Pass 2nd time renew can use 3 years Yes, it's EP. But some EP holders have shorter life span .. usually 2 years. Usually from PRC. But surprised even S Pass for malaysian has a short life span.
malz89
May 18 2024, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(niceit198 @ May 18 2024, 06:41 PM) Try the best for the company not downgrade yours pass. My fren s pass then downgrade wp like within 1 week then reject pr Damm .. he must have been devastated. Why the downgrade? How long did he wait?
TSplouffle0789
May 18 2024, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(niceit198 @ May 18 2024, 06:41 PM) Try the best for the company not downgrade yours pass. My fren s pass then downgrade wp like within 1 week then reject pr I will try to remind HR to renew next month or now, either three months or four months before the due date. I'm afraid she might cheat me. Once she submits it on the MOM system, can I use SingPass to see it? This post has been edited by plouffle0789: May 18 2024, 08:31 PM
TSplouffle0789
May 18 2024, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(malz89 @ May 18 2024, 07:02 PM) Yes, it's EP. But some EP holders have shorter life span .. usually 2 years. Usually from PRC. But surprised even S Pass for malaysian has a short life span.  S Pass renew can be 3 years...... If I not wrong,depends company and your passport lifespan also Boss want to submit 2 years or 3 years? Some company scare you get PR then run away,so they renew 2 years... This post has been edited by plouffle0789: May 18 2024, 08:35 PM
malz89
May 18 2024, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 18 2024, 08:34 PM)  S Pass renew can be 3 years...... If I not wrong,depends company and your passport lifespan also Boss want to submit 2 years or 3 years? Some company scare you get PR then run away,so they renew 2 years... So stay loyal to them, haha. If they can't offer you an s pass, why would they have a quota for wp? How does it actually work? Wp no quota?
TSplouffle0789
May 18 2024, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(malz89 @ May 18 2024, 08:56 PM) So stay loyal to them, haha. If they can't offer you an s pass, why would they have a quota for wp? How does it actually work? Wp no quota? https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/s...ta-requirementshttps://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/w...gn-worker-quotaThe company has a certain quota for S Pass and Work Permit (WP) holders. As far as I know, there is no quota for a company to hire Employment Pass (EP) holders. However, the company cannot hire only EP holders. If only the boss is Singaporean and all other staff are EP holders, this is not allowed. Calculate foreign employee quota Use the quota calculator to plan how many Work Permit and S Pass holders your company can hire. For your company’s current workforce and quota, you should always check Work Permit Online.
blackie19
May 18 2024, 09:10 PM

Wanna ask a question here:
My job is fully remote now and I WFH everyday from my house in JB. i get paid in SGD and I make contribution to CPF and Income tax as required. However, I don't really travel to SG anymore (maybe once every 2 months?).
Would this affect my REP renewal?
This post has been edited by blackie19: May 18 2024, 09:10 PM
TSplouffle0789
May 18 2024, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(blackie19 @ May 18 2024, 09:10 PM) Wanna ask a question here: My job is fully remote now and I WFH everyday from my house in JB. i get paid in SGD and I make contribution to CPF and Income tax as required. However, I don't really travel to SG anymore (maybe once every 2 months?). Would this affect my REP renewal? To be safe, enter Singapore at least 10 to 15 days before the date you want to renew your REP. The best time to cross is between 11 am and 3 pm. Just go Woodlands MRT hang around.Then take bus to johor bahru.. Less than 1.5 hours or 1 hours. Woodlands Customs is usually not crowded on weekdays (Monday to Friday), except on public holidays.
malz89
May 18 2024, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 18 2024, 09:09 PM) https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/s...ta-requirementshttps://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/w...gn-worker-quotaThe company has a certain quota for S Pass and Work Permit (WP) holders. As far as I know, there is no quota for a company to hire Employment Pass (EP) holders. However, the company cannot hire only EP holders. If only the boss is Singaporean and all other staff are EP holders, this is not allowed. Calculate foreign employee quota Use the quota calculator to plan how many Work Permit and S Pass holders your company can hire. For your company’s current workforce and quota, you should always check Work Permit Online. But if that's the case, why would they downgrade you? Unless they have a reason to do so, example, more quota for wp over spass. Both seems to be the same, aside from applying PR.
malz89
May 18 2024, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(blackie19 @ May 18 2024, 09:10 PM) Wanna ask a question here: My job is fully remote now and I WFH everyday from my house in JB. i get paid in SGD and I make contribution to CPF and Income tax as required. However, I don't really travel to SG anymore (maybe once every 2 months?). Would this affect my REP renewal? Shouldn't be a problem last time, but not sure now. It seems they are rather strict post covid. While you're contributing to CPF and taxes, yet not staying in sg. You may have to stay in sg for certain amount of days, iinm. Not sure commuting is accounted for this. Rather a grey area nowadays. The reason why PR is more likely to be offered to us Malaysians because we are more likely to convert. So its a win-win situation for both parties. Singapore gain talents, and citizen, and us malaysian work our ass off for them.
TSplouffle0789
May 18 2024, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(malz89 @ May 18 2024, 09:46 PM) But if that's the case, why would they downgrade you? Unless they have a reason to do so, example, more quota for wp over spass. Both seems to be the same, aside from applying PR. If they have less citizen work for them,their quota will be lesser.... Every company and sector have some grey area also....... Some sector like hire every 6 person citizen,can hire 1 s pass holders or 2 work permit holders..... Some sector is hire 10 persons
niceit198
May 19 2024, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(malz89 @ May 18 2024, 07:03 PM) Damm .. he must have been devastated. Why the downgrade? How long did he wait? As company always say quota not enough, during renew company has informed unable get back s pass. he private diploma , should be around 30this year , apply 1-2year ago.forget how long he have wait.
niceit198
May 19 2024, 12:57 AM
QUOTE(blackie19 @ May 18 2024, 09:10 PM) Wanna ask a question here: My job is fully remote now and I WFH everyday from my house in JB. i get paid in SGD and I make contribution to CPF and Income tax as required. However, I don't really travel to SG anymore (maybe once every 2 months?). Would this affect my REP renewal? U will only know when u renew it , but in general likely affected , they want u stay there too. When u renew , only approved with 1 year. Then u need do something already. My fren go back Malaysia do business after renew 5year(5year ago) , the. Recent year renew get 1 year. In out daily kind got expectations I guess. Just my personal guess.
TSplouffle0789
May 19 2024, 03:07 AM
QUOTE(niceit198 @ May 19 2024, 12:57 AM) U will only know when u renew it , but in general likely affected , they want u stay there too. When u renew , only approved with 1 year. Then u need do something already. My fren go back Malaysia do business after renew 5year(5year ago) , the. Recent year renew get 1 year. In out daily kind got expectations I guess. Just my personal guess. Is it his passport left 1 year validity? MOM based on passport also...
niceit198
May 19 2024, 04:50 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 19 2024, 03:07 AM) Is it his passport left 1 year validity? MOM based on passport also... No. His brother previously are same case , but been success in Malaysia so cancel pr in the end as can’t remain
Lescotesco
May 20 2024, 11:44 AM

update: my PR was approved few days ago. i submitted my application last year aug. i follow up with them about 2 months ago by email and have no issue using the BM version of my birth cert. phew now dont need to renew my EP anymore as i might not get it due to the min salary requirement for my age. it is so hard to get EP now and even harder for next year
TSplouffle0789
May 20 2024, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(Lescotesco @ May 20 2024, 11:44 AM) update: my PR was approved few days ago. i submitted my application last year aug. i follow up with them about 2 months ago by email and have no issue using the BM version of my birth cert. phew now dont need to renew my EP anymore as i might not get it due to the min salary requirement for my age. it is so hard to get EP now and even harder for next year  QUOTE Q: What should I do if I cannot complete PR formalities within the period stated in my IPA letter? A: You may submit your request to extend the validity of your IPA letter if you are a sponsor or an applicant via email to [ICA_PR@ica.gov.sg](mailto:ICA_PR@ica.gov.sg). Congratulations on your quick approval. May I know if you sent it to this email address: ICA_PR@ica.gov.sg? May I know if the follow-up email is about the salary increment and the three months' pay slip, or are you just asking about the progress of the application? This post has been edited by plouffle0789: May 20 2024, 12:11 PM
Lescotesco
May 20 2024, 12:29 PM

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 20 2024, 12:10 PM) Congratulations on your quick approval. May I know if you sent it to this email address: ICA_PR@ica.gov.sg? May I know if the follow-up email is about the salary increment and the three months' pay slip, or are you just asking about the progress of the application?  yeah this email address. i just send to follow up application status only. my increment is not much only the standard 3% no point mentioning to them haha.
TSplouffle0789
May 20 2024, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(Lescotesco @ May 20 2024, 12:29 PM)  yeah this email address. i just send to follow up application status only. my increment is not much only the standard 3% no point mentioning to them haha. May I know if you receive notice of your PR approval by email, SMS, or SingPass?
Lescotesco
May 20 2024, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 20 2024, 12:35 PM) May I know if you receive notice of your PR approval by email, SMS, or SingPass? By this email. Then have to login with singpass to check the status.