I don't think my area, Port Dickson is covered for its wireless service.
How is the connection for the wireless? If not it is going to be wasteful to waste such gift if the connection is good...
Maxis The Official Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread, OMG PORT FORWARDING KRACKED !
Jan 7 2008, 06:39 PM
72,804 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: KUL |
Hello all, I am a Maxis postpaid user and I received a SMS from them today to give me a birthday gift that I'll get a free one month unlimited data package for wireless Internet access worths RM 99. I'll need to redeem it before January 10 if I am interested...
I don't think my area, Port Dickson is covered for its wireless service. How is the connection for the wireless? If not it is going to be wasteful to waste such gift if the connection is good... |
Jan 7 2008, 07:26 PM
251 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 7 2008, 06:39 PM) Hello all, I am a Maxis postpaid user and I received a SMS from them today to give me a birthday gift that I'll get a free one month unlimited data package for wireless Internet access worths RM 99. I'll need to redeem it before January 10 if I am interested... The package of unlimited RM99 also known as Internet2Go package is alrite in terms of speed (>1.2mbps). Well you can still do EDGE/GPRS on your mobile like nobody busy and not charge for it I don't think my area, Port Dickson is covered for its wireless service. How is the connection for the wireless? If not it is going to be wasteful to waste such gift if the connection is good... |
Jan 8 2008, 01:44 AM
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 7 2008, 07:26 PM) The package of unlimited RM99 also known as Internet2Go package is alrite in terms of speed (>1.2mbps). Well you can still do EDGE/GPRS on your mobile like nobody busy and not charge for it Okay. Thanks for the information, I shall discuss with my sister about this since her area in Seremban is in the covered location, if I am not wrong. Oh man, this is such a good gift huh? |
Jan 8 2008, 10:49 AM
593 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Highland, Texas |
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 7 2008, 06:39 PM) Hello all, I am a Maxis postpaid user and I received a SMS from them today to give me a birthday gift that I'll get a free one month unlimited data package for wireless Internet access worths RM 99. I'll need to redeem it before January 10 if I am interested... if you don't mind about the 18 months contract... you get 1 months of free usage and then you get tied for the rest of the 17months... and the worst will come if you regret getting it after that...I don't think my area, Port Dickson is covered for its wireless service. How is the connection for the wireless? If not it is going to be wasteful to waste such gift if the connection is good... remember... there is no such thing as a free lunch in this world... speed wise is hard to say... as there is some negative and some positive feedbacks... it is a bad thing that they actually do not let users get a 7 or 14 day trial with the initlal payments and a full refund if the user is not satisfied... they used to do that with their old wireless broadband package and so does time webbit and also jaring's own wireless service if i am not wrong.. maybe too many people went back for a refund i guess... |
Jan 8 2008, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 8 2008, 10:49 AM) if you don't mind about the 18 months contract... you get 1 months of free usage and then you get tied for the rest of the 17months... and the worst will come if you regret getting it after that... i think u you misunderstood fruitie's msg/question, if it is a free one month unlimited usage on his existing sim, then Maxis is just giving him 1 month full access on I2G package (no contract), not the usual suspect MaxisBB.remember... there is no such thing as a free lunch in this world... speed wise is hard to say... as there is some negative and some positive feedbacks... it is a bad thing that they actually do not let users get a 7 or 14 day trial with the initlal payments and a full refund if the user is not satisfied... they used to do that with their old wireless broadband package and so does time webbit and also jaring's own wireless service if i am not wrong.. maybe too many people went back for a refund i guess... I'm on the I2G package (no contract just like Celcom's) and I think the reason why I'm getting awesome speed is b'coz there is not much users on it. I think that is where Maxis comes in and starting to do promo on is.... I2G is attached to their GSM service and MaxisBB is a stand-alone entity. |
Jan 8 2008, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 8 2008, 10:49 AM) if you don't mind about the 18 months contract... you get 1 months of free usage and then you get tied for the rest of the 17months... and the worst will come if you regret getting it after that... Sorry, I think you got me wrong. I got free from Maxis as a postpaid user for my birthday but it will only last for one month. remember... there is no such thing as a free lunch in this world... speed wise is hard to say... as there is some negative and some positive feedbacks... it is a bad thing that they actually do not let users get a 7 or 14 day trial with the initlal payments and a full refund if the user is not satisfied... they used to do that with their old wireless broadband package and so does time webbit and also jaring's own wireless service if i am not wrong.. maybe too many people went back for a refund i guess... QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 8 2008, 12:48 PM) i think u you misunderstood fruitie's msg/question, if it is a free one month unlimited usage on his existing sim, then Maxis is just giving him 1 month full access on I2G package (no contract), not the usual suspect MaxisBB. I'm a her actually. I'm on the I2G package (no contract just like Celcom's) and I think the reason why I'm getting awesome speed is b'coz there is not much users on it. I think that is where Maxis comes in and starting to do promo on is.... I2G is attached to their GSM service and MaxisBB is a stand-alone entity. Well, I don't know which one that I'll be getting... This is the SMS I got: Happy Birthday! Special gift to you from Maxis. FREE 1 month unlimited data package for wireless internet access worths RM 99! Just call 123 by 10Jan08 to redeem. What does it mean? |
Jan 8 2008, 01:43 PM
80 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 8 2008, 12:58 PM) Sorry, I think you got me wrong. I got free from Maxis as a postpaid user for my birthday but it will only last for one month. same with uI'm a her actually. Well, I don't know which one that I'll be getting... This is the SMS I got: Happy Birthday! Special gift to you from Maxis. FREE 1 month unlimited data package for wireless internet access worths RM 99! Just call 123 by 10Jan08 to redeem. What does it mean? i got this sms also |
Jan 8 2008, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 8 2008, 12:58 PM) Sorry, I think you got me wrong. I got free from Maxis as a postpaid user for my birthday but it will only last for one month. Ops... sorry for being ignorance... did not realize it..... I'm a her actually. Well, I don't know which one that I'll be getting... This is the SMS I got: Happy Birthday! Special gift to you from Maxis. FREE 1 month unlimited data package for wireless internet access worths RM 99! Just call 123 by 10Jan08 to redeem. What does it mean? QUOTE(engguan @ Jan 8 2008, 01:43 PM) U see, all Maxis postpaid can ask for data plan in their account to enable GPRS/MMS/3G on their mobile which allows you to surf internet access and data transfer application... and it cost something like RM5/month for 5MB usage and such. The RM99/mth is the unlimited package which allows HSDPA with a max speed of 3.6Mbps. So if you've got a datacard like a Sierra Wireless Aircard 875/U, you can actually slot it in and use the highspeed internet for that particular month. They just wanted to give you a trial hoping that you will become a long term users. That's all. Hmmm..... but it is unlikely that someone would go get an Aircard/Expresscard to try for 1 month.... ???!!!..... unless you've HSDPA enable mobile phone to act as a modem.Btw..... HAPPY BIRTHDAY to BOTH of U This post has been edited by JWCheah: Jan 8 2008, 02:03 PM |
Jan 8 2008, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 8 2008, 02:01 PM) Ops... sorry for being ignorance... did not realize it..... U see, all Maxis postpaid can ask for data plan in their account to enable GPRS/MMS/3G on their mobile which allows you to surf internet access and data transfer application... and it cost something like RM5/month for 5MB usage and such. The RM99/mth is the unlimited package which allows HSDPA with a max speed of 3.6Mbps. So if you've got a datacard like a Sierra Wireless Aircard 875/U, you can actually slot it in and use the highspeed internet for that particular month. They just wanted to give you a trial hoping that you will become a long term users. That's all. Hmmm..... but it is unlikely that someone would go get an Aircard/Expresscard to try for 1 month.... ???!!!..... unless you've HSDPA enable mobile phone to act as a modem. Btw..... HAPPY BIRTHDAY to BOTH of U Oh, now I understand how this thing works. Unfortunately, I have no HSPDA enabled phone. Oh wait, I just remember that one of my friends who was a subscriber of Maxis wireless broadband during his studies in Subang, but he has graduated recently. I think he still has the equipment, can I use his? Errm... Not yet actually, 27th is the exact date. |
Jan 8 2008, 05:05 PM
37 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Hey people! Wondering if anyone here encountering the same problem as i am....appreciate any help at all
i'm having problem with my USB modem (Huawei E220), where each time the line drops to 'EDGE'...and when it tries to get back to 'UMTS' (3G), my connection will be disconnected. And i will have to connect (manually) again Anyone...out there...pleasee...help me... this maxis broadband is driving me nuts....arrggghhhhh.... Helpppppppp..... Thanks everyone |
Jan 8 2008, 07:18 PM
459 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
maxis website no more saying I2G RM99 pkg promotion ending when....
suspect RM99 becomes permanent price.... |
Jan 8 2008, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(davidghc @ Jan 8 2008, 05:05 PM) Hey people! Wondering if anyone here encountering the same problem as i am....appreciate any help at all location?i'm having problem with my USB modem (Huawei E220), where each time the line drops to 'EDGE'...and when it tries to get back to 'UMTS' (3G), my connection will be disconnected. And i will have to connect (manually) again Anyone...out there...pleasee...help me... this maxis broadband is driving me nuts....arrggghhhhh.... Helpppppppp..... Thanks everyone Signal strength? Sounds like u got discon due to no reception. Try to set 3G only....meaning enabling HSDPA/UTMS only... no EDGE/GPRS....note u need to discon, set it and then connect. Hope this helps.... try reading previous post.... i did post up a software to enable you to see the actual signal strength in dB instead of the lame number of bars.... |
Jan 8 2008, 11:00 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Yes just to 3G/HSDPA only. Dont use GSM. It seems that when the signal is weak , the thing automatically falls back to GSM and sticks to it !
Jan 9 2008, 01:02 PM
593 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Highland, Texas |
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 8 2008, 04:03 PM) Oh, now I understand how this thing works. Unfortunately, I have no HSPDA enabled phone. Oh wait, I just remember that one of my friends who was a subscriber of Maxis wireless broadband during his studies in Subang, but he has graduated recently. I think he still has the equipment, can I use his? Errm... Not yet actually, 27th is the exact date. anyways... i think you should check out all the minor minor details of this and do not get conned into it... it'll be terribly not worth just for one month of usage.. and you have to get a 3G phone somemore since you do not have one...unless someone has accepted the offer before and comment on this... QUOTE(davidghc @ Jan 8 2008, 05:05 PM) Hey people! Wondering if anyone here encountering the same problem as i am....appreciate any help at all i'm having problem with my USB modem (Huawei E220), where each time the line drops to 'EDGE'...and when it tries to get back to 'UMTS' (3G), my connection will be disconnected. And i will have to connect (manually) again Anyone...out there...pleasee...help me... this maxis broadband is driving me nuts....arrggghhhhh.... Helpppppppp..... Thanks everyone QUOTE(prasys @ Jan 8 2008, 11:00 PM) Yes just to 3G/HSDPA only. Dont use GSM. It seems that when the signal is weak , the thing automatically falls back to GSM and sticks to it ! yeap... agree with others...should be signal problem... are you using it in a high rise building? i tried the E220 and had no problems at home... not high rise... but in office it keeps disconnecting...from my experience... after your connection there should be a pop up near the taskbar clock that says ".... Connected at 3.6Mbps" or in some cases "... Connected at 2xxKbps" which is EDGE i think... if you did not get 3.6Mbps you'lll most probably need to re-connect again as it will just get stuck to that speed like Prasys says...in some cases i went all the way to unplug the modem and re-connect again... Prasys, Just want to update on the settings that you told me to try. Can't be very sure about the results though. But in my case i think the changes are not very big. In terms in changes in speed (downloading) and also disconnection. But i do feel that initial browsing to a page is faster, this could be the effect of the DNS or maybe it is just psychological. My plan of using the Connection Keeper failed also. It seems that in some cases of disconnection (i don't know which type of disconnection, my downloads totally stopped as i can't monitor as i was out for work yesterday). Even the Connection Keeper logs errors where it could not simulate browsing to a page. So my new resolution to this problem is to use a batch file which calls up intenet explorer and browse to a certain site (i.e. www.google.com) and then taskkill the iexplore.exe afterwards. Definitely not the perfect plan, but it should trick the damn modem into believing that i am actually there browsing the internet. I stuffed the batch file to run in the Scheduled Tasks for every 10 mins. Hope this stupid workaround works. |
Jan 9 2008, 01:20 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(butthead @ Jan 9 2008, 01:02 PM) My plan of using the Connection Keeper failed also. It seems that in some cases of disconnection (i don't know which type of disconnection, my downloads totally stopped as i can't monitor as i was out for work yesterday). Even the Connection Keeper logs errors where it could not simulate browsing to a page. So my new resolution to this problem is to use a batch file which calls up intenet explorer and browse to a certain site (i.e. www.google.com) and then taskkill the iexplore.exe afterwards. Definitely not the perfect plan, but it should trick the damn modem into believing that i am actually there browsing the internet. I stuffed the batch file to run in the Scheduled Tasks for every 10 mins. Hope this stupid workaround works. Dont surf Google. Instead surf this site http://58.71.141.14/maxis-storefront/connect.do Its the connection script. So it sends keepalive connection to the cell tower and it always works. Trust me ! |
Jan 9 2008, 01:38 PM
37 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Thanks guys!! It's working now. Doesn't get disconnected again after i changed to 3G only setting. Thanks a bunch again! You guys are the best |
Jan 9 2008, 02:37 PM
1,323 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Unknown |
QUOTE(JWCheah @ Jan 2 2008, 12:21 AM) Good on you.... I need to recheck if there is extra charges for it and let you know, but I did get a verbal confirmation in regards to this.... Actually the signal cannot be zero.. for maxis wireless internet signal, the good range is between -60db - -80db.. (if i'm not mistaken) if u can get around -6xdb then its good already.. above -80db is consider poor already.. at my house i manage to get around -67db.. try adjusting your modem a little bit.. turn so that it facing different position.. u don't have to move it further as small movement also can increase the signal strength.. and if you can, make sure the modem is placed on the place where there is less movement.. even little movement like people walking, can cause interference which will affect your signal strenght..The closer to ZERO means stronger signal... * FYI, for 2G signal the strongest signal start from -40db.. that why cannot reach 0db.. |
Jan 9 2008, 09:48 PM
12 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jan 2 2008, 11:40 PM) nvm i already downgraded at maxis center klcc... i downgraded to advance package(rm78) no question asked, the person in charge willingly downgraded for me right there and then to = faizalmzain akum salam perkenalan dari aku aku ni junior kat forum ni nak tanya skit ko ni kaki torrent tak? |
Jan 10 2008, 12:29 AM
51 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: USJ |
anyone knows where can i download the software inside the usb modem??.....recently i upgrade da mobile connect to mobile partner....it's so slow..can anybody help?
Jan 10 2008, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(Pvd @ Jan 10 2008, 12:29 AM) anyone knows where can i download the software inside the usb modem??.....recently i upgrade da mobile connect to mobile partner....it's so slow..can anybody help? I've actually posted it b4 and it took me 10 minutes to search my own post..... Click Here .... it is a substitution s/w for mobile connect with is compatible for Huawei E620/E220....try it and share the results (prasys: Please consider to put this link into post#1, thx....) Btw, how did you manage to "write" into the E220, you flashed it???? First time I'm hearing this.... |
| Change to: | 0.0282sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:46 AM |