60 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Careers V13 - Upstream & Downstream, 2023 is a busy year for Oil & Gas fags

contestchris
post Jul 8 2024, 11:33 PM

5,551 posts

Anybody heard about the MISC takeover/merger with Bumi Armada? The Edge reported on it in their latest weekly paper.

According to them, they're looking to buy Ananda's stake.

How would such a deal work out? Bumi Armada becomes a fully owned subsidiary, or a listed associate company? Or will MISC inject their FPSO assets into Bumi Armada?

What's in it for MISC? What is MISC's motivation for this deal?

The way I see it, Bumi Armada has been riding into the sunset for some time now. Unsure if they have any quality people left, after they failed to capitalize on the sizeable and lucrative Cameia FPSO. A lot of chatter about FSRU and floating carbon solutions but nothing to show for it either.
contestchris
post Jul 8 2024, 11:36 PM

5,551 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jun 14 2024, 05:47 PM)
Bumi at the moment no new projects for a long time..this is fact and reality.
SBM KL just signed contract for Suriname FPSO with technip energies partner. Both doing the project in KL office.
Not sure if you heard but MISC looking to buy Bumi Armada. If Bumi Armada has had nothing for a long time, and MISC is one of the larger FPSO players in terms of headcount in KL, what's the motivation for this?
MEngineer
post Jul 10 2024, 01:35 AM

...Look at my stars...
888 posts

QUOTE(zuhairabakar @ Jun 22 2024, 10:21 PM)
I got so many application. Here is some.

1. Sofo - submitted resume since march. Shortlisted. Still waiting for interview with hiring manager. Follow up until today, no update yet
2. Airswift - submitted resume since march, april got shortlist. Still waiting for interview. Follow up until today, not upate yet
3. Thinkplus, asm, nesf, rajab - all these expected to have open interview on mid july. But i called asm once. They say expected those shortlisted for the iv will be called estimate 2 weeks before mid july
4. So many direct application in ME company website eg. Sabic, aramco, qe, qelng, adnoc etc. No call at all. Some of it being rejected

There you go.

So yeah. For me everything still status quo. I still staying in my green company. Finger crossed. If get it then i get it. By now not hoping much yawn.gif

But at least i know those skills that really attractive to company. Like getting certs n all that. Currently applying for CEng, Ts whatever it is yawn.gif
I was in your shoes before where I applied everywhere but no success eventhough I had the skills/experience that was required. So I went all out to figure what is wrong, turns out my CV write up is the problem since I used a generic CV for all the job applications and there was room to upsell myself even more.

I then put on full effort for each job application by tailoring my CV to the job requirements as close a possible. The first application with my revised CV was to QE (direct from their website). After 5 days HR replied requesting more info before forwarding my CV to hiring department.

Hope this helps you in your quest to finding a better job opportunity.
lock_82
post Jul 10 2024, 07:06 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ Jul 10 2024, 01:35 AM)
I was in your shoes before where I applied everywhere but no success eventhough I had the skills/experience that was required. So I went all out to figure what is wrong, turns out my CV write up is the problem since I used a generic CV for all the job applications and there was room to upsell myself even more.

I then put on full effort for each job application by tailoring my CV to the job requirements as close a possible. The first application with my revised CV was to QE (direct from their website). After 5 days HR replied requesting more info before forwarding my CV to hiring department.

These days with AI, it is way easier to build a resume that meet JD.

Congratulation. Qatar must be hot at this season.
ZZMsia
post Jul 10 2024, 09:24 AM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 8 2024, 11:33 PM)
Anybody heard about the MISC takeover/merger with Bumi Armada? The Edge reported on it in their latest weekly paper.

According to them, they're looking to buy Ananda's stake.

How would such a deal work out? Bumi Armada becomes a fully owned subsidiary, or a listed associate company? Or will MISC inject their FPSO assets into Bumi Armada?

What's in it for MISC? What is MISC's motivation for this deal?

The way I see it, Bumi Armada has been riding into the sunset for some time now. Unsure if they have any quality people left, after they failed to capitalize on the sizeable and lucrative Cameia FPSO. A lot of chatter about FSRU and floating carbon solutions but nothing to show for it either.
Your comments are valid and many of their staff have joined other firms since the market is too good at the moment and actually since 2022.

ZZMsia
post Jul 10 2024, 09:25 AM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Jul 8 2024, 11:36 PM)
Not sure if you heard but MISC looking to buy Bumi Armada. If Bumi Armada has had nothing for a long time, and MISC is one of the larger FPSO players in terms of headcount in KL, what's the motivation for this?
Maybe to purchase them for their existing FPSO's that are cash cows...
MEngineer
post Jul 10 2024, 11:04 AM

...Look at my stars...
888 posts

QUOTE(lock_82 @ Jul 10 2024, 07:06 AM)
These days with AI, it is way easier to build a resume that meet JD. 

Congratulation.  Qatar must be hot at this season.
Yes sir using AI is a good start. Thanks yeah Qatar is hot but money is good 😂
zuhairabakar
post Jul 11 2024, 08:22 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ Jul 10 2024, 01:35 AM)

Yup fully agree with you.

Need to treat every application as new application.

Cannot be using same recycle resume / cv. It will not match the JD. Or the hiring manager interest.

Btw, tq for the advise 👍
monyetgila
post Jul 12 2024, 03:59 PM

132 posts

hi all.. is it possible for a 34 years old engineer in construction industry to transition to oil and gas industry..been trying applying here n there but mostly said my previous experience is different from what they want, only can try for fresh position..but im too old for the fresh position requirements.
langstrasse
post Jul 12 2024, 09:31 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

QUOTE(monyetgila @ Jul 12 2024, 03:59 PM)
hi all.. is it possible for a 34 years old engineer in construction industry to transition to oil and gas industry..been trying applying here n there but mostly said my previous experience is different from what they want, only can try for fresh position..but im too old for the fresh position requirements.
Typical advice by otais will be to start at smaller vendors or contractors and move after gaining experience
lock_82
post Jul 12 2024, 11:46 PM

536 posts

Generally it is pretty hard to break in O&G industry, including trying to secure another job within same O&G. Nevertheless, nothing is impossible but will be challenging. Start with smaller fabrication companies since your past experience in Construction is great advise, likely at more junior role but generally the pay still good. No harm to give it a try.

Prothero
post Jul 13 2024, 01:25 AM

239 posts

Hi there. Just sharing my experience, somewhat same as your dilemma.

I was a Quantity Surveyor in the construction industry from age 25-32. Tried to penetrate into O&G since I started my career but was really hard, given my non-engineering background (I do have a Masters in Project Management though).

However recently, I got lucky got an offer in O&G industry in one of the biggest operators in Malaysia (downstream) as a Cost Controller. Just joined end of last year.

But i couldn't be offered high grade due to no experience in O&G as well as my previous job scope is not entirely the same with this new job scope, so I was just being offered one grade higher than fresh grad. Pay wasn't that bad though, entry five figures - colleagues around the same age as me are getting around 50% higher than me, I can't complain much, compared to their vast O&G experience.

Guess it's better late than never, hence I took the job offer and entirely shift to new industry (O&G) and a suitable job scope.

This post has been edited by Prothero: Jul 13 2024, 01:33 AM
MEngineer
post Jul 13 2024, 08:46 PM

...Look at my stars...
888 posts

Just curious why you want to switch to O&G? O&G in Malaysia at present days not as glamours as before. If unlucky a O&G industry downturn again, you will be the easiest to be released.
nash9701
post Jul 13 2024, 10:19 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,357 posts

QUOTE(Robottoes @ Jun 19 2024, 05:40 PM)
Yeah, now im just waiting for pre-approval for the costs. Gonna interview for the job based in Dhahran. Heard that the salary is depending on nationality?
Wow, good luck for u, two of my friend did last year, now both in Dhahran as well 😊

christ14
post Jul 13 2024, 10:57 PM

1,567 posts

i would say yes, depending what you know. its those standards and the why and the how if you know

but any reason why start now? its like the peak now (not the old peak but ok la now stable) and if it were to go down. its FIFO in this industry unless you joined main players.

Anyway, after qatar iv, theres saudi ones next week shocking.gif
ZZMsia
post Jul 15 2024, 03:34 PM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(MEngineer @ Jul 13 2024, 08:46 PM)
Just curious why you want to switch to O&G? O&G in Malaysia at present days not as glamours as before. If unlucky a O&G industry downturn again, you will be the easiest to be released.
2020: Crash
2021: Crash even worse
2022: Turnaround and improving
2023: Great year, big portion of staff found new jobs (Those that were looking)
2024: Great year so far....
2025: ???

If crash, those Last in, first out.

This is from my experience for the past 10-15 years..

ayamxxx
post Jul 15 2024, 03:43 PM

4,049 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jul 15 2024, 03:34 PM)
2020: Crash
2021: Crash even worse
2022: Turnaround and improving
2023: Great year, big portion of staff found new jobs (Those that were looking)
2024: Great year so far....
2025: ???
If crash, those Last in, first out.

This is from my experience for the past 10-15 years..
U forgot the 2017. Worst period ever, many just VSS, MSS
g5sim
post Jul 15 2024, 03:47 PM

5,752 posts

So both LSS n HISYAM ex umno still takde lah. Lol
jimbet1337
post Jul 15 2024, 04:41 PM

meh
2,671 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 15 2024, 03:43 PM)
True. Sigh.
ZZMsia
post Jul 16 2024, 07:49 AM

3,491 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 15 2024, 03:43 PM)
This time I was ok but many friends got MSS.
For those in onshore rapid project was slowing down

60 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:53 AM