Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer

Jenn77
post Nov 4 2025, 08:02 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,118 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 3 2025, 10:20 PM)
AT can play a bit offroad. need confused.gif
i have good experience with bridgestone dueler AT (from new dmax.. should be)
Hehe Bridgestone Dueler AT is expensive.. biggrin.gif But Im using Bridgestone for another MPV though, so far ok compare to Continental
gerald7
post Nov 4 2025, 08:33 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,451 posts

wanna rant abit.. cos i saw tire thread.. biggrin.gif last year bought 4x hankook vertus prime 4. grip comfort sound all ok for me. week after install rear left tire got punctured.. and many more.

last week early morning while heading to work I saw that tire abit flat, so I decided to drop by a petrol station while otw to work. by the time reach the petrol station it was fully flat. I shocked, I immediately pump to full, since the shop was less than 5 mins i away i just drove there. by the time i reach tire shop it was fully deflated again. So i knew it was bad. then we pull out 1.5" screw and it was located close to the side wall.

patched up the hole and saw the sidewall near the puncture a bit bulging. die...

drove to work. finish work, aduh, flat again. had to change to spare tire.

next morning headed to workshop took out that tire, counted 4 patched (inc latest) holes since I bought the tires. and found 1 extra hole not yet patched. doh.gif doh.gif so that particular tire had total of five punctures!!!!

Anyways if got see puncture, terus swap spare, dont risk driving further! cry.gif lesson learnt.

This post has been edited by gerald7: Nov 4 2025, 08:36 AM
littlefire
post Nov 4 2025, 01:25 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Nov 4 2025, 01:28 AM)
Bruv what are you talking about. There are plenty of people using performance vehicles as their daily. What's wrong with looking for a balance of performance plus comfort and wear? PS4S is known to be one of the most comfortable and long-lasting tyre. But the SC7 is much newer and is superior to the PS4S in both dry and wet. These data sets are from tests. Thus I'm asking for real world experience (or outside a track environment experience) in terms of dailying, how long does it last for them, etc. If you aren't a user of either you don't need to comment.
Even if i am a user i also wont be able to give you an accurate data base on wear as you also mentioned SC7 is new tires. How people gonna give accurate data on wear unless he got 2 same cars with same tire size & suspension settings but different tires on it driven on similar route & mileage. A lot of times in term of wear is very subjective, but in term of comfort yes Michelin.
littlefire
post Nov 4 2025, 01:30 PM

2,701 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 3 2025, 11:16 PM)
where got so fast, hahahaha.
racing track produce heat cycle causes rubber degrade =change.
instead of wear out botak
I always drive off track (i not pro) so my tires mostly chip/wear off a lot especially near the side wall area. laugh.gif
ktek
post Nov 4 2025, 01:43 PM

小喇叭
13,184 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Nov 4 2025, 08:33 AM)
wanna rant abit.. cos i saw tire thread..  biggrin.gif  last year bought 4x hankook vertus prime 4. grip comfort sound all ok for me.  week after install rear left tire got punctured.. and many more.
last week early morning while heading to work I saw that tire abit flat, so I decided to drop by a petrol station while otw to work. by the time reach the petrol station it was fully flat. I shocked, I immediately pump to full, since the shop was less than 5 mins i away i just drove there.  by the time i reach tire shop it was fully deflated again.  So i knew it was bad. then we pull out 1.5" screw and it was located close to the side wall.
patched up the hole and saw the sidewall near the puncture a bit bulging. die...
drove to work. finish work, aduh, flat again. had to change to spare tire.

next morning headed to workshop took out that tire, counted 4 patched (inc latest) holes since I bought the tires. and found 1 extra hole not yet patched. doh.gif  doh.gif  so that particular tire had total of five punctures!!!!
Anyways if got see puncture, terus swap spare, dont risk driving further!  cry.gif  lesson learnt.
nasib/ fate

QUOTE(littlefire @ Nov 4 2025, 01:30 PM)
I always drive off track (i not pro) so my tires mostly chip/wear off a lot especially near the side wall area.  laugh.gif
have fun ^^
HalseyFrangipane
post Nov 4 2025, 02:30 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Nov 4 2025, 01:25 PM)
Even if i am a user i also wont be able to give you an accurate data base on wear as you also mentioned SC7 is new tires. How people gonna give accurate data on wear unless he got 2 same cars with same tire size & suspension settings but different tires on it driven on similar route & mileage. A lot of times in term of wear is very subjective, but in term of comfort yes Michelin.
It doesn't have to be accurate. Anecdotal feedback is fine since most of us do not have the technical skills to fully utilise both UUHP tyres anyway, let alone do it on public roads.

As for 2 same cars, same tyre size, suspension, I was hoping for people who had used PS4S previously (almost 8 years old in Malaysian market) and changed to CSC7 within the last 2 years to share their feedback.

In regard to comfort, you may be right in that Michelin is most likely to be the comfier tyre. Hoping to hear CSC7 users who have used both to give their input as some have commented how comfortable the CSC7 is, which piques my curiosity of how compliant the ride is as compared to the 4S.
constant_weight
post Nov 16 2025, 01:18 AM

909 posts

QUOTE(HalseyFrangipane @ Nov 4 2025, 02:30 PM)
It doesn't have to be accurate. Anecdotal feedback is fine since most of us do not have the technical skills to fully utilise both UUHP tyres anyway, let alone do it on public roads.

As for 2 same cars, same tyre size, suspension, I was hoping for people who had used PS4S previously (almost 8 years old in Malaysian market) and changed to CSC7 within the last 2 years to share their feedback.

In regard to comfort, you may be right in that Michelin is most likely to be the comfier tyre. Hoping to hear CSC7 users who have used both to give their input as some have commented how comfortable the CSC7 is, which piques my curiosity of how compliant the ride is as compared to the 4S.
Unfortunately I never owned PS4S for direct comparison.
But I didn't complains Cup2 comfort for my short 90min experience, I probably one of those moron who call PS4S soft.

I believe I'm among the earliest SC7 users in Malaysia.
Installed grey import before official launch here.

I'm on 13k km mileage, after 1 and half year. I think front can last another 15k easily. Rear is like new, just started to wear very edge of the TWI line.

I'm sure they can last 30k km if I rotate them in near term.

Size is 235 40 R19. Car is front bias AWD, 2 tonnes fat PHEV.

Driving style is gentle on acceleration, but turn aggressively. Use both feet to brake interchangeably. Often left foot brake and trail braking, genly start accelerate past apex, avoid sudden power jolt.

Performance don't need my review. Plenty online, I can testify they are not over exaggerating.

Beware of aquaplaning, foreign test the water is no where as deep as ours. In very heavy tropical storm with 2 inches of water on highway, I could only drive 30-50kmh. Old Wira, Myvi 70-80kmh flyby... lol

Comfort side wall is stiff. I drop 5psi versus CPC6 before it. Noise is significanly drastically different on new pavement vs old light grey tar.

I read few Tesla Model 3P owners from Taiwan whack finish CSC7 in 10k km, probably throttle on/off driving style.

End of the day, for daily commute the tyre temperature is often below the designated performance temperature. For me it will last long enough that I get bored and wanted to try different tyres before thread finish.

Wanted PSS5 but still don't have my size. Maybe will try PZ5 first. Finger crossed.

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Nov 16 2025, 01:26 AM
ayamxxx
post Nov 16 2025, 06:59 AM

4,025 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Nov 16 2025, 01:18 AM)
But I didn't complains Cup2 comfort for my short 90min experience, I probably one of those moron who call PS4S soft.

I'm on 13k km mileage, after 1 and half year. I think front can last another 15k easily. Rear is like new, just started to wear very edge of the TWI line.

Driving style is gentle on acceleration, but turn aggressively. Use both feet to brake interchangeably. Often left foot brake and trail braking, genly start accelerate past apex, avoid sudden power jolt.

Performance don't need my review. Plenty online, I can testify they are not over exaggerating.

Beware of aquaplaning, foreign test the water is no where as deep as ours. In very heavy tropical storm with 2 inches of water on highway, I could only drive 30-50kmh. Old Wira, Myvi 70-80kmh flyby... lol

Comfort side wall is stiff. I drop 5psi versus CPC6 before it. Noise is significanly drastically different on new pavement vs old light grey tar.

I read few Tesla Model 3P owners from Taiwan whack finish CSC7 in 10k km, probably throttle on/off driving style.

End of the day, for daily commute the tyre temperature is often below the designated performance temperature. For me it will last long enough that I get bored and wanted to try different tyres before thread finish.

Wanted PSS5 but still don't have my size. Maybe will try PZ5 first. Finger crossed.
Read this somewhere, and it's due to its weight. Massive weight but use normal tyres, end up eating rubber like no tomorrow. The EV spec tyres are all designed to take care of this extra weight, hence no more soft rubber use. Take hard rubber mean sacrifice a bit for grip
constant_weight
post Nov 16 2025, 09:49 AM

909 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Nov 16 2025, 06:59 AM)
Read this somewhere, and it's due to its weight. Massive weight but use normal tyres, end up eating rubber like no tomorrow. The EV spec tyres are all designed to take care of this extra weight, hence no more soft rubber use. Take hard rubber mean sacrifice a bit for grip
It is more of driving behavior. My car is some 200kg heavier than Model 3 my friend.

Getting 30k km from UUHP is very descent as daily commute.
10k km for touge run every weekend, totally possible.
Can also finish the tyre in 2 track sessions eg:. 10 laps x 2km each = 20km.

SC7 also certified for EV use. No uneven wear to date for me.
The PC6 it replaced got horrible outside wear.

EV specific tyres like PSEV or Hankook Neo are doing very well in acceleration and braking distance comparable to UHP.

However lateral grip is very far off from even UHP. Sacrifice a whole lot in corner, not just a bit. All just to gain 3-4% range, meh....

HalseyFrangipane
post Nov 16 2025, 11:31 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Nov 16 2025, 01:18 AM)

If I had to guess what vehicle you drove with the SC7, it's the S60 haha.

If the SC7 is expected to last around 30k km, I'd stick with PS4S as the price difference evens out in the long run. And it's more comfortable to daily too.

Glad you mentioned PZ5 as I almost forgot about it. I'm super excited for this tyre too as it seems to be the new king of UUHP. Not sure what's the lead time to special order but none of my usual shops are keeping stock.

Thanks for sharing your experience with the SC7.

78 Pages « < 76 77 78Top

0.0157sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:02 PM