Let's Talk Salary v9, Sharing Thread

ratiuG P
post Apr 27 2023, 01:04 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(canjeth @ Apr 27 2023, 11:59 AM)
How many reporting to you?
Hi, at this point of time, 2 IT teams and an IT manager.
jordin.spark
post Apr 27 2023, 03:31 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(ratiuG @ Apr 27 2023, 12:26 AM)
Hello all, would like to update again this year as I’ve gotten a new opportunity last month.

My monthly gross salary in RM (not including allowances, only base) progression:
2016 (started in Dec): 3K
2017: 3.3K (confirmation) -> 3.6K
2018: 3.8K -> 6K (promotion)
2019: 6.5K
2020: 6.7K -> 8.1K (new job)
2021: 10K (new job)
2022: 16K (new job)
2023: 18K -> 24K (new job)

Recently join an MNC at KLCC area, they are one of the top 10 players in their industry. The role is mostly in management with little to no technical implementation. Not sure I’ll like it but no harm trying.

Let’s see how. Will update again if any changes in the near future.
Hi could you pm me those are the companies willing to pay more than 10k?
recca89
post Apr 27 2023, 08:47 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(jordin.spark @ Apr 27 2023, 03:31 PM)
Hi could you pm me those are the companies willing to pay more than 10k?
Every MNC is capable of paying more than 10k. Even local companies too. The difference is on your role/skillsets/what value you can bring to the company.
soules83
post May 5 2023, 01:54 PM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

QUOTE(ratiuG @ Apr 27 2023, 01:04 PM)
Hi, at this point of time, 2 IT teams and an IT manager.
do you mind to share what are the skillset in high demand? i can see there are certain skills pays well.
ngaisteve2
post May 6 2023, 08:16 PM

231 posts

Hello all, would like to update again this year as I’ve gotten a new opportunity last month.

My monthly gross salary in RM (not including allowances, only base) progression:

Recently join an MNC at KLCC area, they are one of the top 10 players in their industry. The role is mostly in management with little to no technical implementation. Not sure I’ll like it but no harm trying.

Congrat rclxms.gif May I know the position title and some job scope for this new job? notworthy.gif
AnAngel65
post May 18 2023, 02:37 PM

354 posts

Job Title : Planning & Development Executive
Job Desciption : Project management, Design & Planning, Submission
Company : Developer company
Industry : Construction & Property
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 4
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Architecture
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 46

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 5500
Contractual Bonus (months): not sure, just joined
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : not sure, just joined

Work Flexibility (where relevant) : no

Future Prospects (personal outlook) :
I have been struggling in career for this two years as I realize the property industry is so underpaid and not much career prospect as compared to other industries like Manufacturing or IT. Not to mention no flexibility at all for working from home, or time arrangement.

I myself do not have too much interest in property and I was actually thinking of switching industry last year after I resigned and move from JB to Png. However I had too many choices and my first trial to join education field failed drastically and out of anxiety I jumped back to property field to cut me from my misery. My strength is in management and research, which is why all field seems same to me, but to start up in a new field usually wont provide management role, and the starting salary would be low.

Currently just work at this new joined company and continue to explore other career and field after working hours, hopefully can find a clearer path as I go.
Any suggestions or comments to me, am welcome to hear out.

[d]-ky
post May 18 2023, 11:49 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(d-ky @ Apr 17 2021, 12:51 PM)
Job Title : Data Engineer
Job Desciption : Data pipeline maintenance/improvement and business development
Years spent in company : 0
Company : US based
Industry : Fintech
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : slightly above junior level, from what i've heard
Experience before joining (years) : Less than 2 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : currently doing Msc Data Science
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40 hours (HR mentioned it is flexible, hopefully it is lesser than 45 not more than 45  devil.gif)

Monetary Payout
-Probation 5k-6k, review after confirmed

Benefits (where relevant) : you can opt to work from home or go office wherever you feel comfortable
Health Benefits : AIA Employee packages that include dental claim/clinical claim/standard employee life insurance
Transport Benefits : Included in monetary payout, employee parking
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Annual RM1,500 claimable
Other Benefits : performance based bonus (I heard it's monthly basis, but i think should be annual review), unlimited paid time off, minimum suggest (force) you to take 20 AL
Some update over here, recently resigned due to various negative impacts. Resigned without offer while having some interviews going on.

Went through some interviews and tests, got offered for all the interviews and picked fintech startup.

Hopefully it won't behave like banking industry, quite disappointed with the management decisions since I really like my current job and it is my first formal job after graduating innocent.gif
some update after staying alive for 2 years as Data Engineer

recently got increment that pushed me to 8k-ish

Economy wasn't good hence bonus also negligible but then bonus is bonus so no hard feeling (rant a bit lor) blush.gif

anyway, recently applied a lot of web3 and defi related foreign company that offers fully remote job and already in interview process wub.gif
[d]-ky
post May 18 2023, 11:55 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(AnAngel65 @ May 18 2023, 02:37 PM)
Job Title : Planning & Development Executive
Job Desciption : Project management, Design & Planning, Submission
Company : Developer company
Industry : Construction & Property
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 4
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Architecture
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 46

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 5500
Contractual Bonus (months): not sure, just joined
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : not sure, just joined

Work Flexibility (where relevant) : no

Future Prospects (personal outlook) :
I have been struggling in career for this two years as I realize the property industry is so underpaid and not much career prospect as compared to other industries like Manufacturing or IT. Not to mention no flexibility at all for working from home, or time arrangement.

I myself do not have too much interest in property and I was actually thinking of switching industry last year after I resigned and move from JB to Png. However I had too many choices and my first trial to join education field failed drastically and out of anxiety I jumped back to property field to cut me from my misery. My strength is in management and research, which is why all field seems same to me, but to start up in a new field usually wont provide management role, and the starting salary would be low.

Currently just work at this new joined company and continue to explore other career and field after working hours, hopefully can find a clearer path as I go.
Any suggestions or comments to me, am welcome to hear out.
ever consider of product manager whereby you manage product and research on how to make it better?

AnAngel65
post May 19 2023, 08:57 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(d-ky @ May 18 2023, 11:55 PM)
ever consider of product manager whereby you manage product and research on how to make it better?
Interesting suggestion, I did come across this career but it is not in my exploration list, how's the career prospect of a product manager in Malaysia? In the sense of working remotely?
rollinginsodeep
post May 19 2023, 12:55 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(drumstix @ Apr 12 2023, 06:14 PM)
Job Title : Doctor
Job Description :
Years spent in company :
Company :
Industry : Medical
Tenure : Full time
Employment Level : Professional
Experience (Total) :
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 50+

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary : 25000
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Coms ranging from 2k-10k depending on market

Benefits (where relevant) : -
Health Benefits : -
Other Benefits : 14 Days AL
Consultant?
[d]-ky
post May 19 2023, 08:02 PM

633 posts

QUOTE(AnAngel65 @ May 19 2023, 08:57 AM)
Interesting suggestion, I did come across this career but it is not in my exploration list, how's the career prospect of a product manager in Malaysia? In the sense of working remotely?
depends on which industry and what level of risk you are willing to take, i would say fintech and web3 are the most rewarding in asia region now for (based on my personal experience) and they are okay-ish with fully remote if this is what you are looking at

i got a bit bored on staying at the environment recently hence planning to look for a remote job that pays in ahem 3x ahem currency that would allow me to travel and work around the world for maybe a year or two

edit

talking about product manager, it can be very challenging if your product has direct customer impact; there are also internal product that mostly created to syiok-sendiri

from what I've see in my current company, customer facing PM can be very stressful but i think those who are workaholic will like it a lot lut. Basically what PM does is translate technical features from engineers to the higher ups and clients. So far i have seen some became either non-technical solution architects or director of products that manage multiple products/product managers.

This post has been edited by [d]-ky: May 19 2023, 08:07 PM
AnAngel65
post May 22 2023, 08:49 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(d-ky @ May 19 2023, 08:02 PM)
depends on which industry and what level of risk you are willing to take, i would say fintech and web3 are the most rewarding in asia region now for (based on my personal experience) and they are okay-ish with fully remote if this is what you are looking at

i got a bit bored on staying at the environment recently hence planning to look for a remote job that pays in ahem 3x ahem currency that would allow me to travel and work around the world for maybe a year or two

edit

talking about product manager, it can be very challenging if your product has direct customer impact; there are also internal product that mostly created to syiok-sendiri

from what I've see in my current company, customer facing PM can be very stressful but i think those who are workaholic will like it a lot lut. Basically what PM does is translate technical features from engineers to the higher ups and clients. So far i have seen some became either non-technical solution architects or director of products that manage multiple products/product managers.
Yup I can see the prospect in these field you mentioned, and yes especially on the remote and the currency side hahaha. Switching from Architecture/Construction to IT is somewhat a fresh start, a totally non related field. I would have to brace myself for at least 2 years of learning and lower income and a lot of learning on new knowledge.

Product manager though has some transferrable skills from my current field and career, but still is quite a broad title since one can land at any product/company/field.

amirulnuriman P
post May 22 2023, 04:27 PM

Probation

hi sir, any tips on job hopping? currently have 2 years exp in SAP, 1 year SAP support, 1 year ABAP. will join 3rd company next month. Thanks!

cuddlybubblyteddy
post May 24 2023, 08:49 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(ThoughtfulTapir @ Feb 5 2023, 03:28 PM)
Congrats cuddlybubblyteddy, those are fantastic prospects you have there! I hear about more people jumping into this space even despite the down market smile.gif

I myself would like to consider opportunities in this space, but I'm concerned since crypto/blockchain is considered a risky industry here from what I've read. I have a couple of questions on this, if you don't mind helping to answer them I would be most grateful:

1. Since you are paid in crypto, I presume at some point you have to convert it to fiat to spend it. How do you do this, do you convert crypto > USD > MYR?
-P2P platform. Bybit, Binance, OkX, Huobi.
- through friends sometimes

2. Since BNM / SC have marked crypto industry as risky and your annual income is high, your bank would have noticed when you transferred money in. Did they call you up to ask where the funds came from and if so, what sort of docs should one have from their foreign employer for this?
Never got this problem.. I did like rm50k on certain day. transfer in/out .. didn’t get any call.
3. Is there chance of bank freezing your MYR account since its from crypto?
No, just make sure all your trf doesn’t state crypto or exchanges name
4. If you work with crypto/blockchain companies, but they pay you in USD/EUR/GBP instead of crypto, would you still be flagged by the banks for working in the industry?
No, I receive in SGD at Singapore account for some payment.
5. Can you recommend banks in Malaysia that are crypto friendly?
No bank in Malaysia is crypto friendly lol

6. Can you use the earnings from crypto to build / improve your credit rating with the banks so you can get higher CC limit, car loan, housing loan etc?
There is a way to route this. Negotiate with the company to hire a HR BPO, example Papaya Global. Papaya Global will arrange all the EPF, Taxes, and salary in MYR for you under their company. One of project did that for me, after taxes monthly rm33k (Malaysia tax is sad)
Only this way you can get higher CC and get loan

7. How would one start to join the crypto community in Malaysia? Any telegram groups, forums, meetups in KL that you can recommend?
They are cryptocurrency thread on forum.lowyat.net
You can start from there.

Life has been busy, some changes to my career as well.

I resigned from all 3 project that paid total usd140k, joined an Australia company for USD144k/annum with USD30k/year equity’s

However I had some health condition, decided to quit as well and since then has been a staying home dad for past 6 months. Recently another company in Singapore reach out and still In discussions (basic package: sgd18k-sgd20k/month)

For your questions, let me response.

justapawn
post May 30 2023, 06:35 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(AnAngel65 @ May 22 2023, 08:49 AM)
Yup I can see the prospect in these field you mentioned, and yes especially on the remote and the currency side hahaha. Switching from Architecture/Construction to IT is somewhat a fresh start, a totally non related field. I would have to brace myself for at least 2 years of learning and lower income and a lot of learning on new knowledge.

Product manager though has some transferrable skills from my current field and career, but still is quite a broad title since one can land at any product/company/field.
Hi, I am in similar industry and totally feel what you are going through...
Perhaps you can send your resume to Randstad and see what kind of job vacancy they are having....
Very sorry to tell you that frequent job hopping and getting Ar chartered are the ways to get better salary package....
Kindly refer to the post below as well....
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1788927/+3400

Lastly, all the best in your future endeavour....

This post has been edited by justapawn: May 30 2023, 06:53 PM
kakalaku
post Jun 2 2023, 03:09 PM

366 posts

Job Title : Commercial Manager
Years spent in company : <1 year
Company : Telco Infra
Industry : Telco
Employment Level : Permanent
Experience before joining (years) : ~3 years in direct competitor telco infra (total working experience: 4 yrs)
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Undergrad
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40-43 hrs per week

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 8200 + RM800 Fixed allowances for parking, mobile and broadband
Contractual Bonus (months): N/A
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : Avg 1-3 months

Work Flexibility (where relevant) : work from home is allowed
Annual Leaves: 16 days
Flexi Working Hours : Yes

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Life and medical insurance
Transport Benefits : fixed allowance for parking
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : fixed allowance for mobile
Other Benefits : N/A

salary progression for those curious
24 yo: RM3.6k
25 yo: RM4.0k (new company)
26 yo: RM4.3k (increment)
27 yo: RM4.9k (increment + promotion)
28 yo: RM5.5k (increment) > RM5.9k (internal job alignment) > RM9.0k (switch to current company)
NAVEE
post Jun 30 2023, 11:27 AM

88 posts

Job Title : Application Support Manager
Job Desciption : Core banking system support manager
Years spent in company : 9
Company :
Industry : Banking
Experience before joining (years) : 3
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 50

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 11000
Contractual Bonus (months): 0 mths
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 4-6 mths

Work Flexibility (where relevant) : Flexi hours available but not really applicable as you work around the clock if required
Work From Home Availability: 3 days in a week
Annual Leaves: 24 days

Health Benefits : unlimited in patient and dental, life insurance, bi annual medical checkup, limited traditional medicine coverage.
Transport Benefits : free parking at office?
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : nope
Other Benefits : Company resort around the country, trainings and certification covered, from time to time give out good freebies, annual book allowance.

Future Prospects (personal outlook) : Not much prospect here, as the promotional gap is low.
Current salary against peers in industry : Average
Growth prospects : Not much room for growth
Where I will go from here : Planning to go to a less critical role and maybe look at risk and compliance roles
principaleng P
post Jun 30 2023, 03:45 PM

Probation

Job Title : Design Engineer
Job Desciption : Semicon designer
Years spent in company : 2
Company :
Industry : Semicon
Experience before joining (years) : 6
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Master
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 19000
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1-3 mths

Work Flexibility (where relevant) :
Work From Home Availability: Flexible
Annual Leaves: 14 days

Health Benefits : Typical dental/optical/medical
Transport Benefits :
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits :
Other Benefits :

Im just an average Joe that is jumping around. Recently the semicon industry is quite hot, those that excel should be making a lot more than me.

SUSJudashow Alpha
post Jul 3 2023, 09:45 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(principaleng @ Jun 30 2023, 03:45 PM)
Company :

Monetary Payout

Transport Benefits :
Other Benefits :

Im just an average Joe that is jumping around. Recently the semicon industry is quite hot, those that excel should be making a lot more than me.
Wow, really very good pay!
coolguy99
post Jul 3 2023, 09:59 AM

7,349 posts

QUOTE(principaleng @ Jun 30 2023, 03:45 PM)
Company :

Monetary Payout

Transport Benefits :
Other Benefits :

Are you considered a senior there? The pay is very good. Congrats.

29 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:24 AM