453 Pages « < 300 301 302 303 304 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V40, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

Oltromen Ripot
post May 21 2023, 02:26 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(countingcrows @ May 21 2023, 11:33 AM)
Have you tried testing with your previous set up? Old BTU and Asus RT-AX86U?
I only did use back the ZTE BTU only yesterday, as sanity testing as to make sure I have a known good device configured before I started tweaking the D-LINK ONR.

If I remember correctly from yesterday, it managed to get around 650Mbps/500Mbps as well. It was a let down but yesterday it was just shrugged off and didn't expect to revisit that memory in the context of today's activity AND to now assess the valua of that reading.

Maybe tonight. Maybe.
If I can re-find that ancient device already at the bottom of my hoarding.
Oltromen Ripot
post May 21 2023, 02:35 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 21 2023, 03:09 AM)

(And to have it worse, I don't know why my single-node TP-Link Deco M9 Plus mesh can only max around 550Mbps/500Mbps...)

and to my horror, i googled and found that others did complained much earlier of the exact number "550Mbps" with regard to Ethernet speed of M9 Plus.

I executed the built-in speed test using client built into the node, AND both M9 Plus and RT-AX86U were targeting TM Seberang Jaya test server, so they shouldn't get that much variance. i.e if RT-AX86U can get 900Mbps++, M9 Plus shouldn't be far off.

and yet, this further give credence to validate that the Gigabit Ethernet port of the M9 Plus is an farce. Having 867Mbps 5GHz on-the-air is of no use with 1Gbps upstream.
SUSMyProLife
post May 21 2023, 05:48 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

So you meant that m9 plus is indeed obsolete for your new shiny gigabit subscription, yes it's wifi 5 mesh only meant for up to 500m

Time to consider custom onu by researching into anime4000 thread to see any improvement. After all the "dlink" onr is ern... the actual made in china nerfed from factory crap
blacktubi
post May 21 2023, 06:12 PM

-
8,416 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 21 2023, 02:26 PM)
I only did use back the ZTE BTU only yesterday, as sanity testing as to make sure I have a known good device configured before I started tweaking the D-LINK ONR.

If I remember correctly from yesterday, it managed to get around 650Mbps/500Mbps as well. It was a let down but yesterday it was just shrugged off and didn't expect to revisit that memory in the context of today's activity AND to now assess the valua of that reading.

Maybe tonight. Maybe.
Can you get 940Mbps on speedtest if you connect your PC directly to the D-Link router on stock TM configuration?

If you can't even get 940Mbps this way, something is really wrong with your subscription.
Oltromen Ripot
post May 21 2023, 06:18 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ May 21 2023, 05:48 PM)
So you meant that m9 plus is indeed obsolete for your new shiny gigabit subscription, yes it's wifi 5 mesh only meant for up to 500m

Time to consider custom onu by researching into anime4000 thread to see any improvement. After all the "dlink" onr is ern... the actual made in china nerfed from factory crap
DLink is working as intended, getting 900Mbps+ (by direct to the ONR or by aggregate w/o LACP if with Asus) is good enough for me considering 1Gbps is an ideal lab condition. but i just don't trust its security to keep things out as it's supposed to, thus my insistence to have another layer (Asus in the case) as 2nd layer to protect what's should remain inside from prying eyes. i'm fine with keeping it without proof of other working "blue-collar" ON*.

but the M9 Plus AP is indeed a let down. I'm not testing through wifi; it's built-in speed test, so can consider as good as cable speed.
It seemed good when i was just using 500Mbps/100Mbps because those speed didn't expose its OKU "gigabit" ethernet....

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: May 21 2023, 06:30 PM
Oltromen Ripot
post May 21 2023, 06:28 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 21 2023, 06:12 PM)
Can you get 940Mbps on speedtest if you connect your PC directly to the D-Link router on stock TM configuration?

If you can't even get 940Mbps this way, something is really wrong with your subscription.
When technician first installed it, before my turn to tweak around later that night, I witnessed as he showed me that direct-cable indeed gets around ~950Mbps/~500Mbps. A few rounds of speed test against "TM Kuala Lumpur".

So it's not that the fibre speed cannot get up to around 1Gbps/500Mbps as subscribed. It just seemed that it depends on what and how the building blocks are attached to the fibre.

I didn't pay attention to the speed test re-using back on ZTE because because the intent was sanity testing; that I have a working ZTE ONU to fail over to in case i messed up tweaking the Dlink ONR in less than 12hrs of receiving them 😅

Oltromen Ripot
post May 21 2023, 11:20 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(countingcrows @ May 21 2023, 11:33 AM)
Have you tried testing with your previous set up? Old BTU and Asus RT-AX86U?
QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 21 2023, 02:26 PM)
Maybe tonight. Maybe.
ZTE ZXHN-F620 <-- vlan500 --> ASUS RT-AX86U

as-is configuration just like pre-upgrade.

for comparison, back when using 500Mbps/100Mbps,
the speedtest result through the old BTU always hovers
download/upload 90%/100% of subscribed speed.

with QoS enabled

with QoS disabled

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: May 21 2023, 11:36 PM
countingcrows
post May 21 2023, 11:39 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 21 2023, 11:20 PM)
ZTE ZXHN-F620 <-- vlan500 --> ASUS RT-AX86U

as-is configuration just like pre-upgrade.
Your LAN cables can transfer files at 900+Mbps between 2 PCs that are wired to your RT-AX86U?

Perhaps your line is not configured properly?

I just tested @ TM Seberang Jaya server and can get 837Mbps from KL.

Oltromen Ripot
post May 22 2023, 12:00 AM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(countingcrows @ May 21 2023, 11:39 PM)
Your LAN cables can transfer files at 900+Mbps between 2 PCs that are wired to your RT-AX86U?

Perhaps your line is not configured properly?

I just tested @ TM Seberang Jaya server and can get 837Mbps from KL.
this is CAT6.
and no, i don't have 2 computers.
i just use speed test built in the Asus router, as that eliminates network variaation to the test.
Oltromen Ripot
post May 22 2023, 09:46 AM

4,034 posts

observation note after repeated speed tests using same DLINK+ASUS set up across reboots.

60.* public IP invariably results in <900Mbps

175.* public IP invariably results in >900Mbps.
BenYeeHua
post May 22 2023, 11:36 AM

1,873 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 22 2023, 09:46 AM)
observation note after repeated speed tests using same DLINK+ASUS set up across reboots.

60.* public IP invariably results in <900Mbps

175.* public IP invariably results in >900Mbps.
So you need 2Gbps to test on ISP QoS/throttle nowadays lol.

Any different on the gateway IP?
Should be route #3, like Melaka is 10.233.x.x, just for the record to see any change on this part or not. icon_rolleyes.gif
Oltromen Ripot
post May 22 2023, 12:31 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ May 22 2023, 11:36 AM)
So you need 2Gbps to test on ISP QoS/throttle nowadays lol.

Any different on the gateway IP?
Should be route #3, like Melaka is 10.233.x.x, just for the record to see any change on this part or not. icon_rolleyes.gif
I only subscribed to 1Gbps lah.
That non-aggregation of ONR isn't enticing enough to go 2Gbps.

I was just stating my observation on the public IP ranges 60.* and 175.*; keep getting either of those 2.

I found that using the ASUS' LAN4+2.5G as aggregated WAN gives the most consistent result of always >930Mbps.

Aggregate LAN4+WAN will hover around >900Mbps.

2.5G as standalone WAN is consistently hovering 850-899Mbps.

1Gbps WAN will hover <850Mbps.

But even the most optimistic combination will be foiled if get public IP range 60.* -- thus, my observation note.

--

And against early pre-subscription expectation, a single port of ONR couldn't even achieve 90% of its rated speed. If it isn't for ASUS supporting WAN aggregation and the ONR playing nice by not treating such double-cabling as loop, i would have had to satisfy myself with max ~800Mbps....
BenYeeHua
post May 22 2023, 12:36 PM

1,873 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 22 2023, 12:31 PM)
I only subscribed to 1Gbps lah.
That non-aggregation of ONR isn't enticing enough to go 2Gbps.

I was just stating my observation on the public IP ranges 60.* and 175.*; keep getting either of those 2.

I found that using the ASUS' LAN4+2.5G as aggregated WAN gives the most consistent result of always >930Mbps.

Aggregate LAN4+WAN will hover around >900Mbps.

2.5G as standalone WAN is consistently hovering 850-899Mbps.

1Gbps WAN will hover <850Mbps.

But even the most optimistic combination will be foiled if get public IP range 60.* -- thus, my observation note.

--

And against early pre-subscription expectation, a single port of ONR couldn't even achieve 90% of its rated speed. If it isn't for ASUS supporting WAN aggregation and the ONR playing nice by not treating such double-cabling as loop, i would have had to satisfy myself with max ~800Mbps....
Ya, 1Gbps required 2.5G port to get nearly 1Gbps, else just ethernet overhead bite all, it is also not like support of JUMBO frame will fix this...
(and required repack by router before send it out, not bug free as well)

So far in China all 1G+ user given fiber modem with 2.5G port, unsure why there is still high cost to do so for 1G-2.5G unifi users. hmm.gif

Guess gonna suck on current solution(dual-WAN) for years.
---
For IP, thanks for confirm that they still throttling based on it, I will try get 175.*.*.* next reboot. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by BenYeeHua: May 22 2023, 12:37 PM
Oltromen Ripot
post May 22 2023, 12:54 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ May 22 2023, 12:36 PM)
Guess gonna suck on current solution(dual-WAN) for
no, no...
if you are using ASUS router as well.... it's either dual-WAN or Aggregation.

If Dlink ONR (default) IP is 192.168.0.1/24

DUAL-WAN -> the 2 ports will each have own IP address, either PPPoE, automatic, or static. then you will have to choose either of load balance mode at your own ratio, OR, failover mode.
So probably can set static IP 192.168.0.2 and 192.168.0.3 to the constituent dual-WAN ports. You can have 2 different providers for all the router cares.

AGGREGATE (LACP) only appears if you choose to NOT use PPPoE. I use static IP 192.168.0.2. This one, you can only use with 1 provider and the router expects even the cables used for both ports to be of same make and quality.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: May 22 2023, 12:58 PM
darkearth
post May 22 2023, 01:03 PM

258 posts

any idea how to setup wan aggregation with the D-LINK DPN-FX3060V?
Oltromen Ripot
post May 22 2023, 01:12 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(darkearth @ May 22 2023, 01:03 PM)
any idea how to setup wan aggregation with the D-LINK DPN-FX3060V?
THAT does not support any aggregation protocol. Period.

It does have option for network loop detection (default:enabled, and I also left it enabled throughout my activity). The only reason my using ASUS' WAN aggregation worked with THAT is due to THAT not detecting the double-cabling as a network loop.
darkearth
post May 22 2023, 01:23 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 22 2023, 01:12 PM)
THAT does not support any aggregation protocol. Period.

It does have option for network loop detection (default:enabled, and I also left it enabled throughout my activity). The only reason my using ASUS' WAN aggregation worked with THAT is due to THAT not detecting the double-cabling as a network loop.

So basically you plug 2 cables from THAT to your asus router and turn on aggregation on your asus ?
Oltromen Ripot
post May 22 2023, 01:38 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(darkearth @ May 22 2023, 01:23 PM)
So basically you plug 2 cables from THAT to your asus router and turn on aggregation on your asus ?
Yes.

In the ONR, I chose for it to dial PPPoE for, map to all LAN and Wifi ports, but did not vlan-tag any. I chose to connect LAN1+LAN2 to ASUS; but any are usable since already mapped to all.

In my case, I also set its DMZ Host to point to 192.168.0.2 (so any unsolicited incoming internet traffic falling through the fibre interface gets shifted to fall onto the downstream ASUS later).

And I disabled Wifi altogether.

--

In the ASUS, I assume you have choice of either 1Gbps WAN or 2.5G LAN-convertible-to-WAN....

(1) On Dual-WAN tab, DO NOT ENABLE Dual-WAN, but you should still be able to choose 2.5G port as primary WAN interface.

(2) On WAN tab, chose to configure your selected primary WAN interface. DO NOT USE PPPoE. If you scroll slightly down, you will now see option to aggregate port appears. On RT-AX86U, the aggregation is on primary WAN port (you chose 2.5G on Dual-WAN tab, right?) AND LAN4.

(3) Any ports that are not part of WAN purpose will now become LAN ports - and that also applicable the original 1Gbps WAN port.

For my use, I chose to assign static IP 192.168.0.2 to my aggregate WAN port with gateway pointing to the ONR's 192.168.0.1. (Remember I set DMZ in ONR above?)

--

I use the spare ports LAN3+LAN4 on the ONR to connect my AndroidTV and ASTRO. Those devices are safe to leave outside the inner network protected by ASUS, AND, they don't need to burden my ASUS with endless streaming. They can also mop up the remaining Mbps that is not reachable by the downstream ASUS. You can also expand the LAN3+LAN4 by attaching network switch. So now I have 2 layered Intranet.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: May 22 2023, 01:46 PM
darkearth
post May 22 2023, 02:26 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ May 22 2023, 01:38 PM)
Yes.

In the ONR, I chose for it to dial PPPoE for, map to all LAN and Wifi ports, but did not vlan-tag any. I chose to connect LAN1+LAN2 to ASUS; but any are usable since already mapped to all.

In my case, I also set its DMZ Host to point to 192.168.0.2 (so any unsolicited incoming internet traffic falling through the fibre interface gets shifted to fall onto the downstream ASUS later).

And I disabled Wifi altogether.

--

In the ASUS, I assume you have choice of either 1Gbps WAN or 2.5G LAN-convertible-to-WAN....

(1) On Dual-WAN tab, DO NOT ENABLE Dual-WAN, but you should still be able to choose 2.5G port as primary WAN interface.

(2) On WAN tab, chose to configure your selected primary WAN interface. DO NOT USE PPPoE. If you scroll slightly down, you will now see option to aggregate port appears. On RT-AX86U, the aggregation is on primary WAN port (you chose 2.5G on Dual-WAN tab, right?) AND LAN4.

(3) Any ports that are not part of WAN purpose will now become LAN ports - and that also applicable the original 1Gbps WAN port.

For my use, I chose to assign static IP 192.168.0.2 to my aggregate WAN port with gateway pointing to the ONR's 192.168.0.1. (Remember I set DMZ in ONR above?)

--

I use the spare ports LAN3+LAN4 on the ONR to connect my AndroidTV and ASTRO. Those devices are safe to leave outside the inner network protected by ASUS, AND, they don't need to burden my ASUS with endless streaming. They can also mop up the remaining Mbps that is not reachable by the downstream ASUS. You can also expand the LAN3+LAN4 by attaching network switch. So now I have 2 layered Intranet.
Thanks for the info and advise . Will try it out once i get my Asus router as well. Appreciate it
castiel2012
post May 22 2023, 02:47 PM

Hey guys, i wonder if they really mean it when they say the 30Mbps package is limited to only 2 devices. Cuz i definitely have way more than 2 internet devices.

This post has been edited by castiel2012: May 22 2023, 03:06 PM

453 Pages « < 300 301 302 303 304 > » Top

0.0233sec    1.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:05 PM