Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V40, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO

akhito
post Aug 30 2022, 08:39 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Aug 30 2022, 03:13 AM)
My home case like this

Currently is 300m with ruby, on bill is 159+tax

So to take the offer can only take 500m or 800m? Cannot take offer of same price and same speed 159+mesh/tv box or so? If want cheaper on bill is not available unless transfer request?
U try ask cs, as far as i know only ppl that bounded by contract can only upgrade but no downgrade. Free man can always change package if the package is offered cuz they always like to bind u another 2 years.
Max
post Aug 30 2022, 09:26 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(aniq8676 @ Aug 30 2022, 12:28 AM)
  DIR-X1860Z
The specifications of this router can be found on the D-LINK Malaysia website.

YTL Broadband also provides this router to their customers
but no 'support' from dlink as i see it.. no downloadable firmware from dlink.
unlike the previous, 842, can flash with dlink official firmware.

i scroll the pic in that dlink portal, in pic, 4+1wan ports.. but actually only 3+1wan

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 30 2022, 06:37 AM)
My existing contract already long over with perpetual monthly fee of rm129 for 300mbps@rm49 + ultimate@rm60 + 600min-calls@rm20. So if i take this free router every thing remains or it comes with a new 24-month contract?
mine also long ago contract free.
24m contract for the free router.

QUOTE(chkwong @ Aug 30 2022, 07:43 AM)
Can it be re-use for Astro/Maxis broadband?
should be able to.
u need to configure manually ur account setting, vlan.

This post has been edited by Max: Aug 30 2022, 09:30 AM
MGM
post Aug 30 2022, 09:42 AM

18,461 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Aug 30 2022, 09:26 AM)
but no 'support' from dlink as i see it.. no downloadable firmware from dlink.
unlike the previous, 842, can flash with dlink official firmware.

i scroll the pic in that dlink portal, in pic, 4+1wan ports.. but actually only 3+1wan
mine also long ago contract free.
24m contract for the free router.
should be able to.
u need to configure manually ur account setting, vlan.
Fee remains perpetual and not renewable upon expiry of the new contract?
Max
post Aug 30 2022, 09:56 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 30 2022, 09:42 AM)
Fee remains perpetual and not renewable upon expiry of the new contract?
according to my updated service details. (300mbps Yep2019)
its stated 12m tenure (maybe for user still under contract will be 24m) unsure.gif
Promo Discount Perpetual still there.
MGM
post Aug 30 2022, 10:32 AM

18,461 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Aug 30 2022, 09:56 AM)
its stated 12m tenure (maybe for user still under contract will be 24m)  unsure.gif
Good. Screenshot n keep it as proof.
wcpon
post Aug 30 2022, 11:18 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Aug 29 2022, 10:28 PM)
No. There is no returning to your previous speed. (unless you change to a different speed plan, again).

If you upgrade to 300Mbps, then you will be getting 300Mbps from this point onward. But in addition to that, as part of THIS campaign, you'll also be getting a temporary increase to 500Mbps just for the first 6mths.

If you upgrade to 500Mbps, then you will be getting 500Mbps from this point onward. But in addition to that, as part of THIS campaign, you'll also be getting a temporary increase to 800Mbps just for the first 6mths.

If you upgrade to 800Mbps, then you will be getting 800Mbps from this point onward. But in addition to that, as part of THIS campaign, you'll also be getting a temporary increase to 800Mbps just for the first 6mths.
Aiya, only free upgrade for first 6 months.
This is not same with the staywithunifi 2.0
Oltromen Ripot
post Aug 30 2022, 11:47 AM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(wcpon @ Aug 30 2022, 11:18 AM)
Aiya, only free upgrade for first 6 months.
This is not same with the staywithunifi 2.0
If you staywithunifi, you'll get the speed you're upgrading to and that's all to it. end of story.

If you take this campaign, you'll get the speed you're upgrading to, and in addition they give you first 6 months above what you chose.

If you want 300Mbps, then choose to upgrade to 300Mbps lah, regardless which campaign and price you want. Don't lah choose 100Mbps under this campaign aiming to get 300Mbps then bitch about it reverting to 100Mbps afterward. It already straightforward say teaser only for 6 months. So plain simple also cannot understand?

and, why are you bitching complaining to me?
i'm not affiliated with TM, just information sharing.
if you don't feel like taking the campaign, then don't. go chase swu2. i don't lose nor gain anything. except my temper.

This post has been edited by Oltromen Ripot: Aug 30 2022, 11:56 AM
PJng
post Aug 30 2022, 01:56 PM

12,052 posts

Unifi now on whatsapp
Got email annouce that
josh5671
post Aug 30 2022, 02:00 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Aug 30 2022, 11:47 AM)
If you staywithunifi, you'll get the speed you're upgrading to and that's all to it. end of story.

If you take this campaign, you'll get the speed you're upgrading to, and in addition they give you first 6 months above what you chose.

If you want 300Mbps, then choose to upgrade to 300Mbps lah, regardless which campaign and price you want. Don't lah choose 100Mbps under this campaign aiming to get 300Mbps then bitch about it reverting to 100Mbps afterward. It already straightforward say teaser only for 6 months. So plain simple also cannot understand?

and, why are you bitching complaining to me?
i'm not affiliated with TM, just information sharing.
if you don't feel like taking the campaign, then don't. go chase swu2.  i don't lose nor gain anything. except my temper.
Hahahaha... You explain too detail sampai random people on the internet assume you TM staff.

Me here DP already up pole, maybe will arrice in a month or two.
MyProLife
post Aug 30 2022, 02:03 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Aug 30 2022, 08:23 AM)
I'm still tied to contract, so no freedom to lateral switch to same speed but lesser price.

If you are not contracted, you should be able to. But watch out if you instead have existing tv pack contract.

separate contracts:
- fibre
- tv pack
- add-ons (like my additional deco mesh purchases)
QUOTE(akhito @ Aug 30 2022, 08:39 AM)
U try ask cs, as far as i know only ppl that bounded by contract can only upgrade but no downgrade. Free man can always change package if the package is offered cuz they always like to bind u another 2 years.
Oh the contract is finished anyway though. Last recontact is year end 2019. Almost went for mesh add on but ended up buy own mesh instead (dodged bullet for tm cheapo "mesh" routers that introduced later)

Anyway since the offer from the portal/care app change plan function is still not attractive enough, will stick with current plan for meantime
Oltromen Ripot
post Aug 30 2022, 02:26 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Aug 30 2022, 02:03 PM)
Oh the contract is finished anyway though. Last recontact is year end 2019. Almost went for mesh add on but ended up buy own mesh instead (dodged bullet for tm cheapo "mesh" routers that introduced later)

Anyway since the offer from the portal/care app change plan function is still not attractive enough, will stick with current plan for meantime
My installation in Oct 2021 still give Deco M9 Plus as mesh.

November 2021 replaced campaign with mesh of .... Cap Ciku.
Volfeed
post Aug 30 2022, 03:21 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Aug 29 2022, 11:33 PM)
Yep. Already received the wifi 6 router.
I got DLink X1860Z. I think customize lite version for unifi.
Retail version doesn't have Z prefix and different shape.

But dem.. the router doesn't have holes for mounting.. 🤦😒
Is it worth to take? Now I am still using old TPLink AC1200.
Nicknamed666
post Aug 30 2022, 03:31 PM

163 posts

Guys,
TP-LINK Ax20 vs DLink X1860Z

Which one is better?

soonwai
post Aug 30 2022, 03:37 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Aug 29 2022, 11:33 PM)
Yep. Already received the wifi 6 router.
I got DLink X1860Z. I think customize lite version for unifi.
Retail version doesn't have Z prefix and different shape.

But dem.. the router doesn't have holes for mounting.. 🤦😒
Have you used the X1860Z? How is it? I tried the Zyxel EX3220-T0 which was pretty good and firmware seems quite complete. Wonder if the X1860Z is crippled in any way compared to the non-Z retail version.

Can you find a manual for it? Can share a screenshot of the Mesh config page? Or is it the same as the non-Z retail version?

QUOTE(Max @ Aug 30 2022, 09:56 AM)
its stated 12m tenure (maybe for user still under contract will be 24m)  unsure.gif
Where do you see the Promo Discount Perpetual ? I can't find it any more on the Unifi portal.
Max
post Aug 30 2022, 04:16 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Volfeed @ Aug 30 2022, 03:21 PM)
Is it worth to take? Now I am still using old TPLink AC1200.
if u want 'free' wifi 6 router.
wifi6 connection very fast even in 2.4Ghz mode.
coverage i havent test yet. but in my 2 storey home (router perfectly in the middle house. middle and hang under stair) full coverage on 2.4Ghz.

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 30 2022, 03:37 PM)
Have you used the X1860Z? How is it? I tried the Zyxel EX3220-T0 which was pretty good and firmware seems quite complete. Wonder if the X1860Z is crippled in any way compared to the non-Z retail version.

Can you find a manual for it? Can share a screenshot of the Mesh config page? Or is it the same as the non-Z retail version?
Where do you see the Promo Discount Perpetual ? I can't find it any more on the Unifi portal.
tested.. and seems ok.. nothing interesting.. just wifi6 supported. UI usual Dlink.
but i do feel the UI sometimes lag (on wifi, not tested on LAN)
not sure about retail non-Z version UI.

but most config is there..
done port forward/virtual server, running smoothly also..

Mesh from what i saw on videos just press2 wps button.. or use Dlink Wifi connect (this i think dedicated for TM -Z router, only 2 Z-router supported in the description)
and from the app can see more details of the router status, link, bla3..

youtube mesh setting

btw, only 3 LAN port available + 1wan
if plug in hypptv stb (port3) left 2 Lan only.

that perpetual thing actual cant be seen anywhere.. but under order, track order.. it came out.. if no order i think cannot be found..
donno how TM develop the user portal UI.. rclxub.gif

i try screenshot later

This post has been edited by Max: Aug 30 2022, 04:21 PM
MyProLife
post Aug 30 2022, 05:01 PM

I bully wumao & MPKL
2,075 posts

d link is nothing special, from previous experience software is very kosong and also force TM DNS onto it even if change DNS manually

i assume d link and zyxel both use mediatek dual core/quad thread soc. is okay for basic usage. d link z version only 3 ports total lan as mentioned above. at least better than sampah china oems (or in other words, better than nothing)

ps: for embed please delete watch?v= as well or else black box

This post has been edited by MyProLife: Aug 30 2022, 05:05 PM
aniq8676
post Aug 30 2022, 05:02 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Aug 30 2022, 04:16 PM)

Mesh from what i saw on videos just press2 wps button.. or use Dlink Wifi connect (this i think dedicated for TM -Z router, only 2 Z-router supported in the description)
and from the app can see more details of the router status, link, bla3..

DLINK DIR-X1860Z supports easymesh
Volfeed
post Aug 30 2022, 05:36 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Aug 30 2022, 05:01 PM)
d link is nothing special, from previous experience software is very kosong and also force TM DNS onto it even if change DNS manually

i assume d link and zyxel both use mediatek dual core/quad thread soc. is okay for basic usage. d link z version only 3 ports total lan as mentioned above. at least better than sampah china oems (or in other words, better than nothing)

ps: for embed please delete watch?v= as well or else black box
Cannot change DNS is a bummer
akhito
post Aug 30 2022, 05:40 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Volfeed @ Aug 30 2022, 05:36 PM)
got meh i am using tm provided dlink covr 1100 can change dns but dlink firmware la not unifi custom firrmware

This post has been edited by akhito: Aug 30 2022, 05:40 PM
Max
post Aug 30 2022, 07:12 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Volfeed @ Aug 30 2022, 05:36 PM)
Can change both ipv4/6 DNS.
Im using Google dns.
Actually theres remote access TR09 something like that.. this can also disable..
But will lose TM remote diagnose/troubleshoot access.

Btw, there's 1_INTERNET_R_VID label connection.. not sure about that . Haven't googling yet ..

0.0202sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:45 AM