tax for oversea trading /dividend, its become more complicated
Hansel
Dec 22 2021, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 22 2021, 09:49 AM) I would say PNB's ASNB will be taxed first before EPF, since EPF is for "retirement". ASNB on the other hand is just general investment vehicle, so is a more "legitimate" vehicle to tax. Even before PNB's ASNB would probably be local UT/mutual funds. When government desperate for money, everything can be taxed.  From political standpoint and Bumiputra policies, I think PNB's vehicles will always be taxfree.
dwRK
Dec 22 2021, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 22 2021, 02:18 PM) Okay, bro,... you win,... Which means, bro,... emm,... they think you have capacity to pay more taxes,... which in turn means you are a strong-income earner. Frankly, bro,.. if they don't suspect anyone of being a strong-income earner, they won't go after that target-lar,... right ? Waste time meh ? Which then begs the question,... how do they decide who has the capacity to pay more taxes ? From Facebook, INstagram,... I think,....  OK buy you teh tarik next time... no idea if they have specific targets... but i've talked to some ppl hauled up for audits... usually small things cause imbalances in their IRB account trigger invitation to yum cha... or suddenly income zero will also trigger... buy/sell properties if you have low/zero income also kena, my neighborhood housewife kena audit because husband bought/sold Toyota corolla in her name...
Hansel
Dec 22 2021, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 22 2021, 05:03 PM)  OK buy you teh tarik next time... no idea if they have specific targets... but i've talked to some ppl hauled up for audits... usually small things cause imbalances in their IRB account trigger invitation to yum cha... or suddenly income zero will also trigger... buy/sell properties if you have low/zero income also kena, my neighborhood housewife kena audit because husband bought/sold Toyota corolla in her name... Ok,... looking fwd to it,.. and tq for ur good infos, bro,....
Ramjade
Dec 22 2021, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Dec 21 2021, 09:24 PM) When come to general election.. You'll know who to vote for. Just hope majority esp those older generation malays can see this and vote correctly. Country going to hell with their stupid policies. People are pissed off with the govt for Selangor flood issue. Will be interesting. QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 22 2021, 02:18 PM) Okay, bro,... you win,... Which means, bro,... emm,... they think you have capacity to pay more taxes,... which in turn means you are a strong-income earner. Frankly, bro,.. if they don't suspect anyone of being a strong-income earner, they won't go after that target-lar,... right ? Waste time meh ? Which then begs the question,... how do they decide who has the capacity to pay more taxes ? From Facebook, INstagram,... I think,.... I think they don't care. Lhdn people are paid a fixed salary year in year out. I don't think there's a reward for additional audit. Rakyat easier to catch Vs big politicians. So why do hard work to match KPI when you can do easier work and read KPI also? That's my thinking.
SUSTOS
Dec 22 2021, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 22 2021, 05:03 PM)  OK buy you teh tarik next time... no idea if they have specific targets... but i've talked to some ppl hauled up for audits... usually small things cause imbalances in their IRB account trigger invitation to yum cha... or suddenly income zero will also trigger... buy/sell properties if you have low/zero income also kena, my neighborhood housewife kena audit because husband bought/sold Toyota corolla in her name... QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 22 2021, 05:56 PM) Ok,... looking fwd to it,.. and tq for ur good infos, bro,....  You guys know each other in real life?
dwRK
Dec 23 2021, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 22 2021, 08:44 PM) You guys know each other in real life?  nope
Davidtcf
Dec 24 2021, 10:46 AM
So means not official yet? Gonna be 1st January 2022 soon leh. QUOTE Impending Taxation of FSI in Malaysia During the Budget 2022 announcement, the government proposed to remove the tax exemption on FSI received by residents in Malaysia with effect from Jan. 1, 2022. This proposal is reflected in the Finance Bill 2021, which has been passed by the House of Representatives but is still being read in the Senate and has yet to be gazetted as law at the time of writing (Finance Bill). Sos: https://news.bloombergtax.com/daily-tax-rep...-sourced-income
SUSTOS
Dec 30 2021, 08:30 PM
QUOTE(mikhailcbh @ Dec 30 2021, 08:01 PM) https://www.sinchew.com.my/20211230/%e6%b5%...b9%b4%e5%ba%95/Thanks for updates. Exemption till 2026, but after 2026, who knows if the country's finances would get even worse.
Wedchar2912
Dec 30 2021, 08:36 PM
QUOTE(mikhailcbh @ Dec 30 2021, 08:01 PM) TQ for the sos. Such a joke our government. Must have been too many powerful people and politicians "lobbied" the MoF to think twice about this and do the right things.
tadashi987
Dec 30 2021, 09:18 PM
woohoo such a relief
ozak
Dec 30 2021, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 30 2021, 08:30 PM) https://www.sinchew.com.my/20211230/%e6%b5%...b9%b4%e5%ba%95/Thanks for updates. Exemption till 2026, but after 2026, who knows if the country's finances would get even worse.  2026? before that, you were already a millionaire la. Who cares about 2026.
SUSTOS
Dec 30 2021, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 30 2021, 09:24 PM) 2026? before that, you were already a millionaire la. Who cares about 2026. lol my capital is still very small. Unless compounding for decades to come, a million is impossible.
elea88
Dec 30 2021, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 22 2021, 09:11 AM) My next bet on new tax income streams will be tax on EPF withdrawals above certain quantum. A bit like the US tax on 401k withdrawals. Imagine the millions involved with withdrawals. Makes me think really hard whether i should start to initiate withdrawing my savings there. problem is withdraw then put where?
elea88
Dec 30 2021, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(mikhailcbh @ Dec 30 2021, 08:01 PM) thank you for Info.. so many ppl must've transfer $ back till CIMB SG also KAPUT..!!! https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/i-dont-kn...banking-service
prophetjul
Dec 31 2021, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 30 2021, 10:21 PM) problem is withdraw then put where? Good question. I have a substantial gratuity payment coming soon next year. It is a good headache.
Wedchar2912
Dec 31 2021, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 30 2021, 09:24 PM) 2026? before that, you were already a millionaire la. Who cares about 2026. Does any of us really think we need to take this seriously? Basically this is kicking the can down the road and a different government composition. but who knows... Mahathir maybe back again. lol
ozak
Dec 31 2021, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 30 2021, 09:28 PM) lol my capital is still very small. Unless compounding for decades to come, a million is impossible. Yes. it is possible. Same as you, I always think it is impossible. After doing some calculations and executing the plan, it proves to be possible. 1st target at 3 figure. After success, 4 figure. next 5 figure, 6.... QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 31 2021, 12:43 PM) Does any of us really think we need to take this seriously? Basically this is kicking the can down the road and a different government composition. but who knows... Mahathir maybe back again. lol When it disrupts your plan of financing, we need to think seriously. The uncertain policy, U turn and changing rule each yrs is annoying. That is also the reason why I have to not put everything in 1 basket.
Ramjade
Dec 31 2021, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 30 2021, 09:28 PM) lol my capital is still very small. Unless compounding for decades to come, a million is impossible. For me, I counted, it's impossible with dividend investing. With options in the other hand, very much possible. Hence the switch.
Wedchar2912
Dec 31 2021, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 31 2021, 01:38 PM) When it disrupts your plan of financing, we need to think seriously. The uncertain policy, U turn and changing rule each yrs is annoying. That is also the reason why I have to not put everything in 1 basket. Agree. But unfortunately some things cannot be planned with certainty. GoM way of governing our country is one that we should always plan for the worst. Because of this, it is a good idea to just keep whatever one (at least for us normal people) has overseas remain overseas. Malaysia is a very risky basket, with limited potential return. Regardless, Malaysia is still a good place to retire.