tax for oversea trading /dividend, its become more complicated

Ramjade
post Oct 31 2021, 07:07 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(homosapien8888 @ Oct 30 2021, 10:11 PM)
Any tax from dividend from stock in oversea market if you used local broker ?
All the dividend will be tax once remit to Malaysia broker ?
double taxation ?
QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Oct 31 2021, 01:04 AM)
You will not be taxed on foreign income.
What until 2022 for clarity.

QUOTE(xander83 @ Oct 31 2021, 03:58 AM)
It is consider as capital gain henceforth not taxable as it is not income derived from abroad
It's considered overseas income. And we all know overseas income will be tax. Whether the one taxable is job or investment, we won't know until 2022. Remember now govt desperate. No money already. Need to tax everything.
Ramjade
post Oct 31 2021, 07:53 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 31 2021, 06:24 PM)
Wait for the finance bill tabling next week.
What day?
Ramjade
post Oct 31 2021, 11:52 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Oct 31 2021, 10:29 PM)
https://www.sinchew.com.my/20211030/%e7%99%...b5%b7%e5%a4%96/

So, tax experts say no need to worry about double taxation as those who are already taxed overseas can enjoy tax relief, and as long as the money does not flow into Malaysia then you don't need to declare tax. Just keep it in your offshore bank accounts.

That means I can look for money changer in SG to convert money into cash and bring to MY to spend when retire, as long as don't deposit large amount in bank, then LHDN won't know and no need to pay tax. tongue.gif
Bro, don't use SG money changer. Use the one in Midvalley. I believed they have the best rate in Malaysia. I compared with the ones in JB, JB rates are lousy vs midvalley.
Ramjade
post Nov 1 2021, 08:25 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 1 2021, 08:18 AM)
Mastercard fees very expensive, they earn like 8% when I pay for my HK SIM top-up using Malaysia debit card. I didn't know SG works differently?

When I retire in M'sia I am a tax resident since I will stay here more than 6 months (182 days).
It's already in Singapore. Only stupid Malaydia does not have wise card.
Ramjade
post Nov 1 2021, 11:31 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 1 2021, 11:18 AM)
last I checked it says available... but really not yet launch
https://wise.com/sg/travel-money/singapore-dollar-card

Got revolut also.
Ramjade
post Nov 1 2021, 02:14 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 1 2021, 11:38 AM)
So you guys are saying no need to move money back, but directly use the "SGD debit card" from Wise or Revolut in any POS terminal in Malaysia? So when money is deducted in buying goods, it is deducted in MYR but internally is converted to MYR from SGD via Wise/revolut from SGD money deposited in Wise/revolut earlier? (which means wise/revolut functions like a bank account?)
My money have never been brought back to Malaysia. It's a one way trip. Been always like that since I started.

The question is even if I don't intend to bring back the money will it be tax? If yes how much?

We only know once the bill is clear.

Unless you want to chase air miles then use bank card. If you use bank cards Vs fintech, you instantly lose like 3% but you gain like 20% provided you know how to play the miles game.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 1 2021, 02:15 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 1 2021, 09:15 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 1 2021, 04:25 PM)
I have a question for you. You invest now in various overseas market to prepare for retirement right? Or at least some life goals in the future, I hope?

So that means at some point later in life, say for example when you retire, you need to spend those money that you invested, obviously they have to be brought back to Malaysia for you to spend on retirement, no?

Or you plan to retire elsewhere?

Or say that money is for your wedding, (you are still single?  tongue.gif) then when you wed in M'sia, obviously you have to repatriate that money back to spend in the end.

So by hook or by crock, a portion of your money will have to come back to Malaysia anyhow in the future, you can't escape unless you go through the "illegal" route. Of course  in the cases above, I assume the tax laws remain the same, which might not be.
Bro, I have never withdraw my money for I think 7-8 years already. All my salary all dump overseas.

How to retire?
Simple. Use epf and savings.

I planned to move to new Zealand,, Canada or Portugal or Finland or Netherlands.

My savings rate already 75%. If I need something just save up for it. Remember my overseas investment are now self reliant already thanks to options. I don't need to transfer money overseas anymore and still can continue to invest and grow my wealth and still get cash flow to fund my investment account. Another perks of not being a dividend Investor. If I cont to be dividend Investor, I need to wait 12 years for it to happen or don't know how many donkey years.

But I do see having to pay tax on that. Hence I am going to register myself and vote after all this while. Retirement is a long journey. Say another 10 years time, 10 years time govt tax may change (highly doubt it) or govt change can happen. No one expect BN to lose right?

I expect they are going to piss off lots of online seller with that tax. So anything can happen.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 1 2021, 09:20 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 2 2021, 02:41 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 1 2021, 09:57 PM)
All the best with your plan. biggrin.gif Since you will retire elsewhere, then yes you don't need to repatriate your money back and won't likely get taxed.
It's just dream. Unlikely will happen. Might try Portugal though. Cause if US people can retire to Portugal, why not.

Anyway I am ready to pay tax even though I am bitter about it.
Ramjade
post Nov 5 2021, 02:37 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 5 2021, 01:39 PM)
I've looked high n low...and no way to open a foreign bank account anywhere because we don't meet conditions... there are crypto/fiat wallets and cards but fees are no good

the only virtual bank ppl have had some success opening is N26 Bank...
Agreed, I have look at plenty of virtual banks, basically no way to open account. Only way is fly to that country and open account. That also not confirm can get.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 5 2021, 02:38 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 10 2021, 08:07 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Nov 10 2021, 07:23 PM)
Mastercard set to launch Asia’s first crypto-linked cards that you can use anywhere

lets see if this works for us, no need remit back, put into this, spend in Malaysia? sounds too good to be true  tongue.gif
You do use crypto for paying. That's just silly.
https://www.marketwatch.com/story/bitcoin-p...pto-11621714395
Ramjade
post Nov 10 2021, 09:15 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Nov 10 2021, 08:50 PM)
haha just sharing, ramjade got buy crypto?
I don't trust crypto.
Ramjade
post Nov 12 2021, 03:52 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 12 2021, 08:52 AM)
i think ppl who has borderless gets the invite...
No la. I have borderless and never get any invite.
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2021, 10:50 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Nov 13 2021, 02:54 AM)
Borderless is the one where we can transfer foreign currency to RM right? If so, I also have and no invite for me too
No. It's account where you can received and send foreign currency like a local in that country. You will even have a virtual bank account with your own account number.
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2021, 06:22 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Nov 13 2021, 03:50 PM)
Ramjade Hmmm... I have some USD in my Wise account. And my USD has an account # (checking account). So I guess I have borderless?
Most likely. But if you want to confirm, check and see if you have banks cciunt inside wise or not. If you can view your bank account, it is confirm you have borderless account.
Ramjade
post Nov 16 2021, 08:55 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 16 2021, 08:15 PM)
Thanks. I am not remitting my money back. All the more reasons for me not to bring my money back to Malaysia.
elea88 now you can plan ahead.
Hansel well bro, now it's confirm. For incoming remittance.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 16 2021, 08:56 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 16 2021, 09:01 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 16 2021, 08:57 PM)
Me too. In fact I want to sell more ASNB funds and bring out to look for better opportunities. laugh.gif
I found out that I don't need to depend on EPF or asnb anymore. I can generate basically min double what they give me every year without fail. Even more so know with my options.

Actually asnb is good as in local income. But yoy declining is a "bad dividend counter". Lol.
Ramjade
post Nov 19 2021, 05:11 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 19 2021, 03:55 PM)
our tax form got a box to fill up any other income... just put it there lor... it will follow your tax rate... des why 3% is incentive for ppl but for this 3% need to wait for sop...

pay tax only when remit back... so you remit 10k... but 9k is capital/profit... 1k is dividend n interest... declare 1k as taxable, and keep the div statements as proof... obviously also keep the capital monies statements as proof

as to div from US & SG... we got no tax treaty with US, so by right buta buta double tax...so need to wait n see how...
Wait. If we never bring money back, need to fill up the section under other income?

Cause I understand it will only be taxed if we bring back.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 19 2021, 05:11 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 9 2021, 11:29 AM

24,431 posts

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1c0rWG2PHbr...Ep4cnKNT9zuAa2g
TOS, Hansel, prophetjul, tadashi987, elea88
Govt goint to get access to bank account without notifying us before hand from my understanding.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 9 2021, 11:32 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 16 2021, 01:42 AM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 15 2021, 10:40 PM)
Even if put money in overseas, AEOI will ensure exchange of bank accounts information. So if they can know your foreign assets, there is no reason they can't know your own onshore assets. tongue.gif

Anyway, I will put less money in Malaysia, privacy reasons plus lack of investible assets. Hansel Can I hide my money in shares/brokerage accounts? I know they can check your money in foreign banks, but what if I hide them in my shares/bonds? Does the AEOI apply to brokers?
You cannot hide if you are normal person. Why? All brokerage will ask for TIN. By asking for TIN that's your automatic tax exchange.
Well unless you have private banking, able to do stuff like Jho Low then yes you can hide your money
Ramjade
post Dec 16 2021, 11:50 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(HumbleBF @ Dec 16 2021, 10:30 PM)
What's the shop name in midvalley? Am I able to check their rates online
Maxmoney, kl remit, spectrum Forex.

0.0148sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled