tax for oversea trading /dividend, its become more complicated

Hansel
post Nov 8 2021, 09:07 PM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 8 2021, 01:18 PM)
The terms in Mandarin is not so accurate, but what they said is right : Msia practises the Territorial-based Taxation System and should not be taxing at source. At most, things shld be with reference to 'Remittance Base (RB)'. This RB method is not new, there are already models out there. Msia just needs to replicate that for this ctry.

If Msia starts to 'select' who gets what,... then becomes IRS ? Which ctry wants to implement Msia-styled W8-BEN ? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Call it W8-MAT ??? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Hansel
post Nov 13 2021, 08:56 PM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Nov 13 2021, 06:30 PM)
Initiative partially defeated ??
Hansel
post Dec 10 2021, 11:09 PM

9,363 posts

So long as Msia does not adopt the Residential Taxation System, it is fine, meaning, we shld not be taxed if we don't remit back anything.

Them Knowing what we have overseas is no big deal if we are clean in our holdings and what we have have been earned in the right way.

Hansel
post Dec 15 2021, 02:01 PM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 14 2021, 12:24 PM)
even if clean in holdings .. its a lot a lot alot....of paper work to justify xxxxxx amount for a certain year.

unless like my friend portfolio year 2000 start invest with 3 banks.. reach 2021 also the 3 banks then easy to justify.

but i like open one long street ac. take me almost 1 year to get clearance...

so i also dunno moving forward how..
Sis,... if you don;t bring back or remit back,... no headache, right ? It becomes a headache IF YOU NEED TO BE ASSESSED on that foreign oncome even though you leave it all out there. Like the ATO,... international taxation,... then the problem starts.

But still there was a fella here once that displayed all his wealth in many threads,... and then suddenly disappeared when he was warned by another forummer. That big-mouth claimed that the Aussie ATO would still not tax him on his international income.

So,... there is always a way, sis,.... call it tax-planning,....
Hansel
post Dec 15 2021, 07:59 PM

9,363 posts

If you are classified as a Msian Tax Resident, then yes, the above repatriation will be assessed and then taxed. Whether from SG, or UK, etc,... all will be taxed.
Hansel
post Dec 15 2021, 10:25 PM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Dec 15 2021, 08:32 PM)
They will even check our bank accounts? Isn't that against bank privacy rules? Wah no privacy laws like that gov/LHDN can korek our bank accounts as they like.
Yes,... they can start doing the 'korek' from next year without getting approval from us and the banks must cooperate with them.

But frankly,... I believe they have always been doing this,... in a subtle way behind our back.
Hansel
post Dec 16 2021, 02:49 PM

9,363 posts

Bros,... only individuals deemed to be able to pay higher taxes but NOT DOING SO will be pursued, there is no time to go after everybody ! So,... how do they decide who these individuals are ? You'll have to think like this.
Hansel
post Dec 21 2021, 02:52 PM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 21 2021, 12:39 PM)
That's why up to us to keep record. If we don't keep record, lhdn very easy job. No evidence means never declare properly. Kena tax plus penalty.
You are talking as an individual,... you are missing the point. Read the article again,... are they talking abt an individual ?
Hansel
post Dec 21 2021, 02:55 PM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Dec 21 2021, 09:29 AM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  truth
Then,.. bros,.. you know what will happen ??

Then they will do a blanket taxation on ALL incoming remittances first,... see how much came from which source, then 'calibrate' at their end and refund the ones which are non-taxable.

That's why,... my suggextion is,... if possible for individual investors,... don't move first for the first 6 months of next year. But for investors into foreign funds based in Msia,... no choice,...
Hansel
post Dec 21 2021, 04:44 PM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 21 2021, 03:25 PM)
I currently invests in a Asia pacific equity fund on FSM, so based on what you say, I might be better off holding the individual stocks rather than the fund? The fund hold blue chip counters in Asia Pacific, but majority of them pays dividend.
QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Dec 21 2021, 03:30 PM)
i think nobody know how it works for now, even for case of normal retail investor remittance back into Malaysia they are yet to provide the clarity,
let alone fund management company which are at least 10x complicated, we will see how's the chaos goes until gomen announce a black and white guideline (which i being skeptical that it will still have tons of loophole and unclear parts), can't help with this ugly clusterfck doh.gif .
I think,... based on all we have discussed in the many threads here and on the articles posted here in this forum pertaining to this matter, the tax authority will go afer the bigger cashcows first and leave the retail investors last.

If you invest overseas via proxies,... like TOS, then you are at the mercy of how the fund mgmt declares and reports and income.

If you are investing overseas personally, then you are at the mercy of your own knowledge and interpretation of the oncoming events.

Bros,... further clarity or not,... there will be tax against income remitted back. There is no turning back from this now.

YOU guys just hope the buggers don't chg to residential taxation system.

You guys just hope the buggers don't ban foreign brokerages from offering offshore investment services to Msian tax residents, like what China is preparing to do to their citizens now.

Then we are still ok,... it's just abt remitting back only.

Pls pardon my impoliteness and vulgarity.
Hansel
post Dec 22 2021, 02:16 AM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 21 2021, 09:36 PM)
IRB won't know who is big fish small fish... they have a few things to look out for that will trigger an audit... this give them excuse to dig further...

they wanna go after ppl evading taxes... just too bad we are the collateral damage
I beg to differ on ur first sentence. IRB would have a calculated knowledge on who are the entities who will be initiating remittances back to Msia on a regular basis,... as well as the size of the amts remitted in. They would have noticed quite a few things,... and decided they shld re-enact back the tax ruling that was practised prior to 1974,... I think,...

I think this regime : called Removal of The FSIE is targetted to produce a new source of income tax collection in this country. It has nothing to do with catching tax-evaders.

Catching tax-evaders is a day-in and say-out job for them.
Hansel
post Dec 22 2021, 02:18 PM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 22 2021, 09:40 AM)
you're agreeing with me actually lah... hahaha

I said they have a few things to look out for... and you said regular remittance and size, etc... I kena audit many many times liao, usually trigger by other things... the latest is I bought crypto in 2017... lol

ive been saying all along gov bankrupt / poor... so yes it is additional source of income, but this also give IRB extra reach
Okay, bro,... you win,... biggrin.gif

Which means, bro,... emm,... they think you have capacity to pay more taxes,... which in turn means you are a strong-income earner. Frankly, bro,.. if they don't suspect anyone of being a strong-income earner, they won't go after that target-lar,... right ? Waste time meh ?

Which then begs the question,... how do they decide who has the capacity to pay more taxes ? From Facebook, INstagram,... I think,....
Hansel
post Dec 22 2021, 02:23 PM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 22 2021, 09:49 AM)
I would say PNB's ASNB will be taxed first before EPF, since EPF is for "retirement". ASNB on the other hand is just general investment vehicle, so is a more "legitimate" vehicle to tax. Even before PNB's ASNB would probably be local UT/mutual funds. 

When government desperate for money, everything can be taxed. laugh.gif
From political standpoint and Bumiputra policies, I think PNB's vehicles will always be taxfree.
Hansel
post Dec 22 2021, 05:56 PM

9,363 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Dec 22 2021, 05:03 PM)
rclxm9.gif  OK buy you teh tarik next time... smile.gif

no idea if they have specific targets... but i've talked to some ppl hauled up for audits... usually small things cause imbalances in their IRB account trigger invitation to yum cha... or suddenly income zero will also trigger... buy/sell properties if you have low/zero income also kena, my neighborhood housewife kena audit because husband bought/sold Toyota corolla in her name...
Ok,... looking fwd to it,.. and tq for ur good infos, bro,.... thumbsup.gif

0.0241sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:41 AM