12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Modenas/Bajaj Pulsar RS/NS200 and Dominar 400, I'm an Owner and a Foreman, AMA here!!

TSVi Merkz
post Aug 23 2022, 02:29 AM

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 22 2022, 07:30 PM)
Cool, how are the v35? Heard they leak though, or was that another version of the v35.

Did consider that but then the I got the 23L givis new in the box for 400, and the 2nd hand rack for 200. So...went with that instead. The ugly box turned out pretty decent due to the squarish shape
not sure, i havent had a leak on these before, but the V35 do have 2 different versions. Most easily identifiable by the quick release mechanism(new ver), old version is bolted on directly to the bracket. Mine is the newer version.

And yes in term of usability, i guess its pretty subjective, i personally do prefer the side opening style, but i do agree top cover is alot more practical and convenient to use.
jaycee1
post Aug 26 2022, 04:36 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Vi Merkz @ Aug 23 2022, 02:29 AM)
not sure, i havent had a leak on these before, but the V35 do have 2 different versions. Most easily identifiable by the quick release mechanism(new ver), old version is bolted on directly to the bracket. Mine is the newer version.

And yes in term of usability, i guess its pretty subjective, i personally do prefer the side opening style, but i do agree top cover is alot more practical and convenient to use.
Out of curiosity, does your v35v2 fit the standard givi monokey rack? I know the old v35 is permanent screwed in but the V2 has quick release.
TSVi Merkz
post Aug 28 2022, 02:39 AM

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 26 2022, 04:36 PM)
Out of curiosity, does your v35v2 fit the standard givi monokey rack? I know the old v35 is permanent screwed in but the V2 has quick release.
yes it does, my vulcan has the givi bracket on it, I swap my boxes over whenever I switch bikes. Plug and play, no mods required.
jaycee1
post Aug 30 2022, 04:52 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Vi Merkz @ Aug 28 2022, 02:39 AM)
yes it does, my vulcan has the givi bracket on it, I swap my boxes over whenever I switch bikes. Plug and play, no mods required.
Do you have an OBD2 tool at your shop? My dominar just threw a check engine light. Need to find out what is wrong.
TSVi Merkz
post Aug 31 2022, 12:36 AM

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 30 2022, 04:52 PM)
Do you have an OBD2 tool at your shop? My dominar just threw a check engine light. Need to find out what is wrong.
yeah for sure, do drop by anytime
Lee767
post Sep 2 2022, 05:29 PM

Anyone can help me? Accidentally dropped my NS200 ABS and having a bend shifter.
However cannot shift down to Neutral, and when shift down got weirds sound as video attached.

Had ordered a replacement shifter, will replaced the bend shifter fix it?

https://youtube.com/shorts/k-1Q3DUZo-0?feature=share

TSVi Merkz
post Sep 3 2022, 12:38 AM

QUOTE(Lee767 @ Sep 2 2022, 05:29 PM)
Anyone can help me? Accidentally dropped my NS200 ABS and having a bend shifter.
However cannot shift down to Neutral, and when shift down got weirds sound as video attached.

Had ordered a replacement shifter, will replaced the bend shifter fix it?

It would most likely fix it, shifter lever is always prone to drop damage. But you could have attempted to bend it back with long pipes, if you're nearby my workshop, do drop by we'll try bend it back for free.
ZZR-Pilot
post Sep 4 2022, 02:18 AM

1,057 posts

Not sure if anyone has heard this news yet or not, but Modenas has announced a new 2-year warranty on selected models that are purchased 1 Sept 2022 onwards. It is optional and owners have to pay for it.

There is currently a 2-year warranty for models such as the D400 (I know coz I made full use of it right to near the end of that period). I hope this new warranty scheme is on top of the existing one (2+2 years) and does not replace it.

https://<link removed>/2022/09/02/modenas-mala...-6-bike-models/

MODENAS new extended warranty programme offers 2 years of additional coverage
Purva Jain Sep 02, 2022 For Modenas Dominar D400

MODENAS new extended warranty programme offers 2 years of additional coverage

KUALA LUMPUR: MODENAS has announced its new extended warranty programme wherein it offers an additional 2 years or 65,000 km of additional coverage for selected models that are sold and registered from 1 September 2022 onwards.

KEY TAKEAWAYS

Which Modenas motorcycles benefit from the new EW programme?
The new warranty programme extends to the following Modenas models - Kriss 110, Karisma 125S, Elegan 250, Dominar D400, Pulsar RS200, and Pulsar NS200.

How will Modenas new EW programme benefit its customers?
The new EW programme covers sudden and unexpected motorcycle failure (concerning selected factory mechanical and electrical components).

"As insurers, our focus is firmly on being there for customers and providing them with a positive experience during their time of need, and even more so now when Malaysian households are financially vulnerable due to rising costs. We are delighted to partner with MODENAS to offer this EW programme that offers riders a fast, easy, and seamless experience with maintenance and repairs. Moreover, the programme also serves as an endorsement of Allianz General's track record as a trusted insurer that delivers the best for its customers,” said Allianz General CEO, Sean Wang.

The new warranty programme extends on the below-mentioned Modenas models -

Kriss 110
Karisma 125S
Elegan 250
Dominar D400
Pulsar RS200
Pulsar NS200

It is to be noted that MODENAS' new extended warranty programme is an optional third-party functional warranty that is being offered by Allianz General Insurance Company (Malaysia) Berhad. The towing service will be provided by Allianz Partners Malaysia.

Also present at the announcement event was Allianz Partners Malaysia CEO, Elias Wahidi who said, "We are delighted that MODENAS has chosen APM to provide its EW solution. The partnership will provide extra peace of mind for MODENAS customers when making their purchase decisions, knowing the vehicle is protected with a warranty. We are very much looking forward to developing our partnership with MODENAS and to supporting their customers. In addition, we're confident that our partnership will help stimulate the quality of MODENAS motorcycles in the coming years."

MODENAS new extended warranty programme features

Some of the key features of the MODENAS new warranty programme are -

- Use of genuine Modenas' spare parts (30k parts, all with a 2-year unlimited mileage warranty)
- 24hrs, 365 days of Roadside Breakdown Assistance
- Better resale value for the bike
- Fully transferable on resume for bike
- Towing service by RBA now extends to the nearest MODENAS authorized service centre within a 100 km radius
- Covers sudden and unexpected motorcycle failure (concerning selected factory mechanical and electrical components)

Overall, such value-added options will help customers avoid unexpected financial costs, especially with the frequent need for motorcycle maintenance and repair. Further search TV programmes also aid the industry’s growth via the feature of transferability of extended warranties that ensures the vehicle is covered even when it is passed on to a new owner.

“If you want a more targeted protection than what MODENAS is currently offering, you may want to consider the EW programme where it offers multiple levels of coverage that has been tailored to your motorcycle's needs. The NEW programme protects both your motorcycle and wallet from costly repairs due to mechanical and electrical breakdown. In addition, your motorcycles are assured of the usage of genuine MODENAS parts', said Roslan Roskan Chief Executive Officer of MODENAS.

Allianz Partners South East Asia CEO, Steve Watkins, added:" We are excited to be working with an innovative player such as MODENAS. Allianz Partners has been a strategic partner for the Automotive Industry for many years, and we embrace the opportunity to work primarily with a national manufacturer in the motorcycle industry that is helping to shape the industry's future. We look forward to working closely together in Malaysia and any opportunities for a future programme”.

Wanna know more about MODENAS' latest warranty programme, call toll-free number 1-800-880-181, WhatsApp at 091-570 8135, or visit your nearest Modenas service centre.
jaycee1
post Sep 5 2022, 10:20 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

The extended warranty is well worth it. That fork seal alone almost cost as much. But then again, I wonder if the newer USP forks suffers from the same seal failure as the older V1.

But then again, with how many reports on how poorly Modenas is handling warranty claims i wonder how they will do it.
Lee767
post Sep 7 2022, 08:33 PM

QUOTE(Vi Merkz @ Sep 3 2022, 12:38 AM)
It would most likely fix it, shifter lever is always prone to drop damage. But you could have attempted to bend it back with long pipes, if you're nearby my workshop, do drop by we'll try bend it back for free.
That does fix it! Thanks for your guidance!
Will visit your workshop to service my bike once I'm good enough for long riding distance!
Jason
post Nov 8 2022, 03:11 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Mar 5 2022, 10:51 PM)
While nobody's expecting to get Honda quality at Bajaj prices, that's no excuse to put up with a grossly DEFECTIVE product.

I was willing to close both eyes if the defects were cosmetic or minor, like the tank badge that peeled off the day I rode it out of the showroom. But stuff like faulty ABS units etc that render the bike unrideable are just not acceptable by any standard.

"Ko nak menyalak buatpa, bodo. Claim je la pastu tolong diam," that was the reply I got from these guys. So yeah OK... then what happens when the warranty runs out & you can no longer claim? By their own logic, you just get rid of it lah... and that's what I did.

Glad to have left all that behind me. What a nightmare.
How's your turd doing?
1) is yours a lemon due to no QC from Modenas?
2) or it's an inherent flaw with the bike itself - where it is just a matter of time to failure due to bad design? e.g. Volkswagen 7 speed dry clutch

I am thinking of picking one up to drop it around while practicing.

EDIT: and it seems Modenas themselves are not bothered to solve your issues, cannot send to claim warranty at authorized workshops like Vi Merkz here?

This post has been edited by Jason: Nov 8 2022, 03:12 AM
TSVi Merkz
post Nov 8 2022, 03:43 AM

QUOTE(Jason @ Nov 8 2022, 03:11 AM)
How's your turd doing?
1) is yours a lemon due to no QC from Modenas?
2) or it's an inherent flaw with the bike itself - where it is just a matter of time to failure due to bad design? e.g. Volkswagen 7 speed dry clutch

EDIT: and it seems Modenas themselves are not bothered to solve your issues, cannot send to claim warranty at authorized workshops like Vi Merkz here?
hello, i think he most probably sold his turn laugh.gif

Let me try answer,

1. Yes its most likely a lemon draw from Modenas
2. The engine is basically almost identical to the KTM390, especially so for the newer D4 UG. Same goes to the fork, brake system, injection system as well as ECU.

While i wouldnt say the bike is flaw free, it certainly still is the best value out there, and so far, there isn't any "unsolvable" issues, at least not that i've encountered.

As for ZZR's turn, yep I did solve the issue(hopefully, as he hasnt got back to me since then), and yes warranty is definitely honored. Just that, different workshops has different method of solving the issue, that includes SC itself and other independent service plus like ours.
jaycee1
post Nov 8 2022, 09:47 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

You will get the occasional lemon once in a while. All goes down to how the dealership or authorized centre solves it for you.

As for my dominar, its not the best built bike out there. Build quality from Modena's is a bit meh.... But for the price, it's impossible to find a better deal. You get what you pay for.

I put 33k on mine in 18months. Ridden hard almost daily bouncing off the rev limiter. Taken off road frequently.

Random stalling issues still persist, front fork seal started weeping at 10k, but surprisingly have not gotten worst given the off road abuse it gets. Had a few wiring issues which I sorted out myself. Started using a bit of water lately. But parts are cheap and easy to find. Maintenance is cheap. Filter is 10bux, takes 1.7L of oil.

Value can't be beat for a new beginner bike. Your other options would be a used z250 or a very old ER6 for that price. If you can find a used low mileage one like I did, all the better. Mine had 3k by the previous owner and I paid 8500 for the bike for an almost new bike. Literally kapchai money.

It's big and heavy for a 400. More stable than the duke390 on the highway....less affected by wake of big trucks. Handling wise, the budget suspension is pretty well ...budget...but gets the job done. Just don't expect superbike stability in fast corners. The rear will wallow a bit. Front forks is too soft. Comfortable but not very secure feeling at speed...brake dive is bad. City handling is sluggish due to it being top heavy and having a long wheelbase (it's longer than the cb650r and the trident.).. but you do get used to it. It's a big bike, it won't cilok like a kapchai for sure.

Engine is very buzzy past 7000rpm. Gearing is set low, will need to sprocket down 3 teeth for highway cruising (I'm running a 42 from the factory 45). Will do 130 all day and max out at 165 after that.
Jason
post Nov 8 2022, 10:37 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Vi Merkz @ Nov 8 2022, 03:43 AM)
hello, i think he most probably sold his turn  laugh.gif

Let me try answer,

1. Yes its most likely a lemon draw from Modenas
2. The engine is basically almost identical to the KTM390, especially so for the newer D4 UG. Same goes to the fork, brake system, injection system as well as ECU.

While i wouldnt say the bike is flaw free, it certainly still is the best value out there, and so far, there isn't any "unsolvable" issues, at least not that i've encountered.

As for ZZR's turn, yep I did solve the issue(hopefully, as he hasnt got back to me since then), and yes warranty is definitely honored. Just that, different workshops has different method of solving the issue, that includes SC itself and other independent service plus like ours.
2. Is the fork for the D4 UG same as KTM? KTM runs WP forks right. Seems like leaking fork is common, does your fix solve it for good?

But I guess if Modenas HQ doesn't give a flying fish about its customers, and you as an authorised SC can claim warranty work for the customer, there's less to worry about. Since authorised SC is charging Modenas for warranty work anyway, it is business for them.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 8 2022, 09:47 AM)
You will get the occasional lemon once in a while. All goes down to how the dealership or authorized centre solves it for you.

As for my dominar, its not the best built bike out there. Build quality from Modena's is a bit meh.... But for the price, it's impossible to find a better deal. You get what you pay for.
I put 33k on mine in 18months. Ridden hard almost daily bouncing off the rev limiter. Taken off road frequently.

Random stalling issues still persist, front fork seal started weeping at 10k, but surprisingly have not gotten worst given the off road abuse it gets. Had a few wiring issues which I sorted out myself. Started using a bit of water lately. But parts are cheap and easy to find. Maintenance is cheap. Filter is 10bux, takes 1.7L of oil.

Value can't be beat for a new beginner bike. Your other options would be a used z250 or a very old ER6 for that price. If you can find a used low mileage one like I did, all the better. Mine had 3k by the previous owner and I paid 8500 for the bike for an almost new bike. Literally kapchai money.

It's big and heavy for a 400. More stable than the duke390 on the highway....less affected by wake of big trucks. Handling wise, the budget suspension is pretty well ...budget...but gets the job done. Just don't expect superbike stability in fast corners. The rear will wallow a bit. Front forks is too soft. Comfortable but not very secure feeling at speed...brake dive is bad. City handling is sluggish due to it being top heavy and having a long wheelbase (it's longer than the cb650r and the trident.).. but you do get used to it. It's a big bike, it won't cilok like a kapchai for sure.

Engine is very buzzy past 7000rpm. Gearing is set low, will need to sprocket down 3 teeth for highway cruising (I'm running a 42 from the factory 45). Will do 130 all day and max out at 165 after that.
Nothing to argue about the value, where to find brand new 400cc bike for RM14k, all thanks to Modenas *cough* protectionism *cough*.

Brake dive - can use heavier oil in the forks to reduce this? Nice to see you really whacking your bike.

I am thinking given its price point and size, it would be the best training wheels to do parking lot drills, of course first choice is the Duke 390 but that's double the price. As long as it is not a nightmare with maintenance. What year is yours?
TSVi Merkz
post Nov 8 2022, 02:08 PM

QUOTE(Jason @ Nov 8 2022, 10:37 AM)
2. Is the fork for the D4 UG same as KTM? KTM runs WP forks right. Seems like leaking fork is common, does your fix solve it for good?

But I guess if Modenas HQ doesn't give a flying fish about its customers, and you as an authorised SC can claim warranty work for the customer, there's less to worry about. Since authorised SC is charging Modenas for warranty work anyway, it is business for them.
Nothing to argue about the value, where to find brand new 400cc bike for RM14k, all thanks to Modenas *cough* protectionism *cough*.

Brake dive - can use heavier oil in the forks to reduce this? Nice to see you really whacking your bike.

I am thinking given its price point and size, it would be the best training wheels to do parking lot drills, of course first choice is the Duke 390 but that's double the price. As long as it is not a nightmare with maintenance. What year is yours?
Pretty likely a rebranded WP, logo is absent but everything else checks out the same and is identical, heck i've got plenty of KTM customers buying service kits and components from me because bajaj's branding is way cheaper than KTM ones, goes the same for other engine spareparts.

Yes the same leak is present in KTM, a customer got a brand new 390, and took it to the track, literally broke on the spot(seal/fork). Replacing the seals with stock seals won't help, go with good aftermarket ones (ariette).

Nose dive largely subjective, of course you can compensate the dive with thicker oil(15w - 25w). But avoid getting them too stiff, they affect your braking.
ZZR-Pilot
post Nov 8 2022, 05:52 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Nov 8 2022, 04:11 AM)

D400 is extremely good for that..!! My wife dropped it a shit ton because she never even rode a bike before, I even lost count. My heart oso no pain, in fact I thought the turd finally got the treatment it deserved.

The dinky factory crashbar took my wife's hamfisted handling well surprisingly. Some black spray paint later, it was enough for me to pawn it off for RM9000 at GS Cycle. It buggered off to some clueless fella a month later.
ZZR-Pilot
post Nov 8 2022, 06:02 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Vi Merkz @ Nov 8 2022, 04:43 AM)

VI did a fab job replacing the whole ABS unit (which would have costed me, what, RM2000 if out of warranty?). Screw the service center unless you're willing to wait weeks and weeks on end - just go straight to this guy. Recommended. 4 thumbs up if I had that many hands.

jaycee1
post Nov 8 2022, 09:42 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

Mine is a late 2019. First owner rode it for a few months with the intention to get a Full B. But gave up when MCO 1 came. Traded it in for an Elegan 250 maxi scooter. So I'm the beneficiary. Actually, I will achieve ROI in the next 1 year. Anymore use and the bike is "free". Save a few K in toll and fuel by taking the bike instead of driving back to hometown Ipoh, which is a few times a month, each trip saving me over 100rm. Not to mention the fuel, parking and toll cost savings commuting with the bike instead of driving.

It's a fairly cheap bike to maintain. Parts are easily found and cheap. I could find every part I need on shopee. My oil change is routinely under 100rm. Kapchai servicing costs.

Yes, a change to heavier weight oil will stiffen up the front. Something I plan to do when my fork seals finally give way.

Because it's such a cheap bike to start off with, and cheap to fix and repair, that's why I have no qualms to really whack it. Don't have to baby it. Dropped it unmentionable times off road. Broken off parts. Repaired... Repeat. The chassis is however quite robust.

It's a good B Full training bike. It's actually harder to ride it than the riding schools z650 test bikes. So if you can manage the dominar, the road test bike is a cake. You have all the confidence down pat. Passed it with perfect score on the first try.
iambryan1234
post Nov 9 2022, 01:29 AM

15 posts

The Bajaj rebadged bikes in here actually have the same retail prices as the ones sold in India though.

If anything Jap bikes in here are also priced similarly and are actually cheaper to run here.

This post has been edited by iambryan1234: Nov 9 2022, 01:38 AM
jaycee1
post Nov 10 2022, 09:38 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(iambryan1234 @ Nov 9 2022, 01:29 AM)
The Bajaj rebadged bikes in here actually have the same retail prices as the ones sold in India though.

If anything Jap bikes in here are also priced similarly and are actually cheaper to run here.
Just to show how much taxes and dealer profits come to play,

In India, the RE Himalayan/Scram is actually sold cheaper than the Dominar. In all intents and purpose, the Dominar is the better bike.

Here the price is double.

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:42 PM