Modenas/Bajaj Pulsar RS/NS200 and Dominar 400, I'm an Owner and a Foreman, AMA here!!

jaycee1
post Jan 3 2022, 04:33 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(hr_elie @ Nov 26 2021, 11:32 PM)
just to chip in here.

clean the maf sensor insiode the air filter box. i diagnosed it something wrong with the maf voltage thru obd.

happen to my friend's dominar d400. this is due to air-fuel mixture backflow during throttle closure, thus contaminate the sensor. the sensor is bosch sensor.

just buy throttle body cleaner from mr diy will do.

ecu need to read the amount of air coming in, the contaminated sensor give erratic reading thus the problem.
QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Jan 2 2022, 10:42 AM)
Akademi Propandu. So now she needs my D400 to practice on.

She has never ridden a motorcycle before ever, so she needs to lean static & dynamic balancing, countersteering, clutch & low speed control.

She took 2 classes from Hafiz Azmi who owns Hafiz Azmi Riding School to get her off the ground on a clutch cubkia, the rest is me coaching her on my D400 Superturd (coz no way in hell imma gonna let her touch my Tiger). She can ride now after 3 weeks but still needs lots & lots of riding hours to build her confidence.

One good thing about the D400 Superturd is that I totally don't care if she drops the bike -- turns out that the stock crash bars are more than adequate to deal with it. In fact I'm happy she dropped it twice while making a low speed turn after stalling the engine, coz now she knows what it's like, what the warning signs are that the bike's gonna drop & how to fall away from a bike.

The only caveat is that the rubber gasket around the petrol filler cap is so utterly shite, petrol will leak like crazy when you drop the bike. A f**king fire hazard, on top of being unreliable!

She does like the sound of the Honda, the design of the bike is more practical than the Triumph Trident. But somehow she feels the SV650 is easier to manage (skinny bike & I bet Suzuki's Low RPM Throttle Assist will be a big hit with newbies like her). Me, I'd go for a cheap used XJ6 coz I know she gonna drop it too! Lol...
quite a few bikes will leak petrol when on its side. Hahaha.

17k on my DOM. usual suspects, mushy rear brake (dealer had no clue, had to properly bleed and flush it myself), fork seal and now the infamous random stalling and choking . Looks like this problem also afflicts KTMs as well, so it is likely a deep seeded bajaj problem. MAF sensor issue or something....same issue with the 390. The DOM was built cheap, but thats ok since the bike IS cheap.

However, mine is properly used. 9 months highway balik kampung, off-road (so i'm not surprised of my busted fork seal), commuting. 14K mileage done despite 3 months MCO.

Fortunately i paid peanuts for it, so its less painful. Paid 8500 for a 2nd hand unit with 3k on the clock.

The 600s will be easier to manage than the DOM due to the bigger bikes weight distribution. The Trident, SV, Z650, CBR650 all have better low speed maneuverability than the DOM, easier to instill confidence in a new rider . The DOM is ridiculously top heavy, especially with a full tank of gas.

I'm waiting for the Tiger Sport 660. Tried the Trident. Didn't like it. Too small and cramped and im only 5'6".. Good city bike, but useless for touring, impossible for 2-up.

jaycee1
post Jan 3 2022, 08:32 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Jan 3 2022, 04:53 PM)
As a Kawasaki fan, I am also sad that Modenas has taken over. Sigh. Its gonna be tough moving forward.

And if this is how Modenas builds bikes, I can only imagine what nonsense they are gonna churn out in the future.

Bad move Kawasaki. You had a large share of the big bike cake and now all gone.
Well, Suzuki is back......

Big bikes over 600 still under Kawasaki.
jaycee1
post Feb 9 2022, 08:53 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Vi Merkz @ Jan 24 2022, 01:28 AM)
Just look for me, i'm Jay, its my contact on the FB
Hi Jay, can you PM me your shop details. Can't seem to find you on FB.

My D400 is due for the 20K service, put on 15k in the last 10 months

. How much do you charge for the 20K VC job?

Edit. Sorry, found it. Are you guys open on Saturdays? Might just drop by since quite near to me.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Feb 9 2022, 08:56 PM
jaycee1
post Mar 8 2022, 09:18 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(sammm33 @ Mar 6 2022, 12:09 AM)
totally agree . to be honest my 1st thought was glad that you or anyone that riding that bike was unharmed due to that faulty abs.

my guessing is that these people at brand M / B,  betting on these "cut costed" part , ditching quality and QC.
they definitely went through all the parts , and decide which part can be fit in using the cheapest and lowest quality part for profit sake.
i know im making assumptions here but as a user i can see a lot of part is very poor quality.

and you know why they dare to reply like that ?
cuz they know most of the people that purchase this bike will do the exact same thing, keeping silent or just swipe it aside and go fix them self.

any kind of question/argument bout the quality will be shutdown by " the bike so cheap , apasal still mao complain/minta lebih ? "
hell, i even get that exact same answer for just suggest that this bike will be better if can have a bigger gas tank.
so i cannot even suggest some improvement ?? seriously ??
you cannot talk anything bad about this bike , not even suggesting some improvement.
especially the front fork seal leaking , that is clearly a defect, and majority owner is experiencing it.
and you know what that brand M did ?
they launch a few days event , so called "walk in and replace fork seal" at their subang SC , very short duration of time,
and then end it with something like "due to very less people actually came for replace, hence this fork seal leaking issue is not major".
mind you their so called walk in to fix this issue is short to no notice in the media , no call or what so ever to me despite i was in the waiting list for fork seal replacement, and those that get the news mostly was circulated within their so called official groups.
how they conclude this issue really is something .
holy cow these people. talk bout taking responsible.  

again , my thoughts is , this M brand will never improve, officially they put zero effort in sc
all actual service was delegate to those so called SC plus.

went through their official SC at subang 3 times , i swear i do not want to return there ever again.
A total waste of my time.
Indeed, I think the bulk of the problem is Modenas. After all these years in operations, improvements are much to be desired.

The bike however, is built to a price, which is not a problem with me, as it IS a cheap bike. However it is made much worst when it is being assembled here. We seem to have a tidak apa attitude when it comes to doing things. We have a made in Malaysia Honda Accord that suffers from very poor build quality.

Fortunately, my Dominar has been relatively trouble free short of the odd and rare in gear / throttle off stalling, which seems to be a KTM issue. But my bike has been used hard, off road, touring, daily ride, maxed out to 160 at least once per week, you name it. racking in nearly 20K in 1 year. I bought mine as a pristine , very low mileage secondhand so didnt bother about warranty, and I do most of my work myself. So maybe the bike needs to be used hard.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Mar 8 2022, 09:19 AM
jaycee1
post Jun 3 2022, 06:20 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Lost my rear signal indicators. Stopped working. Maybe for the last few days.

Front ones work fine. Flasher relay is fine. Checked all the connections, all seem ok. Very very odd problem. Very rare to have both go out.

Front left signal flashes fine when bike not running, but flashes erratically when bike running. Just happened today which is why I noticed the rears are out too.

Really really weird.

Anyone has a copy of the shop manual, really need it to check all the wiring and try to get it sorted out tonight...have a bike trip tmrw
jaycee1
post Jun 7 2022, 01:01 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Jun 3 2022, 10:16 PM)
dominar..
i ve been searching for some time but cant find official bajaj english workshop manual,  only old model pulsar foreign language. ...

ok looks like someone uploaded a copy recently,

bajaj call this service manual? only 179pages??

circuit diagram is there at least...

https://guidessimo.com/document/1908799/baj...manual-179.html

Figured out the problem.

It's a Modenas problem. When the bike was assembled, the rear signal wires were not placed properly so when my rear givi pannier racks were installed, they crushed the resistor packs on both lamps. Not the fault of the foreman either..since there is no way for him to see where the wires were.

Just ordered new signal lamps..will do it myself this time around. Properly.
jaycee1
post Aug 8 2022, 02:01 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Public service announcement

For owners that ride the bikes on trails please take note. I highly doubt there are many who takes Thier Dominar off road as much as I do so I will just leave this here for reference.

I landed a small jump and the bike just stalled and won't idle. Initially I thought the side stand switch or I sucked in air as I was running low on gas. It continued to run like shit for the next few km, and stalling.

However on closer inspection, it was something more serious. The fuse box bracket had eaten through the wire harness insulation and causing a short. It could very well be a fire hazard if not caught early. Would have brought new meaning to the term hot seat.

Fortunately I managed to find the issue and do the repair. Also bent the bracket out a bit and zip tied the harness clear of the bracket.

So if you ride hard, take note.

Late 2018 facelift model, 30k on the clock.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Aug 8 2022, 02:07 PM
jaycee1
post Aug 9 2022, 09:55 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(007SMH @ Aug 8 2022, 10:26 PM)
Damn bro ~ you hardcore , I never took my D400 off road before hahaha ! How was the experience anyway ?
Limited to gravel, broken tarmac to slightly rocky and sometimes muddy single track trails. Have to work around the bikes limited suspension travel, weight, ground clearance and 30/70 ADV tyres. Arguable it's not the correct bike for these as a lighter enduro/dual sport will be more suitable, especially when equipped with knobbies.

But it does get me to off-road campsites and it is fun doing sandy and gravelly ladang sawit trails where you can slide the tail out and have fun.

https://youtu.be/5hw-y0pEDKc

You can check out my gravel rides. That is an example of an easy trail at ladang sawit roads.

Some of the more hardcore trails I had the Dominar on

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Aug 9 2022, 10:11 AM
jaycee1
post Aug 21 2022, 03:31 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Sammy6 @ Aug 21 2022, 02:08 AM)
Nice side bags drool.gif Do you mind sharing the model and brand?
Plan on getting side box/bags for my ns200.
Look below.

But I have since installed proper Givi rack/panniers. Got a good deal on new unused " 2nd hand set" for cheap.

I bought the "Komine" saddlebags because they were on sale, paid less than 100rm online and as a temp solution as I didn't yet find a deal/design I liked for a more permanent setup.

The other thing is, on my bike it sits flush with the handlebars so filtering is not an issue. My new givi panniers stick out 5cm each side more, so need extra care when filtering.

QUOTE(Vi Merkz @ Aug 21 2022, 03:02 AM)
If im not wrong, its the Komine saddle bag, sold in shopee. Its good for occasional travel, huge storage. But it sags over time unless you fit a sidebox bracket to support it. For daily use id still recommend a sidebox.
Indeed it is.

I added 2 simple aluminium exhaust hangers to give the sidebags a little more support. A few ringgit for them and a few nuts/bolts. Simple DIY.

Only works if you already got the givi heavy duty topbox rack

[url=https://pictr.com/image/BsUng1]
user posted image[/url]
"New" givi rack/panniers. Paid 600 for the set of rack+ cases. Just too bad, the budget line of givi panniers all look like shit. Basically only 3-4 options in the market.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Aug 21 2022, 03:45 PM
jaycee1
post Aug 22 2022, 07:30 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Vi Merkz @ Aug 21 2022, 10:40 PM)
yeah man, the premium one goes 3k+ for the givis. And there isnt much options either in the market currently, aside from stuff like Shads. I gave up looking for nice sideboxes haha. They are either not the size i want, too expensive to justify or too ugly.

I did some custom bracket for my "komine" as well previously as i really like how it looks and you can even fit a full face once expanded. While the bracket lasts, the fabric does and turned ugly from sun exposure. At one point i even considered getting the original Komine instead of the fakes thats flooding our market, all in all, i settled with the china V35 sideboxes.

Custom fitted the brackets for an extra touch of tardiness as well
Cool, how are the v35? Heard they leak though, or was that another version of the v35.

Did consider that but then the I got the 23L givis new in the box for 400, and the 2nd hand rack for 200. So...went with that instead. The ugly box turned out pretty decent due to the squarish shape

jaycee1
post Aug 26 2022, 04:36 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Vi Merkz @ Aug 23 2022, 02:29 AM)
not sure, i havent had a leak on these before, but the V35 do have 2 different versions. Most easily identifiable by the quick release mechanism(new ver), old version is bolted on directly to the bracket. Mine is the newer version.

And yes in term of usability, i guess its pretty subjective, i personally do prefer the side opening style, but i do agree top cover is alot more practical and convenient to use.
Out of curiosity, does your v35v2 fit the standard givi monokey rack? I know the old v35 is permanent screwed in but the V2 has quick release.
jaycee1
post Aug 30 2022, 04:52 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Vi Merkz @ Aug 28 2022, 02:39 AM)
yes it does, my vulcan has the givi bracket on it, I swap my boxes over whenever I switch bikes. Plug and play, no mods required.
Do you have an OBD2 tool at your shop? My dominar just threw a check engine light. Need to find out what is wrong.
jaycee1
post Sep 5 2022, 10:20 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

The extended warranty is well worth it. That fork seal alone almost cost as much. But then again, I wonder if the newer USP forks suffers from the same seal failure as the older V1.

But then again, with how many reports on how poorly Modenas is handling warranty claims i wonder how they will do it.
jaycee1
post Nov 8 2022, 09:47 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

You will get the occasional lemon once in a while. All goes down to how the dealership or authorized centre solves it for you.

As for my dominar, its not the best built bike out there. Build quality from Modena's is a bit meh.... But for the price, it's impossible to find a better deal. You get what you pay for.

I put 33k on mine in 18months. Ridden hard almost daily bouncing off the rev limiter. Taken off road frequently.

Random stalling issues still persist, front fork seal started weeping at 10k, but surprisingly have not gotten worst given the off road abuse it gets. Had a few wiring issues which I sorted out myself. Started using a bit of water lately. But parts are cheap and easy to find. Maintenance is cheap. Filter is 10bux, takes 1.7L of oil.

Value can't be beat for a new beginner bike. Your other options would be a used z250 or a very old ER6 for that price. If you can find a used low mileage one like I did, all the better. Mine had 3k by the previous owner and I paid 8500 for the bike for an almost new bike. Literally kapchai money.

It's big and heavy for a 400. More stable than the duke390 on the highway....less affected by wake of big trucks. Handling wise, the budget suspension is pretty well ...budget...but gets the job done. Just don't expect superbike stability in fast corners. The rear will wallow a bit. Front forks is too soft. Comfortable but not very secure feeling at speed...brake dive is bad. City handling is sluggish due to it being top heavy and having a long wheelbase (it's longer than the cb650r and the trident.).. but you do get used to it. It's a big bike, it won't cilok like a kapchai for sure.

Engine is very buzzy past 7000rpm. Gearing is set low, will need to sprocket down 3 teeth for highway cruising (I'm running a 42 from the factory 45). Will do 130 all day and max out at 165 after that.
jaycee1
post Nov 8 2022, 09:42 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Nov 8 2022, 10:37 AM)

Nothing to argue about the value, where to find brand new 400cc bike for RM14k, all thanks to Modenas *cough* protectionism *cough*.

Brake dive - can use heavier oil in the forks to reduce this? Nice to see you really whacking your bike.

I am thinking given its price point and size, it would be the best training wheels to do parking lot drills, of course first choice is the Duke 390 but that's double the price. As long as it is not a nightmare with maintenance. What year is yours?
Mine is a late 2019. First owner rode it for a few months with the intention to get a Full B. But gave up when MCO 1 came. Traded it in for an Elegan 250 maxi scooter. So I'm the beneficiary. Actually, I will achieve ROI in the next 1 year. Anymore use and the bike is "free". Save a few K in toll and fuel by taking the bike instead of driving back to hometown Ipoh, which is a few times a month, each trip saving me over 100rm. Not to mention the fuel, parking and toll cost savings commuting with the bike instead of driving.

It's a fairly cheap bike to maintain. Parts are easily found and cheap. I could find every part I need on shopee. My oil change is routinely under 100rm. Kapchai servicing costs.

Yes, a change to heavier weight oil will stiffen up the front. Something I plan to do when my fork seals finally give way.

Because it's such a cheap bike to start off with, and cheap to fix and repair, that's why I have no qualms to really whack it. Don't have to baby it. Dropped it unmentionable times off road. Broken off parts. Repaired... Repeat. The chassis is however quite robust.

It's a good B Full training bike. It's actually harder to ride it than the riding schools z650 test bikes. So if you can manage the dominar, the road test bike is a cake. You have all the confidence down pat. Passed it with perfect score on the first try.
jaycee1
post Nov 10 2022, 09:38 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(iambryan1234 @ Nov 9 2022, 01:29 AM)
The Bajaj rebadged bikes in here actually have the same retail prices as the ones sold in India though.

If anything Jap bikes in here are also priced similarly and are actually cheaper to run here.
Just to show how much taxes and dealer profits come to play,

In India, the RE Himalayan/Scram is actually sold cheaper than the Dominar. In all intents and purpose, the Dominar is the better bike.

Here the price is double.
jaycee1
post Dec 12 2022, 04:49 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

I have another weird issue crop up on my dominar.

I think its the sidestand switch or clutch switch. Wont let me start the bike in gear. Wont even crank.

A bit annoying especially for a bike that is prone to spontaneously stalling coming to a stop. Previously I would just clutch in a restart even before I come to a stop. Now i have to put the bike in neutral before it will even crank.

The sidestand lights does do off when I put the sidestand up, so I know its working.

Edit. Figured out the problem.

Looks like my clutch cable has stretched that much that even with full lever engagement, it doesn't turn of the starter cut off. Adjusted the cable and it is fine now.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Dec 12 2022, 10:49 PM
jaycee1
post Dec 31 2022, 10:05 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(zarakiken @ Dec 19 2022, 11:52 PM)
Also want to ask, is the motor is normal when goes over 90 it is wobbly and feel like its going to slip or not grip???
That's certainly not normal.

But what circumstances or condition that make the bike act like that? Straight line or in a corner? Rough roads? Uneven pavement?

Check your rear tyre is alligned properly. Has the bike been crashed? The frame is straight? The headstock bearings are in good condition? Tyre condition ok with no uneven wear?
jaycee1
post Dec 31 2022, 10:22 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Went to vi for my Dom's 40k service. Didn't do the VC but just standard service. His boys did alright. Pretty knowledgeable on the bajaj bikes. Went there early, worked on the bike on opening. I brought all my parts. (Luckily I did as they didn't have sparkplugs in stock).

Changed spark plugs, air filter, oilflter and oil. Fuel filter and coolant flush done 5 and 10k ago so didn't replace those
Managed to sort out a minor hesitation and stalling on throttle on/off caused by a worn out main spark plug.

Ray wasn't there today but had a good conversation through WhatsApp.

Just a few comments perhaps for future improvements.
The M6 tank cover allen bolts should not be fitted and tightened with a power tool. It's very easy to crosstread them, especially on the 2 front ones near the fork.
Should also provide a complementary check on tyre pressure and chain tension as well, for any service, let alone a major 1.
Bike Got pretty fingerprinty.

None are deal breakers for me. Was going to send the bike to bike wash anyway and I'm more than capable to check my own chain and tyre pressures.

Definately recommend them if you have a bajaj based bike

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Dec 31 2022, 10:26 PM
jaycee1
post Jan 4 2023, 10:54 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(zarakiken @ Jan 4 2023, 09:37 AM)
This is a new bike… when straight cruising at 90kmh, i can feel that i am floating and a bit wobbly… not even 1k km yet arr…
If that is the case then you might want to take your bike to a shop when you do your first service and have them take a look at it closely, as it is under warranty.

A bike should not feel wobbly at 90 going down a smooth road.

In addition to the things I listed earlier, you might want to also check if your rear static sag and pre-load is set correctly for your weight. If you are too heavy for the current rear pre-load, it might cause a geometry change, unloading the front and causing steering vagueness. Check if your tyres are also properly inflated.

0.0291sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:32 AM