[2021] MacBook Pro w/ M1 Pro/Max Discussion Thread, All systems Pro.
vostroxe
Dec 7 2021, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(CounterRealm @ Dec 7 2021, 03:44 PM) a quick question guys, anyone here use macbook for business use or work related? what is the difference compare to windows? depend on the business nature..as for me with finance and accounting background, Macbook definitely not suitable for my working needs..i bought Macbook for my hobby to edit photo and video.
vostroxe
Dec 7 2021, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(will_wong @ Dec 7 2021, 03:48 PM) Anyone with their MBP scheduled to arrive between 10th - 17th Dec receive any updates? I doubt mine will be arriving on the 10th since the status is still "Processing"... Usually it will update to preparing for shipment 2 days before. Lets wait until tomorrow and check back the status. Preparing shipment to shipped took less than 24 hours i think..and then upon shipped, the "Shipment picked up" status seems like appearing forever.
dikae
Dec 7 2021, 04:00 PM
an apple a day
QUOTE(CounterRealm @ Dec 7 2021, 03:44 PM) a quick question guys, anyone here use macbook for business use or work related? what is the difference compare to windows? I have been a windows user for 2 decades then switch to macOS for well over a decade now, initially I kept the windows comp for work and only macOS for leisure/entertainment..after less than a month I switched completely..coz they are actually more or less the same if you're using basic stuffs like Microsoft office browser email etc..both windows and macOS are powerful within their own area..for me I kept my windows for gaming, but as I retire from pc games I retire windows as well..one thing for sure is macOS is weak for gaming, they are especially powerful for editing/coding etc...mostly graphics related works..windows can be very powerful too but MacOS is smoother imo.. if you are contemplating between these, look up for some YouTube videos like these https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAG4QuUnkoYhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PgF7tomvGgsThis post has been edited by dikae: Dec 7 2021, 04:01 PM
CounterRealm
Dec 7 2021, 04:05 PM

Thanks for your feedback! Actually I work as HR professional so nothing to do with editing video or pictures. Does that mean sticking back to windows will be the best? What if the company allows you to choose either one?  Which one should i go for?
dikae
Dec 7 2021, 04:20 PM
an apple a day
QUOTE(CounterRealm @ Dec 7 2021, 04:05 PM) Thanks for your feedback! Actually I work as HR professional so nothing to do with editing video or pictures. Does that mean sticking back to windows will be the best? What if the company allows you to choose either one?  Which one should i go for? haha I supposed if given a choice, people would take the Mac due to its brand and price tag..since you are using it for basic Microsoft office etc, I think in terms of usage the Mac and windows are about the same, and if you have been a windows user, migrating to Mac will not be a problem for you as well.. do you use any specific HR systems? afaik, some HR/HRIS systems only run on windows, you may want to cross check with your IT.. This post has been edited by dikae: Dec 7 2021, 04:22 PM
CounterRealm
Dec 7 2021, 04:23 PM

QUOTE(dikae @ Dec 7 2021, 04:20 PM) haha I supposed if given a choice, people would take the Mac due to its brand and price tag..since you are using it for basic Microsoft office etc, I think in terms of usage the Mac and windows are about the same, and if you have been a windows user, migrating to Mac will not be a problem for you as well.. do you use any specific HR systems? afaik, some HR/HRIS systems only run on windows, you may want to cross check on that with your IT.. The company product runs on Mac platform as well so I don't think it is an issue. I have been using windows all my life and I am planning to jump into an unknown area so that's why I am asking your opinions. I just worry that if i use Mac, some of the software which I normally use doesn't work? Is there any problem with that?
vostroxe
Dec 7 2021, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(CounterRealm @ Dec 7 2021, 04:05 PM) Thanks for your feedback! Actually I work as HR professional so nothing to do with editing video or pictures. Does that mean sticking back to windows will be the best? What if the company allows you to choose either one?  Which one should i go for? Depend on the software used. Based on my experience, functional / admin roles in a company more suit using windows. For example, the most basic software, Microsoft Office is more optimised in PC rather than mac. In addition to that, you also need to ensure the software run properly in Apple silicon. Bear in mind we are still in the 2 years Apple silicon transition period. This post has been edited by vostroxe: Dec 7 2021, 04:28 PM
dikae
Dec 7 2021, 04:26 PM
an apple a day
QUOTE(CounterRealm @ Dec 7 2021, 04:23 PM) The company product runs on Mac platform as well so I don't think it is an issue. I have been using windows all my life and I am planning to jump into an unknown area so that's why I am asking your opinions. I just worry that if i use Mac, some of the software which I normally use doesn't work? Is there any problem with that? what software do you normally use? you can google up whether these softwares available for both windows and Mac before you decide.. at least your company product runs of Mac so that part is solved.. are you using any other apple ecosystems?
13th
Dec 7 2021, 06:15 PM
Omg just got mine. So heavy meh 😅
marogal
Dec 7 2021, 06:46 PM

QUOTE(vostroxe @ Dec 5 2021, 10:13 PM) same batch with me..i guess we just wait patiently this week..hopefully can get it by Friday. Mine order 21st still under processing. Oh gosh apple store first time delaying all the orders.. how to deliver on the 8th ish…
dikae
Dec 7 2021, 06:51 PM
an apple a day
QUOTE(damos_csui @ Dec 7 2021, 05:46 PM) finally received the brown box.. from 14-20 Dec delivery timeframe to arrived on 7 Dec, not bad apple! :thumbsup: even none of the accessories arrive yet..  Nice early surprise for you! I received my brown box of happiness too, small brown box 
will_wong
Dec 7 2021, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(vostroxe @ Dec 7 2021, 03:58 PM) Usually it will update to preparing for shipment 2 days before. Lets wait until tomorrow and check back the status. Preparing shipment to shipped took less than 24 hours i think..and then upon shipped, the "Shipment picked up" status seems like appearing forever. Yeah, that’s why I think it may not reach me here by this Friday 10th, since it will probably take more than 2 days to get from Shanghai to my doorstep. But will be very happy to be proven wrong
pew333 P
Dec 7 2021, 07:36 PM
I am looking to purchase a MacBook Pro 16 inch. I am aware that it comes with fast charge 140W power brick, just wondering is there a way to disable the fast charge as I do not and probably never will fast charge my electronic device. A bit concerned that it might damage the MacBook battery in the long run.
dikae
Dec 7 2021, 07:38 PM
an apple a day
QUOTE(pew333 @ Dec 7 2021, 07:36 PM) I am looking to purchase a MacBook Pro 16 inch. I am aware that it comes with fast charge 140W power brick, just wondering is there a way to disable the fast charge as I do not and probably never will fast charge my electronic device. A bit concerned that it might damage the MacBook battery in the long run. just charge it using a different brick.. don't use the 140w... you can skip the MagSafe 3 too if you want, use a normal 20w charging brick with usb c to usb c..but going to take a while to charge it (about 2-3 hours) not too bad imo... with the 140w + MagSafe 3 you can charge it full in an hour+.. This post has been edited by dikae: Dec 7 2021, 07:39 PM
pew333 P
Dec 7 2021, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(dikae @ Dec 7 2021, 07:38 PM) just charge it using a different brick.. don't use the 140w... you can skip the MagSafe 3 too if you want, use a normal 20w charging brick with usb c to usb c..but going to take a while to charge it (about 2-3 hours) not too bad imo... with the 140w + MagSafe 3 you can charge it full in an hour+.. Never own any MacBook before this, so buying the new brick is gonna cost a bit. Even the 67W brick cost MYR 279
dikae
Dec 7 2021, 07:52 PM
an apple a day
QUOTE(pew333 @ Dec 7 2021, 07:47 PM) Never own any MacBook before this, so buying the new brick is gonna cost a bit. Even the 67W brick cost MYR 279  bro, if you are getting the 16" MacBook Pro, it comes with the 140w in the box (across all 16" variant)..no need to pay for it  also comes with the braided cable usb c to MagSafe 3 connector.. if you get the 14" base model it comes with 67w (with an option to top up RM 40 for 96w), while the 14" 10/16 core comes with 96w... This post has been edited by dikae: Dec 7 2021, 07:55 PM
ise
Dec 7 2021, 07:58 PM

QUOTE(CounterRealm @ Dec 7 2021, 03:44 PM) a quick question guys, anyone here use macbook for business use or work related? what is the difference compare to windows? i m using for both work and personal. working in investment/capital market. Just switch from windows.so far so good. I can use most of my software for trading/work. for work i use Office365 and few specific program and all of them work similiar with Windows. However I havent tried Thomson Reuters software in Parallel, not sure can work or not given the program run in x86 while Paralles Windows run Arm-64. if not then i have to opt of lesser web-based version.
pew333 P
Dec 7 2021, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(dikae @ Dec 7 2021, 07:52 PM) bro, if you are getting the 16" MacBook Pro, it comes with the 140w in the box (across all 16" variant)..no need to pay for it  also comes with the braided cable usb c to MagSafe 3 connector.. if you get the 14" base model it comes with 67w (with an option to top up RM 40 for 96w), while the 14" 10/16 core comes with 96w... Haha. I am aware of that. I am just thinking of getting the 16 inch and perhaps buy the 67W brick as I do not want to fast charge the device.
damos_csui
Dec 7 2021, 08:19 PM

does anyone know where to get the apple power extension cable? not available for purchase on apple store hence i'm wondering whether it is still available at all?