FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

Wedchar2912
post Dec 31 2022, 04:47 PM

3,593 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Dec 31 2022, 04:42 PM)
I m there n living it so i should know. FIRE for quite a number of years. Official classification are like telling us what we should do and be happy about it.
ok lar... it could be that your situation is unique and doesn't fit into the common "template/mould".

I find the bands to be quite representative and I had seen data of income previously from my workplace. and yeah, i also retired early... which is why at times got time to reply in public forums... smile.gif

Wedchar2912
post Dec 31 2022, 04:57 PM

3,593 posts

oh yeah, in case one is interested to guage how rich is a retiree with passive income of 500rm x30 = 15K rm compared to himself if he was still a working person.
For a working person, 11% EPF contribution, 19% tax rate (high income mah), say 20% savings rate (if not how to retire), that effectively means 50% of one's gross active working income got removed. The person would only be spending on the remainder 50%.

so a 15K rm passive retirement income is like 30K rm gross pay and is definitely in the T10 category.
Play with the percentage by adjusting for your own situation...
magika
post Dec 31 2022, 05:06 PM

2,606 posts

Quite a number of highly educated people are highly dedicated to their own FIRE mssion so much so that they have forgotten to live their lives well. Time passes very fast and in a blink of an eye, you are there, not FIRE but old .

To achieve FIRE , live modestly to enable us to save well, not frugally for frugality over the decades will inbred into our character. So what if we achieved our mission, what if we are well off but also old and miserable.

jutamind
post Dec 31 2022, 08:05 PM

2,429 posts

You should say you're super kiamsiap and see whether the last one still sticks with you wink.gif

Anyway, have a happy new year and happy investing in 2023

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 31 2022, 09:51 AM)
I am in my 30s. My focus is FIRE ASAP by 45 and get a good frugal wife. I tell all girls I meet I am not well off. See if that scare them away. Lol. So far one decided to stick with me. So we see how. Lol.
Lembu Goreng
post Dec 31 2022, 08:17 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Dec 31 2022, 05:06 PM)
Quite a number of highly educated people are highly dedicated to their own FIRE mssion so much so that they have forgotten to live their lives well. Time passes very fast and in a blink of an eye, you are there,  not FIRE  but old .

To achieve FIRE , live modestly to enable us to save well, not frugally for frugality over the decades will inbred into our character. So what if we achieved  our mission, what if we are well off but also old and miserable.
I see myself as frugal but i’m enjoying my life immensely

gashout
post Dec 31 2022, 09:51 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Dec 31 2022, 08:17 PM)
I see myself as frugal but i’m enjoying my life immensely
You're here too

How do you enjoy your life immensely?

elea88
post Jan 1 2023, 02:07 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 31 2022, 03:58 PM)
You cannot assume inflation stay at zero till you retire in 15 years' time! laugh.gif
And as you may note from several write ups, 15k net is pretty much T5 to 10 territory.
Why do you need to have that if you are so damn thrifty?
You are never going spend that any way!
he dun spend on himself... but but
i am also thrifty person.
but once the kids come.. and they grow up.. then
the story line change..

Just yesterday my kids educate me the 3 types of ARMANI..

i answer them WHO CARES...? but but.. money not spend by me
but next generation will help to spend it...

as parents not easy to say NO...

Private school is no more for the rich... its like a necessity for all.
prophetjul
post Jan 1 2023, 02:25 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 1 2023, 02:07 PM)
the story line change..

I am thrifty. But not Ramjade's extend.
I still enjoy lots of things while I save.
Yeah. I don't buy into super brands consumerism.

I travel. I enjoy foods, theatre,etc.

Now that my children have graduated and working, I am thinking: Should I burn 400k on a car? laugh.gif

gooroojee
post Jan 1 2023, 02:26 PM

LowYee
2,187 posts

the story line change..

Chinese school? Or migrate to where public schooling is free and good.
elea88
post Jan 1 2023, 02:44 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 1 2023, 02:25 PM)

Now that my children have graduated and working, I am thinking: Should I burn 400k on a car?  laugh.gif
buy la.. YOLO..

life is too short to be driving around in old car.. come so far in life just spend

buy 7 seater standby for extended family..

father mother kids then add in bf or gf.. then later add in grand children.

Ramjade
post Jan 1 2023, 03:12 PM

24,333 posts

the story line change..

You spoiled your kids liao. What are they doing with Armani???
elea88
post Jan 1 2023, 03:33 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 1 2023, 03:12 PM)
wait u hv anak la.. then u will understand..

prophetjul
post Jan 1 2023, 04:22 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 1 2023, 02:44 PM)
buy la.. YOLO..

life is too short to be driving around in old car.. come so far in life just spend

buy 7 seater standby for extended family..

father mother kids then add in bf or gf.. then later add in grand children.
Like those damn Alphards? laugh.gif

I prefer my Toyota Prados. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Jan 1 2023, 04:23 PM
Ramjade
post Jan 1 2023, 04:51 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 1 2023, 03:33 PM)
Don't worry I will keep my kids away from Armani, channel, Gucci.
icemanfx
post Jan 1 2023, 05:31 PM

21,456 posts

the story line change..

With friends from private or international school, ig, influencers, etc, brand conscious is almost unavoidable. The challenge is how to make them not to follow the herd.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jan 1 2023, 05:32 PM
CommodoreAmiga
post Jan 1 2023, 06:34 PM

3,859 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 1 2023, 05:31 PM)
With friends from private or international school, ig, influencers, etc,  brand conscious is almost unavoidable. The challenge is how to make them not to follow the herd.
My son went to international school.and.now in college. He no Gip a Pak about brands and certainly don't follow herd. It's all about the parents upbringing.
kevyeoh
post Jan 1 2023, 08:22 PM

4,717 posts

your money won't follow you into the coffin... some things in life are not just measured purely by how much money you have but what experience you have in life... can see you are the responsible type when it comes to finance so if you think you can burn 400k on a car, i'm sure after burning, you'll still be very okay financially...so go for it... i have seen people being very frugal and forgot to live and have a life before going 6 ft under...

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 1 2023, 02:25 PM)

Now that my children have graduated and working, I am thinking: Should I burn 400k on a car?  laugh.gif
This post has been edited by kevyeoh: Jan 1 2023, 08:23 PM
kiwifruit0
post Jan 1 2023, 08:28 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jan 1 2023, 06:34 PM)
My son went to international school.and.now in college. He no Gip a Pak about brands and certainly don't follow herd. It's all about the parents upbringing.
nothing wrong with branded things i think...too frugal also not good....later become like cheapskate mentality
guy3288
post Jan 1 2023, 08:41 PM

5,853 posts

If you have showed them money does not drop from sky , they would be less likely to go that way.
So in your case you are safe la.

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 1 2023, 03:33 PM)
i have 4 kids also control them dont just follow what they want or the mother wants.

You have money spoil them , later when they grow up earnings unable to sustain that lifestyle,
how?

guy3288
post Jan 1 2023, 08:53 PM

5,853 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 1 2023, 08:22 PM)
your money won't follow you into the coffin... some things in life are not just measured purely by how much money you have but what experience you have in life... can see you are the responsible type when it comes to finance so if you think you can burn 400k on a car, i'm sure after burning, you'll still be very okay financially...so go for it... i have seen people being very frugal and forgot to live and have a life before going 6 ft under...
true, most important thing is you yourself feel contented and satisfied
enough.

but if we start comparing, wah he has that, how can i not have that......then no end to it..

QUOTE(kiwifruit0 @ Jan 1 2023, 08:28 PM)
nothing wrong with branded things i think...too frugal also not good....later become like cheapskate mentality
not for kids la, wait till they can earn then only they should think about it.
Too frugal in cutting down on necessities tak boleh , no good
cutting down on luxuries for kids i think no harm.

163 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:24 AM