FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

jutamind
post Oct 8 2021, 09:15 PM

2,429 posts

Exactly the same reason why I don't invest a lot in SG. Moving your money back to MY AFTER your death could be an issue if your kid is not familiar with financial products.

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 8 2021, 05:47 PM)
Just an older perspective to TS - have the end-goal in mind, eg. Estate planning.

All the moving about to US / SG / etc brokerages & accounts - ensure it's worthwhile for your Will's Executor to file/execute your Will in those countries and retrieve
+
relevant Estate taxes, even if SG brokerage, it can be US Estate Laws U'll face like 45% taxed on anything above USD $60K.

Personally, i've moved my stuff back to "easier & cheaper" for my Will's Executor to perform their duties with less or no estate taxes.

Of course there will be some smarter folks saying to share userid & password with another or joint-account but.. look into the details and probabilities ya. Executability when needed +legality + impact.

Note - i'm 49 this year and based on the local brokerage charges / fees on dividends, no biggie based on the amount i'm transacting. Thus, the end-goal is more important to me for my family. When younger, yup all those cost are quite a big % impact thus worthwhile to have accounts like OptionsXpress, TDAmeritrade, etc.

No absolute right / wrong ya - just sharing what i've done & thought - different strokes for different folks & different stages of life.
jutamind
post Dec 26 2022, 07:55 PM

2,429 posts

Ramjade how do you implement dividend investing since you're investing in SG and US. Are you using US ETF for your Dividend growth investing strategy? If yes, isn't it subjected to 30% tax for the dividend?

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 26 2022, 12:59 PM)
Let's post this here. More suitable.That thread is for EPF.
Dividends and Forex. I don't do rental/KLSE/ASB/mutual fund.
Bonus is me options selling.
Dividend paid in SGD or USD hence the Forex part. Not the traidng Forex type. My early retirement will be fully funded via dividend growth investing. Means overtime by not touching the capital the amount I get paid increases with time. Hence won't run into situation that inflation eats into the value of money as I am looking at automatic dividend growth in tune of 7-15%p.a
jutamind
post Dec 31 2022, 08:05 PM

2,429 posts

You should say you're super kiamsiap and see whether the last one still sticks with you wink.gif

Anyway, have a happy new year and happy investing in 2023

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 31 2022, 09:51 AM)
I am in my 30s. My focus is FIRE ASAP by 45 and get a good frugal wife. I tell all girls I meet I am not well off. See if that scare them away. Lol. So far one decided to stick with me. So we see how. Lol.
jutamind
post Jan 7 2023, 01:27 AM

2,429 posts

I remembered seeing this guy Yap from Whitman in TheStar articles on the weekend. Seems to be quite ok from the articles I've read
jutamind
post May 19 2023, 07:24 PM

2,429 posts

Can explain with more examples for red case/yellow high risk case since you're working in healthcare sector?

QUOTE(Haloperidol @ May 19 2023, 06:26 PM)
<-- a person who work in healthcare center.

I gonna tell you, for plating/orthopedic/fracture/implant/PRP injection case, private will have faster access.
HOWEVER,
For those serious stuff that requires ICU care and ventilation care.... 100k can be easily depleted every week... and government ICU care is very awesome, i gotta tell you.
Burn case also , better go to government care with burn unit...

For me , i arrange in such way :
Critical care / Red case : Definitely government  (Polytrauma with multiple systemic issue)
Yellow high risk : Government
Yellow low risk : Private (normal arm fracture , or Osteoarthritis need change joint aka THR / TKR )
Green risk : Private / F/Up at Klinik Kesihatan for medication
jutamind
post Jun 24 2023, 02:42 PM

2,429 posts

Not sure whether this question is related to FIRE, but when you guys plan your asset allocations, do you include your EPF portion as a part of your asset allocation?
jutamind
post Jun 26 2023, 11:00 AM

2,429 posts

If this is the case, do you count the amount that is accessible as part of asset allocation or the whole amount? Let's say i have 1.1 mil in EPF, do i include this 100k as part of asset allocation or the whole 1.1m?

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 26 2023, 09:06 AM)
You may count the EPF portion if you are in a position of being able to access it (i.e. if you are at least age 50, have more than RM 1M, etc )
jutamind
post Aug 29 2023, 09:27 PM

2,429 posts

Not sure whether this is the right thread for my question below.

For someone in the early 50s, is the asset allocation of 68% EPF & ASNB fixed price funds, 16% local equities and 16% foreign equities considered too conservative assuming the risk profile is moderate/moderately aggressive?

If it's too conservative, is it wise to sell off fixed price funds as we might not be able to buy it back later?
jutamind
post Aug 30 2023, 08:41 PM

2,429 posts

Ah never thought of seeing EPF and ASNB funds in terms of Allocation that way. Good insights.

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Aug 30 2023, 10:32 AM)
One advice Ive seen is that ones equity exposure should be 100 minus current age.This is US centric tho.

Looking at your portfolio of 32% equities n 68% fixed funds. Bear in mind that EPF is actually about 60:40 (40% being equities) whereas Asnb fixed funds have even higher equities allocation (at least 70% equities). In this context, you are aggressive enough I think.
Local equities are mainly dividend stocks and local REITS to generate cashflow.

I would say cashflow generated with current portfolio is enough to sustain current lifestyle. I was quite confident with my portfolio prior to 2020 and the sky high inflation which is probably the worst in terms of the speed of the rise of inflation I've witnessed in my lifetime so far. Now, I'm not too sure whether the current portfolio can withstand sustained high inflation, hence the posting of the question over here

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 30 2023, 11:06 AM)
i would be more conservative hitting 50s and above

local equities, most are useless, zero volume, except for Maybank good dividend etc.

foreign equities if you can pick good ones, no problem.

But don't you prefer comfort (a fixed 4-8% per annum) over excitement about uncertainty (+/- 20-50% per annum)?
This post has been edited by jutamind: Aug 30 2023, 08:42 PM
jutamind
post Feb 24 2024, 07:03 PM

2,429 posts

Do you invest in worldwide REIT using individual stocks or ETF or unit trust?

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 24 2024, 01:26 PM)
i still keep the same 3 asset classes but at different ratios due to different wants:

1. During retirement (now):
b. REITs (worldwide) to generate 50% of yearly cashflow usage
jutamind
post Nov 6 2024, 08:41 PM

2,429 posts

This 5m in shares is your individual liquid asset or household liquid asset?

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 5 2024, 07:02 AM)

Which 5 million invested in shares can provide you a monthly income of RM 25k
jutamind
post Apr 5 2025, 08:05 PM

2,429 posts

Just came across this article this morning on the amount required for retirement. T20 retirement sum for 25 years required 7m

Sos
jutamind
post Apr 15 2025, 10:28 AM

2,429 posts

any good "retirement calculator"/more relevant to Malaysia use case that you guys are using to calculate your retirement/FIRE amount?

want to do some final cross checks before making the eventual jump
jutamind
post Apr 16 2025, 10:45 AM

2,429 posts

any financial planner that you know of that charges 1k for 1 package?

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 15 2025, 09:55 PM)
Well depends on you. You can hire a financial planner to see if you got enough money. it cost RM1k if you are taking one sort of the package or RM3k for the whole package for a year.

They will do calculations for you.
jutamind
post Apr 16 2025, 09:13 PM

2,429 posts

Ramjade since you've been earning consistently around USD 2K/month, perhaps you can be like those stock guru to conduct courses on options which is probably new to most of us
jutamind
post Apr 17 2025, 11:09 AM

2,429 posts

personally i find this retirement calculator useful as it's quite comprehensive and flexible for us to add in future ad hoc withdrawal and future income.

Ultimate Retirement Calculator

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Apr 16 2025, 09:30 PM)
jutamind
post Aug 16 2025, 08:09 PM

2,429 posts

5m+ for a family of 2A1C?

Local private uni probably cost 150-200k max unless your kid is going for medic course.

QUOTE(frostfrench @ Aug 16 2025, 05:00 PM)
Yes, I have more than 5 mil now, but not like alot, did burn my self a bit in KLSE.

A big chunk is in FD yes, cause of the good rates, but now the rates are so low and next year might be lower.

my biggest worry is inflation lor.

I like one of the foruumer's suggestion, " spend like B40"  tongue.gif
jutamind
post Aug 20 2025, 08:45 PM

2,429 posts

For me, comfortable retirement means 4m for yourself & spouse + 1m as buffer, meaning total 5m

For more luxury retirement, it's 6m for couple only + 1m buffer.

All these with assumptions that kids are not reliant on you financially, no outstanding loans and your own residence

Of course this is just my aim or some say day dreaming smile.gif

This post has been edited by jutamind: Aug 20 2025, 08:46 PM
jutamind
post Aug 21 2025, 08:41 PM

2,429 posts

I think this all depends on individual. For me, I use the extra money to buy experiences such as longer stay in countries you like, apply for advanced degree/certifications in the field you like which might not be related to your previous career, learn new skills that you have interest in like play musical instruments. Alternatively, contribute financially in a small way for noble causes like payment to treat sick/injured cats/dogs, donate to those small kids that have dreaded disease etc.

Many ways to spend money as long as you have sufficient moolah smile.gif

QUOTE(raynmann @ Aug 21 2025, 09:08 AM)
can give more details on luxury retirement?
jutamind
post Aug 31 2025, 08:18 PM

2,429 posts

Will you consider to FIRE if you really hate nature of your job but the job pays relatively well with good colleagues and boss? Let's assume you have met RIA framework amount/sum, spouse still working, education fund is ready and no loan obligations?

Let's put 2 scenarios:

1. Would you FIRE if your are in your 40s?
2. Would you FIRE if your are in your 50s?

0.0258sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:31 PM