FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

elea88
post Dec 31 2022, 12:53 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 31 2022, 08:39 AM)
I agree. That's why my buffer is RM15k paid in foreign currency. Should be doable. But downside is work for 15 years more.
FIRE if solo doable..

Add in kids .."habis cerita"

some more.. nowadays kids all private education. that suck out more $$$

then come the uni another round of sucking $$$..

then when they come out to work.. as parents we kesian. give downpayment for car.. downpayment for their property another round of sucking $$$$

so advise to the young.. do calculate all these into the retirement planning.
elea88
post Jan 1 2023, 02:07 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 31 2022, 03:58 PM)
You cannot assume inflation stay at zero till you retire in 15 years' time! laugh.gif
And as you may note from several write ups, 15k net is pretty much T5 to 10 territory.
Why do you need to have that if you are so damn thrifty?
You are never going spend that any way!
he dun spend on himself... but but
i am also thrifty person.
but once the kids come.. and they grow up.. then
the story line change..

Just yesterday my kids educate me the 3 types of ARMANI..

i answer them WHO CARES...? but but.. money not spend by me
but next generation will help to spend it...

as parents not easy to say NO...

Private school is no more for the rich... its like a necessity for all.
elea88
post Jan 1 2023, 02:44 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 1 2023, 02:25 PM)
I am thrifty. But not Ramjade's extend.
I still enjoy lots of things while I save.
Yeah. I don't buy into super brands consumerism.

I travel. I enjoy foods, theatre,etc.

Now that my children have graduated and working, I am thinking: Should I burn 400k on a car?  laugh.gif
buy la.. YOLO..

life is too short to be driving around in old car.. come so far in life just spend

buy 7 seater standby for extended family..

father mother kids then add in bf or gf.. then later add in grand children.

elea88
post Jan 1 2023, 03:33 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 1 2023, 03:12 PM)
You spoiled your kids liao. What are they doing with Armani???
wait u hv anak la.. then u will understand..

elea88
post Apr 22 2025, 03:59 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Apr 21 2025, 03:00 PM)
No more loan (and hence still driving my old car. lol)
Zero job zero active income.
Tax filing is zero except next year no idea how the filing will be due to dividend.
wah stress also. so fast 2026 will be upon us

0.0974sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:50 AM