prophetjul
post Dec 31 2022, 11:19 AM

12,267 posts

i am 60.
And i am ready to rock and roll!
All ready for retirement.
But company still requires me as a consultant.
Since i do not work in KL, work life is good. laugh.gif
So i will continue to contribute till i am no longer required in the professional field.

Healthwise, i can still jog 5km easy and deadlift 100kg. rclxm9.gif
prophetjul
post Dec 31 2022, 01:02 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Dec 31 2022, 12:53 PM)
FIRE if solo doable..

Add in kids .."habis cerita"

some more.. nowadays kids all private education. that suck out more $$$

then come the uni another round of sucking $$$..

then when they come out to work.. as parents we kesian. give downpayment for car.. downpayment for their property another round of sucking $$$$

so advise to the young.. do calculate all these into the retirement planning.
Yeah. That's me. 😂
prophetjul
post Dec 31 2022, 01:05 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 31 2022, 01:02 PM)
That's why need frugal wife. Rm15k should be enought with max 2 kids
You referring to 15k present value?
Best don't get married if you are too frugal.
prophetjul
post Dec 31 2022, 03:22 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Dec 31 2022, 02:47 PM)
I wonder how you arrive at 500rm per day (= 15K rm per month) means a lifestyle of M40. Need to stick with established stats for Malaysia.
The upper limit for M40 is at 11K rm per household, and this is income prior to taxation, savings etc.

the 15K rm per month refered by you I assume is clean spending money where there is no need to pay for taxes or earmark for savings. This definitely belongs to the lifestyle of T20, in fact the middle of T20.

ps: remember, all the B40 to T20 numbers are based on income prior to tax, epf deduction etc, and it is for a household making up of almost at least 2 adults... I just cannot recall the full definition of household as in how many average persons in the household.
Reason I asked Ramjade whether he was referring to present value?

Or a 15 year future value for him to retire at 45 years old?
prophetjul
post Dec 31 2022, 03:58 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 31 2022, 03:44 PM)
This is conservative estimate. Current value assuming inflation stay at zero. Have not include in my options income yet. Nor EPF. Just pure dividend growth investing.
You cannot assume inflation stay at zero till you retire in 15 years' time! laugh.gif
And as you may note from several write ups, 15k net is pretty much T5 to 10 territory.
Why do you need to have that if you are so damn thrifty?
You are never going spend that any way!
prophetjul
post Jan 1 2023, 02:25 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 1 2023, 02:07 PM)
he dun spend on himself... but but
i am also thrifty person.
but once the kids come.. and they grow up.. then
the story line change..

Just yesterday my kids educate me the 3 types of ARMANI..

i answer them WHO CARES...? but but.. money not spend by me
but next generation will help to spend it...

as parents not easy to say NO...

Private school is no more for the rich... its like a necessity for all.
I am thrifty. But not Ramjade's extend.
I still enjoy lots of things while I save.
Yeah. I don't buy into super brands consumerism.

I travel. I enjoy foods, theatre,etc.

Now that my children have graduated and working, I am thinking: Should I burn 400k on a car? laugh.gif

prophetjul
post Jan 1 2023, 04:22 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 1 2023, 02:44 PM)
buy la.. YOLO..

life is too short to be driving around in old car.. come so far in life just spend

buy 7 seater standby for extended family..

father mother kids then add in bf or gf.. then later add in grand children.
Like those damn Alphards? laugh.gif

I prefer my Toyota Prados. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by prophetjul: Jan 1 2023, 04:23 PM
prophetjul
post Jan 2 2023, 07:49 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 1 2023, 08:22 PM)
your money won't follow you into the coffin... some things in life are not just measured purely by how much money you have but what experience you have in life... can see you are the responsible type when it comes to finance so if you think you can burn 400k on a car, i'm sure after burning, you'll still be very okay financially...so go for it... i have seen people being very frugal and forgot to live and have a life before going 6 ft under...
Like i mentioned that i am frugal but not to the extent that i have not enjoyed the fruits yet. i have been enjoying along the way. And found that there is still excess while i am already 60.
Spending 400k on a car will dent like 6% of my cash standing.
However, i have never spent 400k at a go before. i am not sure whether my mental capacity allows me to do so! laugh.gif
And i so not really care whether i drive a 400k car or wear a 100k watch.

The most enjoyable things i enjoy most is to be among my family and friends. Therefore i spend most of money on them. It's not too expensive most times.
i also spend on helping some of their children through higher learning amongst others.
So is you ask me maybe i will spend the 400k on helping them like so.

BUT i love travelling! Especially to meet up with family and friends in far away lands.

Spending 400k at a go is really a mental thing. laugh.gif
But if i do spend this on a car, i will get one in Australia where i do not have to pay exorbitant taxes on cars!
prophetjul
post Jan 2 2023, 08:08 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 2 2023, 08:05 AM)
Love to get a hybrid camper van in Oz/NZ n travel around the country.
That's a thought!
One of my mates has already bought one. In Oz.
Maybe i will do that. Go around Oz in a camper. Wonder what my wife will say about that? laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Jan 10 2023, 11:20 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(raynmann @ Jan 10 2023, 11:05 AM)
my monthly expenses so far is only rm6k per month
Then why are you asking whether Rm14.5k is adequate?
prophetjul
post Feb 2 2023, 09:24 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 2 2023, 08:49 AM)
Something from Thestar today 2 Feb 2023

From FIRE to mere embers
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2023...-to-mere-embers

Uncertainties dog early retirement plans of young Malaysians
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2023...oung-malaysians
Rm1mil in 30 years is a MERE Rm308k in present terms.
prophetjul
post Feb 2 2023, 09:37 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Feb 2 2023, 09:35 AM)
Good morning to most respected Unker's n Bros.

Where possible don't FI/RE, but embrace API.

API = Always Preserve Income.

Sekian sahaja.
Great advice, Bro.
And APP = Always preserve principal.
prophetjul
post Feb 2 2023, 11:23 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 2 2023, 11:18 AM)
technically speaking, no one is irreplaceable. so to attain FIRE, should aim for high paying job, work hard in the younger years, save up and invest. 20 years down the road, should see a bright light at the end of the tunnel.
Yes. i can vouch for this scenario.
Get as high paying job as possible especially in your younger days. Save and invest. Time factor in investing.
prophetjul
post Feb 2 2023, 01:47 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ Feb 2 2023, 12:17 PM)
This, and also principal must be hedged against inflation.
That is a good point! Inflation eats up the principal. thumbup.gif
prophetjul
post Feb 3 2023, 10:45 AM

12,267 posts

Age of FIRE posters here

1. prophetjul 60
prophetjul
post Feb 3 2023, 11:03 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 3 2023, 10:54 AM)
That's not FIRE. That's retired. Lol.
It's all relative.
prophetjul
post Feb 3 2023, 11:29 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 3 2023, 11:25 AM)
😝
Apa kenbak 1 ?
prophetjul
post Feb 3 2023, 11:57 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 3 2023, 11:53 AM)
Google lah Unker. 😝
Oh...young man/woman? laugh.gif
prophetjul
post Feb 3 2023, 12:09 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 3 2023, 12:04 PM)
Not young, but younger than you...haha

And internet where got woman. All batang only. 😂
Women also need FIRE.
prophetjul
post Feb 3 2023, 02:48 PM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(raynmann @ Feb 3 2023, 01:23 PM)
guys , do u think rm3.5million  can fire for a man 55 yrs old with a kid just entering college and overseas degree?
Single parent? Yes.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0637sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:43 PM