FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

guy3288
post Jun 20 2023, 04:27 PM

5,846 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jun 20 2023, 04:19 PM)
Those on FIRE, do you have plenty of assets etc that you need to look after.

or are you just a simple person, not much expenses.

and world materials doesn't fancy you....?
their target is earn enough want to retire liao..

how to have plenty of assets like that?

but i could be wrong,
in that case i wonder why didnt they retire earlier if fire is their aim... hmm.gif hmm.gif

CommodoreAmiga
post Jun 20 2023, 05:02 PM

3,853 posts

Ayam not much expenses....worldly material object doesn't interest me. I am near Nirvana now. Lol.

I really like those minimalist lifestyle. House kosong mostly, everyday eat same thing no need to think.

Just enough will do. When dieded, you either sleep in a coffin or an urn. Won't need much space. Can't take stuff with you. The only thing you can take with you is your karma and your knowledge (this is my believe, no need to start another religious argument! Tons of that in RWI).

Omitofu.

An excerpt of an interview with Henry Ford:
In an interview that appeared in the San Francisco Examiner on 26 August 1928, he explained his belief:

I adopted the theory of Reincarnation when I was twenty six. Religion offered nothing to the point. Even work could not give me complete satisfaction. Work is futile if we cannot utilise [sic] the experience we collect in one life in the next. When I discovered Reincarnation it was as if I had found a universal plan I realised [sic] that there was a chance to work out my ideas. Time was no longer limited. I was no longer a slave to the hands of the clock. Genius is experience. Some seem to think that it is a gift or talent, but it is the fruit of long experience in many lives. Some are older souls than others, and so they know more. The discovery of Reincarnation put my mind at ease. If you preserve a record of this conversation, write it so that it puts men’s minds at ease. I would like to communicate to others the calmness that the long view of life gives to us.
https://www.thehenryford.org/explore/blog/h...o%20the%20point.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Jun 20 2023, 05:07 PM
gashout
post Jun 20 2023, 05:34 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jun 20 2023, 04:27 PM)
their target is earn enough want to retire liao..

how to have plenty of assets like that?

but i could be wrong,
in that  case i wonder why didnt they retire earlier if fire is their aim... hmm.gif  hmm.gif
some people made it early in life, then suddenly can enjoy life.

can have best of both world, FIRE while have lots of stuff.... maybe im talking nonsense here..

but good to hear FIRE means minimalist...
Ramjade
post Jun 20 2023, 08:50 PM

24,330 posts

Depend how you build your portfolio. If you use property then yes you need to manage it or hire someone to do the job and pay the person. Sometimes it's better to pay and just collect money.

If you are like me who build my portfolio in stocks, all online. Nothing to look after. I will let management do their job and just sit back and collect dividends

People who FIRE generally live a below means lifestyle and are frugal. People who flash their wealth well some maybe FIRE, most are not. For me, my god al is travel and let my companies pay for my travel. If they chase worldly materials do you think they can FIRE? Unlikely.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jun 20 2023, 08:52 PM
romuluz777
post Jun 20 2023, 11:12 PM

2,204 posts

To me, being able to FIRE means being able to maintain existing lifestyle on savings/div with no outstanding car or home loans while not having to work regular 9-5 job as done previously. No need to ikat perut or minimalize.
Driving flashy cars or buying branded stuff doesnt necessarily mean showing off, it could also be for people who enjoy and appreciate the finer things in life.
blingless
post Jun 20 2023, 11:14 PM

69 posts

I'm still on my journey towards FIREing.

My strategy is building more active residual income sources that require minimal time/work.
So I will Barista Fire to supplement my passive income.

My FIRE goals required my gf and I to be open about our finances and make sure we're on the same page.
Aside from travelling, thankfully, neither of us have any major expenses.
We already live a relatively minimalistic lifestyle and value experiences over material goods.

We found daily routines that make us happy even when it comes down to our meals.
Low cost healthy meals we enjoy eating often, how often we eat (intermittent fasting) etc.

Our main personal goal is to stay as healthy as possible to reduce the chances of any major healthcare bills.
And our main financial goal is to continue avoiding lifestyle creep.
Ramjade
post Jun 20 2023, 11:31 PM

24,330 posts

QUOTE(blingless @ Jun 20 2023, 11:14 PM)

My strategy is building more active residual income sources that require minimal time/work.

My FIRE goals required my gf and I to be open about our finances and make sure we're on the same page.
We already live a relatively minimalistic lifestyle and value experiences over material goods.

We found daily routines that make us happy even when it comes down to our meals.
Low cost healthy meals we enjoy eating often, how often we eat (intermittent fasting) etc.

Our main personal goal is to stay as healthy as possible to reduce the chances of any major healthcare bills.
Keep it up.
gashout
post Jun 21 2023, 04:20 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(blingless @ Jun 20 2023, 11:14 PM)

Foreseeing any kids in the future?

Sometimes life got disrupted and you have to delay your FIRE

This post has been edited by gashout: Jun 21 2023, 04:20 AM
CommodoreAmiga
post Jun 21 2023, 07:33 AM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Jun 20 2023, 11:12 PM)
To me, being able to FIRE means being able to maintain existing lifestyle on savings/div with no outstanding car or home loans while not having to work regular 9-5 job as done previously. No need to ikat perut or minimalize.
Driving flashy cars or buying branded stuff doesnt necessarily mean showing off, it could also be for people who enjoy and appreciate the finer things in life.
To each his own. I don't fancy any fast cars or big house or more stuff. To me it's just more stuff to manage and more headache. What is "finer" to one man, is meh to another.

I do appreciate musical instruments and retro computers though. Spent thousands procuring retro computers....but ok lah, still much cheaper than cars, ifongs and other stuff. laugh.gif

But there is one thing i must get branded and good quality one are shoes because it directly affects one health, Clothes you wear gold or pasar malam shirt no difference.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Jun 21 2023, 07:38 AM
dwRK
post Jun 21 2023, 10:45 AM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

have 1 big house... waifu has 1 small house...

m40 lifestyle... whole life frugal... very hard to change habit...

sure i fancy nice things... but good self control... very selective spending... being a procrastinator helps...

but lately try to change and spend more especially food... clothing still shop at 2nd street... lol...

for context... have reached fat fire target... just hard to spend it... sweat.gif

maybe after the kids finish schooling and start working can relax a bit... hahaha...

romuluz777
post Jun 21 2023, 12:10 PM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 21 2023, 08:33 AM)
To each his own. I don't fancy any fast cars or big house or more stuff. To me it's just more stuff to manage and more headache. What is "finer" to one man, is meh to another.

I do appreciate musical instruments and retro computers though. Spent thousands procuring retro computers....but ok lah, still much cheaper than cars, ifongs and other stuff.  laugh.gif

But there is one thing i must get branded and good quality one are shoes because it directly affects one health, Clothes you wear gold or pasar malam shirt no difference.
To each his own. Damn true bro🍺
gashout
post Jun 21 2023, 01:07 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 21 2023, 10:45 AM)
have 1 big house... waifu has 1 small house...

m40 lifestyle... whole life frugal... very hard to change habit...

sure i fancy nice things... but good self control... very selective spending... being a procrastinator helps...

but lately try to change and spend more especially food... clothing still shop at 2nd street... lol...

for context... have reached fat fire target... just hard to spend it...  sweat.gif

maybe after the kids finish schooling and start working can relax a bit... hahaha...
Well done ser. Fat fire while having a kid

How young ru ser.
dwRK
post Jun 21 2023, 01:54 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Jun 21 2023, 01:07 PM)
Well done ser. Fat fire while having a kid

How young ru ser.
3 kids in college...

55 now... retired 50... main problem retire early... no friends to tcss at kopitiam... lucky i also introvert... lol...

CommodoreAmiga
post Jun 21 2023, 01:58 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 21 2023, 01:54 PM)
3 kids in college...

55 now... retired 50... main problem retire early... no friends to tcss at kopitiam... lucky i also introvert... lol...
I am also introvert bro. Which is why I rather collect retro computers, fix them and do coding. Lol.
dwRK
post Jun 21 2023, 02:59 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 21 2023, 01:58 PM)
I am also introvert bro. Which is why I rather collect retro computers, fix them and do coding. Lol.
nice... do you have amstrad n sinclair in your collection? these were the early pc one can get locally...

i also like coding... lol... self taught all the old languages... what coding you doing nowadays?

Wedchar2912
post Jun 21 2023, 02:59 PM

3,587 posts

3 kids in college...

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 21 2023, 01:58 PM)
There is a good, hidden outcome as an introvert.... less interaction with others means lesser chance of being conned to invest this or being asked for some money to help with this or that....

blink.gif
dwRK
post Jun 21 2023, 03:22 PM

the consummate chartist
6,225 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jun 21 2023, 02:59 PM)
There is a good, hidden outcome as an introvert.... less interaction with others means lesser chance of being conned to invest this or being asked for some money to help with this or that....

blink.gif
lol... you confuse introvert with loner lah... hahaha

i been con a few times... 100% i know is con lah... ppl ask for help... is money i can afford to lose... give lor... but not to ponzi/mlm lah...

introver is maybe easier to scam imho...

Wedchar2912
post Jun 21 2023, 03:25 PM

3,587 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 21 2023, 03:22 PM)

i been con a few times... 100% i know is con lah... ppl ask for help... is money i can afford to lose... give lor... but not to ponzi/mlm lah...

haha.... I think loner is easier to be scammed... cos they may be intro or extroverts, who feels lonely... needed companionship.

introvert has lesser urge to interact with too many people... so lesser chance to chit chat here and there and hence lesser chance to be targeted. All about numbers x chance... not about intelligence...

gashout
post Jun 21 2023, 03:30 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

3 kids in college...

Putting 3 kids to college isn't easy. They all go to college at the same time even tougher.

Well done 👍👍

Pudu side many old unker sit at kopitiam. Many China girl teman them 😂 it's a sight to behold.
ronnie
post Jun 21 2023, 03:34 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 21 2023, 03:22 PM)

So nice of you to be conned and know about it upfront...

163 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:21 PM