FI/RE - Financial Independence / Retire Early

romuluz777
post Feb 4 2023, 01:22 PM

2,215 posts

No point sending kids for full tertiary studies overseas. Local private tertiary is good enuff. Its not worth it to sacrifice one’s own retirement and happiness just to send kids overseas at a high cost.
romuluz777
post May 19 2023, 06:14 PM

2,215 posts

240K is surely tak cukup.
Calculate based on current living costs per mth + 7% inflation multiplier + medical costs + funeral package costs and times the remaining years till at least 80. Consider also costs for nursing or old folks home costs at RM3-5K per mth. If got filial kids to pay all these, then its all fine and dandy.
romuluz777
post May 23 2023, 11:28 AM

2,215 posts

The very steep increase in living costs only during the past 1 year does ring alarm bells on the issue of future purchasing power.
romuluz777
post May 25 2023, 01:30 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ May 24 2023, 02:40 PM)
yup, I park in EPF (not everything though) and right now just shake balls at home living off dividend
Congrats on having several millions in EPF notworthy.gif
romuluz777
post May 25 2023, 02:24 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(mapeyeo1 @ May 25 2023, 02:36 PM)
How much in EPF considered alot? 1m?
As long as the amount generates enough dividends to maintain or exceed your current lifestyle + emergency buffer.

romuluz777
post May 25 2023, 05:04 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ May 25 2023, 04:15 PM)
in the context of whole Malaysia, T10 average salary is only around 8K rm per month.

so, working backward, around 1.5 to 2 million in EPF generates T10 lifestyle without working. good enough?

the scary part is T10 only 8Krm salary per month.
Gonna get worse in view of the situation with the ringgit🥶

romuluz777
post Jun 7 2023, 08:48 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jun 7 2023, 04:57 PM)
Why on earth waste your money buying new house and yet still renovate 🤦‍♀️ and it means wasting more money and letting developer to profit more instead
New houses are typically empty. A buyer would at least need to spend a tidy sum to make it “liveable”, and while at it, might as well make some modifications to make it more towards the new owners’ tastes.
romuluz777
post Jun 20 2023, 11:12 PM

2,215 posts

To me, being able to FIRE means being able to maintain existing lifestyle on savings/div with no outstanding car or home loans while not having to work regular 9-5 job as done previously. No need to ikat perut or minimalize.
Driving flashy cars or buying branded stuff doesnt necessarily mean showing off, it could also be for people who enjoy and appreciate the finer things in life.
romuluz777
post Jun 21 2023, 12:10 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jun 21 2023, 08:33 AM)
To each his own. I don't fancy any fast cars or big house or more stuff. To me it's just more stuff to manage and more headache. What is "finer" to one man, is meh to another.

I do appreciate musical instruments and retro computers though. Spent thousands procuring retro computers....but ok lah, still much cheaper than cars, ifongs and other stuff.  laugh.gif

But there is one thing i must get branded and good quality one are shoes because it directly affects one health, Clothes you wear gold or pasar malam shirt no difference.
To each his own. Damn true bro🍺
romuluz777
post Jun 26 2023, 09:06 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 24 2023, 03:42 PM)
Not sure whether this question is related to FIRE, but when you guys plan your asset allocations, do you include your EPF portion as a part of your asset allocation?
You may count the EPF portion if you are in a position of being able to access it (i.e. if you are at least age 50, have more than RM 1M, etc )

romuluz777
post Jun 26 2023, 03:29 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 26 2023, 12:00 PM)
If this is the case, do you count the amount that is accessible as part of asset allocation or the whole amount? Let's say i have 1.1 mil in EPF, do i include this 100k as part of asset allocation or the whole 1.1m?
I would consider the excess of 1M as calcs for monthly cashlow for life sustanance.
The main 1M principal which cannot be touched, doesn't count.
Not enuff to FIRE based on these, unless you have other assets, shares and savings.
romuluz777
post Nov 11 2023, 01:46 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Nov 10 2023, 01:35 PM)
Minimum aum to qualify for priority/premier banking in this country is among the lowest if not the lowest in Asia.
the minimum quota has to be set according to the income levels of the specific country, otherwise nobody would qualify for premier m’ship
romuluz777
post Aug 13 2024, 08:39 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 4 2024, 10:09 AM)
Gold only hedge against inflation but does not grow your value
Keep no more than a quarter of one's portfolio in emas, cukup di
romuluz777
post Apr 6 2025, 01:53 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Apr 5 2025, 09:05 PM)
Just came across this article this morning on the amount required for retirement. T20 retirement sum for 25 years required 7m

Sos
This article is utter rubbish. Wasted my few minutes reading it.
romuluz777
post Apr 6 2025, 03:33 PM

2,215 posts

End of the day, everyone has their own safe figure due to individual living requirements and standards.

But looking as of late, quite a number of sudden deaths of acquaintances and frens at late 40s to early 50s, it makes me wonder if its worth saving and investing so hard for the future 20-35 years. Who knows what's gonna happen tomorrow🫨🫣🧐
romuluz777
post Aug 17 2025, 11:13 AM

2,215 posts

For me, I dont have any Joneses to keep up with. I would just splurge and buy whatever that rocks my boat and that I enjoy using and driving.
romuluz777
post Aug 19 2025, 09:48 AM

2,215 posts

Work part time, drive grab, consultancy, become security guard...

romuluz777
post Aug 19 2025, 10:53 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Aug 19 2025, 11:26 AM)
Drive grab , security guards??? I doubt anyone has gathered enough wealth would find that  fulfilling ..better go do charity work...

Consultancy sure ...sharing your learned knowledge experience....and if this is the nature of your work.....no need to retire lo...
Grab and security jobs...just kidding lah tongue.gif

One of the main motivation for FIRE is to get out of the rat race and 9-5 office jobs, etc, so consultancy can be done part time, hybrid...at one's own pace and desire.

romuluz777
post Aug 20 2025, 11:52 AM

2,215 posts

Need to tune and adapt ourselves to the retirement funds we have, when sudah tua makan less and see doctors more.
romuluz777
post Aug 20 2025, 03:11 PM

2,215 posts

By the time you retire at mid-50s, the kids, if any would have finished uni or perhaps in the final year. No need to account for the kids' expenses.
RM 3mio would be more than enough for owner + spouse.

0.1090sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:38 PM