Want to catch fake pay slip, How to catch fake pay slip
westernkl
Oct 5 2021, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Oct 5 2021, 12:29 AM) EPF will never disclose account holder's info to any third party, MNC or not. So forget about this route. You could ask them to provide an EPF statement or a bank statement but I wouldn't go down this route either. Your candidates may decide to walk away rather than reveal to you that they lied. Just make an offer based on their skill set and experience and what your company can afford to pay. It need not be based on their salary slips. Whether they take it or not is up to them. Most companies just ask candidates to state their expected salary which is more useful instead of their current salary. A candidate may be underpaid or overpaid in his current job so do you have to follow? Another well said, bravo. Let shoot back TS the lowballer.
likeazit
Oct 5 2021, 01:44 AM

I believe feynman had summed it nicely.
But just to add, what is the objective of this exercise TS?
If it is integrity that you are worried about, any red flags from your conversation with their references? You are not worried their degree/SPM certs are also fake? See how this open a can of worms?
If its a question of money, which I think it is, when u saw their pay is really above the market, why wasn't this raised during the interview? Could have angled the question nicely by asking why they are leaving despite being in the high paying end and if they are ok with receiving the same or lower salary at your company? An even easier way to explain the plausibility is if the candidates had jumped from multiple companies before, which might resulted in the higher end pay (e.g. 30% raise per jump) if the company their coming from is not the market leader. If both metrics fail to explain their payslip salary, then maybe need to probe more. Or is it they meet the condition above but your company are actually part of the lower end and it pains you to acknowledge it?
I don't think lowballing is inherently bad as its part of negotiations, you have your idea what their salary should be, they have theirs. So state yours firmly and IMO, if they accept (i.e. lower their pay) without getting other intangible benefits, this is more of a concern and their push factor(s) really need to be checked to explain their desperation or you risk doing the recruitment again in a few more months.
Lastly, you mention that their stated pay is likely 35% higher than what your mutual friend thinks they are actually getting. Firstly, is your mutual friend doing the same job scope as with these 2 candidates? Anything their ex bosses say with regards to their 'star status' at work which could explain their substantial yearly pay rise? Their company profit each year they work there?
If too hard and much hassle, ask yourself if the -35% from the payslip figure something reasonable and within your company natural wage structure (i.e. assume they start their career with you, and increase their salary for each year of working experience, as per skillset/performance that they have). Then add the % that you normally give to other candidates to induce the jump and hopefully that fits your budget.
Hope this gives you the bullets needed when you have to explain to the target departments why you had to turn the 2 candidates down which I think would be more palatable as compared to the 'I believe they faked their payslip' line of argument. Best of luck TS!
This post has been edited by likeazit: Oct 5 2021, 01:48 AM
westernkl
Oct 5 2021, 01:50 AM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Oct 5 2021, 01:06 AM) I would say though, TS thinks he is smart but he is actually dumb. Firstly if candidate can fake salary slip them bank or epf statement is easier to fake. Secondly why TS think a potential hiring company can get epf to show candidate statement to them? Let me teach u lah TS. If u think candidate is lying just bring them to any CREDIT CARD APPLICATION booth ask them pretend apply card can print out epf statement liao. Confirm cannot fake one liao. Oi, why u teach TS this method? U spoiler lah. I tot we gonna shoot back TS?
infested_ysy
Oct 5 2021, 01:51 AM
Wa OP really curious about people's salary hoh?
Why don't you tell us all your salary?
This post has been edited by infested_ysy: Oct 5 2021, 01:51 AM
Pepetrelli
Oct 5 2021, 02:15 AM
QUOTE(royrockerfella @ Oct 4 2021, 10:18 PM) Yes, but I think the pay slip is a good gauge to know what someone is capable off. Example, market rate: RM 20k however their past salaries are RM 7k. This could mean that they aren't the best candidates for the job. This is just an example but I think it's a good way to gauge the capabilities of someone. If the market rate is 10k, but my company has withheld appraisal for 5 years (due to half covid and half company performance) and my salary is at 5k, does that still deem me as not a good candidate? Quite simple bro: if you feel it's right candidate, just pay the asking price. You want to find out the truth or lowball just because you deem fit, you'll end up losing the candidate and wasting your time in the same time. To me, bank statements are far too p&c, the question is, if it came to you, would you give your statements? No right? My 2cents, from experience.
feynman
Oct 5 2021, 02:18 AM
QUOTE(royrockerfella @ Oct 5 2021, 01:29 AM) I would disagree. I would still prefer is salaries of people are made public although that is not the case. The reason why you are being defensive is obvious that you aren't someone who also earns much and by thinking that you could just talk your way into getting a well paying job and for people to trust your word that you have the experience to get the job done? No, that's not how the world works. It works in that manner for losers. If you were honest you would just state your real salary and if you are as good as what you say you are, then yes, there will be room for growth. You don't just fake your way to the top. Also, if you were honest about the information you give, you won't be afraid when someone wants to do a background check. QUOTE(westernkl @ Oct 5 2021, 01:50 AM) Oi, why u teach TS this method? U spoiler lah. I tot we gonna shoot back TS? QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Oct 5 2021, 01:51 AM) Wa OP really curious about people's salary hoh? Why don't you tell us all your salary? Somebody is so triggered.....geezz
narf03
Oct 5 2021, 02:53 AM
if you think they worth the money, pay them, else go get somebody else, its your job to identify the capability of the worker, not their previous companies.
Seager
Oct 5 2021, 04:04 AM
QUOTE(royrockerfella @ Oct 5 2021, 01:24 AM) You do sound like someone who would fake your salary slip to get a job because you know you aren't up to the level of others. There is a standard as to how salaries are paid and it's based on a historical performance. You need to grow up. LOL okay Got balls to reveal your company name?
feynman
Oct 5 2021, 05:30 AM
QUOTE(Seager @ Oct 5 2021, 04:04 AM) LOL okay Got balls to reveal your company name? The fool doesn't understand that a person's requested/expected rates need not be based on any payslip real or fake, justified or made-up......it is simply the rate at which a person is willing to give up their time to perform work for a company. If the company feels that the requested rate is simply unreasonable for the role, be it because of affordability or any other reason, the company can decline and look for candidates that are more affordable. It just seems like TS has some weird obsession on wanting to know people's last drawn salary when it doesn't matter..........he's likely gonna take the last base then give a 5% raise and then tell the candidate that it is a good offer, but of course he did not consider that the candidate can walk away because the offer is underwhelming in which case, he'll beg that the candidate take the job, else why die die want to know the last drawn base.......something broken in the logic. I've walked away from offers before and I was the first choice, I have gone on record that the offer was underwhelming and told them that if they want the first choice then they should be willing to up the offer.....free market. This post has been edited by feynman: Oct 5 2021, 05:32 AM
3Tree
Oct 5 2021, 05:48 AM
Fake Payslip is a big RED sign.
westernkl
Oct 5 2021, 07:32 AM
QUOTE(Pepetrelli @ Oct 5 2021, 02:15 AM) If the market rate is 10k, but my company has withheld appraisal for 5 years (due to half covid and half company performance) and my salary is at 5k, does that still deem me as not a good candidate? Quite simple bro: if you feel it's right candidate, just pay the asking price. You want to find out the truth or lowball just because you deem fit, you'll end up losing the candidate and wasting your time in the same time. To me, bank statements are far too p&c, the question is, if it came to you, would you give your statements? No right? My 2cents, from experience. Well said, bravo.
evolove15
Oct 5 2021, 08:27 AM
I'm sure you have a hiring budget. If match the expected salary then go hire, if not then find someone else.
Always forcing people to provide last drawn salary to low ball. If the guy was previously underpaid, people like TS will ensure he continues to be underpaid as well.
This is why people hate HR
fiqir
Oct 5 2021, 08:54 AM
Last time i worked ex company. Asking for my old company payslip.
Really lousy company la. If no money to pay staff dont hired lol.
Ex company just up my salary rm 50 only. My bad accept the offer.
After 2 year and half. I get goverment job offer. I straight throw resign letter to HR manager face. HR manager straight asking me " how much salary i want ". What kind of stupid question he ask. Too late already
Ginny88
Oct 5 2021, 09:04 AM
QUOTE(3Tree @ Oct 5 2021, 05:48 AM) Fake Payslip is a big RED sign. So is a company asking for your payslip.
Oklahoma
Oct 5 2021, 09:22 AM
Ayyy lmao chill guys.
1 camp argues TS should just suck it up and hire based on face value and available budget.
TS argued and say need to prove salary first if this candidate really good or bad.
I think in this case, aside from salary slips TS can ask them provide references from past employment...ask the reference what is the job role actually. Is it a fresh grad role, senior executive, manager, etc etc. Very hard to fake when you got info from their superior..unless if their superior kautim at the back with the candidate already the. Really not much can you do.
But yes I agree with your intention, not the tactic despite what most people says here. You can't just accept blindly based on face value, and at the same time of it's a potential great candidate.
But what you were doing is a bit dumb and violates ethical practices. Find other means, like calling their references.
This post has been edited by Oklahoma: Oct 5 2021, 09:27 AM
GreenSamurai
Oct 5 2021, 09:22 AM
This is the problem with companies in Malaysia. Hiring salary is based on past drawn salary and not a persons experience and what they can contribute to the company. And you wonder why so many would rather be garbage man in other countries instead of a office job in their own country.
adamhzm90
Oct 5 2021, 09:23 AM
of course kwsp will not entertain. pnc la
best thing you can do is call their current employer HR
Oklahoma
Oct 5 2021, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(GreenSamurai @ Oct 5 2021, 09:22 AM) This is the problem with companies in Malaysia. Hiring salary is based on past drawn salary and not a persons experience and what they can contribute to the company. And you wonder why so many would rather be garbage man in other countries instead of a office job in their own country. Friend not as easy as you think. There are pros and cons to both sides. But I still believe generally the market rate is what he/she worth. If you just judge based on what the employee thinks he should be getting, the employer is the headache. They need to go through months of filtering. This is an employers marker, and always will be. If a persona suddenly say I'm worth more than bmw, does it make sense? Of course you need prove. This post has been edited by Oklahoma: Oct 5 2021, 09:25 AM
keong_boy
Oct 5 2021, 09:27 AM

QUOTE(royrockerfella @ Oct 4 2021, 10:18 PM) Yes, but I think the pay slip is a good gauge to know what someone is capable off. Example, market rate: RM 20k however their past salaries are RM 7k. This could mean that they aren't the best candidates for the job. This is just an example but I think it's a good way to gauge the capabilities of someone. This, you want them to do a 20k job or a 7k job?
InitialB
Oct 5 2021, 09:29 AM
If i were a candidates, probably i would banned TS company or TS as hirer.