LYN Honda Civic FE 11th Generation v1
lee82gx
Oct 22 2024, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(zack.gap @ Oct 21 2024, 06:30 PM) So 2 months after the initial tuk sound above, I can now feel the stickiness! Bravo Honda! Rate of degradation much worse than before and I can almost guarantee before 3 years of ownership I will have to replace again Pretty much my experience. Based on your post timing you have a PUD steering rack / gearbox from early in the year right. Hang on, Honda Malaysia should be rescuing you soon. BTW some service center are still feigning ignorance over the entire grease issue. If you go to one and they say no such thing or not even aware maybe you can directly go to another, rather than let them do all their usual routine and still you are no better off.
DM3
Oct 22 2024, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 22 2024, 08:56 AM) Pretty much my experience. Based on your post timing you have a PUD steering rack / gearbox from early in the year right. Hang on, Honda Malaysia should be rescuing you soon. BTW some service center are still feigning ignorance over the entire grease issue. If you go to one and they say no such thing or not even aware maybe you can directly go to another, rather than let them do all their usual routine and still you are no better off. Cuz they need to hear officially frm Hq to do anything
zack.gap
Oct 23 2024, 06:27 AM
QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 22 2024, 07:37 AM) Frustrating right? For now I think just wait if there’s any proper fix by Honda Malaysia. Based on other’s experience here, i’m most likely gonna swap my civic for something else next year. No way do i wanna make the rack replacement a yearly affair and I don’t want to think after warranty care how QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 22 2024, 08:56 AM) Pretty much my experience. Based on your post timing you have a PUD steering rack / gearbox from early in the year right. Hang on, Honda Malaysia should be rescuing you soon. BTW some service center are still feigning ignorance over the entire grease issue. If you go to one and they say no such thing or not even aware maybe you can directly go to another, rather than let them do all their usual routine and still you are no better off. At this rate I’ve given up bro. It looks like a global design issue and as much as I love driving my civic, I care more about reliability than fun lol. And my batch was the mass recall in April
squareballs
Oct 23 2024, 07:30 AM
QUOTE(zack.gap @ Oct 23 2024, 06:27 AM) Based on other’s experience here, i’m most likely gonna swap my civic for something else next year. No way do i wanna make the rack replacement a yearly affair and I don’t want to think after warranty care how At this rate I’ve given up bro. It looks like a global design issue and as much as I love driving my civic, I care more about reliability than fun lol. And my batch was the mass recall in April Reading this , at least I know not only me feeling the same about getting rid of the civic 😜 Well, life is short, no point we have to susahkan diri with things that will annoy us almost everyday.
zack.gap
Oct 23 2024, 09:18 AM
QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 23 2024, 07:30 AM) Reading this , at least I know not only me feeling the same about getting rid of the civic 😜 Well, life is short, no point we have to susahkan diri with things that will annoy us almost everyday. For me this feeling is worst than the first time round before I replaced my rack. Cause I know how bad it will eventually get especially on uneven roads and when taking corners at speed (which is obviously why I choose the civic over an suv, stability in cornering ma). So yeah, will probs look at a PHEV or full EV by next year. This gomen clearly wants to charge full price to pump petrol for my kind so its high time I move on lol
free2d
Oct 23 2024, 02:57 PM

Does this only occurs for Honda products in Malaysia? So, Msia Civic, CRV? Others like City, Accord kena too?
ayamxxx
Oct 23 2024, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(free2d @ Oct 23 2024, 02:57 PM) Does this only occurs for Honda products in Malaysia? So, Msia Civic, CRV? Others like City, Accord kena too? All Honda Malaysia model sold here affected
blahbleh
Oct 23 2024, 02:59 PM
weird thing about my steering rack: 1. claimed once, and happened again after 2 months 2. made the second claim, now waiting for the rack but the weird thing it's back to normal so I'm not sure whether I should proceed with it or just pray that HM will improvise the replacement parts
DM3
Oct 23 2024, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(blahbleh @ Oct 23 2024, 02:59 PM) weird thing about my steering rack: 1. claimed once, and happened again after 2 months 2. made the second claim, now waiting for the rack but the weird thing it's back to normal so I'm not sure whether I should proceed with it or just pray that HM will improvise the replacement parts If nothin y bother go back,unless u hv lots of time bro
blahbleh
Oct 23 2024, 03:57 PM
QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 23 2024, 03:34 PM) If nothin y bother go back,unless u hv lots of time bro haha that’s why…SC also hasn’t contacted me so I’ll just stay put la. I’m not sure how did it get back to normal after somd drives like the stickiness just gone
DM3
Oct 23 2024, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(blahbleh @ Oct 23 2024, 03:57 PM) haha that’s why…SC also hasn’t contacted me so I’ll just stay put la. I’m not sure how did it get back to normal after somd drives like the stickiness just gone I guess the 1st time PUD appears only they contact,if subsequent issues no info until owners go back to claim
death_nite
Oct 23 2024, 04:26 PM
Hello guys.
I didnt use my fe ehev around 4 days and today my battery is flat. Called batteriku (cos had it replaced last July) but the techie said battery is ok. My car can charge the battery. Car is stock. Got dashcam. Previously 7 days also no problem.
Anyone face this issue? Or know what the problem is? Battery brand is Astra.
This post has been edited by death_nite: Oct 23 2024, 04:27 PM
kclow1981
Oct 23 2024, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(blahbleh @ Oct 23 2024, 03:57 PM) haha that’s why…SC also hasn’t contacted me so I’ll just stay put la. I’m not sure how did it get back to normal after somd drives like the stickiness just gone It will come back. Happens to me last time, usually will fixed if I turned on LKAS in a 3 hrs drive on highway. Then the sticky steering come back after few days.
lee82gx
Oct 23 2024, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(blahbleh @ Oct 23 2024, 02:59 PM) weird thing about my steering rack: 1. claimed once, and happened again after 2 months 2. made the second claim, now waiting for the rack but the weird thing it's back to normal so I'm not sure whether I should proceed with it or just pray that HM will improvise the replacement parts similar to you. after going for my second claim during the checkup, the problem disappeared. Perhaps there is a threshold amount of grease displacing and re-distributing back into the right channels in the gear mesh.
Madgeiser
Oct 24 2024, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 23 2024, 10:10 PM) similar to you. after going for my second claim during the checkup, the problem disappeared. Perhaps there is a threshold amount of grease displacing and re-distributing back into the right channels in the gear mesh. I am in the same boat, I claim my steering rack once, been almost a year. The issue never resurface. Lately I receive a notice to sent my car in for a product recall to replace the steering wheel. So I am a bit scared to sent in, afraid after replace I will get the dreaded steering wheel issue.....
blahbleh
Oct 24 2024, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(kclow1981 @ Oct 23 2024, 09:06 PM) It will come back. Happens to me last time, usually will fixed if I turned on LKAS in a 3 hrs drive on highway. Then the sticky steering come back after few days. I might be paranoid but I suspect the technician might have done "something" and made it back to normal. Tested drive with the service advisor the first time, went back, came back for another test drive with the technician and he said there's no problem but still acknowledged the issue and proceed with the claim.
blahbleh
Oct 24 2024, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 23 2024, 10:10 PM) similar to you. after going for my second claim during the checkup, the problem disappeared. Perhaps there is a threshold amount of grease displacing and re-distributing back into the right channels in the gear mesh. yah this could be the issue too. when the sticky steering happened, i didn't use the LKAS because the minor adjustment will just (somehow) stick the steering to the left or right direction and I can see minor adjustments happened all the time on a straight road. After couple of days no more stickiness, I have no clue what happened
Scissorshand
Oct 24 2024, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(Madgeiser @ Oct 24 2024, 08:34 AM) I am in the same boat, I claim my steering rack once, been almost a year. The issue never resurface. Lately I receive a notice to sent my car in for a product recall to replace the steering wheel. So I am a bit scared to sent in, afraid after replace I will get the dreaded steering wheel issue..... I didn’t had steering issue but upon receiving pud, went ahead to change. Regretted cos a month later I was hit with the issue. My advise if it’s ok, ignore the pud notice especially on steering rack until everything stabilise
Ludwig.
Oct 30 2024, 04:12 PM
1 year into ownership of ehev, 12 volt battery dying alrd hard to start the car as it starts in ev mode first but given some time, it will charge the battery enough so that all the electronics come to life