New CRV rack… holy shit 😅😵‍💫

This post has been edited by squareballs: Oct 10 2024, 10:56 PM
e-lite
post Oct 10 2024, 10:58 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 10 2024, 08:01 AM)
damn, just found out my driver seat there got 1 line crack, anyone know how much to repair/replace? i never put anything in my back pocket also ,dont know why it will have 1 line crack like tat..

prob im from east msia.. else got alot choices over west msia can do..
yours what variant?
ben3003
post Oct 11 2024, 03:30 PM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(e-lite @ Oct 10 2024, 10:58 PM)
yours what variant?
Ehev rs
asphiroth
post Oct 11 2024, 06:39 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 10 2024, 08:01 AM)
damn, just found out my driver seat there got 1 line crack, anyone know how much to repair/replace? i never put anything in my back pocket also ,dont know why it will have 1 line crack like tat..

prob im from east msia.. else got alot choices over west msia can do..
which part? got pic?

east msian too here
chocobo7779
post Oct 12 2024, 10:35 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 10 2024, 10:23 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/share/p/BCPbTDWq6F...mibextid=K35XfP
New CRV rack… holy shit 😅😵‍💫

sweat.gif Thinking about buying the Civic RS Hybrid but the steering wheel issue seems rather widespread
thechickadee
post Oct 12 2024, 01:34 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 12 2024, 10:35 AM)
sweat.gif Thinking about buying the Civic RS Hybrid but the steering wheel issue seems rather widespread
Was contemplating V spec previously due to the RM20k rebate, but, decided against it. Having an issue is one thing, not having a solution is the scary part. doh.gif

I really doubt the grease is a permanent solution, it feels more like a band aid than anything. I would like to be proven wrong though.
DM3
post Oct 12 2024, 02:19 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,619 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Oct 12 2024, 01:34 PM)
Was contemplating V spec previously due to the RM20k rebate, but, decided against it. Having an issue is one thing, not having a solution is the scary part.  doh.gif

I really doubt the grease is a permanent solution, it feels more like a band aid than anything. I would like to be proven wrong though.
The grease method is probably temp fix n eventually will be pushed out after sometime maybe n HM havent do anythin yet,so its just replace no waste all owners time to go check/claim, wait n back to replace once parts arrive
squareballs
post Oct 12 2024, 02:50 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Oct 12 2024, 10:35 AM)
https://www.facebook.com/share/p/ejrD5yo6wVLvSNay/

1 month old RS already kena.

Think twice bro, not worth it at all.
DM3
post Oct 13 2024, 07:08 AM

INSPIRATOR
6,619 posts

https://chng.it/25vHqK7Q8q
Voice out on the racks issues
squareballs
post Oct 13 2024, 07:24 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 13 2024, 07:08 AM)
Done… although I’m no longer civic owner 😝
ayamxxx
post Oct 13 2024, 08:19 AM

4,054 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 13 2024, 07:08 AM)
They will say HM still give warranty later. So use your AL to come weekdays for rack replacement every 6 months
lee82gx
post Oct 13 2024, 11:06 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Oct 12 2024, 01:34 PM)
Was contemplating V spec previously due to the RM20k rebate, but, decided against it. Having an issue is one thing, not having a solution is the scary part.  doh.gif

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 12 2024, 02:19 PM)
The grease method is probably temp fix n eventually will be pushed out after sometime maybe n HM havent do anythin yet,so its just replace no waste all owners time to go check/claim, wait n back to replace once parts arrive
Pure speculation on my part, they are probably close to the final root cause. But corrective action may not be so simple as “redistribute” grease and replace the tensioner spring. Maybe it will last you another 1 year.

Which is why they are not recalling FC civic which uses the same design. It’s is because that model is out of warranty and so recalling them AND giving yet another non permanent fix just make them liable for further fixes down the road when those owners come back and say hey come your recall not working in a few years later, and then they will have to offer another solution.

So, I speculate further that FG civic Baru their management all the way from North America side will demand a proper fix. If not cannot sell.

Edit
At least Honda Malaysia is trying to do the right thing.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Oct 14 2024, 04:17 PM
Madgeiser
post Oct 18 2024, 01:57 PM

433 posts

Just wondering if anyone got a mail from Honda asking them to sent their Civic FE in for a product recall to replace the steering wheel?

I just got mail asking me do sent the car for a steering replacement.
DM3
post Oct 18 2024, 02:32 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,619 posts

QUOTE(Madgeiser @ Oct 18 2024, 01:57 PM)
Just wondering if anyone got a mail from Honda asking them to sent their Civic FE in for a product recall to replace the steering wheel?

I just got mail asking me do sent the car for a steering replacement.
Yes many owners gets this n can be several times need to change repeatedly
ayamxxx
post Oct 18 2024, 02:50 PM

4,054 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Oct 18 2024, 02:32 PM)
Yes many owners gets this n can be several times need to change repeatedly
Basically change the same parts over and over again. Not a solution i guess
squareballs
post Oct 18 2024, 08:41 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Oct 13 2024, 11:06 AM)
Pure speculation on my part, they are probably close to the final root cause. But corrective action may not be so simple as “redistribute” grease and replace the tensioner spring. Maybe it will last you another 1 year.

Which is why they are not recalling FC civic which uses the same design. It’s is because that model is out of warranty and so recalling them AND giving yet another non permanent fix just make them liable for further fixes down the road when those owners come back and say hey come your recall not working in a few years later, and then they will have to offer another solution.

So, I speculate further that FG civic Baru their management all the way from North America side will demand a proper fix. If not cannot sell.

Edit
At least Honda Malaysia is trying to do the right thing.

Imagine SC need to open the rack, regrease and perform the fix in civics, crvs

I hope the technicians will have the patience to do the jobs
thechickadee
post Oct 19 2024, 11:33 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Oct 18 2024, 08:41 PM)
Imagine SC need to open the rack, regrease and perform the fix in civics, crvs
I hope the technicians will have the patience to do the jobs
Apparently in america they are doing it this way now:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_xA_o3CJhrw

but there'll be an updated easier method to smear the grease later after the official recall.

Don't understand the technicalities of all these thing, but as of now, it looks like a lot of work for just smearing some grease.

Upate: America's current way after recall

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i82ysapwtXs

This post has been edited by thechickadee: Oct 19 2024, 11:34 AM
contagiouseddie
post Oct 19 2024, 06:32 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(thechickadee @ Oct 19 2024, 11:33 AM)
Apparently in america they are doing it this way now:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_xA_o3CJhrw
but there'll be an updated easier method to smear the grease later after the official recall.

Don't understand the technicalities of all these thing, but as of now, it looks like a lot of work for just smearing some grease.

Upate: America's current way after recall

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i82ysapwtXs
Look like a band aid only. Probably a flaw design that need redesign.

zack.gap
post Oct 21 2024, 06:30 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ Aug 14 2024, 11:18 AM)
So barely 4 months into the ‘new’ steering rack I can already hear tuk sound when turning the steering to the left. If go by previous rate of rosak, I can confidently say in a years time my civic will be undriveable and I’ve got to get it replaced again.
So 2 months after the initial tuk sound above, I can now feel the stickiness! Bravo Honda! Rate of degradation much worse than before and I can almost guarantee before 3 years of ownership I will have to replace again
squareballs
post Oct 22 2024, 07:37 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(zack.gap @ Oct 21 2024, 06:30 PM)
So 2 months after the initial tuk sound above, I can now feel the stickiness! Bravo Honda! Rate of degradation much worse than before and I can almost guarantee before 3 years of ownership I will have to replace again
Frustrating right?

For now I think just wait if there’s any proper fix by Honda Malaysia.

336 Pages « < 318 319 320 321 322 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:59 PM