125 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Sugar Glider V4, Pocket Marsupials

mamba
post Nov 27 2007, 08:57 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 27 2007, 08:39 PM)
p/s : saw this 1 shop at USJ he sell a pair of sugar gliders for RM280..i tot 1 suggie ppl usually sell at 300++..so cheap aa that shop  hmm.gif
maybe adult..then later if u buy u'll got problem to bond wif them..
silverwineus
post Nov 27 2007, 09:00 PM

514 posts

Hi guys, this is a home for my suggies buddies, made of an aquarium frame 6 ft tall and 4 ft wide,
a wooden frame for the doors, i think i should put proper tents and hammocks rather than unused cloth.
buttercup07
post Nov 28 2007, 07:01 AM

119 posts

can u put more photos from different angles and nearer?

nice cage btw..

how many suggies u have there?

Added on November 28, 2007, 7:23 amguys...i came across a site...stating that...the fella gave his suggies a dry

food, monkey biscuit...what kind of biscuit is that ar?

This post has been edited by buttercup07: Nov 28 2007, 07:23 AM
sogoatticus
post Nov 28 2007, 08:55 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(mamba @ Nov 27 2007, 08:57 PM)
maybe adult..then later if u buy u'll got problem to bond wif them..
i see..adult hard to tame wan aa?

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Nov 27 2007, 09:00 PM)

Hi guys, this is a home for my suggies buddies, made of an aquarium frame 6 ft tall and 4 ft wide,
a wooden frame for the doors, i think i should put proper tents and hammocks rather than unused cloth.
seems u got a bunch of animal there hmm.gif thumbup.gif (thumbs up to animal lover)

and my qtn havnt answerer..what if they ran onto tree or building if we bring them when we outside? hmm.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 28 2007, 09:44 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 27 2007, 08:39 PM)
hello there..im noob at sugar gliders..thinking of getting one..but still studying about it b4 take it as pet..i got 1 question..if we bring them jalan2, if he ran n climb onto a tree and never came down...how do we handle it?hehe

p/s : saw this 1 shop at USJ he sell a pair of sugar gliders for RM280..i tot 1 suggie ppl usually sell at 300++..so cheap aa that shop  hmm.gif
I can get 1 pair RM240 lah.... adults are usually cheaper coz they are wild. Nobody wants them unless for breeding so that is why cheap. Joeys cost Rm300 coz there is a high demand for them and they are easier to bond and tame with. Never trust what you see at petshops. No sane petshop would sell 1 pair of tame gliders for RM280, they are seriously making losses coz even the supplier would sell them at RM200 a joey.... No supplier would sell 2 joeys for Rm200....

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Nov 27 2007, 09:00 PM)

Wow, that's a good and creative cage. How much is an aquarium stand/frame?

Put a sleeping pouch and hammocks lah. My gliders love their sleeping pouch and tunnel that I got from KP.

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Nov 28 2007, 07:01 AM)
can u put more photos from different angles and nearer?

nice cage btw..

how many suggies u have there?

Added on November 28, 2007, 7:23 amguys...i came across a site...stating that...the fella gave his suggies a dry

food, monkey biscuit...what kind of biscuit is that ar?
Monkey biscuits are like large dog food. Well, they look like dogfood but infact are much healthier for gliders. They rarely give the monkey biscuits dry coz I actually got hold of 1 piece before from Cheaka.... super hard. You try and bite, sure your teeth also sakit. So people who give monkey biscuits, they actually soak it in some apple juice first.

Again, monkey biscuits are not sold in Malaysia or even in Singapore..... you have to import from US.
silverwineus
post Nov 28 2007, 10:22 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 28 2007, 08:55 AM)
and my qtn havnt answerer..what if they ran onto tree or building if we bring them when we outside? hmm.gif
This is a good question. I think how nice it would be to spend time with them outdoor, but it's risky if they run loose, hope there's a way... hmm.gif
hackerzx
post Nov 28 2007, 10:30 AM

Hackerzx Prime
929 posts

ya..risky lol ~ scare suddenly car walk through ~ aiya..cant imagine lol ~
nice cage ~ nowadays all DIY cage haha..more big more space tongue.gif
sogoatticus
post Nov 28 2007, 11:18 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Nov 28 2007, 09:44 AM)
I can get 1 pair RM240 lah.... adults are usually cheaper coz they are wild. Nobody wants them unless for breeding so that is why cheap. Joeys cost Rm300 coz there is a high demand for them and they are easier to bond and tame with. Never trust what you see at petshops. No sane petshop would sell 1 pair of tame gliders for RM280, they are seriously making losses coz even the supplier would sell them at RM200 a joey.... No supplier would sell 2 joeys for Rm200....

i see hmm.gif that means cheap = wild..hehe thx

QUOTE(hackerzx @ Nov 28 2007, 10:30 AM)
ya..risky lol ~ scare suddenly car walk through ~ aiya..cant imagine lol ~
nice cage ~ nowadays all DIY cage haha..more big more space tongue.gif
lol..funny la u..dun let him cross the road alone la.. biggrin.gif
silverwineus
post Nov 28 2007, 12:02 PM

514 posts

Hi buttercup and crazymouse,

O sorry, can't recall how much i bought the aquarium stand already.. it's quite budgetary..

To make this, it's very simple one.
The aquarium stand is a double deck caters for two 4 ft aquarium and can be dismantled to be stored away. I bought it from this dealer Ah Loy:
Loy Aquarium
19, Jln SS 26/8. Tmn Mayang Jaya Tel: 03-78053682
Started it by making a calculation of the surface area that needs to be covered with coated wire mesh. A hardware shop in OUG sells this green colored coated wire. 2 sizes are available, 1" x 1/2" inch spacing or ½" x ½" inch spacing, the latter is of better quality.
Just simply wrap all the sides with coated wire like wrapping a box or gift and fastened with cable ties. Then follow by the top and bottom.
There are 2 large doors, one top and the other bottom. A small door at the side for serving dishes. SG get very excited during dinner time and they tend to escape through large doors, so a small door comes in handy.
The wooden door frames are nailed together. Put on hinges.
Finally for safety measures, put 2 safety pins / screws on each doors.
Well isn't this easy to make? Try it and it's lots of fun too! smile.gif

krynzpeaches
post Nov 28 2007, 05:36 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

Aiyar, the hardware crash has deleted my prev post sad.gif

Blehhh...

Anyway, my monsters love persimmons now biggrin.gif Every time I give them a bowl full, sure licin the next day tongue.gif

You can bring your suggies outdoor, during the day, it is less likely they would run off a tree or building unless you persuade them to... Most likely they would sit on your shoulders or jump to the nearest person to you... But bear in mind there is always a risk of them jumping off to somewhere at a speed that would startle you to even think of what to do. So it is best to carry them in a pouch or a suitable carrier and take them out to handle once in a while only smile.gif

KP
sogoatticus
post Nov 28 2007, 10:21 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Nov 28 2007, 05:36 PM)
Aiyar, the hardware crash has deleted my prev post sad.gif

Blehhh...

Anyway, my monsters love persimmons now biggrin.gif Every time I give them a bowl full, sure licin the next day tongue.gif

You can bring your suggies outdoor, during the day, it is less likely they would run off a tree or building unless you persuade them to... Most likely they would sit on your shoulders or jump to the nearest person to you... But bear in mind there is always a risk of them jumping off to somewhere at a speed that would startle you to even think of what to do. So it is best to carry them in a pouch or a suitable carrier and take them out to handle once in a while only smile.gif

KP
do u tie their neck?
coldfusionpower
post Nov 28 2007, 11:14 PM

My Cat Like To Shoot Noobs
3,158 posts

tie their neck ? NO WAYYYYYY
buttercup07
post Nov 29 2007, 03:09 AM

119 posts

guys...i came across a site..giving a simple but yet informative information..

i dont know wether u guys have gone to this site or not...

but yah...do u guys want me to post the link here ?
vincent09
post Nov 29 2007, 09:21 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

DIY staff very nice 1 thumbup.gif can do many thing than those cage that selling at pet shop there.

But 1 problem for me, actually how long that we need to clean the cage? 1 time per week? per month? I wash it after 1 week.

Oh yea, sogoatticus, is it your cage putting at outdoor? My mum always want my pets put outside the house, but my area alot those, bird, cat, insect .....
sogoatticus
post Nov 29 2007, 10:05 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Nov 28 2007, 11:14 PM)
tie their neck ? NO WAYYYYYY
erks..not just tie like that..use that animal rope thg that wont choke them ler.. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(vincent09 @ Nov 29 2007, 09:21 AM)
DIY staff very nice 1 thumbup.gif can do many thing than those cage that selling at pet shop there.

But 1 problem for me, actually how long that we need to clean the cage? 1 time per week? per month?  I wash it after 1 week.

Oh yea, sogoatticus, is it your cage putting at outdoor? My mum always want my pets put outside the house, but my area alot those, bird, cat, insect .....
not me..i dun own any suggies yet..jus planned n doing some survey 1st..im not sure if u can put outside outside or not..ask the pros..hehe icon_rolleyes.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 29 2007, 10:58 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 28 2007, 10:21 PM)
do u tie their neck?
Gliders cannot use any leash or harness coz it is very dangerous for them. A harness can tear their skin that they use for gliding.... also it can choke them since they would jump. Last time Pet Safari used to put hamster harness and leash on gliders, but I think something awful happen so they do not do it anymore.

QUOTE(buttercup07 @ Nov 29 2007, 03:09 AM)
guys...i came across a site..giving a simple but yet informative information..

i dont know wether u guys have gone to this site or not...

but yah...do u guys want me to post the link here ?
Post lah, no problem in sharing tongue.gif

How are your gliders doing now?

But 1 problem for me, actually how long that we need to clean the cage? 1 time per week? per month?  I wash it after 1 week.

Clean once a week lo so it won't be smelly. Gliders bond well with family if they are indoors but sometimes family do not like them inside, so no choice, I guess some need to put outside. True you know, alot of dangers outside like cats....
krynzpeaches
post Nov 29 2007, 11:01 AM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 28 2007, 10:21 PM)
do u tie their neck?

NO... I don't ever, ever, ever tie anything on my suggies!

They are not dogs or any other crawling small animal, to attach a leash or anything.

They are very smart. When truly bonded, they will recognize you as their safest place and will not run off from you without a reason and will run to you if they are scared or feel threaten.

I clean my cage every week. I think 2 weeks is the max lah, if 1 month sure die lor the smell tongue.gif

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 29 2007, 10:05 AM)
erks..not just tie like that..use that animal rope thg that wont choke them ler.. biggrin.gif

not me..i dun own any suggies yet..jus planned n doing some survey 1st..im not sure if u can put outside outside or not..ask the pros..hehe icon_rolleyes.gif

Again, no tying what-so-ever rope/leash/string.

KP

Reanne
post Nov 29 2007, 04:16 PM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

If a petshop is selling glider joeys at less than RM300, they may be mislabeled or selling them too young. Suppliers that like to let their joeys off young tend to sell cheaper, so watch out for these factors.

Monkey biscuits are widely used in the pet industry but after looking at the general ingredients, I would rather stay away. The ingredients I saw were not high quality and some even had preservatives like BHA and Ethoxyquin. Plus, my gliders didn't like it much.

No, never tie anything to a glider, your best bet is to tame and bond to it. It's like an invisible leash that you dont even need to hold, they will automatically come back to you. But this requires lots of time spent with it, it won't happen overnight so dont come here to complain after a week. It takes about 3 to 4 months of constant bonding before you can let your glider safely explore the mamak table or your teacher's shoulder.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Nov 29 2007, 04:18 PM
vincent09
post Nov 29 2007, 05:27 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Lucky my family start accept my Ah Pit in house, because of no flur flying there, not like rabbit...... ( they also start accept it, just i need to clean those flying flur.)

Sometime i saw those too young glider that selling at pet shop there very active, like know to bite ppl hand that kind... Those seller take them out also let them bite few time, after that say " see, so cute leh ... ".

alexchin
post Nov 29 2007, 09:00 PM

48 posts

hi HUn,
my Gigi getting bigger and bigge alrd.
now she like me bring her out if i not bring her out 1 day, she will angry and dun wan bother me.
haha...

125 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.1366sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:58 PM