Need a little marriage advice, Wife is asking for monthly allowance
vp6116
Jun 12 2021, 02:37 PM
My 2 Sen: Go see a good marriage counselor together. Unfortunately some gave you poor advice. From what has been said, there are multiple issues here. It won't be easy but should be workable and definitely can improve. I hv worked with various couples on their marriages, young n old, rich n poor. Basic understanding on what marriage is varies from one person to another and that must first be sorted. Then there are the other aspects that needs to be sorted and will definitely improve/enhance yr marriage/family. I wish you the best - you n your family.
-mystery-
Jun 12 2021, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(flagstaff @ Jun 12 2021, 02:36 PM) My ex also never did house chores, and I didn't mind. Sex after her pregnancy was zilch too. I was supposed to feel lucky if I can get it 3 times in a year. I didn't earn 30k, but I still gave what I can spare then. I was also paying for the house, deposit on her car, some shopping... But, after years of almost zilch sex, I stopped paying. She never asked then coz she was earning big bucks then. Fast forward few more years... out of the blue, she asked for a sit down, talked about money. She was earning big bucks then. I believe the amount that I said I am willing to provide her monthly was not to her satisfaction. I didn't bring up the almost zilch sex. Few months later, she asked for a divorce. Bet she already ride the cock carousel out there the first red flag already dont want to do housechores Im sorry your wife hotness blinded you to marry her
tomato people
Jun 12 2021, 02:39 PM
Just give her a little pocket money
And say the rest need to pay house,groceries and etc
-mystery-
Jun 12 2021, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(vp6116 @ Jun 12 2021, 02:37 PM) My 2 Sen: Go see a good marriage counselor together. Marriage consultation is blue pilled one..they always cater to women needs, my advice is to seek youtube videos and swallow the red pill
hirano
Jun 12 2021, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(KcX35 @ Jun 12 2021, 02:36 PM) what's the reason that made you decided she's the 1 you want innitially? because based on your post and replies, I do see the bad signs of these coming up and incompatible with you? or because she's younger and good-looking that's why you fall for her? or is it some kind of flash marriage like together a few months or 1 year then get married without really understand each other? sure you can give her $$, but i don't think that solve the real problem as in both thinkings of the current & future mindset and planning all different? so that's why i am asking why you decided to married her Men always want pretty wife. Not looking at attitude side. Too blind already when see pretty girl. But after marriage, regret. Beauty don't last forever, guys. Behaviour/attitude does. Nvm if she's average or not so pretty, as those can be work on later.
Incarnation
Jun 12 2021, 02:42 PM

QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jun 12 2021, 02:30 PM) If you had to ask, that means there's no genuine desire for her to please you. If she didnt know how to behave properly as a traditional wife, then shes not for it la. modern women expect traditionalism from mem, but themselves dont want to be traditional, talk about irony. sometimes people just need some motivation/ encouragement do something they haven't done before maa, if give 3k really helps her to become a bit more 'traditional', then why not? and if she perform well, then maybe can increase to 5k per month, then both sides also happy.
-mystery-
Jun 12 2021, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(Incarnation @ Jun 12 2021, 02:42 PM) sometimes people just need some motivation/ encouragement do something they haven't done before maa, if give 3k really helps her to become a bit more 'traditional', then why not? and if she perform well, then maybe can increase to 5k per month, then both sides also happy. Its like choreplay by women, 'you do the dishes and cleaning, I'll give you blowjob twice per month' Its different vibe la, son If you had to ask, there's no geniine desire
vp6116
Jun 12 2021, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(-mystery- @ Jun 12 2021, 02:39 PM) Marriage consultation is blue pilled one..they always cater to women needs, my advice is to seek youtube videos and swallow the red pill Not true bro. If you experienced this, maybe you can get another one. Takes 2 hands to clap. Both parties need to make the marriage work.
-mystery-
Jun 12 2021, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(hirano @ Jun 12 2021, 02:41 PM) Men always want pretty wife. Not looking at attitude side. Too blind already when see pretty girl. But after marriage, regret. Beauty don't last forever, guys. Behaviour/attitude does. Nvm if she's average or not so pretty, as those can be work on later. How many women nowadays that are willing to sacrifice her youth to support a man where they been brainwashed to be independent and strong? Lol
myasiahobby
Jun 12 2021, 02:52 PM
Women need to be pampered. A few months buy lah some 1-2 k worth of gifts don't be so kiamsiap
bristlebb
Jun 12 2021, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 12 2021, 11:50 AM) She doesn't do my laundry or cook FYI. I do those things at home That shows your wife is even more than just an asshole what did you see in her ?
ling117
Jun 12 2021, 02:59 PM
Good daddy is not the same as good husband, and vice versa. You think it in terms of "family unit", but reality is, there are two different individuals with different needs.. Everything you written is just you have invested for your son, and other home materials/chores. And the rest of your time is spent to work hard. What other things do you do for your wife individual needs and wants? Or for both of you only?
kemowoc P
Jun 12 2021, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 12 2021, 02:21 PM) And what does It leave me? I cook everyday after coming from work. I do my laundry. I wash the plates. I hired a nanny for my son & is with me at my clinic everyday. So how is it that she makes me feel like I'm not doing enough? hi, sorry to hear your problem. if i were you, first thing is both you of must write down all spending. how much disposable income, minus the expense, etc. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....editors.sheetsdo it for a month or two, then both of you will know how much money left, then she will know how much you have. from there you will see and how to decide accordingly, all the best
Oklahoma
Jun 12 2021, 03:03 PM
I understand your feelings, I feel this way too except mine is parents-son relationship than husband-wife, granted the latter relationship will come soon...
My parents dont invest and their investments are puny (2-3% FD compared to mine 8-10%)...if I give them say RM1k a month, that opportunity cost is lost since I can generate more with my investments than my parents FD, and I dont entertain the idea that just because im a son I need to give mandatorily...I did say if they ever need money, dont hesitate to reach out to me...
------- Questions and potential solutions for TS:
1) Do your wife knows what you can do with the 5k? Reason with her, tell her the 5k / month could be put into investments to generate more money..Maybe she has no concept of opportunity cost and compounding interest..
2) What is the intention of your wife wanting a 5k? She wants to invest? Or spend on materialistic goods? Give her a supplementary credit card instead with 5k limit...If she simply spend, deactivate the supplementary credit card... If she wants to invest, ask her what she investing in what returns she expecting?
3) What is the reason for the 5k a month as a figure? Why not 1k? or 2k? Just because you're her husband? Just because you earn more? That's an argument I disagree too..Money are meant to be shared..perhaps a joint account so both of you can use the money in the acc..
4) Whats her role in the family that she's asking for 5k? What she does with her own money?
---------
I've seen far too many similar scenarios like TS, and I can tell you it doesn't end well...either you start feeling contempt, your wife start to stonewall, criticism or defensiveness.. the 4 horsemen of divorce..
This post has been edited by Oklahoma: Jun 12 2021, 03:07 PM
kingz113
Jun 12 2021, 03:09 PM
Not sure if already mentioned. But if you do give an allowance now, it will form the basis of alimony calculation if you do divorce in the future.
kohgods
Jun 12 2021, 03:09 PM

The first problem is you have a lot of money. The second problem is you married the wrong person.
quad
Jun 12 2021, 03:13 PM

TS needs to lower down your ego and talk it face to face, not texting or phone calls. get a mediator who's neutral won't side to any 1 of u during the discussion. therapist might help but they may not have full picture and this consume time; multiple sessions
dissatisfaction comes frm wrong expectations. this though brought up frm the wife, also entails within TS himself. i take it that TS as a high-income and self-independent man thinks that he can win over marriage without much losses by his side. he's the ultimate decision-maker. however this is a lesson for TS; being tolerant u need to give sometimes. which is now exploded in your face. perhaps you assume your wife as a self-independent woman can support herself but she's traditional too expecting allowance frm u but you were oblivious to it. this i suppose stems frm poor communications; emotionally distant maybe due to modern-work demands.
to all husbands out there; pls hear your wife out. just coz u day in day out working for them doesn't mean u should go home eat n rest. pls talk more and appreciate each other. be a bit romantic sometimes it'll do wonders.
in all honesty this ain't that big a deal but i emphatise TS feeling cornered i hope TS & wife reached a win-win situation with a minimal allowance. if she's asking more than TS willing to give pls drill down those expense list n split half then ask her to chip in as well.
happy wife happy life
Oklahoma
Jun 12 2021, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(kingz113 @ Jun 12 2021, 03:09 PM) Not sure if already mentioned. But if you do give an allowance now, it will form the basis of alimony calculation if you do divorce in the future. interesting..dont know about this.. i think malaysia law are a joke, if no give alimony also no problem..
alpha001
Jun 12 2021, 03:15 PM
She want it all. Believe me.
ShadowR1
Jun 12 2021, 03:18 PM
QUOTE(hirano @ Jun 12 2021, 02:24 PM) Have you even asked her to help the housechores? Do the housechores together, not leaving 1 person for it. And of course, in the first place before marrying her, you should know how she's like. The lazy trophy wife or a real life partner. If one need to ask the above, something is not right dy.