Public Mutual, PM/PB series fund

SUSDavid83
post Jan 2 2008, 08:32 PM

52,874 posts

Public Mutual declares distributions for 5 funds

Public Bank's wholly-owned subsidiary, Public Mutual declares distributions for five of its funds. The gross distributions declared are for financial year / period ended 31 December 2007:

Public Savings Fund - Gross distribution of 10.00 sen per unit
Public Focus Select Fund - Gross distribution of 7.50 sen per unit
PB Growth Fund - Gross distribution of 9.00 sen per unit
PB Balanced Fund - Gross distribution of 10.00 sen per unit
Public Islamic Enhanced Bond Fund - Gross distribution of 3.50 sen per unit
Public Mutual's Chairman Tan Sri Dato' Sri Dr. Teh Hong Piow said Public Savings Fund, Public Focus Select Fund and PB Growth Fund have generated a one-year return of 35.24%, 32.87% and 56.10% respectively for the period ended 7 December 2007, according to The Edge-Lipper Fund Table dated 17 December 2007. These funds have generally outperformed the benchmark Kuala Lumpur Composite Index (KLCI), which registered a gain of 30.57% for the same period.

As for PB Balanced Fund, it has generated a one-year return of 33.70% for the period ended 7 December 2007. This fund has outperformed its benchmark of 19.44% for the same period.

Public Islamic Enhanced Bond Fund, on the other hand has also outperformed its benchmark 12-month General Investment Account-rates of 3.70%, with a one-year return of 5.02% for the same period.

Public Mutual is the largest private unit trust company in Malaysia and it currently manages 55 funds for more than 1,350,000 accountholders. As at 30 November 2007, the total net asset value of the funds managed by the company was RM27.4 billion.

URL: http://www.publicmutual.com.my/article.aspx?id=6447
leekk8
post Jan 3 2008, 10:14 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Dec 31 2007, 10:18 PM)
The new service charge rate of 5.5% applied to all equity funds investment, be it Initial investment or additional investment for both new & existing funds.

BTW, the service for promotion funds is 4.45%.

Hopes that clear some air  smile.gif
HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! May 2008 bring in wealth & health to everyone!!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  wink.gif
I think the service charge for promotion funds is 5%...pls confirm.
kingkong81
post Jan 3 2008, 10:25 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(leekk8 @ Jan 3 2008, 10:14 AM)
I think the service charge for promotion funds is 5%...pls confirm.
Sorry for the confusion...my mistake. As earlier it has been slotted for 4.45%, but got the confirmation it is 5%.

------------------------------------------------------

Earlier post edited to avoid confusion

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Jan 3 2008, 10:36 AM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 3 2008, 12:48 PM

52,874 posts

No official announment has been made regarding this lower service charge thing?
TSdzi921
post Jan 3 2008, 01:25 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

Law
post Jan 3 2008, 04:36 PM

134 posts

i think tomorrow will drop more....
kingkong81
post Jan 3 2008, 06:42 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 3 2008, 12:48 PM)
No official announment has been made regarding this lower service charge thing?
Sadly, there is none yet.

QUOTE(Law @ Jan 3 2008, 04:36 PM)
i think tomorrow will drop more....
Today HSI dropped 2.44%, Taiwan oso drop 1.67%...supprisingly Shanghai is up 0.89%
2mr the price wont look too nice sad.gif
kevyeoh
post Jan 3 2008, 09:19 PM

4,719 posts

it's going red most of the days now for mutual funds...
so can we on hold our purchase first?
why not apply the same rule on stocks as what we do on mutual funds

buy low and sell high... the way i see... better don't buy first...
wait till it drop...then only buy...
afterall, mutual fund is almost same as stock...difference is we ask pro ppl to help us invest..instead of we ourselves investing it...
so i believe...the rule of buy low and sell high should be applied to mutual fund as well...

no need do cost averaging 100% of the time...
hocklai8
post Jan 4 2008, 12:33 AM

429 posts

I do agree the buy low and sell high concept applies to unit trust too.

Now I'm waiting for PM to officially lower their service charge. Other unit trust are already in the 5% range. All the PM Consultants/Agents here made me happy knowing there is a lower service charge coming soon... Would now consider on-hold my purchases while wait n see the market condition.

Seems like a "red" CNY... Market don't look so optimistic as before already.
kingkong81
post Jan 4 2008, 10:10 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(hocklai8 @ Jan 4 2008, 12:33 AM)
I do agree the buy low and sell high concept applies to unit trust too.

Now I'm waiting for PM to officially lower their service charge. Other unit trust are already in the 5% range. All the PM Consultants/Agents here made me happy knowing there is a lower service charge coming soon... Would now consider on-hold my purchases while wait n see the market condition.

Seems like a "red" CNY... Market don't look so optimistic as before already.
The lower service charge of PM funds is officially started since 1st Jan 2008. Just that no official announcement made yet.

Here is the service charge breakdown for PM:

Normal Equity : 5.5%
Promo Equity : 5.0%
DDI campaign during promo : 5.25%
hocklai8
post Jan 4 2008, 11:18 AM

429 posts

kingkong81, thanks for the info.
After the recent distribution, PSF and PFSF price seems attractive to get some (I don't have any local funds yet, all are recent Far-East ones), but I only have enough funds for one, which have better upside potential? Or maybe PGF?
bengang13
post Jan 4 2008, 11:49 AM

624 posts

King Kong,

do you have the price for PM Ittikal, PM Smallcap price as of 1st January 07? if you have can you please PM me. i wanna do some checking...thanks...
TSdzi921
post Jan 4 2008, 12:41 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

SUSDavid83
post Jan 4 2008, 10:45 PM

52,874 posts

Dear Unitholder,

We are pleased to attach the market wrap for the week ended 28 December 2007 for your information.

Regards

Customer Service

kingkong81
post Jan 5 2008, 12:17 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Jan 4 2008, 11:49 AM)
King Kong,

do you have the price for PM Ittikal, PM Smallcap price as of 1st January 07? if you have can you please PM me. i wanna do some checking...thanks...
My database dun have 1st Jan 07 price...lousy database tongue.gif

Added on January 5, 2008, 12:27 am
QUOTE(hocklai8 @ Jan 4 2008, 11:18 AM)
kingkong81, thanks for the info.
After the recent distribution, PSF and PFSF price seems attractive to get some (I don't have any local funds yet, all are recent Far-East ones), but I only have enough funds for one, which have better upside potential? Or maybe PGF?
Both PSF & PFSF are not local funds as both has some offshore market exposure.

Its bit hard to select which is better...coz both oso have been performing well in their own risk category.

PSF is a moderate fund...oldest fund in PM, fundamentally very strong and yet every year still give considerable growth.

PFSF is high risk...so the return will be potentially higher...invest in medium sized companies. Lot more room to grow in coming future as more companies r booming along with the growth of economy. Relatively new compared to PSF, juz started in 2005, but chalk up quite impressive return there.

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Jan 5 2008, 12:27 AM
Jordy
post Jan 5 2008, 10:04 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jan 3 2008, 09:19 PM)
it's going red most of the days now for mutual funds...
so can we on hold our purchase first?
why not apply the same rule on stocks as what we do on mutual funds

buy low and sell high... the way i see... better don't buy first...
wait till it drop...then only buy...
afterall, mutual fund is almost same as stock...difference is we ask pro ppl to help us invest..instead of we ourselves investing it...
so i believe...the rule of buy low and sell high should be applied to mutual fund as well...

no need do cost averaging 100% of the time...
This buy low sell high is applicable for anything. We don't need to think to know that it is a must.
The concept with unit trust is the timeframe that you allow it to work.
You can definitely buy low and sell high, but if you keep for a longer period, it will make up for the little lost.
The problem with many people is they see the few % of downside risk as a very important factor, but they forget about the higher potential upside gain.
We need to see both ways, so doing cost averaging is important no matter which way the market is going.
Now, do you see the picture? smile.gif
jcvstlys
post Jan 5 2008, 10:46 AM

1,655 posts

how much min fee for unit trust?
SUSDavid83
post Jan 5 2008, 11:01 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Jan 5 2008, 10:46 AM)