159 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Hardware Hackintosh Thread, The Official OSX86 Thread

calvin
post Nov 27 2007, 10:25 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(mercindustries @ Nov 27 2007, 08:56 PM)
are you installing leopard or tiger? for leopard you gotta do a post-patch to install the bootloader (that is for me using brazilmac's patched dvd, i'm not sure bout ToH's DVD cause i never tried them out.) I would recommend you using pc_efi bootloader, makes your hackintosh run on vanilla kernels & kext smile.gif
i'm installing leopard from brazilmac's dvd..after the installation i proceeded to run the batch file to do the patching needed.. but after that it refuses to boot at all.. hmm.gif
mengsuan
post Nov 27 2007, 10:44 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Nov 27 2007, 09:30 PM)
yea and plus INTEL mobo.. That what i lack of now  sad.gif
Correction: Intel chipset.
mercindustries
post Nov 28 2007, 12:29 AM

162 posts

have you done the dd, startupfiletool and bless process? and did you set your osx partition as the active partition?

This post has been edited by mercindustries: Nov 28 2007, 12:31 AM
SUSkockroach
post Dec 6 2007, 04:52 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

Hi, I want to know is the dell dual core issue already fixed in latest development of OSX86.
Voxe
post Dec 14 2007, 01:57 AM

Daft Punker
815 posts

Hey, I just read the wiki on OSx86 and this part interests me, and if you guys discussed this sorry I didn't go through all 12 pages.

QUOTE(Wikipedia)
Licensing

One problem that still remains with installing Mac OS X on a non-Apple branded computer is the license agreement that is bundled with Mac OS X. The user that is installing Mac OS X must agree to the license before installing the operating system. According to the license the software can only be installed on a "Single Apple-labeled computer" at a time.

CODE

2. Permitted License Uses and Restrictions.
   A. This License allows you to install and use one copy of the Apple Software on a single Apple-labeled computer at a time. This License does not allow the Apple Software to exist on more than one computer at a time, and you may not make the Apple Software available over a network where it could be used by multiple computers at the same time. You may make one copy of the Apple Software (excluding the Boot ROM code) in machine-readable form for backup purposes only; provided that the backup copy must include all copyright or other proprietary notices contained on the original.[11]

The definition of a label could be called into question. By applying an Apple sticker to the external case of the PC it could be argued that you are meeting the usage clause. The license use does not state a requirement for an official Apple label with an Apple Hardware Serial number.

I think I should get an Apple sticker now... Anybody selling originals? I take RM5 a piece, hehe.
junkieG
post Dec 16 2007, 10:15 PM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

can anyone kindly guide me which hardware should i buy to make my osX run smoothy like the real macpro?
BridgestoneRE711
post Dec 19 2007, 04:06 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

i second junkieG question ... really want to know .
no need macpro ler , bt somewhere near imac also can d .
allvin
post Dec 19 2007, 04:53 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Dec 19 2007, 04:06 PM)
i second junkieG question ... really want to know .
no need macpro ler , bt somewhere near imac also can d .
choose asus mainboard, core2duo, 2gb ddr2 ram, nvidia 7000series graphic card and whatever size hdd space. Sth like that...

Btw, just choose intel core2duo for the processor and for the mainboard, it should be okay for any brand but must be intel chipset la. Ntg much really. If you mention laptop, then really will cause some headache if you're out of luck wink.gif
BridgestoneRE711
post Dec 19 2007, 09:23 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

if i take ATi graphic card X1900 series which is in macpro , can match ?
i remember someone said that nVidia 8k series cant work , but macbook pro is running on nvedia 8600GT , or is it just the laptop ?
allvin
post Dec 19 2007, 10:12 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Dec 19 2007, 09:23 PM)
if i take ATi graphic card X1900 series which is in macpro , can match ?
i remember someone said that nVidia 8k series cant work , but macbook pro is running on nvedia 8600GT , or is it just the laptop ?
yea. it should work without any problem. Btw, i heard got some problems.. for the vram (graphic card ram). If it is over 128mb, then you probably need some extra patches or what. So it will be abit troublesome la.

the stable graphic card la, ATI x1000series and Nvidia 7000series. It is only for desktop, for laptop, it is pretty much troublesome. Some guy get it works, but some don't. wink.gif

Yea.. last time nvidia 8000series don't work. But now it can, some guy manage to work it out. That's what i heard from the latest "news". You can probably check more on insanelymac forum.

ling13140
post Dec 19 2007, 10:27 PM

85 posts

thank you so much.
petrofsky77
post Dec 19 2007, 11:31 PM

Temet nosce
1,692 posts

What is the latest stable version of Hackintosh? The last one i had was 10.4.6 ...
allvin
post Dec 20 2007, 12:03 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(petrofsky77 @ Dec 19 2007, 11:31 PM)
What is the latest stable version of Hackintosh? The last one i had was 10.4.6 ...
got two version. Leopard and Tiger. Same as the real mac. 10.4.11 and 10.5.1 cool2.gif
BridgestoneRE711
post Dec 20 2007, 11:06 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

so for hackintosh , can i actually update my software as what our macbook does ?
allvin
post Dec 20 2007, 12:58 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Dec 20 2007, 11:06 AM)
so for hackintosh , can i actually update my software as what our macbook does ?
hmm it depends. For now, they intro the new type of hackintosh, which is using EFI emulation. If you using EFI, then you can software update without any problem. No need patches or whatever kernel. currently EFI require two main thing, first is the processor must be at least SSE3 or core2duo processor and second is must be intel chipset mobo (any brand will do).

If you using the normal hackintosh, then when you update software, especially if you doing update like from 10.4.10 to 10.4.11. Then you need some patches and either you can use the previous kernel or use the latest kernel (must be hack version la) wink.gif
don8ld
post Dec 20 2007, 02:18 PM

R.I.P Gary Moore
1,267 posts

Pai seh for asking this does Hackintosh works on Vista??
allvin
post Dec 20 2007, 02:56 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(don8ld @ Dec 20 2007, 02:18 PM)
You go google first la for the meaning of hackintosh, before you ask those type of questions.. sweat.gif sweat.gif rolleyes.gif yawn.gif
junster90
post Dec 20 2007, 10:41 PM

QUOTE(don8ld @ Dec 20 2007, 02:18 PM)
zadou... nothing to do with vista la...
bola
post Dec 20 2007, 11:13 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Dec 19 2007, 04:53 PM)
choose asus mainboard, core2duo, 2gb ddr2 ram, nvidia 7000series graphic card and whatever size hdd space. Sth like that...

Btw, just choose intel core2duo for the processor and for the mainboard, it should be okay for any brand but must be intel chipset la. Ntg much really. If you mention laptop, then really will cause some headache if you're out of luck wink.gif
hi
please allow me to clarify, its :
- an ASUS mobo
- intel core 2 duo processor
- 2 GB DDR2 RAM
- nvidia 7000 series vid card

now my questions:
- any particular ASUS motherboard? and which chipset?
- any DDR2 RAM? 533 667 or 800? any particlar brand working better than another?
- any particular nvidia 7000 card?
- hopefully all the above cost something around a total of RM1000-1200?

thanks in advance

sincerely,
hackintosh newbie
allvin
post Dec 20 2007, 11:45 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(bola @ Dec 20 2007, 11:13 PM)
hi
please allow me to clarify, its :
- an ASUS mobo
- intel core 2 duo processor
- 2 GB DDR2 RAM
- nvidia 7000 series vid card

now my questions:
- any particular ASUS motherboard? and which chipset?
- any DDR2 RAM? 533 667 or 800? any particlar brand working better than another?
- any particular nvidia 7000 card?
- hopefully all the above cost something around a total of RM1000-1200?

thanks in advance

sincerely,
hackintosh newbie
[1] yea.. should be any asus mainboard. Or just get the latest chipset which support Core2duo la. Or at least SSE3 processor like Pentium D.
[2]yea.. any ram. Ram don't have any issue. Even DDR1 also will work wink.gif Just to let you know, my hackintosh machine (desktop) is still using DDR 1
[3]Yea.. any particular. and Go read my previous post about VRAM thingy wink.gif
[4] I'm not sure about this. You just go ask those pc shop la. Probably can get around that price or alit bit more.

159 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:16 PM