QUOTE(bola @ Dec 20 2007, 11:13 PM)
hi
please allow me to clarify, its :
- an ASUS mobo
- intel core 2 duo processor
- 2 GB DDR2 RAM
- nvidia 7000 series vid card

now my questions:
- any particular ASUS motherboard? and which chipset?
- any DDR2 RAM? 533 667 or 800? any particlar brand working better than another?
- any particular nvidia 7000 card?
- hopefully all the above cost something around a total of RM1000-1200?

thanks in advance

sincerely,
hackintosh newbie
- Check out the list in OSX86/InsanelyMac. My suggestion is to go for 945 chipsets or 965 chipsets. The newer one should be okay. Go for Core 2 Duo , make sure it has SSSE3 and EM64T. You need that for PC EFI.

- Anything will do

- Nvidia GeForce 7300GT. Get this one. Dont get the 512MB version , get the 256MB version. Its pretty rare to find this card. This is one of the cards that just works. You pop in and bam it just works. If they dont have that in market go for ATi such as X1600. The latest and greatest X2600 XT and X2900 XT works as well (you gotta do some tweaking , and gotta install PC EFI). Worst come to worst pick a mobo which has GMA 950 and you are set

- yes you can build a hackintosh under $USD 250 as well. Its not a problem at all.
vassalle
post Dec 26 2007, 11:57 AM

610 posts

Reporting in! biggrin.gif

Now I have a 'almost' fully working 10.5.1 on my system. It's pretty fast I must say. Apart for some confusing bios setting (AHCI vs IDE etc.), installing it was a breeze!

The best part is that this version enables us to use the vanilla kernel, which 'might' enable us to update once 10.5.2 comes out!

I did it the Kalyway. thumbup.gif
c0t_c0t_c0t
post Dec 28 2007, 11:06 PM

89 posts

Just want ur guide.

If I have system:

Proc C2D e6300
Graphic Card 256MB PALIT 7300GT SONIC DDR3 128bit
Mobo Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 (All Solid Capacitor)
2 GB RAM

Can I install OSX with this spec. Thank.

This post has been edited by c0t_c0t_c0t: Dec 29 2007, 03:52 AM
oracle
post Dec 29 2007, 11:38 AM

300 posts

Hi guys,

I downloaded the uphuck 10.4.9 v1.4i r3 and i've created an unallocated partition in my laptop, selected the partition and set it active. I inserted the uphuck dvd into my lappy and when i reboot, after the darwin loading screen, the installer got stuck in the Apple boot screen.

I have tried to use -v to see if there's any error message but there's none, and got stuck in halfway at the AHCI.

My lappy is running on Intel processor and it's SSE2.

What's the problem? Please help. Thanks.

This post has been edited by oracle: Dec 29 2007, 11:50 AM
sidewinderz
post Dec 30 2007, 02:30 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

hey....as u all know the intel pro wireless 3945 drivers are not supported by mac os 10.5.1

was just thinking the next best option would be the dell 1490 card....any idea where i can get 1 of those in malaysia?? cause the shipping cost from the US is just too much to for a university student like me.. =(

ps: i got another question, when i install the ISO, why i dun have the option to click on the "option" button to select the type of partition table? the option button just remains unhighlighted....sigh...any sifu can help me?
TSprasys
post Dec 30 2007, 10:19 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(c0t_c0t_c0t @ Dec 28 2007, 11:06 PM)

Just want ur guide.

If I have system:

Proc C2D e6300
Graphic Card 256MB PALIT 7300GT SONIC DDR3 128bit
Mobo Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 (All Solid Capacitor)
2 GB RAM

Can I install OSX with this spec. Thank.
Should work !
QUOTE(oracle @ Dec 29 2007, 11:38 AM)
Hi guys,

I downloaded the uphuck 10.4.9 v1.4i r3 and i've created an unallocated partition in my laptop, selected the partition and set it active. I inserted the uphuck dvd into my lappy and when i reboot, after the darwin loading screen, the installer got stuck in the Apple boot screen.

I have tried to use -v to see if there's any error message but there's none, and got stuck in halfway at the AHCI.

My lappy is running on Intel processor and it's SSE2.

What's the problem? Please help. Thanks.
Mind posting what motherboard and controller that it is using ?

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Dec 30 2007, 02:30 AM)
hey....as u all know the intel pro wireless 3945 drivers are not supported by mac os 10.5.1

was just thinking the next best option would be the dell 1490 card....any idea where i can get 1 of those in malaysia?? cause the shipping cost from the US is just too much to for a university student like me.. =(

ps: i got another question, when i install the ISO, why i dun have the option to click on the "option" button to select the type of partition table? the option button just remains unhighlighted....sigh...any sifu can help me?
Does it have any expresscard slot ?. Have you tried calling Dell Malaysia. They might have that in stock !. If you have expresscard slot you could go ahead and get one of those broadcom/atheros card
oracle
post Dec 30 2007, 11:45 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Dec 30 2007, 10:19 AM)
Mind posting what motherboard and controller that it is using ?
I'm using NEC Versa E6000 laptop. Here are the specs

Processor : Intel Pentium M 1600MHz
Mainboard: Model NEC Versa P520
Chipset : ATI RS300/RS300M
Southbridge: ATI SB200

I'm getting the JaS 10.4.8 installer soon as I got stuck at the AHCI section with the uphuck 10.4.9 v1.4i r3 during installation.

Any idea what went wrong?
May i know which version of OSX86 is compatible with my machine?

Thank you very much.
calvin
post Dec 30 2007, 12:18 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Dec 30 2007, 10:19 AM)
Does it have any expresscard slot ?. Have you tried calling Dell Malaysia. They might have that in stock !. If you have expresscard slot you could go ahead and get one of those broadcom/atheros card
hardly can see any expresscard device being sold here.. hmm.gif
TSprasys
post Dec 30 2007, 07:06 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(oracle @ Dec 30 2007, 11:45 AM)
I'm using NEC Versa E6000 laptop. Here are the specs

Processor : Intel Pentium M 1600MHz
Chipset : ATI RS300/RS300M
Southbridge: ATI SB200

I'm getting the JaS 10.4.8 installer soon as I got stuck at the AHCI section with the uphuck 10.4.9 v1.4i r3 during installation.

Any idea what went wrong?

Thank you very much.
The problem lies within your SOUTHBridge. SB200 isn't supported out of the box. You gotta patch it. To do that you gotta install the VMWARE method. Trust me , its not really worth it to install on ATI SB 200 series as its buggy !
sidewinderz
post Dec 30 2007, 11:31 PM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

any idea wat is dell's contact number?? i'll call them tomorrow...

thx..=)
oracle
post Dec 30 2007, 11:58 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Dec 30 2007, 07:06 PM)
The problem lies within your SOUTHBridge. SB200 isn't supported out of the box. You gotta patch it. To do that you gotta install the VMWARE method. Trust me , its not really worth it to install on ATI SB 200 series as its buggy !
I've got the Mac OSX86 10.4.1 previously using VMware. Now i would like to try 10.4.8 and dual boot with Vista. Is there any other way?
ivanswk
post Dec 31 2007, 01:14 AM

+J
2,110 posts

I'm using Acer 5672 WLMI laptop. Here are the specs

Processor : Intel Core processor T2300 @ 1.66Ghz
Chipset : Intel i945PM
Southbridge: Intel 82801 GHM
Ati Radeon x1400 256mb

Thank you very much.
BridgestoneRE711
post Dec 31 2007, 09:06 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

can i install hackintosh and use bootcamp to install my windows ?
TSprasys
post Dec 31 2007, 09:06 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Dec 31 2007, 01:14 AM)
I'm using Acer 5672 WLMI laptop. Here are the specs

Processor : Intel Core processor T2300 @ 1.66Ghz
Chipset : Intel i945PM
Southbridge: Intel 82801 GHM
Ati Radeon x1400 256mb

Thank you very much.
I'm not too sure about the graphics card. Its supported but i think it works only with external displays !
allvin
post Dec 31 2007, 12:18 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Dec 31 2007, 09:06 AM)
can i install hackintosh and use bootcamp to install my windows ?
doh.gif sweat.gif shakehead.gif

I think i saw that question popup twice or... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Dude, go google it la before you post those type of questions cool.gif
belango
post Dec 31 2007, 06:08 PM

43 posts

Hi guys,..

i tried Jas 10.4.8 andf uphuck on both my PC and laptop

pc mobo MSI 965 neo
laptop compaq v3000

both failed over and over until i fade up to try it anymore

so, i am considering of buying a new PC...SUPER CHEAP (lower than rm1000) yet can carry OSx86..
No prob with graphic, sound, and LAN

please tell me all the parts to buy (100% compatible)
i just hoping this PC can play flame effect in iwork08 because my macbook cant do it..

i am a business man who really needs to impress my clients with my presentations...thanks

This post has been edited by belango: Dec 31 2007, 06:34 PM
sidewinderz
post Jan 2 2008, 06:21 AM

Long Live UV!!!
3,966 posts

i've tried re-installing 10.5.1 but it all fail at the blinking cursor...everything was perfect...but after re-installing and restarting, the "blinking cursor of death" appeared....

i've already read up on forums and tried using the method specified such as writing zero thingy in disk utility but it is still the same

the reason why i re-installed it is because i wanna make it dual boot with Vista and i've set MBR as the partition table of choice

before this, i was able to install it with the vanilla kernal but now it all semms impossible, i gotta use the cd to boot to the operating system....any help guys?
Bad Cyborg
post Jan 2 2008, 04:00 PM

828 posts

QUOTE(belango @ Dec 31 2007, 06:08 PM)
Hi guys,..

pc mobo MSI 965 neo
laptop compaq v3000

What model of v3000 are you trying to get working? I might be able to help.
TSprasys
post Jan 2 2008, 05:44 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(belango @ Dec 31 2007, 06:08 PM)
Hi guys,..

pc mobo MSI 965 neo
laptop compaq v3000

so, i am considering of buying a new PC...SUPER CHEAP (lower than rm1000) yet can carry OSx86..
No prob with graphic, sound, and LAN

please tell me all the parts to buy (100% compatible)
i just hoping this PC can play flame effect in iwork08 because my macbook cant do it..

i am a business man who really needs to impress my clients with my presentations...thanks
Look in the OSX86 wiki

My suggestion :

Intel Pentium/Celeron or something that has SSE3

Intel 945 series board (that carries GMA 950 , and Intel sound) (see a couple of suggestions in OSX86 Wiki)

and then you are set.

I would suggest you to invest on a decent graphics card like 7300GT !
huattk
post Jan 2 2008, 08:26 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(oracle @ Dec 30 2007, 11:58 PM)
I've got the Mac OSX86 10.4.1 previously using VMware. Now i would like to try 10.4.8 and dual boot with Vista. Is there any other way?
Pentium M 1.6 nia you wanna dual boot to Vista for f&^% what? So you can use MS Office? Get with the program and use Parallels lah. Be Visss-- free and get your menthol fresh back.

159 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0326sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:17 AM