159 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Hardware Hackintosh Thread, The Official OSX86 Thread

allvin
post Jan 2 2008, 08:47 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(huattk @ Jan 2 2008, 08:26 PM)
Pentium M 1.6 nia you wanna dual boot to Vista for f&^% what? So you can use MS Office? Get with the program and use Parallels lah. Be Visss-- free and get your menthol fresh back.
doh.gif sweat.gif

Dude, your solution even worst.. laugh.gif Pentium M still wan to use virtual software aka Parallels. You wan to kill his machine kar? laugh.gif Just get winxp to run. wink.gif
chrono_breaks
post Jan 2 2008, 09:44 PM

182 posts

Problem solved. Thank

This post has been edited by chrono_breaks: Jan 3 2008, 12:12 AM
Hungry_Wolf
post Jan 4 2008, 03:06 AM

836 posts

Installed 10.4.8 on vmware to test...
got 1 question here...
is it vmware will use 100% cpu resource when guest os loaded?
allvin
post Jan 4 2008, 01:38 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Hungry_Wolf @ Jan 4 2008, 03:06 AM)
Installed 10.4.8 on vmware to test...
got 1 question here...
is it vmware will use 100% cpu resource when guest os loaded?
it depend on your processor. If core2duo, it won't. If SSE2 processor, i think it will wink.gif
Hungry_Wolf
post Jan 4 2008, 02:33 PM

836 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jan 4 2008, 01:38 PM)
it depend on your processor. If core2duo, it won't. If SSE2 processor, i think it will  wink.gif
use amd actually...then i might try on intel processor then...thanks for ur info...
allvin
post Jan 4 2008, 02:48 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Hungry_Wolf @ Jan 4 2008, 02:33 PM)
use amd actually...then i might try on intel processor then...thanks for ur info...
anyway, amd also the same. If your amd is SSE2, then you probably will have trouble. SSE3 should not be a problem
belango
post Jan 4 2008, 04:16 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Bad Cyborg @ Jan 2 2008, 04:00 PM)
What model of v3000 are you trying to get working? I might be able to help.
Sorry for the late reply... i got a load of works these few days....

mine is V3133AU..

AMD turion X2
geforce nF4
connexant audio

i tries uphuck 10.4.8, can install,...but the touch pad and keyboard dont work...need to use USB mouse and keyboard
WLAN doesnt work, sound is not working, and graphic card not detected..thanks in advance
megatron007
post Jan 4 2008, 04:17 PM

4,000 posts

hi everyone

bump bump
belango
post Jan 4 2008, 04:17 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jan 2 2008, 05:44 PM)
Look in the OSX86 wiki

My suggestion :

Intel Pentium/Celeron or something that has SSE3

Intel 945 series board (that carries GMA 950 , and Intel sound) (see a couple of suggestions in OSX86 Wiki)

and then you are set.

I would suggest you to invest on a decent graphics card like 7300GT !
i think i stick to my V3000 first,...the last resort is the new PC
ssf1987
post Jan 5 2008, 12:23 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(sidewinderz @ Jan 2 2008, 06:21 AM)
i've tried re-installing 10.5.1 but it all fail at the blinking cursor...everything was perfect...but after re-installing and restarting, the "blinking cursor of death" appeared....

i've already read up on forums and tried using the method specified such as writing zero thingy in disk utility but it is still the same

the reason why i re-installed it is because i wanna make it dual boot with Vista and i've set MBR as the partition table of choice

before this, i was able to install it with the vanilla kernal but now it all semms impossible, i gotta use the cd to boot to the operating system....any help guys?
i am having the same problem too. You found the solution?
Bad Cyborg
post Jan 5 2008, 01:31 AM

828 posts

QUOTE(belango @ Jan 4 2008, 04:17 PM)
i think i stick to my V3000 first,...the last resort is the new PC
Your V3000 isn't going to work due to the Nvidia chipset used. If it'd only work I'd be all over the AU version of Presario instead of going with TU. I'm also a fan of AMD but it always come with incompatible chipset.
Hungry_Wolf
post Jan 5 2008, 03:17 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jan 4 2008, 02:48 PM)
anyway, amd also the same. If your amd is SSE2, then you probably will have trouble. SSE3 should not be a problem
my amd got sse3...but i just don know why it use 100% cpu resources all the time...ram not enough?
belango
post Jan 5 2008, 07:17 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Bad Cyborg @ Jan 5 2008, 01:31 AM)
Your V3000 isn't going to work due to the Nvidia chipset used. If it'd only work I'd be all over the AU version of Presario instead of going with TU. I'm also a fan of AMD but it always come with incompatible chipset.
sigh....
i think i go n get a new PC then,..
allvin
post Jan 5 2008, 07:31 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(belango @ Jan 5 2008, 07:17 PM)
sigh....
i think i go n get a new PC then,..
or why don't you get a mac? thumbup.gif whistling.gif
pigduck
post Jan 5 2008, 11:46 PM

422 posts

can i run the mac OS smoothly on this specs?

Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T5500 (1.66GHz, 2MB, 667MHz)
* 14.1" WXGA BrightView Technology
* Intel GMA950 128MB
* 1GB DDR2 Ram
* 120GB Hard Disk Drive
* DVD-RW Drive
* Built-In 5 in 1 Card Reader
* Built-In Wireless
* Built-In Bluetooth
* Windows Vista Home Basic Edition

I want to keep my Windows though and just install Mac... possible?

Bad Cyborg
post Jan 6 2008, 02:51 AM

828 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Jan 5 2008, 11:46 PM)
can i run the mac OS smoothly on this specs?

Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T5500 (1.66GHz, 2MB, 667MHz)
* 14.1" WXGA BrightView Technology
* Intel GMA950 128MB
* 1GB DDR2 Ram
* 120GB Hard Disk Drive
* DVD-RW Drive
* Built-In 5 in 1 Card Reader
* Built-In Wireless
* Built-In Bluetooth
* Windows Vista Home Basic Edition

I want to keep my Windows though and just install Mac... possible?
No to last question. You need to wipe the drive and partition one for NTFS and another for HFS+. So yes it's a hell of a project.

Which notebook is this? You need to specify EVERYTHING. "Built-in wireless" means nothing. And where's your Audio? You don't want audio output from OS X?

This post has been edited by Bad Cyborg: Jan 6 2008, 02:51 AM
belango
post Jan 6 2008, 10:52 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jan 5 2008, 07:31 PM)
or why don't you get a mac?  thumbup.gif  whistling.gif
i have a macbook, the GMA950 one, and a G4 mac mini....

but you know, to a certain degree, i just wonder, why did i spend a lot of money to get great machines (MAC) if i can have them with lower price...dont you think so?..
allvin
post Jan 6 2008, 02:21 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(belango @ Jan 6 2008, 10:52 AM)
i have a macbook, the GMA950 one, and a G4 mac mini....

but you know, to a certain degree, i just wonder, why did i spend a lot of money to get great machines (MAC) if i can have them with lower price...dont you think so?..
yea.. if you have the money, you can just clone yourself a "Mac Pro". Quite surprise that mac user want to build a hackintosh. Cos normally mac user dislike that idea, probably it is stereotype 1. whistling.gif

If you have the money, just buy a similar spec like the basic Mac Pro, minus the server processor la sweat.gif Get Core2duo and 7300GT. My ex boss build one himself. Running wildly in Leopard via EFI emulation. It only cost him roughly Rm2k for the CPU.
Hungry_Wolf
post Jan 6 2008, 03:57 PM

836 posts

for user who wanted to try Hackintosh, don't take msi board especially 945GCM-F v2 even though it use GMA950 but it can boot the dvd properly, might need u to patch the insallation dvd.
belango
post Jan 6 2008, 05:48 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jan 6 2008, 02:21 PM)
yea.. if you have the money, you can just clone yourself a "Mac Pro". Quite surprise that mac user want to build a hackintosh. Cos normally mac user dislike that idea, probably it is stereotype 1.   whistling.gif

If you have the money, just buy a similar spec like the basic Mac Pro, minus the server processor la sweat.gif Get Core2duo and 7300GT. My ex boss build one himself. Running wildly in Leopard via EFI emulation. It only cost him roughly Rm2k for the CPU.
hehe...i am an apple die hard fan,...but.., i also love to learn other new things . icon_rolleyes.gif
..btw, can you give the spec for you boss' new hackintosh?

This post has been edited by belango: Jan 6 2008, 05:50 PM

159 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:46 AM