149 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

intel thread, 2021 budget superpowah

hyperyouth_firepower
post Mar 24 2021, 07:37 AM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

Hey folks. Just asking. New owner of a "refurb" / "DFO" Dell, running an intel 10700 + 2070 Super.

I know the mobo and cpu is essentially non over-clockable (which is fine by me because I am looking for stability and reliability).

This one comes with 500w psu, but there's these talks about i7 10th gens suck up a lot of power, so is there anything I can do about it?

Or just don't do anything?

Context: I own a laptop since 2007, and another since 2014, so I have zero idea about desktop these days.

This post has been edited by hyperyouth_firepower: Mar 24 2021, 07:37 AM
terradrive
post Mar 24 2021, 08:42 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 24 2021, 01:08 AM)
Prime95 tests I've done with some chips I have on Noctua NH-C14S:

Ryzen 5800X - 135-141W hits 90C (depending on ambient temps)
Intel 3770K before delid - ~88W hits 90C, IIRC

Ivy Bridge until the 8700K all really demanded for delids to actually hit their true potential, since Intel ditched the solder they used for paste. They only added back solder with the 9900K and Comet Lake chips using the 10-core die.
hmm actually with my 8700k non-delid, it can run at 170W with dual tower cooler at 1100rpm single fan speed around 97C with ambient temp around 28C. If you have aircond at 18-20C then the temp will be below 90C on 170W. My case is an old cooler master case without those nice airflow too. My old non-delid 6600k at around 90W with Corsair H60 120mm AIO, max around 82C with 28C ambient temp. Both are infamous for having the inefficient tim.

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Mar 24 2021, 07:37 AM)
Hey folks. Just asking. New owner of a "refurb" / "DFO" Dell, running an intel 10700 + 2070 Super.

I know the mobo and cpu is essentially non over-clockable (which is fine by me because I am looking for stability and reliability).

This one comes with 500w psu, but there's these talks about i7 10th gens suck up a lot of power, so is there anything I can do about it?

Context: I own a laptop since 2007, and another since 2014, so I have zero idea about desktop these days.
Probably no need to do anything, because Dell would configure the BIOS of the motherboard to control the boost of the i7. IINM Linus bought one of those dell desktops and the intel chips ran at lower power most of the time.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Mar 24 2021, 08:44 AM
TristanX
post Mar 24 2021, 08:43 AM

Where is my stars?
24,331 posts

QUOTE(hyperyouth_firepower @ Mar 24 2021, 07:37 AM)

Just get watt meter. Idle wise, should be a lot less.

https://www.techpowerup.com/review/intel-co...-10700k/18.html

This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 24 2021, 08:43 AM
edmund_yung
post Mar 24 2021, 09:48 AM

1,198 posts

Prime95 tests I've done with some chips I have on Noctua NH-C14S:

Ryzen 5800X - 135-141W hits 90C (depending on ambient temps)
Intel 3770K before delid - ~88W hits 90C, IIRC
wow the C14S is such a monster! Thanks for the info because I'm using an older NH-C14, still wait and see to upgrade to 5800X when the price is right (RM1.6k) or change to Intel i7 F-series... Just that not sure which mITX mobo will fit the cooler.
cawan
post Mar 24 2021, 11:20 AM

404 posts

Price cut now for Intel 11th Gen CPU on AMAZON.

incuded TAX, delivery Malaysia on your door step.

not like previous, must go shop.. now online ready ...

https://www.amazon.com/Intel-i7-11700K-Desk...31&ts_id=229189
Bonchi
post Mar 24 2021, 11:44 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Mar 24 2021, 11:20 AM)

lazada already can buy lol.... from dotatech

They only added back solder with the 9900K and Comet Lake chips using the 10-core die.
actually cometlake did more than just using solder. They also made the die thinner.... sort of doing what those extreme overclockers do by lapping the die. So the thermals became alot better than 9th gen.

sadly my 10400F is the 2nd stepping and it uses paste instead of solder... but cinebench back to back never exceed 60C on my 120mm aio in a 32C room, i guess thats why intel think there's no need for it laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 24 2021, 11:49 AM
General_Nic
post Mar 24 2021, 12:55 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

my old 4690k with stock cooler around 60C on idle
now 5800x with custom waterloop also around 60C on idle sweat.gif
when turbo to 4.8ghz can reach 90C ohmy.gif
yimingwuzere
post Mar 24 2021, 12:56 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 24 2021, 08:42 AM)
hmm actually with my 8700k non-delid, it can run at 170W with dual tower cooler at 1100rpm single fan speed around 97C with ambient temp around 28C. If you have aircond at 18-20C then the temp will be below 90C on 170W. My case is an old cooler master case without those nice airflow too. My old non-delid 6600k at around 90W with Corsair H60 120mm AIO, max around 82C with 28C ambient temp. Both are infamous for having the inefficient tim.
Probably no need to do anything, because Dell would configure the BIOS of the motherboard to control the boost of the i7. IINM Linus bought one of those dell desktops and the intel chips ran at lower power most of the time.
I think part of the reason why I see those results was due to warm ambient temps + possibly degraded thermal paste under the IHS. At any rate, IIRC Ivy Bridge was significantly worse with thermals than Coffee Lake - not sure if 14nm just transfers heat better to the IHS vs 22nm, or if different thermal paste was used, etc.

This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Mar 24 2021, 12:59 PM
yimingwuzere
post Mar 24 2021, 12:59 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 24 2021, 11:44 AM)
lazada already can buy lol.... from dotatech
actually cometlake did more than just using solder. They also made the die thinner.... sort of doing what those extreme overclockers do by lapping the die. So the thermals became alot better than 9th gen.

sadly my 10400F is the 2nd stepping and it uses paste instead of solder... but cinebench back to back never exceed 60C on my 120mm aio in a 32C room, i guess thats why intel think there's no need for it laugh.gif
Comet Lake with thinner die and solder is only on the 10-core die IIRC, 6-core die uses paste. The 10-core die is only used with 10600K and some 10400 batches for hexacore CPUs.
Bonchi
post Mar 24 2021, 01:07 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 24 2021, 12:59 PM)
Comet Lake with thinner die and solder is only on the 10-core die IIRC, 6-core die uses paste. The 10-core die is only used with 10600K and some 10400 batches for hexacore CPUs.
Yeap correct. So im really really curious on the thermal performance of the 10core 10400F lol.
yimingwuzere
post Mar 24 2021, 01:21 PM

990 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 24 2021, 01:07 PM)
Yeap correct. So im really really curious on the thermal performance of the 10core 10400F lol.
Most of the review samples for 10400 non-F were based on the 10-core design.
Bonchi
post Mar 24 2021, 01:45 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 24 2021, 01:21 PM)
Most of the review samples for 10400 non-F were based on the 10-core design.
There's only one written review and they didnt mention which stepping. The only written review for 10400F is paste. But i suppose since the 10400 is already so cold... what is used dont matter at all.
edmund_yung
post Mar 24 2021, 04:05 PM

1,198 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Mar 24 2021, 11:20 AM)

Nice, can buy from them instead from local seller scalping GPU and insist on bundle.
TSSkylinestar
post Mar 24 2021, 07:38 PM

Mega Duck
10,467 posts

10900F going out of stock
cstkl1
post Mar 24 2021, 11:26 PM

6,799 posts

posted some teaser
terradrive
post Mar 25 2021, 12:24 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 24 2021, 11:26 PM)
posted some teaser
also under NDA haha
yimingwuzere
post Mar 25 2021, 01:36 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 24 2021, 01:45 PM)
There's only one written review and they didnt mention which stepping. The only written review for 10400F is paste. But i suppose since the 10400 is already so cold... what is used dont matter at all.
Most of them don't say, but their pictures/videos of the review unit tells you which stepping it is: https://www.techpowerup.com/267757/psa-ther...comes-with-stim
Bonchi
post Mar 25 2021, 02:36 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(yimingwuzere @ Mar 25 2021, 01:36 AM)
Most of them don't say, but their pictures/videos of the review unit tells you which stepping it is: https://www.techpowerup.com/267757/psa-ther...comes-with-stim
If that’s the case, I spent time zooming into images and pausing the videos to check the sku on their cpu B-rolls of each video....

both only written review by pcmag and techpowerup about the 10400 and 10400F are the 2nd stepping with paste.

Tech yes city, hardware unboxed, bitwit’s reviews are all 2nd stepping as well. Even the other 3 reviews that i can find on youtube are using the 2nd stepping.

Only the sohai gamer nexus got the 1st stepping but he didn’t show temps. Because he is busy talking about memory and bashing it.
adamtayy
post Mar 25 2021, 04:33 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Mar 25 2021, 02:36 AM)
If that’s the case, I spent time zooming into images and pausing the videos to check the sku on their cpu B-rolls of each video....

both only written review by pcmag and techpowerup about the 10400 and 10400F are the 2nd stepping with paste.

Tech yes city, hardware unboxed, bitwit’s reviews are all 2nd stepping as well. Even the other 3 reviews that i can find on youtube are using the 2nd stepping.

Only the sohai gamer nexus got the 1st stepping but he didn’t show temps. Because he is busy talking about memory and bashing it.
C2d e7500

C2d e8300

C2q q6700

Celeron 430

P3 866mhz (370)

P4 celeron (478)

P4 2.4 (478)

P4 3.0 (478)

dll..

yimingwuzere
post Mar 25 2021, 07:38 AM

990 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Mar 25 2021, 04:33 AM)
C2d e7500

C2d e8300

C2q q6700

Celeron 430

P3 866mhz (370)

P4 celeron (478)

P4 2.4 (478)

P4 3.0 (478)

dll..
If you're talking about stepping differences... 65nm Core2 shows a huge bump between launch steppings and the G0 one in both stock power consumption and max OC, where G0 is markedly better.

149 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0218sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:00 AM