15 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Jun 25 2021, 05:55 PM)
for this case. lets say you have:
company medical insurance 70k annual limit with no deductible
own medical insurance with 20k deductible
Note: Assuming 80k is the claimable portion

you can either:
Option A:
use company insurance to claim the 70k, then the balance 10k claim from your own medical insurance (20k deductible already borne by company medical insurance)

Option B:
you pay the hospital bill of 80k, then claim from own medical insurance 60k, the balance 20k claim from company insurance.

in this case, Option A is a better option to go for.

Scenario 2:
Hospital Bill: 30k (claimable)

you can claim this 30k bill fully from your company medical insurance. then on that policy year of your own medical insurance, the deductible of 20k is already exceeded (have to submit the 30k claim details to your own medical insurer), so whatever subsequent bill you can claim from your own medical insurance (for that policy year only). on the next policy year then the deductible will reset again. wink.gif
May I know the admission process for option A and B?

mini orchard
post Jun 25 2021, 10:42 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Jun 25 2021, 05:55 PM)
for this case. lets say you have:
Note: Assuming 80k is the claimable portion

you can either:
Option A:
use company insurance to claim the 70k, then the balance 10k claim from your own medical insurance (20k deductible already borne by company medical insurance)
1. Which insuere determines the total 80k claimable portion ? In reality does it work that way ? Or the insured have to settle the co claim b4 proceeding to submit the balance of unclaim to his own insurer ?

2. Can the insured submit the claim simultaneously to two insurer ?

Ewa Wa
post Jun 25 2021, 11:10 PM

685 posts

Based on my own claim experience, real case happening.

Total Hospital Bill: RM60K++ (6 days admission on accidental injury)

This client company group insurance (G company) 40K limit.

Admitted hospital 4 days bill came across RM38K++ so nervous and call me how? What to do? Not allow to discharge yet.

Solution is call to hospital GL department quickly discharged the bill on group medical insurance for these 4 days which was RM38K++.

Then re-admit with his personal/ private / own medical card (P company). Note his card with deductible amount of RM300 only. So the remaining RM12K was claimed on his own medical card with (P com).

Do note if any one of you keen in signing up a huge deductible amount of medical card check with the respective insurer whether is reimbursement basic or directly GL issue. Some is reimbursement some is GL. Reimbursement you may want to reconsider else self prepare some spare cash to settle the bill 1st.

Ewa Wa
post Jun 25 2021, 11:19 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 25 2021, 12:35 PM)
Seeking opinion on the need for early CI given the Premium is much higher than normal CI.

How often in real life that claims come from diseases apart from the main 36 diseases?
Early CI much easier to claim compare to the 36CI. That's the possible reason of higher premium.

This type of policy has 100-180 conditions from the 36 CI.

consider this scenario: 1 kidney total failure could proceed for early CI claim whereas 36 CI definition is 2 kidneys total failure only claimable. chances of claim is so high same as the premium.

This post has been edited by Ewa Wa: Jun 26 2021, 12:14 PM
lifebalance
post Jun 25 2021, 11:20 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Jun 25 2021, 05:08 PM)
No, that will complicate the matter, the hospital may not divide the bill as well.

However, assuming another scenario.
Company Card covers 50k
Personal Card covers 50k with 20k deductible.
Claim is 80k

You can claim the first 50k from the Company Card and subsequently the remaining 30k on the personal card (the 20k deductible is already borne by the Company Card).
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jun 25 2021, 10:42 PM)
1. Which insuere determines the total 80k claimable portion ? In reality does it work that way ? Or the insured have to settle the co claim b4 proceeding to submit the balance of unclaim to his own insurer ?

2. Can the insured submit the claim simultaneously to two insurer ?
1. Follow the answer I've given above.

2. No, you cannot raise the same claim with two different insurers. You need to claim with the first insurance company and if your medical expenses are more than the sum assured, then you can opt for reimbursement for the balance amount from the second insurance company.

If you've opted for deductible plans, you'll need to prepare some cash on hand to pay the difference first, then file for a reimbursement

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Jun 25 2021, 11:40 PM
Holocene
post Jun 26 2021, 09:13 AM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

It is prudent to also have an emergency fund set aside to complement your medical card.

Best,
Jiansheng
adele123
post Jun 26 2021, 09:27 AM

4,724 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jun 25 2021, 12:35 PM)
Seeking opinion on the need for early CI given the Premium is much higher than normal CI.

How often in real life that claims come from diseases apart from the main 36 diseases?
So the early CI, i dont have yet but will buy soon. I currently have the 36CI bought when i was fresh grad. The thing about the early CI is not the number of disease but it covers the less severe condition.

Most claims come from the top 4 or 5 CI, heart, stroke, cancer actually. So the 36 itself is also over. Early CI is more for this purpose. Example if stage 0/1 cancer, it does not fulfill the 36 CI punya definition, so cant claim. But buy early CI, then can claim.

I generally will recommend friends and family to get early CI but it is more expensive, but the occurence rate is higher. Just have to budget accordingly.

This post has been edited by adele123: Jun 26 2021, 09:28 AM
ping325
post Jun 26 2021, 03:02 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jun 26 2021, 09:27 AM)
So the early CI, i dont have yet but will buy soon. I currently have the 36CI bought when i was fresh grad. The thing about the early CI is not the number of disease but it covers the less severe condition.

Most claims come from the top 4 or 5 CI, heart, stroke, cancer actually. So the 36 itself is also over. Early CI is more for this purpose. Example if stage 0/1 cancer, it does not fulfill the 36 CI punya definition, so cant claim. But buy early CI, then can claim.

I generally will recommend friends and family to get early CI but it is more expensive, but the occurence rate is higher. Just have to budget accordingly.
yes you are right , budget is always the major concern. Regarding CI , there are plenty of different combination package which many customer are not aware of.

You may google the following for self reading :
Prudential Total Multi Crisis Care ( TMCC ) - most exp CI rider from prudential
Prudential Crisis Guard / Crisis Care - those who want CI rider but cheaper option
Prudential Cancer X - standalone CI for cancer only but only can renew on 10 years basis
Then still got others riders like Multi Crisis Care , Early Crisis Care and so .....

Other insurance company have their own CI package as well but different naming...
What i can say is more and more CI coverage is there to suits different type of clients
Most importantly is get to know each of the CI differences and make your best decision icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ping325: Jun 26 2021, 03:06 PM
onthefly
post Jun 26 2021, 06:38 PM

1,315 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ Jun 25 2021, 11:45 AM)

Not really sure how to see this but seem like this fund is severely under perform. -66% different since inception.
how to address this.
More to investment subject but since fund is from Life insurance.
Anybody got a lay man explaning for this note below ? Gotten from
https://www.hla.com.my/CMS/CMSPages/GetFile...AB-62309E737D92

Note: With effect from 14 August 2019, the fund no longer has any exposure to the CIMB EverGreen Index. Moving forward, the unit price of the fund is expected to behave like a synthetic zero coupon bond portfolio. As such, the performance of fund is no longer dependent on the index but instead on the movement of MYR interest rates

so can i say that this evergreen now tracks the MYR interest rate which currently at 1.75%
https://tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/interest-rate

so performance would not be good for year 2020 onwards..
MUM
post Jun 26 2021, 07:15 PM

14,863 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ Jun 26 2021, 06:38 PM)
More to investment subject but since fund is from Life insurance.
Anybody.................
so can i say that this evergreen now tracks the MYR interest rate which currently at 1.75%
https://tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/interest-rate

so performance would not be good for year 2020 onwards..
Jfi, I saw many unit trust funds had been beating its benchmark,..... As a simple example of local fund house,.. ,.. Try check out public murual funds.
Benchmark can be ser too low in relation to the risk reward of a fund.
KamisF
post Jun 26 2021, 11:42 PM

178 posts

Hi guys, why when we want to apply from insurance, most of the time have to trust
what agent say by mouth only before apply,

why cant we get/read the full policy TNC (policy book) before we apply?

This post has been edited by KamisF: Jun 26 2021, 11:42 PM
MUM
post Jun 26 2021, 11:46 PM

14,863 posts

buyer are given .....
Free look period
A period of time (usually 15 days) during which a policyholder may examine a newly issued individual life or health insurance, and surrender it in exchange for a full refund of premium less expenses incurred for the medical examination of the life policyholder, if not satisfied for any reason.

https://www.google.com/search?q=free+look+p...Q4dUDCA4&uact=5

lifebalance
post Jun 27 2021, 12:15 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(KamisF @ Jun 26 2021, 11:42 PM)
Hi guys, why when we want to apply from insurance, most of the time have to trust

You may refer to the product brochure available on the insurance company website

Alternatively if a proposal is made by the agent, you can view the summary of the product disclosure and sales illustration.

However for the full policy tnc its not available until you've purchase the policy. However most of the important information that you need to know on what your policy covers are already available within the product disclosure sheet.
ping325
post Jun 27 2021, 12:56 AM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

1. get the agent to give you a official quotation with proposal, official pdf from insurance company , not those agent self generated excel or word file
*inside is already list out all details & quite comprehensive on what you will get before you decide to enroll and pay for it

2. Can cancel anytime within 15 days after you received your policy contract
*Malaysia insurance free look period law , full refund , no question ask rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ping325: Jun 27 2021, 12:57 AM
KamisF
post Jun 27 2021, 08:03 AM

178 posts

Sometimes the product brochure doesnt provide enough information that i want, mostly they write all the good stuff,

i am aware of the free look period but i find it a hassle to apply, after that only read the full TNC from the policy book where i will i find something that im not happy with, then i have to go through the cancellation process which require me to post back the policy book.

the agent also withhelding important information when im asking questions which make me misunderstood the policy the first place.

For example the pruBSN Warisan Plus Hibah policy,

my current age is 30,
the plan is Rm 150/month for 750k coverage for death and TPD until the age of 50 with auto extension to age of 70/100.

i asked the agent is there any situation where the monthly payment would increase?

the agent informed me hibah is not like medical card where the monthly payment can change due to rise of medical cost, the payment would be the same for 150/month up to age of 50 with auto extension to age 70/100 which makes me think its a good policy.

what she didnt tell me, before the auto extension i may be subjected to medical checkup at the age of 50, and the monthly installment for age 50 - 70 would increase based on the new age and new medical condition that they may found which could result in a very high monthly commitment and encouraging me to drop the policy at age 50.

if i could read all the TNC before applying,
it would be less a hassle for me than going through the policy cancellation process within a very short period.
MUM
post Jun 27 2021, 08:44 AM

14,863 posts

hmm.gif

source
https://www.prubsn.com.my/export/sites/prud...Brochure-BM.pdf

tyenfei
post Jun 27 2021, 10:14 AM

A Ku La Ma Tata
2,230 posts

Most important get the "official quotation"
Which is PDF generated with agent's full name & agent code.

Many buyers telling me this & that agent give better quote, cheaper premium.
When I request quotation to compare they will just show WhatsApp msg or screenshot of paper presentation.

Some of my friends policy agent name not even under the "agent" serving them.
But this "agent" is the one who explained everything and do the plan signup.

You tell me is it the right way to sign policy contract? hmm.... Financial Service Act 2013 got the answer.
Hopefully nothing wrong happened in between .... or in future.

Once you have the official quote, you can check the plan name brochure from website.
Get other agents to review.

** The free look period. Not every company 15 days. Some 14 days.
So don't ask for refund last day last minute ya.

lifebalance
post Jun 27 2021, 10:28 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(KamisF @ Jun 27 2021, 08:03 AM)
Sometimes the product brochure doesnt provide enough information that i want, mostly they write all the good stuff,

i am aware of the free look period but i find it a hassle to apply, after that only read the full TNC from the policy book where i will i find something that im not happy with, then i have to go through the cancellation process which require me to post back the policy book.

the agent also withhelding important information when im asking questions which make me misunderstood the policy the first place.

For example the pruBSN Warisan Plus Hibah policy,

my current age is 30,
the plan is Rm 150/month for 750k coverage for death and TPD until the age of 50 with auto extension to age of 70/100.

i asked the agent is there any situation where the monthly payment would increase?

the agent informed me hibah is not like medical card where the monthly payment can change due to rise of medical cost, the payment would be the same for 150/month up to age of 50 with auto extension to age 70/100 which makes me think its a good policy.

what she didnt tell me, before the auto extension i may be subjected to medical checkup at the age of 50, and the monthly installment for age 50 - 70 would increase based on the new age and new medical condition that they may found which could result in a very high monthly commitment and encouraging me to drop the policy at age 50.

it would be less a hassle for me than going through the policy cancellation process within a very short period.
As MUM pointed out from the brochure, it's stated within it, probably you've missed out.

CODE

The statement above given by the agent is not true rolleyes.gif

CODE

Hence that's the reason why you should do a proper planning earlier instead of just opting for a lower expiry age because of "cheap premium".

CODE

Unfortunately the policy is also the contract between you and the insurance company thus the amount payable / types of benefit / IC / Nomination (Hibah) / Executor (Wasi) are different for each policy. They can't just "give it to you" if you're not their customer.

With that being said, if you find the agent you're engaging is incompetent/not professional, feel free to look around elsewhere.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Jun 27 2021, 10:33 AM
KamisF
post Jun 27 2021, 11:05 AM

178 posts

thanks for all of you guys input,
i requested for the full quotation from the agent,

dealing with agents who withheld/give wrong information makes me more confused with the policy.

Justaflower P
post Jun 27 2021, 09:42 PM

Probation

Hello to all the sifus here. I was wondering what amount of PA coverage is considered decent / how do you all determine your PA insurance amount?

My existing agent (AIA) , keeps pushing the RM1mil coverage one, which I think is a bit too much and personally looking at the RM500k or even RM300k one.

383 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:33 PM