7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

ping325
post Feb 26 2021, 10:08 AM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Feb 26 2021, 09:50 AM)
Hi, currently my wife is having second baby. Want to ask what is the best value insurance to buy for the baby?
Nowadays baby insurance are quite common and package may not differ much in my opinion.
Maybe you can get quotation and compare with few insurer first ?
Prudential & GE have it , but im not sure about AIA & Alianz.

based on my experience , suggest you to consider pre-born baby insurance somewhere between 18 weeks - 30 weeks
pre-born baby insurance for prudential submission steps is much more tedious compare after born
you must chase your doctor for the complete gynae report and got time frame limit for submission to avoid reject.
both mummy and baby have to be completely healthy as well.

one of the common case why rejected is due to mummy have pregnancy glucose issue , and need to wait until born only allow purchase.
most most common & worthy claim for pre-born policy is baby jaundice photo-therapy after born brows.gif

If you need more info just google PRUMy Child Plus & Infant Care Plus
For infant care plus , the younger the mummy , the insurance cost is cheaper.

This post has been edited by ping325: Feb 26 2021, 10:51 AM
ping325
post Feb 26 2021, 12:26 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Feb 26 2021, 12:06 PM)
Should I buy now or wait after deliver?
this is very subjective , because me myself just had my first baby, now he is two month old
i purchase after born , because mummy got some issue on glucose side which get rejected

my baby born healthy at sunway hospital , except with high jaundice [baby yellow] , the photo-theraphy caused me 1k burned
if i did purchase during pre-born , i can saved money on this phto-theraphy and this is just ONE of many of the coverage stated

maybe i explain two scenario below :
Assume Ahmad child born on september 2021
Assume Ahmad plan to purchase life insurance of RM100 per month for his baby with standard coverage [ life , medical card , accident .... ]

Scenario 1
Ahmad purchase insurance now for his baby inside stomach
march 2021 he need to start paying already
RM100 for march , april , may , june , july , august = RM 600
on top of that he need to purchase a rider [ addon ] to cover risk during pregnancy - infant care plus
Lets assume one time payment of RM800 [ this cost is depend on mummy age , the younger the cheaper ]
which mean he paid extra RM 600 + RM800 compare to scenario 2
the good things is he have piece of mind basically your baby is insured if anything happen;
most of the complication area already covered quite comprehensive, even after born still insured because you purchase pre-born
on top of that , the rm100 life he paid means standard life benefit coverage for his baby is secured after born as well

Scenario 2
Ahmad purchase insurance after baby born
He only start paying on september onwards RM100
He saved RM 1400 compare to scenario 1 , this money can buy baby accessorises already rclxms.gif
however , if complication happens before or after birth , then he need to take the risk
which is bear all the medical fees or send to government hospital
if nothing happen of course this scenario saved him RM1400
*take note that he no longer can purchase infant care plus add on after baby born*

other sifu may add on your advise? of course purchase during pre-born is better , but also it costs more
how to assess or how much you willing to take the risk is really up to your budget

the true purpose of life insurance is to buy during healthy and claim when not healthy.
if baby something happens during pregnancy or after born , its very hard to purchase insurance anymore

This post has been edited by ping325: Feb 26 2021, 06:31 PM
ping325
post Feb 26 2021, 01:17 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 26 2021, 01:05 PM)
In my perspective on your assessment, you did not bring up the other benefits that will come along with the policy besides the pregnancy benefit.

The baby will essentially be getting the following benefits @ RM188*
1. Infant Care Plus
2. Essential Child Plus
3. PRU value med
4. Acci Guard Plus
5. Acci Med Plus
6. Payor Basic & Saver
7. Parent Payor Basic & Saver
8. PRU saver kid

If you're purely assessing that paying RM200 monthly for X amount of months result in no claim on pregnancy complication, a layman would view it as an absurd amount to pay vs the benefit that it's getting from just one benefit (Infant Care Plus).

However, you're not giving the full picture on what you've describe to the questioner.

Then again, getting the insurance for the pre-born is just in-case the baby is born with any complication or health condition which may render it unable to get covered in the future if they're born with congenital defects. But if saving RMx amount could be trade off for the peace of mind that you need to pay for hefty long term medical bills in the long term, it's up to the person to think and decide if it's worth it.
thanks for the heads up , a bit long to write in my earlier post doh.gif
yeah , forgot to mention life benefit for that baby on top of pregnancy risk
he still get medical card , accident , child illness coverage , payor etc
i checked again from system it can be RM38 up to few hundred depend on coverage choosen.
ping325
post Mar 1 2021, 12:12 AM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(fast_coder @ Feb 28 2021, 11:20 PM)
Have just done a self-review on the policies bought and there is particularly one that I think needs to be updated and would appreciate it if fellow sifus can shed some light on this.

I currently pay 7.4k per year for a participating policy (Allianz PowerLife) with the coverage of Life 250k, TPD 250k, Critical Illness 150k.
I am now considering surrendering this and replace it with term insurance with higher coverage. I am now more inclined towards a term policy as I am looking purely for protection purposes.

Comments?
hi fast_coder, maybe you can give more info ?
current age & how long you want for this term period ? 10 years ? 20 years ?

why not perform editing on your current policy by adding coverage & reduce sustainability to lowest ?
instead of purchasing a new policy all over again

This post has been edited by ping325: Mar 1 2021, 12:27 AM
ping325
post Mar 1 2021, 09:18 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(james.6831 @ Mar 1 2021, 02:44 PM)
I'm 33..paying about 350/month for 160k life insurance, 500k annual limit for medical, 150k critical illness and 300k accident p.a dunno wat...
is that normal? average?
what age is your sustainability ? i mean policy maturity

for example im 33 as well , but my need are totally different with yours
i dont mind go government hospital , so i only have average life , accident but heavily covered on critical illness as income replacement.
i do not have any medical card , therefore the chances of my policy getting repricing also very rare.

This post has been edited by ping325: Mar 1 2021, 09:22 PM
ping325
post Mar 4 2021, 12:20 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(Ewa Wa @ Mar 4 2021, 09:54 AM)
Just wondering, selling medical card but didn’t buy medical card?  hmm.gif
Hi ewa , case to case basis , my needs are totally different.
I mean if im in tight budget and still want to reduce risk ;
for the same amount of budget , i will give up the medical card portion for something else
which is life or critical illness , and lower down the sustainability to 60.
i will add on life booster for 20 years term

Why ? it is because im 33 now , have a 2 months old kids and a wife
both wife and kids is dependent on me heavily and the highest risk is within this coming 20 years

After 20 years , my kids already grown up and become self dependent
If nothing happen to me , then i will adjust my policy again at 50-60 age , add medical card , increase sustainability and so on

My first priority are my child and wife , both of them are dependent on me.
If illness happen to me but not died, i would need to claim for income replacement first [ as maximum as possible ]
If died , at least life claim is sufficient for them , because i add booster and reduce sustainability to max out the payout as high as possible.
For treatment wise , i don't mind go government hospital to save the cost.

If im single now and nothing to worry , for the same amount of budget , for sure i will buy medical card with millions of limit.

This post has been edited by ping325: Mar 4 2021, 12:22 PM
ping325
post Mar 5 2021, 03:52 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

for those who are filling income tax ; saw this clause

[max 3000] for life insurance , only can claim on self purchase
[max 3000] for medical + education , can claim on self , husband/wife and also child

for education i realise if agent : [let's say quoting a normal ILP for a child]
quote 230 and mark up 250 , the extra 20 savings will not put under education statement
quote 230 and put 20 under savor kids , then the 20 will be shown under education statement

other sifu may correct me if im wrong rclxms.gif
my case is apply for prudential , others insurer im not sure

This post has been edited by ping325: Mar 5 2021, 04:12 PM
ping325
post Mar 7 2021, 12:47 AM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 7 2021, 12:07 AM)
My 10 years MLTA going to expiring soon, still have hefty amount of housing loan, was thinking shall I renew MLTA or just online purchase term life insurance will do? Objective is to spend minimum premium while maintaining the house for elderly parents with zero income and no EPF.
Except term life insurance ,still have one more called MRTT which I’m currently using , quite flexible and able to get back money if u surrender the insurance halfway.
ping325
post Mar 9 2021, 12:33 AM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(daidragon12 @ Mar 8 2021, 07:10 PM)

Any prudential expert here?

My bro claim was rejected on the basis he was not admitted to gov hosp, but to quarantine centre. It is not his choice where he was sent to.

Any way can appeal this case? Pretty disappointed of this rule and he never claim anythg in the past 7 years oso.

Recently i was admitted because of back pain during lifting heavy object and the claim was denied too. I got all the relevent docs from the hosp. In my 9 years of paying the premium, the only thing i claimed was dengue fever which costed me RM600.
hi daidragon12 yes you may appeal , as i seen client appeal when they get rejected. Some get back compensation some appeal rejected.
No harm try to appeal first and see what they say. Directly email customer.mys@prudential.com.my by providing all details and supporting documents.

At the same time , try check with you servicing see whether he can help thru agency manager , to speed up the appeal process.

This post has been edited by ping325: Mar 9 2021, 12:34 AM
ping325
post Mar 17 2021, 09:48 AM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Mar 17 2021, 09:35 AM)
Thanks for the information; in fact my memory served me wrong, there's no such thing as guarantee returns after reviewing the policy again.

Unfortunately, with this high premium I am paying for Allianz insurances (8 premiums for 4 persons!) but getting horrible returns is something I want to get rid of.

Thanks again.
yes , nothing is guaranteed for investment linked funds , the funds might get losses sometimes.
but you have the flexibility to switch the fund anytime , you may refer to few years history of different funds and make your decision.
this url should be able to help you https://www.allianz.com.my/fund-factsheets
Word of advice : high risk high return icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ping325: Mar 17 2021, 10:32 AM
ping325
post Mar 18 2021, 02:06 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(mycolumn @ Mar 18 2021, 01:09 PM)
Hi, I wanna ask, for e-medical card, how do i go about this? Let's say need hospitalization; I just tell the hospital that I have insurance? Or do I need to print my e-medical card and keep it with me always?

This is for Prudential.
nowadays everything stored in database , just flash your NRIC will do , do note that cashless for prudential got waiting period.
if you already purchase for very long time then it works cashless, at least one year onwards to be safe.
if you just purchase and want to use within few months , hospital might ask for pay first , claim later from prudential basis.

Btw , you can download pulse and link your policy for your convenience.
Sample of one of my client as below :

This post has been edited by ping325: Mar 18 2021, 02:13 PM
ping325
post Mar 23 2021, 10:46 AM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Mar 23 2021, 10:13 AM)
Thanks!!
Hi ragk Another forummer, his aia agent told him not possible to reduce or remove , which is totally not true.
If your agent behave this way , you can just bypass him & directly email or contact HQ instead.
Some bad agent reluctant or find excuse not to do this as it affect his commission.

This post has been edited by ping325: Mar 23 2021, 10:48 AM
ping325
post Mar 23 2021, 04:04 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Mar 23 2021, 03:19 PM)
Through the provided linked i found my plan
https://www.aia.com.my/content/dam/my/en/do...ct-brochure.pdf
So my main plan doesn't cover critical illness... If that's the case im fine to maintain my CriticalReset plan...
Thanks  tongue.gif 

Just out of curiosity, im non-smoker, never admitted to hospital b4, bought my plan at 30 age
the example cost in the brochure is way cheaper than mine (30 y/o 15.8k vs 40 y/o 9k), what cause the huge different here? Because my plan cover to 80 y/o?
ya same with others that point out , seems you not sure what you had bought.
try to check coverage , sustainability/maturity , if got time best read the policy document although it is long.
hope your servicing agent can explain to you as detail as possible.
its better for you to understand it earlier rather than wait until paid for 10-20 years then only regretted.

ping325
post Mar 30 2021, 03:11 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Mar 30 2021, 02:33 PM)
After my mum's Prudential ILP, now my turn to receive the same news

4.5% increase bangwall.gif ranting.gif

If I wanted to convert to deductible to lower the premium. Do I have to declare if I have any pre-existing medical condition again?

Example, say I bought this in 2007 and I have appendix removal operation in 2011?
Yeah , this year heavily repricing , my own policy increase around 15% doh.gif

Normally during repricing , it will not ask you to submit any medical documents.
However when you perform policy editing / endorsement prior to this repricing then is different story.
If prudential require you to submit supporting documents , just follow what it needs.
If straight away approved mean endorsement completed and will continue in force.

This post has been edited by ping325: Mar 30 2021, 03:13 PM
ping325
post Mar 31 2021, 01:54 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 31 2021, 10:35 AM)
hi allianz agent, what would be the surcharge for monthly/quarterly/half-yearly payment?
I don't think have surcharge , perhaps you can wait Alianz agent reply first
However , certain policy do have discount if you choose to pay by annually instead of monthly. [ For Prudential ]
ping325
post Apr 11 2021, 03:01 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Apr 11 2021, 12:46 AM)
To any Prudential agent

Does Prudential branches accepts premium payment by walk-in using credit card?
Yes , however some smaller branch may not have the terminal. Suggest you to call customer service hotline first before go
ping325
post Apr 20 2021, 12:44 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(CrispK44 @ Apr 20 2021, 12:35 PM)
Hi MUM, understood. Thanks for your input.
Hi lifebalance, you're right. That's why I'm quite hesitant. I was thinking maybe like 10-15 years down the road I might want to upgrade my med card as my career progresses.

I actually asked if I can lower the Life/TPD and CI, but the agent said that 100k is standard because you never know when you will die (lol), and it will be more expensive to upgrade in the future if I choose for example 50k. Do you recommend lowering the annual limit as well?
CrispK44 It is advisable to put 100k , why ?
try to get the agent to quote you 50k, 80k and 100k , the price should be not much difference, due to 100k coverage got discount.
This is for prudential , im not sure about AIA / GE / Alianz thou....

This post has been edited by ping325: Apr 20 2021, 12:49 PM
ping325
post Apr 22 2021, 12:29 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(kangwoo @ Apr 22 2021, 01:59 AM)
would like to know 1 agent can become agent for 2 different companies?
For life insurance cannot , he cannot sell AIA / Prudential at the same time.
only can choose 1 at a time , he can sell AIA now but later on resign and switch to Great Eastern.

This post has been edited by ping325: Apr 22 2021, 12:30 PM
ping325
post Apr 30 2021, 12:41 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(jianwei90 @ Apr 28 2021, 07:49 PM)
hi, i am trying to my prudential insurance online but failed to do so with error message: Advance Premium Payment is not allowed

I suspect my policy type is policy with Advance premium due date.

Does anyone know what is Policy with Advance premium due date?
hi jianwei90 for prudential payment online thru pruaccess or prudential.com.my . Advance premium is totally not allowed by system.
For example the screenshot below , if the premium due date is 1st May 2021 , and you want to make payment on 30 April . it is blocked by the system.
You need to wait until 1st May ONWARDS then only you can allow to tick the policy and make payment. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

And one more important information is , for example lets say touchngo give Rm50 rebate for those to make policy payment online.
If you already sign up for credit card auto debit , you are not allow to pay using e-wallet , it is automatically blocked.
If you really insists want to pay using e-wallet , you need to request to convert your policy payment method to manual first.

This post has been edited by ping325: Apr 30 2021, 01:27 PM
ping325
post Apr 30 2021, 02:26 PM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

QUOTE(sching @ Apr 28 2021, 09:09 PM)
Hi, planning to increase my medical insurance coverage as currently my old plan only has 50k annual limit.
My agent advised to directly buy a new policy as he calculated it would be more worth compared to upgrade as will be cheaper and more comprehensive coverage. However, I will need to maintain the old policy for one year and at the same time pay for the new policy.
It doesn't sound fair to existing customer. Any idea how can we go about this?
Hi sching Its gonna be a long post if want to explain in details using word.
I suggest you can research by google [ ROP insurance malaysia / replacement of policies malaysia ]

QUOTE(sching @ Apr 28 2021, 09:20 PM)
Prudential from PruFlexi Med > Prumillion Med
QUOTE(sching @ Apr 29 2021, 02:25 PM)
The reason my agent mentioned is that it would cost higher for an upgrade compared to getting a new policy and also the old policy did not allow for newer features like comprehensive CI. The upgrade for medical part makes the final premium higher compared to new policy. Thus, he suggested a new policy. So does that mean I have to choose between a more expensive upgrade or a direct new policy (along with the cost of maintaining 2 policies and paying commission again for 6 years)? My old policy is already >7 years.
Hmm....i dont think this is true , try to ask your agent to display the upgrade vs purchase new , the ipad calculation screen right in front of you.
So that you can 100% make sure what he say is true.

However based on my past experience , which i just done for my client two months ago , upgrading medical card from old card to new card [ old prudential policy purchase 10 years ago ] is much more cheaper compare with purchasing a brand new policy that have the same coverage + add that card.

What i mean is for example ALI is paying RM150 per month currently , after upgrade his medical card , the quotation system shows he need to top up another RM50 , therefore ALI have to start paying RM200 after upgrade.

If he don't upgrade and choose to purchase a brand new card + the exact same benefit which he is currently paying RM150.
I strongly believe this brand new policy package is more expensive. You need to watch the agent generate this two quotation in front of you.
*the above is just an assumption & actual difference may need to refer respective insurer quotation system*

QUOTE(sching @ Apr 29 2021, 05:47 PM)
this is what exactly my agent told me.
Maybe what he meant was it is possible to upgrade but then the upgrade would cost more than the new policy.

Also, I took a look at my insurance schedule/table and noted that at the end of policy year 30, I would have zero value in my cash surrender account (due to increasing insurance charges). Does it mean that on year 31 onwards, I will need to pay for a higher premium? Is it normal for all policy or is it only for my specific plan? Sorry for the noob questions as I am still learning.
For this part try to search back thread with keyword 'repricing / re-pricing' ;
when we purchase an insurance policy lets say RM200 in the beginning , the chances of it getting repricing in the future is very common.
how much and how often is really depend on a lot of factor such as medical bills rate , inflation... and so on....

UNLESS , there are some specific policy that mention ' GUARANTEED INSURANCE CHARGES' then its a different story ,
but these type of policy generally very expensive in the beginning already.

This post has been edited by ping325: Apr 30 2021, 02:37 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2764sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:59 PM