381 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

lifebalance
post May 15 2021, 10:14 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(Ching Aik @ May 15 2021, 10:11 AM)
Hi all,

Below is my current plan, used to be monthly RM240 on PRULink Assurance Plan.
Then agent advised me change to RM100 on PRULink Assurance Plan, and RM140 on PRUWith You. (Current)
Now agent advise me cancel PRULink Assurance Plan, and total RM240 on PRUWith You instead.
Should I go for it or there's something going on? Thank you.

PRULink Assurance Plan | RM100
Benefit Description - Benefit Purchased
PRUWith You - MYR 10,000.00
Payor Basic - MYR 1,680.00
PRUMillion Med - MYR 250.00 (Room & Board)
PRUMillion Med - Med Saver MYR 300.00
PRUWith You (TPD) - MYR 10,000.00

PRUWith You | RM140
Benefit Description - Benefit Purchased
PRULink Assurance Plan - MYR 80,000.00
Accident Medical Reimbursement - MYR 2,000.00
Accidental Death & Disablement - MYR 80,000.00
Crisis Shield Benefit - MYR 80,000.00
Enhanced PRUPayor Basic - MYR 1,200.00
Hospital Benefit - MYR 200.00 per day
PRUDisability Provider - MYR 8,000.00 per annum
I don't know what's the purpose of your agent doing so. What's the justification?
Cyclopes
post May 15 2021, 10:20 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(1234_4321 @ May 15 2021, 09:38 AM)
Hello All, I have an old medical card policy with ING and later acquired by AIA. The annual limit is 100k and lifetime limit is 300k, which is very outdated as most of the policy nowadays is with unlimited limited (told by the agent)

Still considering the change within AIA or other insurance company, but may I know the switch over is usually to
1. terminate the old policy, and subscribe with the new policy and waiting period (120 days) applies.
OR
2. is there any possible way to switch over to new policy without any waiting period?
AIA do upgrade holders of earlier policy/product. Reach out to your agent again, he would be able to guide you.
Ching Aik
post May 15 2021, 10:23 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 15 2021, 10:14 AM)
I don't know what's the purpose of your agent doing so. What's the justification?
Hi lifebalance, thanks for reply.

Sorry I edited the post, benefit was reversed.
She says old plan is oudated, with this can help me change coverage from 36 critical illness to 160 critical illness.

Some of my friend inform to never cancel old policy, so I'm hesitating.

This post has been edited by Ching Aik: May 15 2021, 10:25 AM
lifebalance
post May 15 2021, 10:27 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Ching Aik @ May 15 2021, 10:23 AM)
Hi lifebalance, thanks for reply.

Sorry I edited the post, benefit was reversed.
She says old plan is oudated, with this can help me change coverage from 36 critical illness to 160 critical illness.

Some of my friend inform to never cancel old policy, so I'm hesitating.
Why not just add on with the current PruWithYou since it's already there, you're just topping up for the 160 CI no?

Just remove the 36CI from the old policy.
Ching Aik
post May 15 2021, 10:32 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 15 2021, 10:27 AM)
Why not just add on with the current PruWithYou since it's already there, you're just topping up for the 160 CI no?

Just remove the 36CI from the old policy.
There's no topping up, monthly commitment remain the same RM240.

She says Death/TPD/Accidental Death/Critical illness payout is same, just that it increase coverage from 36 to 160 CI.
From paper it looks benefit?

But many tell not to cancel old policy as they're always best value and investing to new one agent take large portion of commission or some sort.
So I'm hesitating if to go for it, or there's other opinion? Thanks.
lifebalance
post May 15 2021, 10:38 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Ching Aik @ May 15 2021, 10:32 AM)
There's no topping up, monthly commitment remain the same RM240.

She says Death/TPD/Accidental Death/Critical illness payout is same, just that it increase coverage from 36 to 160 CI.
From paper it looks benefit?

But many tell not to cancel old policy as they're always best value and investing to new one agent take large portion of commission or some sort.
So I'm hesitating if to go for it, or there's other opinion? Thanks.
tongue.gif When you add-on something, do you possibly think it'll be at no-extra-cost? An Early/Multi CI coverage cost of insurance will be more expensive than the normal end-stage CI. You'll probably sacrifice your term of coverage to a shorter tenure but your agent context to tell you is "at no extra cost" - is somewhat half true.

Then as I've mentioned, if you don't wish to cancel your old policy but at the same time you'd like to enhance the coverage of your CI.

Best for you to upgrade on the existing PruWithYou and see how much additional you'll need to pay.
Th3D3vil
post May 15 2021, 10:21 PM

51 posts

Looking for term life insurance, coverage 500k.

Came across PB WealthElite 3, hence did some comparison among other players such as Axa/ AIA/ FWD / Takaful & FI

Traditionally TL has no value in term of return but as compare to PB WE3, it states as below

Reap the rewards of your plan with 100% of your account value at maturity.
You will receive an additional 20% of your account value as a Longevity Bonus

Would want to see feedback from those who have sign up for this product and understand whether it's worth the $ spend

Welcome feedback and suggestion

lifebalance
post May 15 2021, 10:30 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Th3D3vil @ May 15 2021, 10:21 PM)

Came across PB WealthElite 3, hence did some comparison among other players such as Axa/ AIA/ FWD / Takaful & FI

Traditionally TL has no  value in term of return but as compare to PB WE3, it states as below

Would want to see feedback from those who have sign up for this product and understand whether it's worth the $ spend

This is a repackaged A Life Wealth Builder. Essentially PB is partnered with AIA to sell their insurance under the bank.

Again, it goes back to what are you looking to cover and what makes you thought about this.
Cyclopes
post May 15 2021, 11:15 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(Th3D3vil @ May 15 2021, 10:21 PM)

Traditionally TL has no  value in term of return but as compare to PB WE3, it states as below

It is a Investment Linked product. Thus it expires with maturity benefits (eg. account value, if any).

This post has been edited by Cyclopes: May 15 2021, 11:27 PM
1234_4321
post May 16 2021, 10:30 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ May 15 2021, 09:52 AM)
Keep that old policy n Buy a new policy with deductible?
Will it be more cost effective?
Thinking if paying 1 plan will be cheaper than 2..

QUOTE(Cyclopes @ May 15 2021, 10:20 AM)
AIA do upgrade holders of earlier policy/product.  Reach out to your agent again, he would be able to guide you.
It is some stranger as my friend who sold me the insurance plan kena goreng d..
Ok will approach the agent and ask for recommendation..

QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 15 2021, 10:12 AM)
1. There will be a new waiting period of 120 days, I believe what you have is Excel Care.

2. Not likely.
Okay, then have to manage this 120 waiting period carefully...
Yeap, it's excel care.. it is so ol biggrin.gif d and long ago and I cant recall the name until you mentioned it..
gooroojee
post May 16 2021, 11:51 PM

LowYee
2,187 posts

QUOTE(1234_4321 @ May 16 2021, 10:44 PM)
Okay, then have to manage this 120 waiting period carefully...
Yeap, it's excel care.. it is so ol biggrin.gif d and long ago and I cant recall the name until you mentioned it..
Mine also Excel Care but I missed an offer to upgrade few years back and since then my agent said I can't upgrade any more.. I think medical only limit up to 70 and old coverage..
MUM
post May 17 2021, 07:33 AM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(1234_4321 @ May 16 2021, 10:30 PM)
Will it be more cost effective?
Thinking if paying 1 plan will be cheaper than 2..
If you are really concern of cost effectiveness... Do beware of the "waiting period" & the contestable period of new plan too.
For more cost effectiveness... Go aim for govt hospital...
gooroojee
post May 17 2021, 03:46 PM

LowYee
2,187 posts

Sifus, my agent told me my old policies all cannot upgrade or increase sum insured or change coverage already... So I must buy a new policy.

I'm well covered by my employer now but I'm thinking about after retirement.

What's your typical advice for someone looking to have adequate coverage for himself and his family after retirement? For me it's largely around death or tpd in my case, plus medical coverage and major illnesses for me and my family (spouse and one child).
MUM
post May 17 2021, 03:50 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ May 17 2021, 03:46 PM)
Sifus, my agent told me my old policies all cannot upgrade or increase sum insured or change coverage already... So I must buy a new policy.

What's your typical advice for someone looking to have adequate coverage for himself and his family after retirement? For me it's largely around death or tpd in my case, plus medical coverage and major illnesses for me and my family (spouse and one child).
just asking,......how old will your child be when you want to retire?
if he/she is in working age,...then maybe require less coverage by your plan...or he/she can opt to have own coverage
gooroojee
post May 17 2021, 03:53 PM

LowYee
2,187 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ May 17 2021, 03:50 PM)
just asking,......how old will your child be when you want to retire?
if he/she is in working age,...then maybe require less coverage by your plan...or he/she can opt to have own coverage
13 years old 😱
MUM
post May 17 2021, 03:59 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ May 17 2021, 03:53 PM)
13 years old 😱
thumbsup.gif then it is good to have some coverage for him/her as he/she is still considered as dependent....
anything happens to him/her could "eat" into your retirement fund
lifebalance
post May 17 2021, 04:14 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ May 17 2021, 03:46 PM)

There isn't a typical advise, everyone's background is different. There is no such thing as One-Size-Fit-All plan.

Another thing is that, what your agent does may be different from the way I or others would structure the plan or recommend.

Hence, you'll be expecting very general/generic answers in here from the typical text book.
- Cover your liabilities
- Cover for critical illness/accidents/disabilities etc - 3x - 10x of your annual income
- Cover your medical expenses / family (if any)
- Planning your retirement

Hope the above sounds typical enough.
gooroojee
post May 17 2021, 05:00 PM

LowYee
2,187 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 17 2021, 04:14 PM)
There isn't a typical advise, everyone's background is different. There is no such thing as One-Size-Fit-All plan.

Another thing is that, what your agent does may be different from the way I or others would structure the plan or recommend.

Hence, you'll be expecting very general/generic answers in here from the typical text book.
- Cover your liabilities
- Cover for critical illness/accidents/disabilities etc - 3x - 10x of your annual income
- Cover your medical expenses / family (if any)
- Planning your retirement

Hope the above sounds typical enough.

thank you very much for your reply. Should I only buy after retirement? Mostly concerned about medical expenses , e.g. cancer, etc. which could wipe off my life savings
MUM
post May 17 2021, 05:09 PM

14,854 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ May 17 2021, 05:00 PM)
thank you very much for your reply. Should I only buy after retirement? Mostly concerned about medical expenses , e.g. cancer, etc. which could wipe off my life savings
Buy after retirement may be subject to possible extra loadings or and exclusion if you have preexisting conditions..... Also may be shocked to see the cost of annual premium too.
RigerZ
post May 18 2021, 03:01 PM

On the way on the way
1,012 posts

Did anyone have their medical premiums increased recently?

https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2021/05/...urance-policies

This post has been edited by RigerZ: May 18 2021, 03:06 PM

381 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0222sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:30 PM