381 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V7!, Your one stop Insurance Discussion

lifebalance
post May 11 2021, 09:35 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ May 11 2021, 08:41 AM)
Just a random question about agent or agency performance such as Top Agent or Top Agency etc etc as claimed by agents that engaged me. I tried to validate these claims, but Google couldn't find satisfying results to me.

Question: how do I validate if an agent claims that he/she is TopX agent/agency in certain region or nationwide?
Those whatsoever awards are within their own insurance company. You may call the insurance company to verify their claims.

However, what can all these award prove to you?

It just shows a person did a lot of insurance business for that period of time but will not show whether its an ethical person in their business conduct or whether this person would stay long in the business.
kimhoong
post May 11 2021, 11:33 AM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 11 2021, 09:35 AM)
Those whatsoever awards are within their own insurance company. You may call the insurance company to verify their claims.

However, what can all these award prove to you?

It just shows a person did a lot of insurance business for that period of time but will not show whether its an ethical person in their business conduct or whether this person would stay long in the business.
I was engaged for business insurance and the agent claimed that her agency is Top X agency for consecutive Y years. I believe this serves as a branding or creditability for someone I just met for the first time.

You are right that it doesn't show "ethicability".

While we are into this, how do we evaluate the "quality" of an agent/agency that we meet the first time (normally from cold-call)?
lifebalance
post May 11 2021, 11:42 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ May 11 2021, 11:33 AM)
I was engaged for business insurance and the agent claimed that her agency is Top X agency for consecutive Y years. I believe this serves as a branding or creditability for someone I just met for the first time.

While we are into this, how do we evaluate the "quality" of an agent/agency that we meet the first time (normally from cold-call)?
Honestly you can't evaluate, just like the first time you go to a car showroom to test drive the car, how would you like the salesperson to respond to you?
1. Serve you drink
2. Ask you what type of car are you looking for
3. Ask relevant questions like you driving just by yourself or for family
4. Find the suitable car that fits your criteria
5. Let you test drive
6. Deliver your car, make sure everything is okay

If you want to find out how you'll be treated by this agent. Get them to do a full presentation and see if you like the experience or not.

If judging by just award alone, nowadays insurance companies simply show posters and award for even 1k to 10k sales. How is that relevant? I would have a cupboard full of awards by now if I keep all these 😅.
MUM
post May 11 2021, 11:47 AM

14,855 posts

hopefully can get some tips from this site,...

Joining the insurance industry? Here's what you need to know.

https://www.asiaadvisersnetwork.com/Article?aid=61280
kimhoong
post May 11 2021, 12:18 PM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 11 2021, 11:42 AM)
Honestly you can't evaluate, just like the first time you go to a car showroom to test drive the car, how would you like the salesperson to respond to you?
1. Serve you drink
2. Ask you what type of car are you looking for
3. Ask relevant questions like you driving just by yourself or for family
4. Find the suitable car that fits your criteria
5. Let you test drive
6. Deliver your car, make sure everything is okay

If you want to find out how you'll be treated by this agent. Get them to do a full presentation and see if you like the experience or not.

If judging by just award alone, nowadays insurance companies simply show posters and award for even 1k to 10k sales. How is that relevant? I would have a cupboard full of awards by now if I keep all these 😅.
Thanks for the detailed feedback. The car showroom analogy helps a lot!

QUOTE(MUM @ May 11 2021, 11:47 AM)
hopefully can get some tips from this site,...

Joining the insurance industry? Here's what you need to know.

https://www.asiaadvisersnetwork.com/Article?aid=61280
Thanks for sharing this too.
Ewa Wa
post May 11 2021, 05:49 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(shee1 @ May 7 2021, 11:30 AM)
My company currently provide medical card & covers only 35k per year.
In my 20 years, have done 5 surgeries, all using company card and never used my medical card.
I was planning to keep to this medical plan until a time when company no longer provide me with a medical card.
After that only upgrade my plan to GMX2. Upgrading to this GMX2 at my age now means paying double what i pay now.

1, Anything i need to consider or overlooked?
2, Does changing from my old plan to GMX2 exclude my previous illness coverage?

Serious look into ur medical card limit as now medical inflation and easily a cancer treatment can cost up to 100K.

2. Sorry, underwriting applied and based on all ur 5 surgeries medical record, never self underwriting. Will enocurage you to submit and let the underwritter to access the case 1st . definitely upgrade to GMX2 is about double ur premium but 10X+ ur annual limit.
angyte
post May 11 2021, 06:28 PM

44 posts

Saw lots of ppl saying AIA covering for covid hospitalisation in private hospital?
I mean cover the medical cost not some compensation payment.
Is it true? I tot all excluded commutable disease clause?

lifebalance
post May 11 2021, 06:35 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(angyte @ May 11 2021, 06:28 PM)

Saw lots of ppl saying AIA covering for covid hospitalisation in private hospital?
Yes it's covered for all COVID medical expenses.
angyte
post May 11 2021, 06:40 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 11 2021, 06:35 PM)
Yes it's covered for all COVID medical expenses.
Can i know what product is it?
MUM
post May 11 2021, 07:09 PM

14,855 posts

QUOTE(angyte @ May 11 2021, 06:28 PM)

according to this....

"AIA, in a Jan 21 internal circular to its agency force aimed at providing clarity on its Covid-19 coverage, said some of its “older block” of medical plans have the clause that excludes coverage for communicable diseases that require quarantine by law. However, it said the newer generation of AIA medical plans do not have this exclusion clause.

“What this means to our customers of these plans is that they will be covered for hospitalisation under their medical plans if they are diagnosed with Covid-19 and require inpatient treatment which is medically necessary at hospitals,” it said in the circular sighted by The Edge. It added that this would be subject to a plan’s terms and conditions."....

more,...
Growing pressure on insurers to cover Covid-19 treatment at private hospitals
Adeline Paul Raj/The Edge Malaysia
February 01, 2021
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/grow...ivate-hospitals
gooroojee
post May 12 2021, 01:08 AM

LowYee
2,187 posts

Hi sifus, can I ask how much it would cost roughly to get term life insurance for a person from age 45-70/75/80? Am curious to know the total damage per year from start to end...

Annually renewable. Only for death and TPD. Sum assured 500k.

Thanks in advance. Can reply here or PM also. TQVM!
adele123
post May 12 2021, 07:20 AM

4,722 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ May 12 2021, 01:08 AM)
Hi sifus, can I ask how much it would cost roughly to get term life insurance for a person from age 45-70/75/80? Am curious to know the total damage per year from start to end...

Btw, can try online, get some quote. Lol. Etiqa was the cheapest i found.
lifebalance
post May 12 2021, 08:48 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ May 12 2021, 01:08 AM)

wink.gif about 161k vs 99k
gooroojee
post May 12 2021, 07:36 PM

LowYee
2,187 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ May 12 2021, 08:48 AM)
wink.gif about 161k vs 99k
Thanks! Sounds like rm1 for every rm5 of insurance for the entire period.
ckdenion
post May 12 2021, 10:06 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ May 11 2021, 11:33 AM)

hi kimhoong, if you don't mind revealing the agent or agency name here, if it is very very top one, then most of us will know wink.gif
helpme2
post May 13 2021, 04:02 AM

Hi everyone,

Appreciate any advice for my situation, about a week or 2 ago i got a mail regarding the revise of annual premium. The policy plan that I'm using is PowerLink (since 2013). So right now, im just wondering if i should upgrade my current policy (upgrading in terms of coverage as well as critical illnesses, coverage maybe to 80 instead) or to get a new policy.

Spoke to my insurance agent the other day, he suggested to buy a new policy which is Medisafe Infinite+. The only thing that is preventing me from getting it right away is, i was told to maintained the Powerlink plan for a year and at the same time having the Medisafe policy, which i was pretty reluctant as i'll be having 3 insurance including the company'.So spoke to the Allianz customer service, was advice to instead upgrade the plan and my agent did not mentioned anything about upgrading.

Current policy as below:
Overall lifetime limit - 850,000
Insured Amount - 90,000
Maturity: 2088 (100 years)
Premium:1,920.00

MediSafe:
Overall Annual 1.5M
Lifetime: No Limit
Premium: 3,000.00

again any advice are much appreciated and also if any information needed that might help with the situation le me know, thanks all smile.gif

lifebalance
post May 13 2021, 09:30 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(helpme2 @ May 13 2021, 04:02 AM)
Hi everyone,

Appreciate any advice for my situation, about a week or 2 ago i got a mail regarding the revise of annual premium. The policy plan that I'm using is PowerLink (since 2013). So right now, im just wondering if i should upgrade my current policy (upgrading in terms of coverage as well as critical illnesses, coverage maybe to 80 instead) or to get a new policy.

Spoke to my insurance agent the other day, he suggested to buy a new policy which is Medisafe Infinite+. The only thing that is preventing me from getting it right away is, i was told to maintained the Powerlink plan for a year and at the same time having the Medisafe policy, which i was pretty reluctant as i'll be having 3 insurance including the company'.So spoke to the Allianz customer service, was advice to instead upgrade the plan and my agent did not mentioned anything about upgrading.

Current policy as below:
Insured Amount - 90,000

MediSafe:
Overall Annual 1.5M

again any advice are much appreciated and also if any information needed that might help with the situation le me know, thanks all smile.gif
it'll be cheaper to upgrade on the existing plan.

whistling.gif Bad agent / Good agent talk
1. Your agent want to earn an entire new block of 6 years commission since your policy is bought since 2013 - no more commission already. By upgrading, the agent won't be able to earn as much.
2. It will be considered as a new case for his business
3. Reason for you to maintain your policy for 1 year is because of "Replacement of Policy" whereby if you cancel your existing policy within the same year, the new policy which was sold; the commission will be clawed back as it's considered replacing an existing policy.
4. You're paying 2x the premium by maintaining 2 policy for 1 year - at your cost for your agent's pleasure

All the best wink.gif

Meanwhile kimhoong; this is a good example of so many award won by the agent but agent can do such "ethical" thing for sales, do you think award still matters nowadays when agent flash it to you?
Holocene
post May 13 2021, 10:15 AM

Independent Financial Advisor
945 posts

QUOTE(helpme2 @ May 13 2021, 04:02 AM)
Hi everyone,

Current policy as below:
Insured Amount - 90,000

MediSafe:
Overall Annual 1.5M

Upgrade within same plan.
OrdernPay
post May 13 2021, 02:06 PM

57 posts

hi all sifu
wanted to get life insurans instead of mrta. dont want all medical bla bla bla benefit.. just want pure life insurans
amount 500k

now what i am confuse.. some life insurans when die only get back money.
some life insurans will have money back when maturity.

been looking for etiqa one but dont know how to differentiate which is which..
lifebalance
post May 13 2021, 04:45 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(OrdernPay @ May 13 2021, 02:06 PM)
hi all sifu
wanted to get life insurans instead of mrta. dont want all medical bla bla bla benefit.. just want pure life insurans
amount 500k

now what i am confuse.. some life insurans when die only get back money.

been looking for etiqa one but dont know how to differentiate which is which..
Hi OrdernPay,

There are many types of life insurance out there ... but I'll keep it simple for you in here on how you can structure the mortgage insurance.

1. Determine your tenure of coverage -
a) Do you want to cover until the age of 70 ?
b) or based on the loan tenure ?
c) or shorter than the loan tenure ?

2. Life insurance is designed to provide the lump sum payout that you've taken up. So in this step, determine how much you want to cover for the loan you took with the bank.
Example: If your loan is RM500,000 then you might want to cover based on that amount.

3. Cash value upon Maturity

There are policies out there whereby if you do hold the policy until maturity, it will grant you extra maturity bonuses which maybe a plus point for you as you can use it as part of your retirement money after paying all those years.

4. The premium for 500k coverage starts from 150 - 300 monthly

381 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:37 PM