guys...... is there a possibility to burn the pot if u heat it too long on solder iron?
Bass LYN Bassist's Groove 2.0, on Whacker's orders *salute* ;P
Jul 12 2008, 06:26 PM
1,362 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: k.terengganu.. alone.. with my bass...play.. alone |
guys...... is there a possibility to burn the pot if u heat it too long on solder iron?
Jul 12 2008, 11:24 PM
3,557 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Republic of Selayang |
QUOTE(satchman @ Jul 12 2008, 06:21 PM) I don't know but should b around 15W, 8 inch speaker type. Enough for home jam only but at that price, one can't complain I guess! thanks.. i'll check them out later Added on July 13, 2008, 7:24 pmwent to TGS at damansara today and check out that smarvo amp.. the sound is pretty good i guess (at least for my newbie ears) and the tag is at RM360 This post has been edited by signither: Jul 13 2008, 07:24 PM |
Jul 14 2008, 07:45 PM
242 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(signither @ Jul 12 2008, 11:24 PM) thanks.. i'll check them out later Guitar collection also has a small Kustom amp for around 390 I think...Added on July 13, 2008, 7:24 pmwent to TGS at damansara today and check out that smarvo amp.. the sound is pretty good i guess (at least for my newbie ears) and the tag is at RM360 Btw, you can bargain at TGS... I'm sure you can get lower than the 360 offered if you show real interest. That's the style of doing business in Malaysia unfortunately... |
Jul 15 2008, 09:36 PM
1,171 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: temporarily Munich |
QUOTE(PVCpipe @ Jul 12 2008, 11:26 AM) yesAdded on July 15, 2008, 9:38 pm QUOTE(signither @ Jul 10 2008, 06:27 PM) i'm a beginner with limited budget and can't find cheap bass amp for practice/learning.. usually the low notes tend to be distorted. But other than that i use my 25W Kustom (can't remember the model) for practice if i have to.how bad does it sound if we use guitar amp for bass?? This post has been edited by Bassix: Jul 15 2008, 09:38 PM |
Jul 16 2008, 05:20 PM
I tested the RM790 Squire P-bass last weekend and the sound was quite good. Action was good and I would say that the tone is more mellow and old school.
I compared that to a RM1100 Ibanez GSR205 bass (active) and wow, active basses are way louder for the same settings! More for modern stuff like rock I guess cos I couldn't get that jazzy bassy sound as I did with the Squire. I then tried a cheaper Stagg bass just to compare and I thought the RM680 tag would result in a bad instrument. Boy was I wrong! Much more versatile than the Squire and less metallic sounding than the Ibanez. Only thing was it weighs a ton and the action wasn't as good as the Squire or Ibanez. I think I'm going to try the Yamaha RBX270 one more time and then I'll make my decision but for RM680 before discount, the Stagg is beginning to look like my choice purchase for a beginner like myself! This post has been edited by satchman: Jul 16 2008, 05:21 PM |
Jul 16 2008, 11:00 PM
I have a stagg fretless. Paid an equivalent of about RM750 for it. Can't really complain apart from the fact that they glued the 3-piece body senget. But soundwise it's ok. Although i did completely do away with the electronics. Now i'm running a bartolini on the bridge. But even the original PUs were decent enough to begin with.
Jul 17 2008, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(Bassix @ Jul 16 2008, 11:00 PM) I have a stagg fretless. Paid an equivalent of about RM750 for it. Can't really complain apart from the fact that they glued the 3-piece body senget. But soundwise it's ok. Although i did completely do away with the electronics. Now i'm running a bartolini on the bridge. But even the original PUs were decent enough to begin with. Where's the cheapest place to buy a Stagg? Of course, I don't mind spending more if the service is good... No Woh Fatt thank you very mcuh... |
Jul 17 2008, 11:36 PM
Sorry can't help you there. I'm in germany and got mine off ebay.de
Jul 18 2008, 01:37 AM
QUOTE(Bassix @ Jul 17 2008, 11:36 PM) Guten Tag! Thx for the reply my friend. Actually, I tried the Yamaha RBX170 and 270 today and you know what? I actually prefer the cheaper RBX170 because it was set up better. Man, some shops really don't know how to set up their products for demo and it was disappointing that all 3 RBX270 models I tested had intonation problems. Even the sales-person didn't know how to tune properly! So, I couldn't really test the difference between the 170 and 270 but both 170 I tried (black and blue) had better set up, pretty good sound and playability. I think I'll just get a beginner bass for learning since I can't appreciate the tone, etc of a better instrument. One more round of testing with the Ibanez GSR200FM and GSR100 and I'll make my decision.... |
Jul 19 2008, 11:16 AM
1,399 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: KL PJ |
if u cud afford the RBX270, den y not
setup wise u can DIY as well im never an ibey bass lover the neck is just too slim.... and too light.... |
Jul 21 2008, 02:02 AM
ibey
Jul 21 2008, 11:13 PM
1,399 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: KL PJ |
helpin fren sellin
1.musicman stingray5 natural finish, maple fingerboard 2.fender marcus miller MIJ white finish, maple fingerboard, 4 string interested can PM me il giv u the contact |
Jul 25 2008, 10:56 PM
Tried the Yamaha RBX170 and 270 again a few days back. Very surprised the sound wasn't as good as I orginally thought.
Was blown away by the RBX370 though. Much more punch and clarity of tone. Very versatile too! Pity about the price tag... Guess it's now either the Ibanez GSR200 or GSR200FM... |
Sep 8 2008, 03:08 AM
626 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Hayley's |
*plays Keep Your Hands Off My Girl*
and the thread keeps record, the same old post. They said, ah-ha! Ah-ha! Alright, most people thinks that playing the Percision Bass with picks are the best. What do you think? I am reviving this thread anyway.. |
Sep 8 2008, 04:30 AM
351 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Ampang | Selangor | The Valley |
QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 8 2008, 03:08 AM) Alright, most people thinks that playing the Percision Bass with picks are the best. What do you think? Kinda... when most Ps packs that ever lovely mids and picks usually adds that hefty clicks which in turn rounds off a nice drive. Things is it's still is a preferential thing.I am reviving this thread anyway.. |
Sep 8 2008, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 7 2008, 08:08 PM) *plays Keep Your Hands Off My Girl* Precision sounds great anyway you play it. So I don't really care how and the thread keeps record, the same old post. They said, ah-ha! Ah-ha! Alright, most people thinks that playing the Percision Bass with picks are the best. What do you think? I am reviving this thread anyway.. |
Sep 8 2008, 08:16 PM
626 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Hayley's |
Sep 9 2008, 02:19 PM
942 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 8 2008, 03:08 AM) *plays Keep Your Hands Off My Girl* playing a pick with everthing is good... bleah lol.............and the thread keeps record, the same old post. They said, ah-ha! Ah-ha! Alright, most people thinks that playing the Percision Bass with picks are the best. What do you think? I am reviving this thread anyway.. |
Sep 9 2008, 05:31 PM
2,521 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: UrbanSubangJaya |
i dont like to play with a pick. does it only work on fast (or noisy) songs? |
Sep 9 2008, 05:59 PM
612 posts Joined: May 2008 From: CyberWorld |
QUOTE(satchman @ Jul 16 2008, 05:20 PM) I then tried a cheaper Stagg bass just to compare and I thought the RM680 tag would result in a bad instrument. Boy was I wrong! Much more versatile than the Squire and less metallic sounding than the Ibanez. Only thing was it weighs a ton and the action wasn't as good as the Squire or Ibanez. QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 8 2008, 03:08 AM) *plays Keep Your Hands Off My Girl* reviving this thread after u saw wat i ask in the guitar thread? and the thread keeps record, the same old post. They said, ah-ha! Ah-ha! Alright, most people thinks that playing the Percision Bass with picks are the best. What do you think? I am reviving this thread anyway.. Added on September 9, 2008, 6:02 pmplaying bass with a pick, it will make the bass sounds sharper, ppl might think that it is the bass playing the leads.. what if u dun have a pick with u? having experience playing with finger should b better for bass, not like guitar, it'll swelled or even ate my nails ,lol.. i use a pick for a guitar.. This post has been edited by sarcast: Sep 9 2008, 06:02 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0318sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:10 PM |