7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

CFMoto MT800, Based on KTM 790 Adv, same LC8C engine

SUSskyblu3
post Dec 25 2022, 08:00 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 24 2022, 01:42 PM)
From the pics above the spoked rim option appears to be in 19" at the front (just like the rim on the V-strom 650). To give you a size comparison, the rear is 17".

The two base flavours both run a 19" + 17" combo, the diff is that the Sport version features alloy rims while the Touring version has spoked rims.

The newer Sport R version runs 17" on both ends.
https://amcn.com.au/editorial/cfmoto-800mt-touring/
I have one full suspension mountain bike with this set up . Front wheel bigger than the rear wheel. Mullet .
Front 29"
Rear 27.5"

Main reason to have bigger front wheel so that rolling over obstacles is easier and more control. And less bumpy
alexei
post Dec 25 2022, 12:04 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

If they do spoked, next question is, how do they implement tubeless?
If sealant type, that would suck.
TSZZR-Pilot
post Dec 25 2022, 12:49 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 25 2022, 01:04 PM)
If they do spoked, next question is, how do they implement tubeless?
If sealant type, that would suck.
The traditional spoked rim uses a tube because where the spokes attach to the rim cannot be made airtight.

But newer designs maintain an airtight rim by having the spokes attach to a raised spine in the middle or to the outer edges of the rim, allowing the use of a tubeless tyre. The increased complexity of this design also means a slightly higher unsprung weight.

alexei
post Dec 25 2022, 08:17 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 25 2022, 12:49 PM)
The traditional spoked rim uses a tube because where the spokes attach to the rim cannot be made airtight.

But newer designs maintain an airtight rim by having the spokes attach to a raised spine in the middle or to the outer edges of the rim, allowing the use of a tubeless tyre. The increased complexity of this design also means a slightly higher unsprung weight.
Which is on the CFMoto?
TSZZR-Pilot
post Dec 25 2022, 11:52 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 25 2022, 09:17 PM)
Which is on the CFMoto?
See that raised ridge or spine where the spokes attach to the rim?

That's a tubeless spoked wheel design.

paskal
post Dec 25 2022, 11:53 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 25 2022, 08:17 PM)
Which is on the CFMoto?
review say tubeless spoked wheels.
from the pic also looks like the spoke are mounted on the raised center spine.

i've converted my spoke tubed tyre to tubeless using windshield sealant.
it's frequently done to f800gs and african twins with tubed tyre.

in pure offroad tubed tyres is still the best since you could run really low pressure like 15-18psi and get better traction.
tubeless tyre would just leak at that pressure when hitting something.
TSZZR-Pilot
post Dec 26 2022, 12:07 AM

1,057 posts

GS Cycle too have received their stock, it seems.

Running on Maxxis Maxx Venture MA1 rubbers, which are an obscure model of tyres not available off the shelf (unlike the Maxx Venture MA-ADV). Probably a factory model specially made to a budget for CFMoto. If that's true, these usually won't last very long.

RM53,800 according to GS Cycle's ad on Mudah. Decidedly not cheap for a Chinese bike, but then somewhat of a bargain for something that leverages a popular and successful KTM design. Bob the GS Cycle salesman whom I bought the 700 CL-X from says they received tons of bookings already even before the actual bike showed up this week. For the life of me I can't imagine how people could throw cash at something they haven't even seen yet in the flesh...

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Dec 26 2022, 12:29 AM

lowpro
post Dec 27 2022, 08:11 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 26 2022, 12:07 AM)

Running on Maxxis Maxx Venture MA1 rubbers, which are an obscure model of tyres not available off the shelf (unlike the Maxx Venture MA-ADV). Probably a factory model specially made to a budget for CFMoto. If that's true, these usually won't last very long.

RM53,800 according to GS Cycle's ad on Mudah. Decidedly not cheap for a Chinese bike, but then somewhat of a bargain for something that leverages a popular and successful KTM design. Bob the GS Cycle salesman whom I bought the 700 CL-X from says they received tons of bookings already even before the actual bike showed up this week. For the life of me I can't imagine how people could throw cash at something they haven't even seen yet in the flesh...
They're the first group in marketing terms called innovators who would take to new ideas, things, concepts earlier than anyone else. Similar to those who buy the BYD Atto 3 and Ora Good Cat EV cars (actually the real innovators are the rich as the EV car market here is taking a top down acceptance approach) before the skeptics start believing. Next would be the early adopters followed by the early and late majority. Finally there are the laggards. These are the people who want to see that everything is safe first for them to buy. Must see resale value lah, must see spare parts price and availability lah, must see if got sc hear their house who can handle or not lah, must see if neighbour buy or not lah, then must hear if neighbour or friend or uncle and aunty have complained or not first lah etc...

This post has been edited by lowpro: Dec 27 2022, 08:13 AM

jaycee1
post Dec 27 2022, 10:46 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

Well, a lot of people just book and buy first. Then wait.

Looks like a lot of dealers now, including CFMOTO has a knack in pricing the first batch of bikes lower. (Same goes to Suzuki, when they took over). The same bikes now are a few k more expensive. even after a few months and if you dont like it, the early bird discount will pad most of the depreciation.

Given the shortage of bikes from CFMOTO, Honda and the likes, some people just buy first instead of looking at a possible 6 month or more wait for the 2nd batch.

The 700 CLX i was looking at is now 3k more. You got the first batch went as low as sub 30k. I think they are now 32-33K
ajaibman
post Dec 27 2022, 06:07 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Dec 27 2022, 08:11 AM)
They're the first group in marketing terms called innovators who would take to new ideas, things, concepts earlier than anyone else. Similar to those who buy the BYD Atto 3 and Ora Good Cat EV cars (actually the real innovators are the rich as the EV car market here is taking a top down acceptance approach) before the skeptics start believing. Next would be the early adopters followed by the early and late majority. Finally there are the laggards. These are the people who want to see that everything is safe first for them to buy. Must see resale value lah, must see spare parts price and availability lah, must see if got sc hear their house who can handle or not lah, must see if neighbour buy or not lah, then must hear if neighbour or friend or uncle and aunty have complained or not first lah etc...
The early adopters are the most suffered.. because becoming walking test subjects..

This post has been edited by ajaibman: Dec 27 2022, 06:10 PM
Jason
post Dec 29 2022, 03:33 AM

6,354 posts

Are there no alternatives at that price point? Seems very expensive for a Chinese bike. Thought they were supposed to be the affordable option.
TSZZR-Pilot
post Dec 29 2022, 09:19 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 29 2022, 04:33 AM)
Are there no alternatives at that price point? Seems very expensive for a Chinese bike. Thought they were supposed to be the affordable option.
At around the 800MT's RM54k price point, well I know I paid RM59k for my Tiger 850. The other continental contenders ie. BMWF850GS, KTM890 forget it as they all cost hella more.

For other cheaper options, you'll hv to step down to the 650cc - 750cc category. The 750cc QJ SRT800 is RM40k, if I'm not mistaken. Not sure if they're going to launch its Benelli equivalent the TRK800 here - same bike, diff plastics. But you'll have to give up that stonkin' KTM LC8C engine to save RM15k.

Then you have the 650cc Moto Morini X-Cape at the exact price point also. Plus the venerable old-timer Suzuki V-Strom 650, whose parallel twin replacement is coming but don't count on it being priced below RM60k when it lands here. Ditto the new Honda Transalp.

Beyond all that, you can also look at 17"-wheeled on-road tourers, such as the CFMoto MT650 (budget end), Triumph Tiger 660 (mid level), Yamaha Tracer 900GT (upper end).

One thing for sure tho, there are a hell lot more choices now than ever before.
Jason
post Dec 29 2022, 11:03 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 29 2022, 09:19 AM)
At around the 800MT's RM54k price point, well I know I paid RM59k for my Tiger 850. The other continental contenders ie. BMWF850GS, KTM890 forget it as they all cost hella more.
On paper, I don’t see any reason not to top up that RM5k for the Tiger 850.

I think the point I’m getting at; I am surprised at the confidence of the local distributor on CFMoto’s pricing. I’m curious to see how they fare moving forward in Malaysia. Personal view, China stuff isn’t great in the beginning but boy they do improve over time.

Is the CFMoto overpriced, or the Tiger a bargain?
TSZZR-Pilot
post Dec 29 2022, 04:41 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Dec 29 2022, 12:03 PM)
Is the CFMoto overpriced, or the Tiger a bargain?
The Tiger 850 IMHO is an entry-level model done right. Triumph deleted just the right bits to bring the cost down and surprisingly kept almost all of the best parts. Even the horsepower & torque numbers were reduced on paper only to differentiate it, as below 7500RPM where 99% of the riding is done they feel no different than the full-blooded Tiger 900.

I can totally understand why CFmoto priced the 800MT at >RM50k -- the company's partnership with KTM (CFmoto actually manufactures KTM engines in China) and the bike's KTM 790 roots are a solid differentiating factor that they should capitalize on in terms of pricing.

Although I have yet to swing a leg over the 800MT, I suspect the difference in weight alone will highlight Triumph's long-standing expertise in designing ADVs. Reviewers have strangely reported the LC8C's high revving nature which CFmoto responded to by lowering the gear ratio to keep the torque up at lower RPMs, resulting in relatively high fuel consumption at highway speeds. I have no experience with the 800MT to comment, although I can say I seldom had the need to rev past 7000RPM on my 850 and it makes 90% of its max torque from as low as just under 3000RPM.

ajaibman
post Dec 29 2022, 07:24 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 29 2022, 04:41 PM)
The Tiger 850 IMHO is an entry-level model done right. Triumph deleted just the right bits to bring the cost down and surprisingly kept almost all of the best parts. Even the horsepower & torque numbers were reduced on paper only to differentiate it, as below 7500RPM where 99% of the riding is done they feel no different than the full-blooded Tiger 900.

I can totally understand why CFmoto priced the 800MT at >RM50k -- the company's partnership with KTM (CFmoto actually manufactures KTM engines in China) and the bike's KTM 790 roots are a solid differentiating factor that they should capitalize on in terms of pricing.

Although I have yet to swing a leg over the 800MT, I suspect the difference in weight alone will highlight Triumph's long-standing expertise in designing ADVs. Reviewers have strangely reported the LC8C's high revving nature which CFmoto responded to by lowering the gear ratio to keep the torque up at lower RPMs, resulting in relatively high fuel consumption at highway speeds. I have no experience with the 800MT to comment, although I can say I seldom had the need to rev past 7000RPM on my 850 and it makes 90% of its max torque from as low as just under 3000RPM.
Sat on it, pushed the bike around in the showroom, IMHO BMW GS1200 easier to park it's upper front heavy (Reminded me of Z800 Kawa), that's why the KTM 790 ADV version using a lower fuel tank design to balance the bike geometry.

vexus
post Jan 5 2023, 11:27 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,659 posts

the engine spec require high rev to reach optimum power.
Freestyling
post Feb 8 2023, 09:31 PM

22 posts

any one bought this bike? i bought already, will take the bike next week

jaycee1
post Feb 9 2023, 10:01 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Freestyling @ Feb 8 2023, 09:31 PM)
No idea.

But I was parked next to one on my last trip to betong. Spoke to the owner, although it is still too new to gauge reliability. He said it works well, comfortable but heavy.

I tried swinging a leg over it but being 5'6" it was a bit too tall and the seat is wide at the legs.

Its a huge bike. My dominar looks like a kapchai parked next to it.
lowpro
post Feb 12 2023, 03:53 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Freestyling @ Feb 8 2023, 09:31 PM)
Drop us some pictures! thumbup.gif
vikneswaranc_17
post Apr 17 2023, 02:52 PM

58 posts

Any review on this bike as I trust there are owner in this thread as well

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0392sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:26 AM