CFMoto MT800, Based on KTM 790 Adv, same LC8C engine

lowpro
post Dec 10 2020, 10:35 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 10 2020, 09:53 AM)
The Chinese assault on the adventure tourer market has given Suzuki the kick in the ass to stop being lazy and to update the V-Strom 650.

Although the current V-strom 650 model is technically only 3 years old, Suzuki's lazy decision to stick with a 650cc engine, analog dash, halogen headlights & incandescent bulb turnsignals means it will be outmuscled, outperformed and outstyled next year by the Chinese. So there's word that a major revamp will take place, using a brand new parallel twin engine.

I bet Kawasaki too will revamp their Versys 650 in response to the Chinese threat.

A little competition is always a good thing!

https://www.cycleworld.com/story/motorcycle...ki-v-strom-650/
Biggest hurdle is to change mindsets and stigma against Chinese brands, My bro has the CFMoto 650GT and he is happy with it. Needs people to stick their neck out to buy a Chinese bike before Suzuki or Kawasaki feels any threat. Otherwise, they will just say, "Even with all those new gadgets, people still won't buy a CF Moto, no threat to us selling old stuff".
lowpro
post Aug 16 2021, 10:58 PM

180 posts

Upcoming! What do you guys think of this? RM28.8k

https://www.bikesrepublic.com/featured/2021...ounced-rm28-8k/
lowpro
post Aug 17 2021, 09:57 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Aug 17 2021, 09:31 AM)
Best ringgit to displacement ratio ever...!!

Beats the pants off the Benelli 752s.

Me, I don't like the ekor kontot tho...
Me too, I wonder who came up with this trend of ekor kontot...IMHO, it is ugly, no proper passenger seat and no grab rails...Not passenger friendly tongue.gif Plus the ekor kontot design makes the bike look front heavy. Not balanced

This post has been edited by lowpro: Aug 17 2021, 09:58 AM
lowpro
post Mar 17 2022, 06:14 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Mar 17 2022, 04:08 PM)
The lower spec one tak masuk ke?

RM53.8k is not too far off from the Tiger 850 at RM59k.
Yup, very dangerous gamble they're taking...
lowpro
post Apr 6 2022, 10:59 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Apr 5 2022, 03:38 PM)
CFMoto in MY already CKD made/assembled by MForce kilang for KTNS.. The owners of both are siblings.

So that's why it sold at affordable rate in Malaysia since its consider CKD.
Bro Ajaibman, give lah ride review of the 700CL.
lowpro
post Apr 7 2022, 08:11 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Apr 6 2022, 11:32 AM)
Tonight Goh Tong... come can test ride the bike..  biggrin.gif
Weekend can. I'll probably be trying out a zx636 too biggrin.gif
lowpro
post Dec 22 2022, 03:32 PM

180 posts

Just curious, what's the big deal with spoked wheels if the bike will be used 99% on paved roads and highways? To me, they're hard to clean and adds to the height (I'm vertically challenged). I prefer the alloy wheel version which they aren't bringing in
lowpro
post Dec 23 2022, 08:21 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 22 2022, 05:03 PM)
Rugged looks lor.

Technically spoked rims do not add to the height per se, as it is the diameter of the rim that does. So no diff between a 19" spoked rim vs a 19" alloy rim typical of road-biased adv bikes, if using the same 80-series rubber (as is the case with the 800MT).

If got 21" spoked rim instead, memang tinggilah sikit vs a 19" alloy rim (alloy rims don't exist in 21" as this is a size exclusively reserved for off-road biased bikes).
"Technically spoked rims do not add to the height per se, as it is the diameter of the rim that does. So no diff between a 19" spoked rim vs a 19" alloy rim typical of road-biased adv bikes, if using the same 80-series rubber (as is the case with the 800MT)." - yup, I know this too.

Just to clarify, are the alloys on the 800 MT Sport 17" or 19"? I think I could have mistaken the sizes. I know the 800 MT Sport R comes with a 17" front though as per the article below:

https://www.visordown.com/news/new-bikes/ag...-revealed-world

This post has been edited by lowpro: Dec 23 2022, 08:23 AM
lowpro
post Dec 23 2022, 10:23 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Dec 23 2022, 09:19 AM)
These bikes are designed mainly to go off-road .  Adventure rides.
Spoke wheels are more sturdy than ones piece alloy rims.

And with all the off-road trashing, the wheels may go out of alignment.    This type of rims is easier to get it straighten up again by tweeking the spoke  tension.
Yup I know the benefits of spoke wheels but majority of owners won't take those bikes off road. They just want the looks
lowpro
post Dec 23 2022, 02:41 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(harryleesbr @ Dec 23 2022, 12:44 PM)
Most inner roads in Malaysia are consider offroad anyways... hahaha biggrin.gif
Considered lah but my group rides a variety of bikes on those back roads anyway. No issues... biggrin.gif
lowpro
post Dec 24 2022, 10:43 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Dec 23 2022, 11:05 PM)
Who is your riding group?
As though you dunno LOL biggrin.gif
lowpro
post Dec 27 2022, 08:11 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 26 2022, 12:07 AM)
GS Cycle too have received their stock, it seems.

Running on Maxxis Maxx Venture MA1 rubbers, which are an obscure model of tyres not available off the shelf (unlike the Maxx Venture MA-ADV). Probably a factory model specially made to a budget for CFMoto. If that's true, these usually won't last very long.

RM53,800 according to GS Cycle's ad on Mudah. Decidedly not cheap for a Chinese bike, but then somewhat of a bargain for something that leverages a popular and successful KTM design. Bob the GS Cycle salesman whom I bought the 700 CL-X from says they received tons of bookings already even before the actual bike showed up this week. For the life of me I can't imagine how people could throw cash at something they haven't even seen yet in the flesh...
They're the first group in marketing terms called innovators who would take to new ideas, things, concepts earlier than anyone else. Similar to those who buy the BYD Atto 3 and Ora Good Cat EV cars (actually the real innovators are the rich as the EV car market here is taking a top down acceptance approach) before the skeptics start believing. Next would be the early adopters followed by the early and late majority. Finally there are the laggards. These are the people who want to see that everything is safe first for them to buy. Must see resale value lah, must see spare parts price and availability lah, must see if got sc hear their house who can handle or not lah, must see if neighbour buy or not lah, then must hear if neighbour or friend or uncle and aunty have complained or not first lah etc...

This post has been edited by lowpro: Dec 27 2022, 08:13 AM

lowpro
post Feb 12 2023, 03:53 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Freestyling @ Feb 8 2023, 09:31 PM)
any one bought this bike? i bought already, will take the bike next week
Drop us some pictures! thumbup.gif

0.0286sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:30 AM