128 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

fuze
post Dec 29 2020, 10:20 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(GrimmReaper @ Dec 26 2020, 09:05 AM)
Cool bro. Can update you finally receive it please? Mine is still “processing”, but I ordered one day later than yourself. So in theory mine should receive one day after you, I hope 🤞
I’ve just received my MBA without any update on DHL tracker since! I’ve already thought it’s not delivering. One day early than expected!!

kevinpss
post Dec 29 2020, 10:58 AM

497 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 29 2020, 02:18 AM)
Any lifetime windows user (or apple hater) ended up getting M1 Macbook Air? How's your experience so far?

Must say this is the first time I'm swayed this heavily laugh.gif generally almost never took interest in Apple's product (tried company iPhone/iPad back then and never got interested)

I'm impressed with their fanless design but keeping this level of performance/temps. Even intel's can't come close with fans sweat.gif
Very tempted to try but steep entry indeed sweat.gif More for productivity / light usage / portability though, so I guess base model 256GB / 8GB suffices. Have my dedicated PC as powerhorse already for gaming/video editing
I jump over three years ago...lol
Icehart
post Dec 29 2020, 11:55 AM

14,897 posts

Any lifetime windows user (or apple hater) ended up getting M1 Macbook Air? How's your experience so far?

Must say this is the first time I'm swayed this heavily laugh.gif generally almost never took interest in Apple's product (tried company iPhone/iPad back then and never got interested)

I'm impressed with their fanless design but keeping this level of performance/temps. Even intel's can't come close with fans sweat.gif
Very tempted to try but steep entry indeed sweat.gif More for productivity / light usage / portability though, so I guess base model 256GB / 8GB suffices. Have my dedicated PC as powerhorse already for gaming/video editing
For laptop definitely Mac due to superior battery life and the trackpad.
Raw power still Windows desktop for me.

This post has been edited by Icehart: Dec 29 2020, 11:55 AM
Eithanius
post Dec 29 2020, 12:02 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Dec 28 2020, 07:53 PM)
To those who are thinking of buying a Mac from the Education Store, and worry about tax claim etc., just sharing that there's no indication in the invoice that your unit is from the Education Store or whatsoever. Unless you're an Apple staff (probably), you won't be able to tell if the purchase is from the Education Store.
Why worry about tax claims when buying Education Price...? Students with no job...?

Lecturers and teachers working for schools or education institutions also still need to pay tax what... tongue.gif
chrischiang
post Dec 29 2020, 01:03 PM

1,081 posts

i'm lifetime windows user and got my 1st M1 macbook pro when see the review after launch..

after a week of using M1 mac, really as advertised it is real fast and smooth for such thin design.
Compared to my retired XPS 15, doing similar tasks (10plus chrome tab, playing movies and remote desktop) which will roar loudly, burning my laps.. this m1 mac handle it pretty well until im not even sure is the fan is running or not.. not to worry anymore to place in on top of sofa/bed/pillow..

To be frank, windows 10 is as smooth as macos.. i still use my PC most of my time, will be using mac when im out or back to my parents place...
polarzbearz
post Dec 29 2020, 01:45 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ Dec 29 2020, 10:58 AM)
I jump over three years ago...lol
No regrets I assume? blush.gif

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 29 2020, 11:55 AM)
For laptop definitely Mac due to superior battery life and the trackpad.
Raw power still Windows desktop for me.
hmm.gif Yeah have the same reserves, after all already have my rig as my power driver.

QUOTE(chrischiang @ Dec 29 2020, 01:03 PM)
i'm lifetime windows user and got my 1st M1 macbook pro when see the review after launch..

after a week of using M1 mac, really as advertised it is real fast and smooth for such thin design.
Compared to my retired XPS 15, doing similar tasks (10plus chrome tab, playing movies and remote desktop) which will roar loudly, burning my laps.. this m1 mac handle it pretty well until im not even sure is the fan is running or not.. not to worry anymore to place in on top of sofa/bed/pillow..

To be frank, windows 10 is as smooth as macos.. i still use my PC most of my time, will be using mac when im out or back to my parents place...
Tempting drool.gif. I have the same desktop rig as yours except a few parts (x570 mobo / slightly older gpu) tongue.gif
Definitely hated my old laptop (SP3) easily shooting up to 73c++ with just chrome usage. What's the avg. cpu temp with those tasks you mentioned on M1 Mac? Room condition or with Aircond? Saw a few reviews that it'll maintain at 38c but they're usually from other part of world with lower average room temperatures hmm.gif
chrischiang
post Dec 29 2020, 02:10 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 29 2020, 01:45 PM)
Tempting drool.gif. I have the same desktop rig as yours except a few parts (x570 mobo / slightly older gpu) tongue.gif
Definitely hated my old laptop (SP3) easily shooting up to 73c++ with just chrome usage. What's the avg. cpu temp with those tasks you mentioned on M1 Mac? Room condition or with Aircond? Saw a few reviews that it'll maintain at 38c but they're usually from other part of world with lower average room temperatures hmm.gif
did not actually install temp monitor software to check.. but i would say roughly the same as review... with normal room condition, i dont feel any heat on my laps and on the keyboard area... in the room with aircond, when u place mac on ur laps you will feel the metal feels cold...
Ah hao
post Dec 29 2020, 04:35 PM

1,619 posts

Been using windows my whole life. Got my MBA base model 3 days ago, been learning how to use it (shortcut,trackpad gestures,running through MacOS setting to my preferences), and fixing some issue (like external hdd cannot recognised, have to reformat to ExFat/ huawei share cannot wirelessly connect to MacOS), and some already get used to application cant find in MacOS etc.

Learning curve is steep, but i know once i get used to it i will love it. But i already met with 1 problem that i cannot fix - when working i use Mac, at home i use Windows, the shortcuts (like CTRL + C / Command + C) is driving me nuts mega_shok.gif

GrimmReaper
post Dec 29 2020, 05:49 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Dec 29 2020, 10:20 AM)
I’ve just received my MBA without any update on DHL tracker since! I’ve already thought it’s not delivering. One day early than expected!!
Thank you for the update! That’s interesting. mine’s shipping now. And the dhl tracker has not changed status for a couple of days. So I guess I’ll be expecting a surprise delivery at some point 🤔
emment85
post Dec 29 2020, 07:30 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Dec 29 2020, 10:20 AM)
so envy of you... i place order on 12.12.20 but then it is still processing... and the arrives date they give was 31/12/20 - 8/1/21 sweat.gif sweat.gif
fuze
post Dec 29 2020, 07:33 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(emment85 @ Dec 29 2020, 07:30 PM)
so envy of you... i place order on 12.12.20 but then it is still processing... and the arrives date they give was 31/12/20 - 8/1/21  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Patience really tested me. I was so close to cancel my BTO MBA and just get away with a base model but it happened eventually. I'm so happy with it.

Yours will arrive soon!
Masculine
post Dec 29 2020, 07:47 PM

1,282 posts

I think the DHL express tracking is very poorly updated....

look like not moving... but suddenly... booommm... already in KL... then not moving again...

fuze
post Dec 29 2020, 08:06 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Masculine @ Dec 29 2020, 07:47 PM)
I think the DHL express tracking is very poorly updated....

look like not moving... but suddenly... booommm... already in KL... then not moving again...
yea man.. their motto is "we surprise our customers"

have you received yours too?
eikozai
post Dec 29 2020, 08:28 PM

1,120 posts

DHL = Deliver Halfway Lost

You’re lucky you lost the tracking only, not the parcel 😂

My BTO order just get charged on my CC moment ago, hope the status will be updated soon from Processing to Preparing to Ship by tomorrow.
Masculine
post Dec 29 2020, 08:38 PM

1,282 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Dec 29 2020, 08:06 PM)
yea man.. their motto is "we surprise our customers"

have you received yours too?
not yet.. latest update is in KL sorting facility since today morning....
eikozai
post Dec 29 2020, 08:49 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(emment85 @ Dec 29 2020, 07:30 PM)
so envy of you... i place order on 12.12.20 but then it is still processing... and the arrives date they give was 31/12/20 - 8/1/21  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I placed order same day as u, but my delivery date ranged from 13/1/2021 - 20/1/2021 leh..

btw, u got get special price from this order?
kevinpss
post Dec 29 2020, 09:07 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 29 2020, 01:45 PM)
No regrets I assume?  blush.gif
hmm.gif Yeah have the same reserves, after all already have my rig as my power driver.
No regrets at all. More focus now, more easy to syn with my other apple devices. Higher security.

This post has been edited by kevinpss: Dec 29 2020, 09:07 PM
tony_mw
post Dec 29 2020, 10:22 PM

211 posts

Is the AppleCare Protection Plan worthy? Do you guy add into your purchase?
evanttc
post Dec 29 2020, 10:34 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Dec 29 2020, 10:22 PM)
Is the AppleCare Protection Plan worthy? Do you guy add into your purchase?
im curious as well.

bought at Switch. didnt get their extra warranty. but considering the applecare protection plan, will need to buy within 90 days right?
tony_mw
post Dec 29 2020, 10:36 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(evanttc @ Dec 29 2020, 10:34 PM)
im curious as well.

bought at Switch. didnt get their extra warranty. but considering the applecare protection plan, will need to buy within 90 days right?
https://www.apple.com/my/support/products/mac/
Just found out that we can buy within the 12months of our purchase. I'll proceed my purchase without it first drool.gif

128 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:29 PM