[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

faizalmzain
post Dec 23 2020, 10:13 PM

1,416 posts

QUOTE(lcyeap90 @ Dec 23 2020, 12:27 AM)
Hello all sifu, wana ask, do you guys shut down your MBA when you are not using it?
I have been using it the way just like ipad/iphone, just closed my screen when i am not using, and the battery still good, maybe just 1/2% decrease overnight.
Will this cause any issue/problem?
nowadays even windows laptop no need to shutdown.
JayC75
post Dec 24 2020, 10:33 AM

Here We Go
1,404 posts

Tmw collecting my MBA from Apple Orchard, so excited.
saintnotsinner
post Dec 25 2020, 12:37 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(yarusaru @ Dec 23 2020, 10:42 PM)
All 16gb model are custom made. Shops usually dont have custom macs. Online is the only way to customize
this. they only carry base model..

however, you can still order @ switch tho.. walk in, order, full payment.. wait for pick up / delivery... might as well order direct @ apple online store lol.
saintnotsinner
post Dec 25 2020, 12:38 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(JayC75 @ Dec 24 2020, 11:33 AM)
Tmw collecting my MBA from Apple Orchard, so excited.
wow.. so late? 16 GB?
firdauskop_3010
post Dec 25 2020, 01:31 AM

Lost patience about how slow apple on9 order which is still in processing, i managed to get one this morning at TMT Lowyat Plaza. Grab 8 Core GPU + 512GB space grey...they still got 1 stock for the same spec each in gold and silver as of 12:30pm. Switch Lowyat outlet already out of stock.

I suggest you message TMT facebook 1st to get the info about stock availability, i got one before i went there...

Apple M1 Chip MacBook Air 13-inch (as of Thu 9:25 AM)
256GB (RM 4399)
MGN63ZP/A (Space Grey)
Out of stock
MGN93ZP/A (Silver)
Out of stock
MGND3ZP/A (Gold)
1 unit at Low Yat Megastore
512GB (RM 5399)
MGN73ZP/A (Space Grey)
1 unit at Mid Valley Megastore
MGNA3ZP/A (Silver)
1 unit at Mid Valley Megastore
MGNE3ZP/A (Gold)
1 unit at Mid valley megastore

This post has been edited by firdauskop_3010: Dec 25 2020, 01:54 AM
moiskyrie
post Dec 25 2020, 08:50 AM

3,212 posts

Anyone use adobe software that facing crash when using?
Like illustratir/indesign, etc..
andrewtho
post Dec 25 2020, 09:28 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(dogsick @ Dec 23 2020, 11:23 AM)
Did some quick test to replicate your work environment. I have done the following:-
- Loaded around 10 files in Photoshop- a combination of complex layered PSD files (with text and layer effects) as well as a few RAW photos
- Opened 20 tabs on Safari (a combination of pages with complex Javascript, YouTube (with videos playing), Flickr, 500px, news sites, etc)
- My productivity software (Outlook, Microsoft Teams, OneDrive, Slack) was opened in the background
- Tidal playing in the background

Observations:-
1. Loading in Photoshop (average file size between 80-100MB for the layered files and 50MB for the RAW photos) was extremely fast
2. Everything that I was playing in the background (music from Tidal, YouTube videos on the tabs) was still playing without any lag or pauses
3. CPU load was at 20% (Idle standing at 79.82%). Biggest CPU hogger was Photoshop which took up 25.8% of the CPU. Not much CPU pressure here.

4. Swap file was at 6.44GB while 12.37GB of RAM was used up. Not much memory pressure here.

Overall, 16GB would be more than comfortable for what you need. Do bear in mind that Photoshop hasn't been optimized for the M1 yet so it is still running under emulation mode with Rosetta 2. Even then, it still performs better than my current 2018 Intel MacBook Pro! With an Apple Silicon version coming in Q1 2021, expect more efficient RAM and CPU utilisation.

I usually do not run Windows under Parallels on the Mac. Actually, I've haven't got much software that I can't do natively on MacOS. Also, there is no Parallels that work with M1 yet except for the Technical Review that they have right now. Even then, the Technical Review only emulates an ARM machine and you need to install the ARM version of Windows (also a preview). From YouTube creators initial trial, it is not looking like a workable solution yet as it is pretty buggy and slow. And Microsoft's x64 emulator on the ARM version of Windows is also pretty slow and doesn't work with all software yet.
Question, how did you get Photoshop 2021 to run on Apple Silicon?

Every time I load it up it will crash and not load. Lightroom and Premiere Pro works fine.
toch3
post Dec 25 2020, 10:07 AM

**s3r3nd1p1ty**
912 posts

worth waiting a month to sampai
sj0217
post Dec 25 2020, 12:10 PM

6,483 posts

QUOTE(toch3 @ Dec 25 2020, 10:07 AM)

worth waiting a month to sampai
With education offer, still worth to order from online I would say, unless you need it urgently 😁
dogsick
post Dec 25 2020, 07:04 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Dec 25 2020, 09:28 AM)
Question, how did you get Photoshop 2021 to run on Apple Silicon?

Every time I load it up it will crash and not load. Lightroom and Premiere Pro works fine.
I never had any problems launching Photoshop. My experience with Adobe apps:-

1. New machine so had to set up from scratch
2. Went to Adobe.com, signed in to Creative Cloud account. Download Adobe Photoshop
3. Launched it. System prompt: As you are running Intel app for first time, do you want to install Rosetta 2. Click "Yes"
4. Installed Photoshop. Then prompt came up asking if I want to install Creative Cloud desktop. Click "Yes"
5. Launched Photoshop- authenticate with Creative Cloud credentials
6. Running fine since then

The Mac mini shipped with a version go Big Sur that has to be updated. Go to Systems Preferences to see if there are pending MacOS updates. Read that they have made some improvements to Rosetta 2 in that update.

You may want to see if the following are culprits:-

1. Adobe Photoshop version: I'm running version 22.1.0 which is downloaded from Adobe's website as part of the Creative Cloud Photography Plan. I understand that there is a beta version that runs natively on Apple Silicon but I didn't opt for that one as there are a lot of features that don't work yet. Instead, I am using the latest Intel version.

2. Scratch disk: is it pointing to an external drive that is NTFS and you haven't installed NTFS-drivers correctly (Big Sur changed the way on how programs like Paragon installs on system- it requires a reboot into another screen to install systems extension)

3. Graphics processing: I've defaulted on this setting but I did notice that under "Advanced Settings..." there is a "30 Bit Display" option. I am connecting my Mac Mini to a display that is capable of handling 30 Bit colours but you can try toggling off-and-on to see if it helps.

This post has been edited by dogsick: Dec 25 2020, 07:06 PM
moosset
post Dec 25 2020, 09:19 PM

1,917 posts

do you think it's worth upgrading 2018 MBP (touchbar with 4TBT3) to MBA M1 2020?
raining again
post Dec 25 2020, 11:38 PM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 25 2020, 09:19 PM)
do you think it's worth upgrading 2018 MBP (touchbar with 4TBT3) to MBA M1 2020?
Ask in 4tb storage with thunder bolt3? Urs is 13 or 15inch? Ram capacity?

This post has been edited by raining again: Dec 25 2020, 11:39 PM
saintnotsinner
post Dec 26 2020, 12:10 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Dec 25 2020, 09:50 AM)
Anyone use adobe software that facing crash when using?
Like illustratir/indesign, etc..
not fully optimized yet?
fuze
post Dec 26 2020, 01:02 AM

128 posts

Mine is finally ‘Preparing to Ship’. Does one have any idea how long would it take to reach our shore from wherever this is?
moosset
post Dec 26 2020, 01:38 AM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(raining again @ Dec 25 2020, 11:38 PM)
Ask in 4tb storage with thunder bolt3? Urs is 13 or 15inch? Ram capacity?
no, I mean 4 thunderbolt 3 ....
13".
Seng_Kiat
post Dec 26 2020, 08:27 AM

5,580 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Dec 26 2020, 01:02 AM)

Mine is finally ‘Preparing to Ship’. Does one have any idea how long would it take to reach our shore from wherever this is?
the latest you would get it on 30 Dec. I bought a few from apple store and the latest I received was the earliest date apple estimate. They always deliver earlier than their expected date. Some may delay just due to custom clearance, courier service but my experiences are all 100% delivered before than expected date.
moiskyrie
post Dec 26 2020, 08:54 AM

3,212 posts

QUOTE(saintnotsinner @ Dec 26 2020, 12:10 AM)
not fully optimized yet?
Currently using window notebook for PS/AI/ID, etc
But window lately always give me problem...lag,hang,crash,
Planning move to mac as I need edit the job more faster...
But read from web, many face adobe app crash/hang, etc...
GrimmReaper
post Dec 26 2020, 09:05 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(fuze @ Dec 26 2020, 01:02 AM)

Cool bro. Can update you finally receive it please? Mine is still “processing”, but I ordered one day later than yourself. So in theory mine should receive one day after you, I hope 🤞
fuze
post Dec 26 2020, 11:20 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(GrimmReaper @ Dec 26 2020, 09:05 AM)
Cool bro. Can update you finally receive it please? Mine is still “processing”, but I ordered one day later than yourself. So in theory mine should receive one day after you, I hope 🤞
Sure thing bro. Cant wait to see it ‘Shipped’ it’s been a long wait!
saintnotsinner
post Dec 26 2020, 01:06 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Dec 26 2020, 09:54 AM)
Currently using window notebook for PS/AI/ID, etc
But window lately always give me problem...lag,hang,crash,
Planning move to mac as I need edit the job more faster...
But read from web, many face adobe app crash/hang, etc...
yeah.. the problem with windows laptop / pc .. lag.. hang.. crash..

but i still use for non essential stuff (netflix etc).

128 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:22 PM