[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

chrischiang
post Dec 9 2020, 02:12 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(lihao6485 @ Dec 8 2020, 05:45 PM)
Received my MacBook Pro from superdeal today!
My current MacBook Pro screen has dead really just nice get one from superdeal.
BTW, the warranty for me is until November 27, 2021.
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2020/12/08/7oHZJJ.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2020/12/08/7oHZJJ.md.png </a>
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 8 2020, 06:32 PM)
Yep! Same. It’s preactivated but I ain’t fussed Lah.

The laptop arrived a day after I ordered. It runs laps around my i9 16”.

The rumours are true. It’s as good as they say. Blazing fast and smooth. I use an app called thinkorswim that spins my 16” fan like mad once the multi screen chart is turned on.

This one, I can look at 8 charts and it still doesn’t turn the fan on.

And it’s also noticeably smoother
hi may i know unit from superdeal are from hk or us? how about the plug? cause i saw free adapter.. if it was hk set i think i just going to buy from superdeal.. tired from waiting for coming soon from local distributor
chrischiang
post Dec 9 2020, 02:24 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Dec 9 2020, 02:17 PM)
I think macbook air base version already sold out last time i check
oh sorry didnt mention.. i would like to get macbook pro
chrischiang
post Dec 10 2020, 01:57 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Dec 10 2020, 01:55 PM)
if bought directly from Apple website, in future if have issue, can bring to machines, mac city etc?
which shop will honor apple care purchased from apple website?
any apple authorized service center will have to handle apple care.
chrischiang
post Dec 12 2020, 10:38 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(sonicmaster @ Dec 12 2020, 08:58 AM)
Do you think is it worth to get 16gb ram on MBA?

I'm using for working and sometimes might open 20-30 tabs . But no gaming and etc. Mostly MS office, zoom, Skype, teams
this 2 youtube might help you to decide.. for ur usage i would say 8gb should be enough.. but if you have extra budget, just go upgrade..

This post has been edited by chrischiang: Dec 12 2020, 10:40 AM
chrischiang
post Dec 17 2020, 10:59 AM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(Error404 @ Dec 15 2020, 04:55 PM)
Shipped
QUOTE(frostbyte13 @ Dec 15 2020, 05:33 PM)
Received an SMS from Apple. They've shipped out my Macbook Air M1. It will arrive by 17/12.
may i know have both of you receive the unit? where is the unit ship from?
chrischiang
post Dec 17 2020, 04:14 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(lowkelvin @ Dec 17 2020, 04:04 PM)
Hi everyone,
when do you being charged after placed order on Apple website?

I placed my order (education price) when 13 Dec,
filled in my card detail,
But until now the status is still "Processing",
and my card still not yet being charged.
There is no email asking me to verify my student qualification too

May I know if I'm missing any step?
normally apple will only charge ur card when they shipped it out.. nothing to worry
chrischiang
post Dec 22 2020, 01:40 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(xiiaoisaac @ Dec 22 2020, 01:32 PM)
Im planning to get the MBA. But i am thinking is it enough storage. Is there a 3rd party to increase ram and storage? and any effect on warranty? Any recommendation?
there are plenty of external ssd out there if your storage not enough and dont have budget at the moment to upgrade...
no 3rd party.. the ram are in the chip for M1.. and storage are soldered on board..
chrischiang
post Dec 29 2020, 01:03 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 29 2020, 02:18 AM)
Any lifetime windows user (or apple hater) ended up getting M1 Macbook Air? How's your experience so far?

Must say this is the first time I'm swayed this heavily laugh.gif generally almost never took interest in Apple's product (tried company iPhone/iPad back then and never got interested)

I'm impressed with their fanless design but keeping this level of performance/temps. Even intel's can't come close with fans sweat.gif
Very tempted to try but steep entry indeed sweat.gif More for productivity / light usage / portability though, so I guess base model 256GB / 8GB suffices. Have my dedicated PC as powerhorse already for gaming/video editing
i'm lifetime windows user and got my 1st M1 macbook pro when see the review after launch..

after a week of using M1 mac, really as advertised it is real fast and smooth for such thin design.
Compared to my retired XPS 15, doing similar tasks (10plus chrome tab, playing movies and remote desktop) which will roar loudly, burning my laps.. this m1 mac handle it pretty well until im not even sure is the fan is running or not.. not to worry anymore to place in on top of sofa/bed/pillow..

To be frank, windows 10 is as smooth as macos.. i still use my PC most of my time, will be using mac when im out or back to my parents place...
chrischiang
post Dec 29 2020, 02:10 PM

1,081 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 29 2020, 01:45 PM)
Tempting drool.gif. I have the same desktop rig as yours except a few parts (x570 mobo / slightly older gpu) tongue.gif
Definitely hated my old laptop (SP3) easily shooting up to 73c++ with just chrome usage. What's the avg. cpu temp with those tasks you mentioned on M1 Mac? Room condition or with Aircond? Saw a few reviews that it'll maintain at 38c but they're usually from other part of world with lower average room temperatures hmm.gif
did not actually install temp monitor software to check.. but i would say roughly the same as review... with normal room condition, i dont feel any heat on my laps and on the keyboard area... in the room with aircond, when u place mac on ur laps you will feel the metal feels cold...

0.0724sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:47 AM