[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

sp6068
post Jan 7 2022, 09:34 PM

Lights Out and Away We Go!
1,699 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Jan 6 2022, 08:54 PM)
Yea most likely will follow the notch from the recent macbook pros...just hope it's not in white followed by white keyboards lol.. not a fan of that..
I can see them doing that. The Air is like consumer level laptops for Apple and very popular among the younger gen nowadays. Otherwise you would have seen the Rose Gold on the MBPs.
dikae
post Jan 7 2022, 10:50 PM

an apple a day
9,217 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Jan 7 2022, 09:34 PM)
I can see them doing that. The Air is like consumer level laptops for Apple and very popular among the younger gen nowadays. Otherwise you would have seen the Rose Gold on the MBPs.
yea, there should be more colours for the new air.. just like the iMac...
Eithanius
post Jan 8 2022, 11:24 AM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Jan 7 2022, 09:34 PM)
I don't mind having Gold on MBPs... but if the rendered images of the upcoming Airs are to be accurate, I hate the white keyboards - dirt magnet... ph34r.gif
dikae
post Jan 8 2022, 12:37 PM

an apple a day
9,217 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jan 8 2022, 11:24 AM)
I don't mind having Gold on MBPs... but if the rendered images of the upcoming Airs are to be accurate, I hate the white keyboards - dirt magnet... ph34r.gif
exactly yes, can’t imagine using it for few months it’ll be dark and dirty…perhaps a keyboard cover become essential lol…what’s worst is actually the white notch, as if it’s not noticeable enough on the black biggrin.gif
sp6068
post Jan 8 2022, 04:33 PM

Lights Out and Away We Go!
1,699 posts

The one thing I wish apple would bring back is a notification light or charging light. Very difficult to know if the laptop is really charging or not since there is no indicator apart from one chime when you plug it in.
dikae
post Jan 8 2022, 05:01 PM

an apple a day
9,217 posts

QUOTE(sp6068 @ Jan 8 2022, 04:33 PM)
The one thing I wish apple would bring back is a notification light or charging light. Very difficult to know if the laptop is really charging or not since there is no indicator apart from one chime when you plug it in.
They will bring back on the next gen mba MagSafe charger light…
ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 10 2022, 11:28 PM

1,833 posts

Any long term Space Grey users noticing any discoloration especially palmrest area ?
eikozai
post Jan 11 2022, 01:07 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Jan 10 2022, 11:28 PM)
Any long term Space Grey users noticing any discoloration especially palmrest area ?
Its oxidization from the sweats on ur palm to the aluminium.
I learned it from my first MBA, hence been putting on palm protective stickers since Day-1.

Perhaps u can try cleaning with alcohol swabs first, it could be dirts only.
ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 11 2022, 01:53 AM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jan 11 2022, 01:07 AM)
Its oxidization from the sweats on ur palm to the aluminium.
I learned it from my first MBA, hence been putting on palm protective stickers since Day-1.

Perhaps u can try cleaning with alcohol swabs first, it could be dirts only.
Nah just asking, i havent decided to get space grey or silver, i prefer space grey, just worry about the discoloration. I had a mbp 13 space grey in 2017 but sold it off in a year. Still looks good
Mavik
post Jan 11 2022, 08:04 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I had that with my work MBP, which was why I chose Silver for my personal MBA.
dikae
post Jan 11 2022, 09:16 AM

an apple a day
9,217 posts

It depends very much on how you use it, space grey will see discoloration if used without films or casings, eventually you have sweats getting on them..also scratches are more visible on space grey..silver get similar scratches too but not as noticeable due to lighter/original colour…but silver on the contrary looks dirtier and you see smudges and stains also due to its brighter colour contrast to stains from dirts or etc…

I had a space grey mbp M1, been using it since launch and no discoloration to date, no scratches too coz I have a hard casing on ..now I’m using silver 16”, it’s classic and clean when used carefully but at times you see prints and small particles on them due to bright colour..I had a hard casing but have been using it mostly without..as the 16” is thick and heavy so using it without casing is actually better on a long run (with risk of scratching or denting it or course), gotten wifey a 14” space grey and she’s loving it so far, no casing or film etc, she’s using it naked.

So i think both have pros and cons, go with the colour you prefer..personally I prefer space grey on smaller laptops and silver on bigger, 13/14 just looks better on darker colour imo smile.gif

This post has been edited by dikae: Jan 11 2022, 09:18 AM
kevinpss
post Jan 12 2022, 08:21 PM

497 posts

no. all good. I'm not using any case or protector btw.
ultra_nyamuk
post Jan 12 2022, 11:56 PM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(kevinpss @ Jan 12 2022, 08:21 PM)
no. all good. I'm not using any case or protector btw.
How long have u used it ? do you always clean your mac ?
kevinpss
post Jan 13 2022, 12:21 AM

497 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Jan 12 2022, 11:56 PM)
How long have u used it ? do you always clean your mac ?
since Apr 2021, no cleaning..cleaning/wipe once in a blue moon...do not over-worry, you can't get the same spec like MacBook Air in the market edy (at the same price)
RiriRuruRara
post Jan 13 2022, 09:20 PM

1,011 posts

Seeking some advice from tech sifu here. I can't wait for the macbook air m2 launch. Since I really need a laptop now, I have to settle for the macbook air m1. But hati really sakit to he paying such a high price for a 1 year old over tech when in 6 month time for the same price can get a brand new tech the air m2.
Any advice you can share?
dikae
post Jan 13 2022, 09:29 PM

an apple a day
9,217 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jan 13 2022, 09:20 PM)
Seeking some advice from tech sifu here. I can't wait for the macbook air m2 launch. Since I really need a laptop now, I have to settle for the macbook air m1. But hati really sakit to he paying such a high price for a 1 year old over tech when in 6 month time for the same price can get a brand new tech the air m2.
I feel you….my usual advise,,,try to tahan as much, until really can’t tahan then no choice pull the trigger now and probably resell the m1 and get m2 when it’s launched here…6 months is quite long especially if you need a machine urgently now..or just get a used m1 for time being, so you won’t loss too much when resell it next time, since MacBook m1 retain its resale value…
Eithanius
post Jan 13 2022, 10:12 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

How do you know M2's gonna be the same price...?

M2 MBA might come with a redesign and updated specs, and by that means HIGHER prices. Apple may also retain the old M1 as a base spec selling at the current price alongside the M2.

Remember the M1 and the M1 Pro/Max MacBook Pro...?

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jan 13 2022, 10:12 PM
kevinpss
post Jan 13 2022, 11:11 PM

497 posts

buy it when you need it. If you think think m1 will get old faster, then get 14" MacBook Pro lo....M1 Pro chip....correct?
Mavik
post Jan 15 2022, 07:26 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Technology moves very fast and yesterday's tech will be obsolete. Still, you needed the machine now so just go ahead and start using. Don't think about the "ifs", those are things you can't control. There will always be a faster and more powerful machine at the same price in the future but that isn't the end of the world. And honestly, depending on what you are going to use it for, its not like browsing the internet will be faster with an M2 machine LOL.
Mavik
post Jan 21 2022, 02:32 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Just found out about these skins online and they look awesome! Super tempted to get them for my MBA

https://fishskyn.com/collections/january-dr...=42303171428570

128 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:48 PM