[2020] MacBook Air with M1 Discussion Thread

loonsave
post Feb 23 2022, 10:28 AM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Feb 23 2022, 08:41 AM)
Anyone here uses a Logitech bluetooth mouse with their Apple Silicon Macbook? I recently downloaded Options+ which is now Apple Silicon ready and it feels like my MX Master 3 is super smooth! Maybe its a placebo effect wink.gif

https://www.logitech.com/en-my/software/log...tions-plus.html
I would like to try it out, but it don't support M720 Triathlon yet. sad.gif
zzerosz
post Feb 27 2022, 10:50 PM

177 posts

Hi all, need suggestion for keyboard+mouse combo, that able to switch between windows and MacBook Air m1. Worry that some don't compatible with MacBook doh.gif
ericlaiys
post Feb 28 2022, 10:13 AM

7,569 posts

QUOTE(zzerosz @ Feb 27 2022, 10:50 PM)
Hi all, need suggestion for keyboard+mouse combo, that able to switch between windows and MacBook Air m1. Worry that some don't compatible with MacBook  doh.gif
logitech keyboard. mine can support 3. just press key -1-2-3
zzerosz
post Mar 1 2022, 04:56 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Feb 28 2022, 10:13 AM)
logitech keyboard. mine can support 3. just press key -1-2-3
Do you mind the keyboard model? Thanks in advanced rclxm9.gif
ericlaiys
post Mar 1 2022, 06:55 PM

7,569 posts

QUOTE(zzerosz @ Mar 1 2022, 04:56 PM)
Do you mind the keyboard model? Thanks in advanced  rclxm9.gif
logitech k380, quite reliable, been using for more than 3 years. this is old model, u can search new model. i love it small and can pack and go
pisangkakimasak
post Mar 7 2022, 08:45 PM

47 posts

Sifus -

I plan to buy MacBook air m1 to replace my daily driver. I only used Windows laptop before. Usage is for browsing, doing research, picture editing, YouTube, streaming, video call etc, nothing major or require much power.

I read and watch reviews and seems this is a great buy. But I have some concerns:

1. Alot of windows app still not compatible with M1. Is this true? Will it affect what I'm trying to do?

2. Should I buy 512 or 256 + external SSD?

3. Read that it is very expensive if want to repair the SSD. Can cost thousands. Is this true?

4. Do you recommend me to buy extended warranty? Feel like it's a waste of money because my iPad Air 2 has not have any problem for the past 6-7 years.

5. Anything else I should consider (especially cons) before buying?

Thank you.
Shrayder
post Mar 7 2022, 11:50 PM

QUOTE(pisangkakimasak @ Mar 7 2022, 08:45 PM)
Sifus -

I plan to buy MacBook air m1 to replace my daily driver. I only used Windows laptop before. Usage is for browsing, doing research, picture editing, YouTube, streaming, video call etc, nothing major or require much power.

I read and watch reviews and seems this is a great buy. But I have some concerns:

1. Alot of windows app still not compatible with M1. Is this true? Will it affect what I'm trying to do?

3. Read that it is very expensive if want to repair the SSD. Can cost thousands. Is this true?

4. Do you recommend me to buy extended warranty? Feel like it's a waste of money because my iPad Air 2 has not have any problem for the past 6-7 years.

Thank you.
1. That depends on what software/apps you used before. If picture editing Photoshop is fully compatible. Streaming can use OBS.

2. If you plan to use is for the next 5 - 10 years you should get the bigger storage option. Otherwise you'll always need to keep an eye on your storage. Mac caches tend to fill up the storage pretty quickly but you can always delete it.

3. I dont think SSD for M1 can be replaced.

4. Don't need.

5. Don't buy. Wait for the Macbook Air M2. It should be announced during next keynotes in 2 days.
sp6068
post Mar 7 2022, 11:58 PM

Lights Out and Away We Go!
1,699 posts

Sifus -

What apps? Be specific and name them here. You just tell like that how we gonna know what you want to run

- 256GB is enough for installed apps. Get an external portable SSD for more storage. Apple charges an arm and a leg for just extra 256gb

I don't think you can repair it. Plus why would you need repairing?

If you are clumsy and forgetful, then yes. Otherwise not a must.

Ports limited. Adapter is a must. Since you edit photos you'll be needing an SD card reader.
Thank you.
ericlaiys
post Mar 8 2022, 12:36 AM

7,569 posts

Sifus -

Thank you.
My feedback-
1. Check which app and if use it quite frequent then u need find alternative
2. Depend how much data you store. I used 256gb since 4 years ago. Bought macbook and mac mini with 5gb. Other data can keep on enclosure with nvme.
3. Ssd is solder with board. You cannot replace like parts.
4.ipad is not same as macbook. Recommended to buy but no need so hurry to decide. U got a year to decide. I add applecare before a year due. Lucky i bought, paid 900. Then only 1 y 6 month, my battery swallowed. Claim warranty. Cost 2k due to battery swallow cause keyboard need to change. Glad that bought it.
5. No regret after move from windows to mac. Make sure your produvity app is there.
pisangkakimasak
post Mar 8 2022, 06:14 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(Shrayder @ Mar 7 2022, 11:50 PM)
1. That depends on what software/apps you used before. If picture editing Photoshop is fully compatible. Streaming can use OBS.

2. If you plan to use is for the next 5 - 10 years you should get the bigger storage option. Otherwise you'll always need to keep an eye on your storage. Mac caches tend to fill up the storage pretty quickly but you can always delete it.

3. I dont think SSD for M1 can be replaced.

4. Don't need.

5. Don't buy. Wait for the Macbook Air M2. It should be announced during next keynotes in 2 days.
QUOTE(sp6068 @ Mar 7 2022, 11:58 PM)

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Mar 8 2022, 12:36 AM)
My feedback-
1. Check which app and if use it quite frequent then u need find alternative
2. Depend how much data you store. I used 256gb since 4 years ago. Bought macbook and mac mini with 5gb. Other data can keep on enclosure with nvme.
3. Ssd is solder with board. You cannot replace like parts.
4.ipad is not same as macbook. Recommended to buy but no need so hurry to decide. U got a year to decide. I add applecare before a year due. Lucky i bought, paid 900. Then only 1 y 6 month, my battery swallowed. Claim warranty. Cost 2k due to battery swallow cause keyboard need to change. Glad that bought it.
5. No regret after move from windows to mac. Make sure your produvity app is there.
#1 is there a site to check which app is compatible??

#3 so if I get everyone points correctly, if the SSD kaput, then the only way to fix it is by buying new MacBook Air? Right?

#4 oh you can buy the extended warranty much later. This is good info.

#5 yes I am aware they will announce M2. But I assume it will be more expensive since it's a new launch?

ericlaiys
post Mar 8 2022, 09:16 AM

7,569 posts

QUOTE(pisangkakimasak @ Mar 8 2022, 06:14 AM)

#3 so if I get everyone points correctly, if the SSD kaput, then the only way to fix it is by buying new MacBook Air? Right?

#5 yes I am aware they will announce M2. But I assume it will be more expensive since it's a new launch?
1. google your app keyword plus "on mac" or i run on virtual machine to test. anyway, most app is there except specific
3. Yes. this hardly happened
5. then you can buy m1 coz price dropped.

sp6068
post Mar 9 2022, 02:58 AM

Lights Out and Away We Go!
1,699 posts

Good news,

M1 MBA is still up to date. Apple did not announce a MBA successor at their event so I guess they are keeping it for their Oct/Nov event.
kevinpss
post Mar 9 2022, 10:05 AM

497 posts

Sifus -

- some software only build for Windows
- The software that can run in Mac (INTEL) will able to run in Mac (M1) too
- Website to check, I recommend this: https://isapplesiliconready.com
- Not sure what software you want to use

- don't worry about the internal storage, unless you're using the device for videography editing
- choose 256GB will do, save the money and use it to subscribe iCloud....it can expand your devices storage, including iPhone iPad and MacBook etc.

- The MacOS logic....not everyone can accept the change yea
- If you are gamers, pls stick to windows

Thank you.
Answer at above blue

This post has been edited by kevinpss: Mar 9 2022, 10:06 AM
kevinpss
post Mar 9 2022, 10:09 AM

497 posts

#3 if you are students and buy the M1 MacBook Air, I think there is no point for you to fix the SSD after 5,6,7 years later. By the time, you should be able to buy more expensive Macs.

The things is, there is still no SSD issue.....in M1 Macs.....and....do you heard any SSD broken in your iPhone/iPad after so many years? The work exactly the same.

#5 the best time to buy Apple product is when the time you need it.

This post has been edited by kevinpss: Mar 9 2022, 10:10 AM
Mavik
post Mar 9 2022, 10:50 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

I would recommend you to also share your apps here so that the folks here can also share with you the Mac alternative software in the event it isn't supported on Mac.
pisangkakimasak
post Mar 10 2022, 08:05 AM

47 posts

https://isapplesiliconready.com <-- this is a good site. thank you!

generally the productivity apps. Nothing special..Office, Zoom, abit of Photoshop, access AWS.

thanks everyone. I decided to buy it this weekend.
Mavik
post Mar 10 2022, 01:49 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(pisangkakimasak @ Mar 10 2022, 08:05 AM)
https://isapplesiliconready.com <-- this is a good site. thank you!

generally the productivity apps. Nothing special..Office, Zoom, abit of Photoshop, access AWS.

thanks everyone. I decided to buy it this weekend.
Great, all the best and have fun with the new laptop. All very standard applications which are all Apple Silicon ready with the exception for MS OneDrive. AWS you only need a browser or you can SSH in via Terminal.
miyeonevermioff
post Mar 11 2022, 09:56 PM

295 posts

hi, am deciding to get a mba 8+256
but reading through this thread, i found out common issues are screen crack, battery swollen etc. that would cost me alot. im looking for a laptop that would last me at least 5years.
im also migrating from windows too. first time wanna try apple products.
any advice, or things to take note?
programs that i use are only microsoft teams, word, spotify, discord, zoom, google chrome.
ericlaiys
post Mar 12 2022, 12:43 AM

7,569 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Mar 11 2022, 09:56 PM)
but reading through this thread, i found out common issues are screen crack, battery swollen etc. that would cost me alot. im looking for a laptop that would last me at least 5years.
programs that i use are only microsoft teams, word, spotify, discord, zoom, google chrome.
get applecare.problem solved

direct707
post Mar 12 2022, 09:34 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(miyeonevermioff @ Mar 11 2022, 09:56 PM)
My 2020 macbook air with M1 doing great. Bought it on launch date, so far so good. I am expecting my laptop to be good for 3 years. 2 down, another 1 year to go. Hope all good.

To be honest, I never face any problem with apple products over the years. My iMac is doing good, 7 years. The only problem with apple products, you will feel slowness after 2-3 generations (2-3 years). Im not sure the OS demanding or apple purposely makes it that way for an upgrade call. 😅

128 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top

0.0389sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:55 AM